Canada International Scholarship Programs

Executive Summary

A Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessment (PPIA) was developed as per the request of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division (DCP) to review and assess privacy compliance and identify possible risks associated with the International Academic Relations Program’s international scholarships, which are administered by the Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE). Since no previous privacy assessments have been conducted on these activities, the International Education and Youth Division of the Public Diplomacy Bureau has embarked on a preliminary review and assessment using the department’s Privacy Assessment Tool. The Division has reviewed the privacy tutorials offered as part of the tool as well as completed the answers to the Preliminary Privacy Examination Questionnaire that is part of the Privacy Assessment Tool. This document is considered a PPIA of these activities. It examines potential privacy risks and offers mitigation strategies for the risks identified.

Background

The Government of Canada’s Academic Relations Program’s international scholarships are managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. The program’s objective is to promote Canadian values and identity around the world, in order to strengthen Canada’s international relations. Through its international scholarships activities, which include scholarships for Canadians by foreign governments (Canada-China Scholars Exchange Program, Commonwealth Scholarship Plan, Foreign Government Awards, Organization of American States (OAS) Fellowships Programs) and scholarships for non-Canadians by the Government of Canada (Canada China Scholars’ Exchange Program, Commonwealth Scholarship Plan, Government of Canada Awards), DFAIT creates friends of Canada who could hold positions of authority in their respective countries, reinforcing Canada’s international ties and influence. In developing countries, these scholarships are designed to contribute to the development of human capital. The Commonwealth Scholarships, which were among the first international scholarships to be established, were initiated in 1959, when Commonwealth countries, led by Canada, set up a scholarship plan to strengthen the links between them and to encourage higher education. Canada is the largest contributor of Commonwealth scholarships after the United Kingdom.

The Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBJE) is currently under contract with the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade to provide daily administrative services to six programs that are related to scholarships and awards offered to foreign students by DFAIT and scholarships and awards offered to Canadians by foreign governments, the Organization of American States (OAS), and other bilateral arrangements. Approximately $6 million are transferred annually to the Contractor to provide scholarships and awards for between 250 and 325 foreign students from approximately 60 different countries.

The Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE) is an umbrella non-governmental organization comprised of 200 colleges, universities, schools, school boards, educational organizations and businesses across Canada. Nationally, CBIE engages in policy development, research, advocacy and public information. CBIE manages vital services for foreign students in Canada. Internationally, CBIE engages in cooperative projects in capacity building, institutional strengthening and human resource development. CBIE focusses on education at all levels, specialized training programs, civil society and public administration. CBIE works in partnership with educational institutions, community-based organizations and governments in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, the Americas, the Former Soviet Union, and Central and Eastern Europe.

Foreign students accepted for scholarships must satisfy the Department of Citizenship and Immigration (CIC) requirements for entry to Canada. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade does not communicate any personal information to CIC. The CIC process is a standalone process designed for foreign students. Through an approved agreement, DFAIT does however, communicate the personal information of the students to a private health insurance company As part of their conditions of entry, students must have access to Canadian health services that are offered through private insurance and paid for by the scholarship fund. Consequently, the personal information of the students is disclosed to the Cowan Insurance Group (CIG).

Risk Levels & Mitigations

  1. Third party contracting
    The management of the funds and the process has been contracted out to a non-profit organization in Canada. This risk is identified as low. To mitigate this risk, all steps have been taken to ensure personal information protection. The students and scholars are assigned a liaison or contact person for their duration of their stay in Canada.
  2. Disclosure for health insurance
    The personal information of the scholars and students is communicated with a designated health insurance company. This risk is identified as low. To mitigate this risk, foreign students are required to have proper health insurance in Canada. DFAIT/ Government of Canada has arranged agreements with a designated insurance company to offer health insurance while the foreign students are in Canada.
  3. Disclosure to foreign government

    Canadian scholars and students provide their personal information on their application. This personal information needs to be communicated to foreign government and academic institutions for selection and admission purposes.

    This risk is identified as low. To mitigate this risk, DFAIT is looking to institute alternate procedures in which DFAIT is not a party to the scholarship awards by foreign governments or to organize arrangements to protect and govern personal information disclosed.

Conclusion

As a result of the PPIA conducted using DFAIT’s Privacy Assessment Tool’s questionnaire, DFAIT’s International Education and Youth Division, Public Diplomacy Bureau, has determined that there is no requirement to undertake a full Privacy Impact Assessment at this time. The three low level risks identified have been mitigated and addressed by CBIE The department will assess and review privacy requirements associate with the service regularly to ensure all privacy issues and concerns are addressed.

Programmes de bourses internationales du Canada

Sommaire exécutif

Une évaluation préliminaire des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EPFVP) a été effectuée à la demande de la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (DAIPRP), afin d’examiner et d’évaluer la conformité aux principes de protection de la vie privée et de cerner les risques potentiels associés aux bourses internationales accordées dans le cadre du Programme de relations académiques internationales, des bourses qui sont administrées par le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI). Comme ces activités n’avaient jamais fait l’objet d’une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée, la Direction de l’éducation internationale et de la jeunesse de la Direction générale de la diplomatie ouverte a entrepris un examen et une évaluation préliminaire à l’aide de l’Outil d’évaluation de la protection des renseignements personnels du Ministère. La Direction a passé en revue les tutoriels qui accompagnent l’outil et a rempli le questionnaire d’évaluation préliminaire de la protection des renseignements personnels, aussi fourni avec l’outil. Le présent document est considéré comme une EPFVP des activités susmentionnées. Il examine les risques potentiels pour la vie privée et offre des stratégies d’atténuation pour les risques cernés.

Contexte

Les bourses internationales du Programme de relations académiques du gouvernement du Canada sont gérées par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI). L’objectif du programme est de promouvoir les valeurs et l’identité du Canada partout dans le monde, en vue de solidifier les relations internationales du pays. Par l’entremise de ses bourses internationales, qui comprennent des bourses offertes aux Canadiens par des gouvernements étrangers (Programme d’échanges universitaires Canada-Chine, Programme canadien des bourses d’études du Commonwealth, Programme de bourses de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA)), ainsi que des bourses offertes aux non-Canadiens par le gouvernement du Canada (Programme d’échanges universitaires Canada-Chine, Programme canadien des bourses d’études du Commonwealth, Bourses du gouvernement du Canada), le MAECI gagne des alliés pour le Canada qui pourraient occuper des postes de pouvoir dans leurs pays respectifs, consolidant ainsi les liens internationaux et l’influence du Canada. Dans les pays en développement, ces bourses sont conçues pour contribuer au développement du capital humain. Le Programme des bourses du Commonwealth, qui figure parmi les premiers programmes de bourses internationales à être établis, a vu le jour en 1959, alors que les pays du Commonwealth, le Canada en tête, ont mis en place un régime de bourses visant à renforcer les liens les unissant et à encourager les études supérieures. Le Canada est le pays qui contribue le plus aux bourses du Commonwealth après le Royaume Uni.

Le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI) a conclu un contrat avec le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international pour la prestation de services administratifs quotidiens à six programmes associés aux bourses offertes aux étudiants étrangers par le MAECI, ainsi qu’aux bourses offertes aux Canadiens par des gouvernements étrangers, l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) et d’autres arrangements bilatéraux. Environ 6 millions de dollars sont transférés annuellement à l’entrepreneur pour que celui-ci verse des bourses à 250 à 325 étudiants étrangers provenant de quelque 60 pays.

Le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI) est un organisme cadre non gouvernemental composé de 200 collèges, universités, écoles, conseils scolaires, organisations scolaires et entreprises de partout au Canada. À l’échelle du pays, le BCEI s’occupe de l’élaboration de politiques, de la recherche, de la défense des intérêts de ses intervenants et de l’information du public. Le BCEI gère des services primordiaux à l’intention des étudiants étrangers au Canada. Sur la scène internationale, le BCEI participe à des projets de coopération en matière de renforcement des capacités, de renforcement des institutions et de développement des ressources humaines. Le BCEI met l’accent sur l’éducation à tous les niveaux, les programmes de formation spécialisée, la société civile et l’administration publique. Le BCEI travaille en partenariat avec des établissements d’enseignement, des organismes communautaires et des gouvernements en Afrique, au Moyen-Orient, en Asie, dans les Amériques, dans l’ancienne Union soviétique, ainsi qu’en Europe centrale et en Europe de l’Est.

Les étudiants étrangers qui ont obtenu une bourse doivent satisfaire aux exigences du ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration (CIC) pour entrer au Canada. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international ne communique aucun renseignement personnel à CIC. Le processus suivi à CIC est un processus distinct conçu pour les étudiants étrangers. Grâce à une entente approuvée, le MAECI communique toutefois les renseignements personnels des étudiants à une compagnie privée d’assurance-maladie. Dans le cadre de leurs conditions d’entrée, les étudiants doivent avoir accès aux services de soins de santé du Canada grâce à des assurances privées, qui sont payées par le fonds de bourses d’études. Les renseignements personnels des étudiants sont ainsi divulgués au Groupe des assurances Cowan.

Niveaux de risque et stratégies d’atténuation

  1. Contrat avec un tiers
    La gestion des fonds et du processus a été confiée à un organisme à but non lucratif au Canada. Ce risque est considéré comme étant peu élevé. Pour atténuer ce risque, toutes les mesures nécessaires ont été prises pour veiller à la protection des renseignements personnels. On assigne une personne-ressource aux étudiants et aux boursiers pour toute la durée de leur séjour au Canada.
  2. Divulgation aux fins de l’assurance-maladie
    Les renseignements personnels des étudiants et des boursiers sont communiqués à une compagnie privée désignée d’assurance-maladie. Ce risque est considéré comme étant peu élevé. Pour atténuer ce risque, les étudiants étrangers doivent souscrire à une assurance-maladie adéquate au Canada. Le MAECI et le gouvernement du Canada ont conclu des ententes avec une compagnie d’assurance désignée, qui offrira une couverture d’assurance-maladie aux étudiants étrangers pendant leur séjour au Canada.
  3. Divulgation aux gouvernements étrangers
    Les boursiers et étudiants canadiens doivent fournir des renseignements personnels dans leur demande. Ces renseignements doivent être communiqués au gouvernement étranger concerné et aux établissements d’enseignement aux fins de la sélection et de l’inscription des étudiants. Ce risque est considéré comme étant peu élevé. Pour atténuer ce risque, le MAECI explore la possibilité d’instaurer des procédures de rechange dans le cadre desquelles le Ministère n’est pas en cause dans l’attribution des bourses par des gouvernements étrangers, ou encore de prendre des mesures pour protéger et régir les renseignements personnels divulgués.

Conclusion

À l’issue de l’EPFVP menée à l’aide du questionnaire de l’Outil d’évaluation de la protection des renseignements personnels du MAECI, la Direction de l’éducation internationale et de la jeunesse (Direction générale de la diplomatie ouverte, MAECI) a déterminé qu’il n’y a pas lieu d’entreprendre une évaluation complète des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pour le moment. Le BCEI a mis en œuvre des stratégies d’atténuation et pris des mesures connexes à l’égard des trois faibles risques cernés. Le Ministère va évaluer et examiner régulièrement les exigences en matière de protection des renseignements personnels associées à ce service pour veiller à résoudre les problèmes et à apaiser les préoccupations.