Funding Programs

Development

International Development Assistance

Provides international development assistance to help people living in poverty in specific countries or regions as part of Canada’s Aid Effectiveness Agenda. Organizations can propose international development initiatives to DFATD by responding to a call for proposals or submitting an unsolicited proposal to implement a project in a country eligible for international development assistance from Canada.

International Humanitarian Assistance Program

Responds to international appeals for assistance in times of emergency and disaster in developing countries, including natural disasters, armed conflict and economic, political or environmental crises. Non-governmental organizations with experience in responding to emergency situations may submit a proposal to offer short-term assistance to those affected.

International Development Research Centre

Provides funding to researchers and students pursuing international development research at a university in Canada or in a developing country.

Foreign Policy

Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCBP)

Provides states with training, funding, equipment, and technical and legal expertise to enable them to prevent and respond to transnational organized crime in the Americas. The Program also funds similar iniatives aimed at countering human smuggling globally.

Canada in La Francophonie

Enhances Canada's international presence through La Francophonie, which is an integral part of Canadian foreign policy and the natural international extension of Canadian bilingualism. Canada works within the La Francophonie network to achieve political and developmental goals.

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

Aims to support small projects in developing countries forward and implemented by local organizations.

Canada’s Office of Religious Freedom

The Religious Freedom Fund finances projects outside Canada to help religious communities that are facing intolerance or persecution in their country.

Canadian International Arctic Fund

Establishes the Circumpolar region as a vibrant geopolitical entity integrated into a rules-based international system and promotes the human security of Northerners and the sustainable development of the Arctic.

Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program (CTCBP)

Provides states with training, funding, equipment, and technical and legal expertise to enable them to prevent and respond to terrorist activity globally, in a manner consistent with international counter-terrorism and human rights norms, standards and obligations.

Global Partnership Program (GPP)

The main mechanism through which Canada contributes to international efforts to prevent terrorist groups or states of proliferation concern from acquiring weapons of mass destruction (WMD) or related materials and knowledge.  This work supports Canada’s participation in high level initiatives such as the 27-member Global Partnership Against the Spread of Weapons and Materials of Mass Destruction  and the Nuclear Security Summits.

Global Peace and Security Program (GPSP)

Responds to peace and security challenges of failed and fragile states, including conflict prevention, crisis response and stabilization initiatives.

International Scholarships

Foster international study and research partnerships that build understanding among people and develops global citizens and leaders.

Policy and Planning and Federal / Provincial Cooperation

Coordinates Canadian international activities relating to higher education in cooperation with the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC) and other federal departments and stakeholders, including non-governmental organizations and academic institutions.

Permanent Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Supports the activities of the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) that is located in Montreal. DFATD in collaboration with the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec (CED-Q) and Environment Canada (EC) has secured a ten-year funding commitment to the CBD Secretariat until 2013–2014.

United Nations Trust Fund on Indigenous Issues

Advances indigenous issues in the areas of economic and social development, culture, the environment, education, health and human rights.

United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture

Supports the medical and psychological treatment and services for torture victims through rehabilitation centers and programs worldwide.

Trade

Invest Canada - Community Initiatives

Helps Canadian communities attract, retain and expand foreign direct investment.

Global Opportunities for Associations (formerly PEMD-A)

Provides contribution funding to support national associations undertaking new or expanded international business development activities, in strategic markets and sectors, for the benefit of an entire industry (member and non-member firms).

International Science and Technology Partnerships Program (ISTPP)

Promotes international collaborative research and development. The five-year, $20-million program increases the international competitiveness and prosperity of Canada by building stronger science and technology relationships with Israel, India, China and Brazil.

Programmes de financement

Développement

À propos du développement international

Fournir de l’aide internationale au développement pour aider les personnes vivant dans la pauvreté dans des régions ou des pays déterminés, en vertu du Plan d’action pour accroître l’efficacité de l’aide du Canada. Les organisations peuvent proposer des initiatives internationales de développement à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada en répondant à un appel de propositions ou soumettre une proposition non sollicitée pour mettre en œuvre un projet dans un pays admissible à l’aide au développement international du Canada.

Assistance humanitaire internationale

Répondre aux appels internationaux pour de l’assistance en cas d’urgence ou de catastrophe dans les pays en développement, y compris les catastrophes naturelles, les conflits armés et les crises économiques, politiques ou environnementales. Les organisations non gouvernementales ayant de l’expérience dans la prestation de services d’urgence peuvent présenter une proposition pour offrir une aide à court terme aux personnes touchées.

Centre de recherches pour le développement international

Fournir des fonds aux chercheurs et aux étudiants qui poursuivent des recherches sur le développement international dans une université au Canada ou dans un pays en développement.

Politique étrangère

Capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (crime transnational et trafic d’êtres humains)

Offrir de la formation, du financement, de l’équipement et de l’expertise technique et juridique aux pays d’Amériques pour leur permettre de prévenir et de répondre au crime organisé transnational dans la région. Le Programme finance également des initiatives similaires visant à lutter contre le trafic mondial d’êtres humains.

La participation du Canada au sein de la Francophonie

Améliorer la présence du Canada sur la scène internationale par sa participation à la Francophonie, qui est une partie intégrante de la politique étrangère canadienne et le prolongement naturel du bilinguisme canadien. Le Canada travaille au sein de la Francophonie pour atteindre des objectifs politiques et de développement.

Financement pour des projets de développement international

Appuyer des petits projets dans les pays en développement, qui seront mis en œuvre par des organisations locales.

Fonds pour la liberté de religion

Offrir une aide financière à des projets à l’extérieur du Canada qui soutiennent des groupes religieux qui sont victimes d’intolérance ou persécutés dans leur propre pays. Ce fonds relève du Bureau canadien de la liberté de religion.

Fonds international pour l’Arctique du Canada

Promouvoir la région circumpolaire comme une entité géopolitique dynamique, intégrée dans un système international fondé sur des règles, et favoriser la sécurité des habitants du Nord ainsi que le développement durable de l’Arctique.

Capacités de lutte contre l’activité criminelle terroriste

Fournir de la formation, du financement, de l’équipement et de l’expertise technique et juridique aux États pour leur permettre de prévenir et contrer l’activité terroriste dans le monde, en conformité avec les normes et obligations internationales en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme et de droits de la personne.

Programme de partenariat mondial

Participer aux efforts internationaux pour empêcher des groupes terroristes ou des États malveillants susceptibles d’acquérir des armes de destruction massive ou du matériel et des connaissances connexes. Ce programme, qui constitue le principal mécanisme par lequel le Canada contribue à ces efforts, soutient la participation canadienne à des initiatives de haut niveau, telles que le Partenariat mondial contre la prolifération des armes de destruction massive et des matières connexes, qui réunit 27 membres, et les Sommets sur la sécurité nucléaire.

Programme pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales

Répondre aux défis liés à la paix et à la sécurité des États défaillants et fragiles, y compris des initiatives en matière de prévention des conflits, d’intervention de crise et de stabilisation.

Bourses internationales

Favoriser les partenariats internationaux relatifs aux études et à la recherche qui renforcent la compréhension entre les personnes et créent des citoyens et des dirigeants du monde.

Politique en matière d’éducation internationale

Coordonner les activités internationales du Canada en matière d’enseignement supérieur, en collaboration avec le Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation (Canada) et d’autres ministères fédéraux et intervenants, y compris des organisations non gouvernementales et des établissements universitaires.

Secrétariat de la Convention sur la Diversité Biologique (SCDB)

Soutenir les activités du Secrétariat de la Convention sur la Diversité Biologique (SCDB), établi à Montréal en 1996. Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, en collaboration avec Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec et avec Environnement Canada, a conclu une nouvelle entente de financement pour le SCDB jusqu’en 2019. Le gouvernement du Québec est aussi un donateur clé.

Instance permanente des Nations Unies sur les questions autochtones) (anglais seulement)

Faire avancer les questions autochtones liées au développement économique et social, à la culture, l’environnement, l’éducation, la santé et les droits de la personne.

Fonds de contributions volontaires des Nations Unies pour les victimes de torture (anglais seulement)

Prendre en charge le traitement et les services médicaux et psychologiques des victimes de torture offerts par des centres et des programmes de réhabilitation partout dans le monde.

Commerce

Investissement Canada-Initiatives des communautés

Aider les collectivités canadiennes à attirer, à retenir et à accroître l’investissement direct étranger.

Occasions mondiales pour les associations (l’ancien Programme de développement des marchés d’exportation)

Fournir des fonds de contribution pour soutenir les associations nationales qui entreprennent des activités nouvelles ou élargies de développement des affaires internationales, sur des marchés et dans des secteurs stratégiques, au profit de l’ensemble d’un secteur industriel, soit autant les entreprises membres que non membres.

Programme de partenariats internationaux en science et technologie

Favoriser la collaboration internationale en matière de recherche et développement. Le programme quinquennal de 20 millions de dollars sur cinq ans vise à accroître la compétitivité internationale et la prospérité du Canada en resserrant les liens en matière de science et technologique avec Israël, l’Inde, la Chine et le Brésil.