Understanding the Data

Social, economic and democratic development in diverse societies, countries and cultures with constant change is difficult to reflect entirely in numeric coding.

A partner may aim to implement a project in several countries over a span of several years, but may find that it becomes impossible to work in one or more of them during that period because of conflict, natural disasters, or other factors beyond the partner's or Global Affairs Canada's control. As conditions change and more is learned about how to achieve sustainable results in international development, the way Global Affairs Canada works is changing, and so too is the way in which information is collected. The data recorded in Global Affairs Canada's information systems and shared on this open data site represents Global Affairs Canada's best efforts to encode Global Affairs Canada's work in leading Canada's international efforts to help people living in extreme poverty.

The seven types of data sets presented differ in three main ways—currency, timeline and definitions—which make them difficult or impossible to compare with each other.

Currency: Global Affairs Canada manages its funds in Canadian dollars. The Project Browser data, as well as the country spending and multilateral organization data in the Statistical Report on International Assistance are all in Canadian dollars. Any report produced by Global Affairs Canada for Parliament or Canadian media should be assumed to be in Canadian dollars unless otherwise noted.

The Official Development Assistance Statistics (OECD/DAC) reported by Canada, and other donor countries, are in U.S. dollars.

The table detailing Canada's International Development Assistance Commitments uses the units specified in each individual commitment. Please note the unit of measure listed with each commitment.

Timeline: The time at which information is produced or verified in relation to the period reported on greatly influences the reliability of the data and the frequency with which it may be changed.

Definitions: Consult the data field definitions section of each data set to understand what can be compared and what cannot be compared.

Perspective on the Past

The data presented in Official Development Assistance Statistics (OECD/DAC) is reported in line with DAC directives, by calendar year (January-December) for past years. The DAC releases the data in two phases: preliminary and final. Preliminary data is released at an aggregate level three months following the end of the calendar year. Final and detailed project-level information is available nine months thereafter, once the DAC has collected and compiled data from all donors. The DAC data contains information on disbursements and budgets for initiatives that have been approved during the reporting period.

The data presented in the Statistical Report on International Assistance is reported by Canadian fiscal year (April-March) for past years. Under the Official Development Assistance Accountability Act, the Government of Canada is required to publish a statistical report one year after the end of the fiscal year.

In these data sets, the data applies not only to Global Affairs Canada but also to other actors that deliver Canada's international assistance, such as other federal government departments.

Perspective on the Present

The Project Browser reflects data currently entered in Global Affairs Canada's information systems on Global Affairs Canada's activities and is updated almost daily.

The maximum contribution amounts listed for each project are often for multiple years and may include amounts that have been disbursed; amounts committed to being disbursed to or through specific partners and executing agencies as reported in the proactive disclosure reports; and amounts that are committed to helping implement a particular project, but not with a specific partner.

Some projects are split into two or more units for administrative purposes. In these cases, it is necessary to aggregate multiple pieces of data to look at the whole project. These cases are often signalled when the last digits of the project number are not "001".

Perspective on the Future

The table in International Development Assistance Commitments shows both what Global Affairs Canada is doing to meet Government of Canada commitments related to development and the areas where funds will be directed in coming years in order to meet those commitments. Preliminary numbers reporting the recent past are subject to change.

Comprendre les données

Les activités de développement social, économique et démocratique, dans différentes sociétés, cultures et différents pays qui évoluent constamment, sont difficiles à saisir selon des codes numériques.

Un partenaire peut vouloir mettre en œuvre un projet dans plusieurs pays, sur plusieurs années, mais peut découvrir qu'il est impossible de le faire dans plus d'un pays pour différentes raisons : conflit, catastrophes naturelles, et autres facteurs qui échappent à son contrôle et à celui d'Affaires mondiales Canada. Au fur et à mesure que les conditions changent et que l'on en apprend davantage sur la façon d'obtenir des résultats durables en matière de développement international, la façon de faire d'Affaires mondiales Canada change aussi, de même que la façon de recueillir l'information. Les données saisies dans les systèmes d'information d'Affaires mondiales Canada et diffusées sur ce site de données ouvertes constituent la meilleure méthode qu'utilise Affaires mondiales Canada pour coder son travail dans le cadre des activités internationales que mène le Canada pour aider les personnes qui vivent dans l'extrême pauvreté.

Trois grandes différences caractérisent les sept types d'ensembles de données — la devise, l'actualité et les définitions — ce qui rend toute comparaison entre elles difficile et même impossible.

Devise : Affaires mondiales Canada gère des fonds en dollars canadiens. Les données de la Banque de projets, les données sur les dépenses des pays et les organisations multilatérales qui se trouvent dans le Rapport statistique sur l'aide internationale sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. On suppose que les montants déclarés dans les rapports d'Affaires mondiales Canada au Parlement ou aux médias canadiens sont exprimés en dollars canadiens, à moins d'avis contraire.

Les statistiques sur l'aide au développement officielle du Comité d'aide au développement (CAD) de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) rapportées par le Canada et d'autres pays donateurs sont exprimées en dollars américains.

Les données du tableau des engagements en matière d'aide au développement international du Canada sont fournies selon les unités utilisées pour chaque engagement. Prière de noter l'unité de mesure fournie avec chacun.

Actualité : Le moment auquel les données sont produites ou vérifiées en fonction de la période de référence influence grandement sur la fiabilité des données et la fréquence à laquelle elles peuvent être modifiées.

Définitions : Consultez la section sur les définitions des champs de données pour chaque ensemble de données afin de comprendre ce qui peut et ne peut être comparé.

Perspective sur le passé

Les données présentées dans les statistiques sur l'aide au développement officielle du CAD de l'OCDE le sont conformément aux directives de celui-ci, selon l'année civile (de janvier à décembre) pour les années antérieures. Le CAD diffuse les données en deux étapes : les données préliminaires et les données finales. Les données préliminaires sont diffusées au niveau agrégé trois mois suivant la fin de l'année civile. Les données finales et les données détaillées sur les projets sont diffusées neuf mois après, une fois que le CAD a recueilli et réuni les données de tous les donateurs. Les données du CAD portent entre autres sur les décaissements et les budgets relatifs à des projets qui ont été approuvés pendant la période de référence.

Les données présentées dans le Rapport statistique sur l'aide internationale sont fournies selon l'année financière au Canada (d'avril à mars) pour les années antérieures. En vertu de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d'aide au développement officielle, le gouvernement du Canada est tenu de publier un rapport statistique un an après la fin de l'année financière.

Pour ces ensembles de données, les données ne s'appliquent pas qu'à Affaires mondiales Canada, mais aussi à d'autres intervenants qui acheminent l'aide internationale du Canada, comme d'autres ministères fédéraux.

Perspective sur le présent

La Banque de projets reflète les données qui sont saisies dans les systèmes d'information d'Affaires mondiales Canada à propos des activités d'Affaires mondiales Canada. Ces données sont mises à jour presque quotidiennement.

Le montant de contribution maximale indiqué pour chaque projet comporte souvent de multiples années et peut inclure des montants décaissés, des montants réservés au décaissement par l'entremise de partenaires ou d'agents d'exécution précis ou directement à ceux-ci, tel que déclaré dans les rapports de divulgation proactive, et des montants qui sont affectés pour la mise en œuvre d'un projet en particulier, sans être décaissés à un partenaire précis.

Certains projets sont divisés en deux ou plusieurs unités pour des raisons administratives. Dans ce cas, il est nécessaire d'additionner les données pour obtenir une vue d'ensemble de tout le projet. Ces projets sont souvent signalés dans la dernière partie du numéro de projet, par des chiffres différents de « 001 ».

Perspective sur l'avenir

Le tableau des engagements en matière d'aide au développement international du Canada illustre à la fois ce que fait Affaires mondiales Canada pour donner suite aux engagements du gouvernement du Canada en lien avec le développement, et les domaines vers lesquels les fonds seront dirigés dans les années à venir afin de respecter ces engagements. Les données préliminaires qui rendent compte du passé récent sont sujettes à changement.