Forward Forward Regulatory Plan for Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel)

Order Amending the Allocation Method Order (Beef and Veal) - SOR 2012-224 – this is an annual regulatory amendment process (ministerial amendment)

Description of the objective

Fresh, chilled or frozen beef and veal imported from countries other than the United States, Mexico, Chile or Peru (non-FTA countries) are controlled under the Export and Import Permits Act and their imports are subject to a 76,409 tonne Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ). The Allocation Method Order (Beef and Veal) (AMO) is a regulation of the government of Canada that establishes the method for allocating the import access quantity for the beef and veal TRQ.

Description of the Regulation: Prior to 2004, the Canadian TRQ for beef and veal was allocated each year based upon companies’ imports of beef from non-FTA countries during the previous 12-month period of November 1 to October 31. Following the discovery in 2003 of a single case of bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) in Alberta, and reflecting the recommendation of industry stakeholders, the Minister has amended the Allocation Method Order every year since 2004 to give all TRQ applicants a choice between one of two possible base periods: the 16 months from January 1, 2002 to April 30, 2003 (prorated to a 12-month period), or the most recent 12-month period from August 1 to July 31.

Enabling Act: The Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations are held annually in the summer with the members of the Beef and Veal Tariff Quota Advisory Committee (TQAC), which is composed of representatives of a broad range of sectors with a direct interest in the administration of the TRQ: including the cattlemen, packers, processors, distributors, importers, retailers and foodservice operators, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Finance Canada and Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel) – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-996-3711
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Import Control List pursuant to subsection 5.1(1) and section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act - JUS-81000-2-804 (GIC amendment)

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada maintains a monitoring program to provide interested parties with a source of timely and accurate statistics concerning Canada’s steel imports. In particular, data and related reports concerning the type, quantity, price, and origin of steel imports are of ongoing interest to the Canadian steel industry. Should it be warranted by the circumstances of the steel industry and supported by industry stakeholders, the Minister may recommend to the Governor-in-Council that an Order be made in early 2014 to renew the placement of steel products on the ICL for the purposes of the Steel Import Monitoring Program, effective September 1st, 2014.

Description of the Regulation: Carbon and specialty steel products were placed on the Import Control List (ICL) pursuant to subsection 5.1(1) and section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). Pursuant to subsection 5.1(2) of the EIPA, where any type of steel or any product has been included on the ICL by order of the Governor-in-Council under subsection 5.1(1), that type of steel or that product is deemed to have been removed from the ICL on the expiration of the period of three years from the day on which it was included on that List or on the day prior to the expiration of that period as may be specified in the Order. The Steel Import Monitoring Program has been renewed consistently since 1986, and the current regulatory authority will expire on August 31, 2014.

Enabling Act: The Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

Canada Gazette, Part 1 or departmental consultation web page. Consultations will be completed by May 15, 2014.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel) – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-996-3711
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Allocation Method Order (Turkey) – SOR-96-389 (ministerial amendment)

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada is considering harmonizing the turkey tariff rate quota (TRQ) allocation year (January 1 to December 31) with the Federal Quota Allocation Marketing Year/Control Period (May 1 to April 30). The objective of the amendment would be to facilitate domestic production planning, thereby increasing efficiencies in the market to the benefit of all stakeholders.

Description of the Regulation: Turkey and turkey products are controlled under the Export and Import Permits Act and their importation is subject to a tariff rate quota (TRQ). The Allocation Method Order — Turkey and Turkey Products (AMO) is a regulation of the government of Canada that establishes the method for allocating the import access quantity for the turkey TRQ, including the period over which the quota is allocated.

Enabling Act: The Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations are being held with the Turkey Tariff Quota Advisory Committee (TQAC), which is made up of representatives from all the major industry associations, including turkey processors, further processors, distributors, and importers, as well as Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Finance Canada and Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel) – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-996-3711
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca 

Order Designating Inspectors under the Export and Import Permits Act – Regulatory amendment as required (ministerial order)

Description of the objective

Objective: The objective of this amendment would be to ensure that the list of inspectors designated under the Export and Import Permits Act was kept up to date.

Description of the Regulation: The Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) requires applicants to keep records and authorize the Minister of Foreign Affairs to designate persons who may inspect the records. The inspector powers under the EIPA provide the legislative authority for inspectors, with specific exceptions, to inspect any place where the applicant keeps records and to require copies of records. The purpose of this amendment is to under the Act.

Enabling Act: The Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

The individuals proposed for designation as inspectors are hired in accordance with the rules of the Public Service Employment Act and its Regulations. No public consultations are conducted.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel) – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-996-3711
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Import Control List (C.R.C, c. 604) to update the Description of Item 118 (skim milk powder)

Description of the objective

Objective: The objective of this amendment would be to to align the description of item 118 with the definition of the corresponding goods in the Customs Tariff.

Description of the Regulation: The Export and Import Permits Act grants the Governor in Council the authority to establish a list of goods, called an Import Control List (ICL), including therein any article the import of which the Governor in Council deems it necessary to control for different purposes, notably to implement an action taken under the Agricultural Marketing Programs Act or the Canadian Dairy Commission Act, or to implement an intergovernmental arrangement or commitment.

Milk and cream, concentrated or containing added sugar or other sweetening matter, in powder, granules or other solid forms, of a fat content, by weight, not exceeding 1.5 per cent, classified under tariff item No. 0402.10.10 or 0402.10.20 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff, are included on the ICL (item 118) in support of Canada’s supply management system.

Enabling Act: The Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

To be determined (none expected necessary, as this is a purely administrative amendment to reflect the intent of the AMO and associated administrative practices).

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel) – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-996-3711
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Plan prospectif de la reglementation : Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier)

Arrêté modifiant l’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas (bœuf et veau) – SOR 2012-224 – Il s’agit d’une modification réglementaire annuelle (arrêté ministériel)

Description de l’objectif

Le bœuf et le veau frais, réfrigérés ou congelés, importés de pays autres que les États-Unis, le Mexique, le Chili et le Pérou (pays non-signataires d'un accord de libre-échange - ALE), sont contrôlés en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et leurs importations soumises à un contingent tarifaire (CT) de 76 409 tonnes. L’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas (bœuf et veau) (l’Arrêté) est un règlement du gouvernement du Canada établissant la méthode par laquelle la quantité d’accès du CT pour le bœuf et le veau est allouée.

Description de la réglementation : Avant 2004, l'attribution annuelle à une entreprise d’une part du contingent tarifaire pour le bœuf et le veau était fondée sur la quantité de bœuf importée par celle-ci provenant de pays non-signataires d'un ALE durant la période de 12 mois précédente, soit du 1er novembre au 31 octobre. Suite à la découverte en 2003 d’un cas d’encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB) en Alberta, et en accord avec les recommandations des acteurs de l’industrie, le ministre a modifié l’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation chaque année depuis 2004 afin de donner à tous les demandeurs d’une part du CT la possibilité de choisir entre deux périodes de référence, soit la période de 16 mois allant du 1er janvier 2002 au 30 avril 2003 (calculée au prorata d’une période de 12 mois), soit la période plus récente de 12 mois commençant le 1er août et se terminant le 31 juillet.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il n’y a pas de répercussions anticipées sur les entreprises.

Occasions de consultation publique

Des consultations sur cette question sont effectuées chaque année pendant l’été auprès des membres du Comité consultatif sur le contingent tarifaire pour le bœuf et le veau, qui est composé de représentants des différents secteurs concernés par l’administration du CT, notamment les éleveurs de bovins, les emballeurs, les transformateurs, les distributeurs, les importateurs, les détaillants et les entreprises de restauration, ainsi qu’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, le ministère des Finances et Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier) – Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-996-3711
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant la Liste de marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC) en vertu du paragraphe 5.1(1) et de l’article 6 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation - JUS-81000-2-804 (arrêté du Gouverneur en conseil)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada a en place un programme de surveillance visant à fournir aux parties intéressées des données à jour et précises sur les importations d’acier au pays. En particulier, des données et rapports connexes sur le type, le volume, le prix et l’origine des importations d’acier intéressent l’industrie sidérurgique canadienne. Si cela s’avère pertinent, considérant les circonstances au sein de l’industrie de l’acier et selon les acteurs du secteur, le Ministre pourrait recommander au Gouverneur en conseil de décréter, au début de 2014, pour une entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2014, le renouvellement du placement des produits de l’acier sur la LMIC aux fins du programme de surveillance des importations de l’acier.

Description de la réglementation : les produits en acier ordinaire et en acier spécialisé ont été placés sur la LMIC, en vertu du paragraphe 5.1(1) et de l’article 6 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI). Aux termes du paragraphe 5.1(2) de la LLEI, les aciers et produits inscrits sur la LMIC en application d’un décret pris en vertu du paragraphe 5.1(1) sont réputés radiés de la LMIC à l’expiration des trois ans suivant la date de leur inscription aux termes du décret ou à la date, antérieure à celle de l’expiration, qui y est précisée. Le programme de surveillance des importations de l’acier a été renouvelé régulièrement depuis 1986, et le pouvoir de réglementation actuel arrive à expiration le 31 août 2014.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il n’y a pas de répercussions anticipées sur les entreprises.

Occasions de consultation publique

Gazette du Canada, Partie 1, ou le site Internet de consultation du ministère. Les consultations seront terminées d'ici le 15 mai 2014.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier) – Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-996-3711
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant l’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas de dindons, dindes et de leurs produits – SOR-96-389 (arrêté ministériel)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada envisage d’harmoniser la période d’allocation du contingent tarifaire (CT) pour le dindon (du 1er janvier au 31 décembre) avec l’année marketing/la période de contrôle du quota fédéral (du 1er mai au 30 avril). L’objectif de cette modification serait de faciliter la planification de la production domestique et d’ainsi accroître l’efficacité du marché et engendrer des bénéfices pour tous les acteurs de l’industrie.

Description de la réglementation : Le dindon et les produits du dindon sont contrôlés en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et leurs importations soumises à un contingent tarifaire (CT). L’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas de dindons, dindes et de leurs produits (l’Arrêté) est un règlement du gouvernement du Canada établissant la méthode par laquelle la quantité d’accès du CT pour le dindon est allouée, incluant la période d’allocation.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il n’y a pas de répercussions anticipées sur les entreprises.

Occasions de consultation publique

Des consultations sur cette question sont en cours avec le Comité consultatif sur le contingent tarifaire pour le dindon, qui est composé de représentants de toutes les grandes associations de l'industrie, notamment les transformateurs, distributeurs, et importateurs de dindon, d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, ainsi que d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, du ministère des Finances et d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier) – Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-996-3711
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté désignant les inspecteurs en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation – Modification réglementaire effectuée si nécessaire (arrêté ministériel)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : L’objectif de cette modification serait de garantir que la liste des inspecteurs désignés en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) est maintenue à jour.

Description de la réglementation : La LLEI exige des demandeurs qu’ils tiennent des registres et autorise le ministre des Affaires étrangères à désigner des personnes pouvant inspecter ces registres. Les pouvoirs d’inspection octroyés par la LLEI fournissent le cadre légal permettant aux inspecteurs de contrôler tout lieu où les demandeurs conservent les registres et d’exiger copie des registres.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il n’y a pas de répercussions anticipées sur les entreprises.

Occasions de consultation publique

Les individus mis de l’avant pour désignation comme inspecteurs sont embauchés selon les règles établies par la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique et les règlements afférents. Aucune consultation publique n’est effectuée.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier) – Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-996-3711
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (C.R.C., ch. 604) afin d’actualiser la description de l’item 118 (poudre de lait écrémé)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : L’objectif de cette modification serait de faire correspondre la description de l’item 118 et la définition des produits correspondants fournie au Tarif des douanes.

Description de la réglementation : La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation octroie au Gouverneur en conseil l’autorité de dresser la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC) comprenant les articles dont, à son avis, il est nécessaire de contrôler l’importation pour différentes fins, dont mettre à exécution toute mesure d’application de la Loi sur les programmes de commercialisation agricole ou de la Loi sur la Commission canadienne du lait, ou de mettre en œuvre un accord ou un engagement intergouvernemental.

Le lait et la crème, concentrés ou additionnés de sucre ou d’autres édulcorants, en poudre, en granulés ou sous d’autres formes solides, contenant au plus 1,5 % en poids de matières grasses, qui sont classés dans les numéros tarifaires 0402.10.10 ou 0402.10.20 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes, sont inclus sur la LMIC (item 118) en appui au système canadien de gestion de l’offre.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il n’y a pas de répercussions anticipées sur les entreprises.

Occasions de consultation publique

À déterminer (pourrait ne pas être nécessaires puisqu’il s’agit d’une simple modification administrative).

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non strategiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier) – Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-996-3711
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.