Forward Regulatory Plan for Strategic and Military Goods and Technologies

Order Amending the Export Control List (2013)

Description of the objective

Objective: In order for Canada to implement its international obligations and commitments and for Canada’s export policies concerning strategic and military goods and technology to be effective, Canada’s export control regime must reflect current obligations, commitments and policies.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) seeks to amend the Export Control List (ECL) to reflect the Government of Canada’s obligations, commitments and policies resulting from Canada’s participation in the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies, the Nuclear Suppliers Group, the Missile Technology Control Regime and the Australia Group.

Description of the Regulation: The amendment to the ECL consists of various changes such as the amendment of the definition of the “Guide” and the updating of references to various international commitments up to December 2013.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or the small business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

As is customary when dealing with potential changes to Canada’s export controls regime, DFATD consults with private industry in the elaboration of its positions prior to entering into international negotiations and undertaking commitments.

These consultations are directed at stakeholders that are able to provide the Government of Canada with expert technical advice regarding strategic and military goods and technology.

Consultations regarding proposed changes within the various multilateral export control and weapons of mass destruction non-proliferation regimes to which Canada is a Participating State normally occur between January and May each year.  Please note that at the time of consultation there is no guarantee that the issue consulted will result in a change to Canada’s export controls in the year they were consulted or in the future.

Consultations regarding changes to be implemented in the Order Amending the Export Control List (2013) have been completed.

Departmental contact

Strategic and Military Goods and Technologies -  General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Export Control List (2014)

Description of the objective

Objective: In order for Canada to implement its international obligations and commitments and for Canada’s export policies concerning strategic and military goods and technology to be effective, Canada’s export control regime must reflect current obligations, commitments and policies.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) seeks to amend the Export Control List (ECL) to reflect the Government of Canada’s obligations, commitments and policies resulting from Canada’s participation in the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies, the Nuclear Suppliers Group, the Missile Technology Control Regime and the Australia Group.

Description of the Regulation: The amendment to the ECL consists of various changes such as the amendment of the definition of the “Guide” and the updating of references to various international commitments up to December 2014.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or the small business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

As is customary when dealing with potential changes to Canada’s export controls regime, DFATD consults with private industry in the elaboration of its positions prior to entering into international negotiations and undertaking commitments.

These consultations are directed at stakeholders that are able to provide the Government of Canada with expert technical advice regarding strategic and military goods and technology.

Consultations regarding proposed changes within the various multilateral export control and weapons of mass destruction non-proliferation regimes to which Canada is a Participating State normally occur between January and May each year.  Please note that at the time of consultation there is no guarantee that the issue consulted will result in a change to Canada’s export controls in the year they were consulted or in the future.

Consultations regarding changes to be implemented in the Order Amending the Export Control List (2014) have been completed.

Departmental contact

Strategic and Military Goods and Technologies - General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Export Control List (2015)

Description of the objective

Objective: In order for Canada to implement its international obligations and commitments and for Canada’s export policies concerning strategic and military goods and technology to be effective, Canada’s export control regime must reflect current obligations, commitments and policies.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) seeks to amend the Export Control List (ECL) to reflect the Government of Canada’s obligations, commitments and policies resulting from Canada’s participation in the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies, the Nuclear Suppliers Group, the Missile Technology Control Regime and the Australia Group.

Description of the Regulation: The amendment to the ECL consists of various changes such as the amendment of the definition of the “Guide” and the updating of references to various international commitments up to December 2015.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or the small business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

As is customary when dealing with potential changes to Canada’s export controls regime, DFATD consults with private industry in the elaboration of its positions prior to entering into international negotiations and undertaking commitments.

These consultations are directed at stakeholders that are able to provide the Government of Canada with expert technical advice regarding strategic and military goods and technology.

Consultations regarding proposed changes within the various multilateral export control and weapons of mass destruction non-proliferation regimes to which Canada is a Participating State normally occur between January and May each year. Please note that at the time of consultation there is no guarantee that the issue consulted will result in a change to Canada’s export controls in the year they were consulted or in the future.

Consultations regarding changes to be implemented in the Order Amending the Export Control List (2015) will commence in 2015.

Departmental contact

Strategic and Military Goods and Technologies - General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Export Permit Regulations

Description of the objective

Objective: The Order Amending the Export Permit Regulations (the Order) seeks to make necessary changes to the Export Permit Regulations to reflect current procedures and requirements. Furthermore, a portion of the Order will respond to comments received from the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations regarding their concerns with the inclusion of non-prescriptive language within the Export Permit Regulations.

Description of the Regulation: The amendment to the Export Permit Regulations will make minor changes to section 3 of the Export Permit Regulation by including greater specificity regarding information requirements, the removal of discretionary requests for certain information and the correction of a translation error.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or the small business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

The pre-publication of the Order in the Canada Gazette, Part I will be the first opportunity that the exporting community has to provide specific comments on the proposed regulatory amendment. All comments received during the comment period will be taken into account by the Department.

Departmental contact

Strategic and Military Goods and Technologies -  General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Plan prospectif de la reglementation : Marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques

Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2013)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif: Afin que le Canada puisse s’acquitter de ses obligations et engagements internationaux et que ses politiques en matière d’exportation de marchandises et de technologies militaires ayant une valeur stratégique demeurent efficaces, le régime de contrôle à l’exportation du Canada doit refléter les obligations, engagements et politiques en vigueur.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) souhaite modifier la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC) de façon à ce qu’elle soit conforme aux obligations, engagements et politiques découlant de la participation du Canada à l’Arrangement de Wassenaar sur le contrôle des exportations d’armes classiques et de biens et technologies à double usage, au Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires, au Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles et au Groupe d’Australie.

Description du règlement: La modification de la LMTEC englobe divers changements, comme la modification de la définition du « Guide » et la mise à jour des renvois à divers engagements internationaux jusqu’à décembre 2013.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Il peut y des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Comme il le fait habituellement lorsque des modifications sont envisagées quant au régime de contrôle des exportations du Canada, le MAECD consulte le secteur privé au cours de l’élaboration de ses positions avant d’engager des négociations internationales et de prendre des engagements.

Ces consultations s’adressent aux intervenants en mesure de fournir au gouvernement du Canada des avis techniques d’experts concernant les marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires.

Les consultations concernant les changements proposés dans les divers régimes multilatéraux de contrôle des exportations et de non-prolifération des armes de destruction massive auxquels le Canada participe ont normalement lieu chaque année entre janvier et mai. Veuillez noter qu’au moment des consultations, il n’y a aucune garantie que la question faisant l’objet des consultations donnera lieu à un changement aux contrôles à l’exportation du Canada au cours de l’année des consultations ou des années ultérieures.

Les consultations concernant les changements à mettre en œuvre dans le Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2013) ont été complétées.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques -  Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-4331
Télécopieur: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2014)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Afin que le Canada puisse s’acquitter de ses obligations et engagements internationaux et que ses politiques en matière d’exportation de marchandises et de technologies militaires ayant une valeur stratégique demeurent efficaces, le régime de contrôle à l’exportation du Canada doit refléter les obligations, engagements et politiques en vigueur.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) souhaite modifier la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC) de façon à ce qu’elle soit conforme aux obligations, engagements et politiques découlant de la participation du Canada à l’Arrangement de Wassenaar sur le contrôle des exportations d’armes classiques et de biens et technologies à double usage, au Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires, au Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles et au Groupe d’Australie.

Description du règlement : La modification de la LMTEC englobe divers changements, comme la modification de la définition du « Guide » et la mise à jour des renvois à divers engagements internationaux jusqu’à décembre 2014.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Il peut y avoir des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Comme il le fait habituellement lorsque des modifications sont envisagées quant au régime de contrôle des exportations du Canada, le MAECD consulte le secteur privé au cours de l’élaboration de ses positions avant d’engager des négociations internationales et de prendre des engagements.

Ces consultations s’adressent aux intervenants en mesure de fournir au gouvernement du Canada des avis techniques d’experts concernant les marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires.

Les consultations concernant les changements proposés dans les divers régimes multilatéraux de contrôle des exportations et de non-prolifération des armes de destruction massive auxquels le Canada participe ont normalement lieu chaque année entre janvier et mai. Veuillez noter qu’au moment des consultations, il n’y a aucune garantie que la question faisant l’objet des consultations donnera lieu à un changement aux contrôles à l’exportation du Canada au cours de l’année des consultations ou des années ultérieures.

Les consultations concernant les changements à mettre en œuvre dans le Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2014) ont été complétées.

Personne–ressource au ministère

Marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-4331
Télécopieur: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2015)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Afin que le Canada puisse s’acquitter de ses obligations et engagements internationaux et que ses politiques en matière d’exportation de marchandises et de technologies militaires ayant une valeur stratégique demeurent efficaces, le régime de contrôle à l’exportation du Canada doit refléter les obligations, engagements et politiques en vigueur.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères du Commerce-et du Développement (MAECD) souhaite modifier la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC) de façon à ce qu’elle soit conforme aux obligations, engagements et politiques découlant de la participation du Canada à l’Arrangement de Wassenaar sur le contrôle des exportations d’armes classiques et de biens et technologies à double usage, au Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires, au Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles et au Groupe d’Australie.

Description du règlement : La modification de la LMTEC englobe divers changements, comme la modification de la définition du « Guide » et la mise à jour des renvois à divers engagements internationaux jusqu’à décembre 2015.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Il peut y avoir des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Comme il le fait habituellement lorsque des modifications sont envisagées quant au régime de contrôle des exportations du Canada, le MAECD consulte le secteur privé au cours de l’élaboration de ses positions avant d’engager des négociations internationales et de prendre des engagements.

Ces consultations s’adressent aux intervenants en mesure de fournir au gouvernement du Canada des avis techniques d’experts concernant les marchandises et technologies stratégiques et militaires.

Les consultations concernant les changements proposés dans les divers régimes multilatéraux de contrôle des exportations et de non-prolifération des armes de destruction massive auxquels le Canada participe ont normalement lieu chaque année entre janvier et mai. Veuillez noter qu’au moment des consultations, il n’y a aucune garantie que la question faisant l’objet des consultations donnera lieu à un changement aux contrôles à l’exportation du Canada au cours de l’année des consultations ou des années ultérieures.

Les consultations concernant les changements à mettre en œuvre dans le Décret modifiant la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (2015) seront commencé en 2015.

Personne–ressource au ministère

Marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-4331
Télécopieur: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Décret modifiant le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation

Description de l’objectif

Objectif: Le Décret modifiant le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (le Décret) a pour objet d’apporter les modifications nécessaires au Règlement sur les licences d’exportation pour refléter les procédures et les exigences actuelles. En outre, une partie du Décret répondra aux commentaires formulés par les membres du Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation, liées à l’emploi d’un langage non normatif dans le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation.

Description du règlement: La modification du Règlement sur les licences d’exportation visera l’apport de changements mineurs à la section 3 du Règlement y compris l’inclusion d’un libellé plus spécifique concernant les exigences en matière d’information, la suppression de la nature discrétionnaire associée aux demandes visant certains renseignements particuliers et la correction d’une erreur de traduction.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Il peut y des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

La publication préalable du présent Décret dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada constituera la première occasion pour les exportateurs de formuler des observations au sujet des modifications réglementaires proposées. Tous les commentaires reçus au cours de cette période seront pris en compte par le Ministère.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-4331
Télécopieur: 613-996-9933
TIE.reception@international.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.