Forward Regulatory Plan for Softwood Lumber Controls

Allocation Method Order for Softwood Lumber Products (2015)

Description of the objective

The AMO establishes the method for allocating to individual companies the quantity of softwood lumber products (commonly referred to as quota) that may be exported to the United States during a month from Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan.

The AMO for Softwood Lumber products has traditionally been developed to cover 12 month periods beginning in January of a specific year and expiring in December of that same year.

Subsection 6.3(2) of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to determine the quantity of softwood lumber products that may be exported from a region per month - otherwise known as the monthly Regional Quota Volume (RQV). Subsection 6.3(3) of the EIPA provides authority for the Minister of Foreign Affairs to establish, by order, a methodology for allocating, on a monthly basis, the RQV among companies that have registered and the Softwood Lumber Export Charge Act.

The AMO is a fundamental component of the regulations and legislation that implement Canada's obligations under the SLA.

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or the small business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

In early spring of each year, the Government of Canada holds an extensive series of consultation meetings with industry representatives/stakeholders and governments of the provinces that fall under an allocation regime (Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba & Saskatchewan) regarding the specific allocation methodologies applicable to their region.

Departmental contact

Softwood Lumber – General Enquiries
Telephone: 613-944-2168
Facsimile: 613-944-8950
softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca 

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Plan prospectif de la reglementation : contrôles sur le bois d’œuvre

Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas (produits de bois d’œuvre) (2015)

Description de l’objectif

L’arrêté établit la méthode d’allocation de la quantité de produits de bois d’œuvre (communément appelée « quota ») que chaque entreprise admissible peut exporter mensuellement aux États Unis à partir du Québec, de l’Ontario, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan.

Jusqu’ici, l’arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas pour les produits de bois d’œuvre s’est habituellement appliqué à une période de 12 mois commençant au mois de janvier d’une année donnée.

L’alinéa 6.3(2) de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) prévoit que le ministre des Affaires étrangères peut déterminer la quantité de produits de bois d’œuvre pouvant être exportée d’une région pour un mois – le « contingent régional » (CR). L’alinéa 6.3(3) de la LLEI autorise le ministre à établir, par arrêté, une méthode pour allouer mensuellement le CR parmi toutes les entreprises inscrites en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur les droits d’exportation de produits de bois d’œuvre qui en font la demande.

L’arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas constitue un élément fondamental de l’ensemble des règlements et des lois qui servent à mettre en application les obligations du Canada au titre de l’Accord sur le bois d’œuvre résineux.

Indicateur pour les incidences sur les entreprises

Il peut y avoir des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la perspective des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Occasions de consultation publique

Chaque année, au début du printemps, le gouvernement du Canada tient de vastes consultations avec les représentants de l’industrie et les gouvernements des provinces visées par le régime de contingent (Québec, Ontario, Manitoba et Saskatchewan) au sujet de la méthode d’allocation à appliquer à leur région.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Bois d'oeuvre –  Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 613-944-2168
Télécopieur : 613-944-8950
softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca 

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.