Strategic Environmental Assessment: Public Statement

Canada's Approach to Current and Future Nuclear Cooperation Agreements

A Nuclear Cooperation Agreement (NCA) is a bilateral treaty which provides the framework for cooperation between Canada and another country in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, including nuclear trade and collaboration.

While an NCA itself does not directly lead to any environmental impacts, a Detailed Analysis of Canada’s approach to current and future NCAs was conducted in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on Environmental Assessment of Policies, Plans, and Program proposals. The Detailed Analysis has identified potential positive environmental effects of nuclear trade and collaboration, which include the development of clean, reliable nuclear energy technologies, the production of electricity without the generation of green house gases (GHG) emissions, and the supply of fresh water. Should environmental regulations and measures not be respected, potential negative environmental impacts related to the development of nuclear energy would include the mismanagement of radioactive waste, exposure of the public and workers to higher doses of radiation, and the potential for nuclear accidents resulting in the release of harmful radiation.

Before Canada engages in nuclear cooperation with a new partner country, it will take into account environmental considerations, especially the partner country's capacity to enforce environmental standards and commitment to respect its international environmental obligations. Canada will ensure that nuclear projects within Canada are subject to environmental assessments in order to mitigate any negative environmental impact that may arise from such projects. In addition, Canadian nuclear industry has and will continue to collaborate with its overseas counterparts in the preparation of environmental assessments for nuclear projects abroad.

As Canada pursues NCAs with new partners, it will ensure that any cooperation undertaken shall be in accordance with the laws, regulations and policies in force in their respective jurisdictions. Should the opportunity arise, Canada and the partner country can also decide to collaborate on safety, environmental and regulatory aspects of the production of nuclear energy. Finally, Canada will continue to work to improve its nuclear technology designs, and work closely with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and bilateral partners in promoting higher levels of safe, reliable, and environmentally friendly nuclear generation.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique : Déclaration publique

L’approche du Canada concernant les Accords de coopération nucléaire actuels et à venir

Un Accord de coopération nucléaire (ACN) est un traité bilatéral qui établit le cadre pour la coopération entre le Canada et un autre pays en matière d’utilisations pacifiques de l’énergie nucléaire, y compris aux plans du commerce et de la collaboration.

Même si, en soi, un ACN n’a pas d’incidences environnementales directes, une analyse détaillée de l’approche du Canada concernant les ACN actuels et à venir a été faite, conformément à la directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Cette analyse détaillée a permis d’établir que le commerce et la collaboration dans le domaine nucléaire pouvaient avoir des effets environnementaux positifs, dont le développement de technologies énergétiques nucléaires propres et fiables, la production d’électricité sans émissions de gaz à effet de serre, ainsi que l’approvisionnement en eau potable. Par contre, advenant le non-respect de la réglementation et des mesures applicables, le développement de l’énergie nucléaire peut avoir des impacts négatifs sur l’environnement, par exemple la mauvaise gestion des déchets radioactifs, l’exposition du public et des travailleurs à des doses de radiation plus élevées, ainsi que la possibilité d’accidents nucléaires entraînant l’émission de radiations nocives.

Avant de se lancer dans toute coopération nucléaire avec un nouveau pays partenaire, le Canada tient compte des considérations environnementales, surtout la capacité de l’autre pays à faire respecter les normes pertinentes, et sa détermination à honorer ses obligations internationales en ce domaine. Le Canada veille à ce que les projets nucléaires sur son territoire soient assujettis à une évaluation environnementale, afin d’atténuer tout impact négatif qui pourrait en résulter. De plus, l’industrie nucléaire canadienne collabore, et continuera de le faire, avec celle des autres pays concernés lorsqu’il s’agit de préparer les évaluations environnementales de projets nucléaires à l’étranger.

Lorsqu’il cherche à conclure des ACN avec de nouveaux partenaires, le Canada veille à ce que toute activité de coopération soit menée en conformité avec ses lois, règlements et politiques, et ceux de l’autre pays. Si l’occasion se présente, le Canada et le pays partenaire peuvent aussi décider de collaborer aux aspects sécuritaire, environnemental et réglementaire de la production d’énergie nucléaire. Enfin, le Canada continuera de chercher à améliorer sa technologie nucléaire, et de collaborer étroitement avec l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique et ses partenaires bilatéraux pour promouvoir des centrales nucléaires plus sûres, fiables et inoffensives pour l’environnement