Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2011–2012

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2012.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

Raison d’être

DFATD is responsible for the conduct of Canada’s international affairs, including international trade and commerce. It advances Canada’s interests internationally, shapes Canada’s responses to international issues and events, manages bilateral and multilateral relationships and delivers programs worldwide. It provides commercial, consular and passport services to Canadians at home and abroad and manages Canada’s global network of missions in 106 countries, which serves as the Government of Canada’s international platform.

Responsibilities

The department’s mandate is set out in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Act and can be summarized as follows:

  • conduct all official diplomatic communications and negotiations between the Government of Canada and other countries and international organizations;
  • coordinate Canada’s economic relations and promote Canadian international trade and commerce; and
  • manage Canada’s diplomatic and consular missions and services abroad, including the administration of the Canadian Foreign Service.

To protect Canadians and advance Canada’s priorities and interests abroad, the department delivers programs in support of peace and security, democracy, human rights and the rule of law, and provides whole–of–government coordination in response to international crises and natural disasters abroad.

DFATD generates international opportunities for Canadian business by negotiating agreements to open and expand markets, facilitating two–way trade and investment, and encouraging innovation through international science and technology partnerships.

For more information on DFATD’s expenditure profile, please refer to the Departmental Performance Report Section I: Organizational Overview.

Total annual expenditures1 for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada are summarized below:

Expenditure CategoryExpenditures
for the
Year Ending
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures for the previous
year ending (in thousands of dollars)
Variance
 31-March-201231-March-2011 
Total$87,661.1$108,001.3- $20,340.2

1Includes Passport Canada
2Includes International travel that is part of a department's program    

Travel – Public Servants$71,476.1$80,673.7-$9,197.6
Travel – Non–Public Servants$5,481.1$12,110.6-$6,629.5
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff2 $564.3$489.0$75.3
Total Travel$77,521.5$93,273.3 -$ 15,751.8
Hospitality$8,050.7$12,517.3-$4,466.6
Conference Fees$2,088.9$2,210.7-$121.8

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel:

Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, departmental travel expenditures by public servants decreased mainly due to Canada's diminishing involvement in Afghanistan resulting in less travel to that region, the non-recurrence of travel expenditures associated with the 2010 G8/G20 Summits, as well as the departmental travel restrictions which were put in place in February 2012.  

Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2010-2011, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased due to the non-recurrence of costs associated with the G8/G20 Summits  and the evacuation of Canadians from Egypt & Libya.

Ministers and Ministers’ Staff: Canada stands tall on the world stage, delivering principled leadership in the promotion of human rights, democracy, and the rule of law, and providing services to Canadians abroad. Our Government's ambitious pro-trade plan is generating jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity for Canadians and our trading partners around the world.

Hospitality: The decrease in hospitality expenses is mainly due to the non-recurring expenses in 2010-2011 related to Canada’s role as the host of the G8/G20 Summits.

Conference Fees: There is no significant variance in Conference Fees between fiscal years.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences 2011-2012

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences, du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du ministère des Affaires Étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

Raison d’être

Le MAECD assume la responsabilité de la conduite des affaires internationales du Canada, y compris les échanges internationaux et le commerce mondial. Il fait progresser les intérêts internationaux du Canada, façonne les réponses du Canada vis-à-vis des enjeux et des événements internationaux, gère ses relations bilatérales et multilatérales, et exécute des programmes partout dans le monde. Il fournit des services commerciaux, consulaires et de passeport aux Canadiens, au Canada et à l’étranger, et gère un réseau international de missions dans 106 pays, qui constitue la plateforme internationale du gouvernement du Canada.

Responsabilités

Le mandat du Ministère est énoncé dans la Loi sur le ministère des Affaires Étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada et peut se résumer comme suit :

  • diriger l’ensemble des communications diplomatiques et des négociations officielles entre le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres pays ainsi que les organisations internationales;
  • coordonner les relations économiques du Canada et promouvoir ses échanges commerciaux à l’échelle internationale; et
  • gérer les missions et les services diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada à l’étranger, y compris l’administration du service extérieur canadien.

Pour protéger les Canadiens et promouvoir les priorités et les intérêts du Canada à l’étranger, le Ministère exécute des programmes à l’appui de la paix et de la sécurité, de la démocratie, des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit, et assure la coordination pangouvernementale lorsque surviennent des crises internationales et des catastrophes naturelles à l’étranger.

Le MAECD crée des débouchés internationaux pour les entreprises canadiennes, en négociant des accords destinés à ouvrir et à élargir les marchés, en facilitant le commerce et l’investissement bilatéraux, et en encourageant l’innovation grâce à des partenariats internationaux en science et en technologie.

Pour plus d’informations sur le profil des dépenses du MAECD, veuillez consulter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement , section I : aperçu de l’organisation.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages1, d’accueil et de conférences du ministère des Affaires Étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépenseDépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent se terminant le
(en milliers de dollars)
Écart
 31-Mar-201231-Mar-2011 
Total$87,661.1$108,001.3- $20,340.2

1Inclus Passeport Canada
2Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme d’un ministère    

Voyages - Fonctionnaires$71,476.1$80,673.7-$9,197.6
Voyages - Non-Fonctionnaires$5,481.1$12,110.6-$6,629.5
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre2 $564.3$489.0$75.3
Total des dépenses de voyages$77,521.5$93,273.3 -$ 15,751.8
Accueil$8,050.7$12,517.3-$4,466.6
Frais de participation aux conférences$2,088.9$2,210.7-$121.8

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages:

Fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l'exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses ministérielles sur les voyages faits par des fonctionnaires ont diminué principalement en raison de la diminution de l'engagement du Canada en Afghanistan impliquant moins de déplacements dans cette région, la non-récurrence des frais de voyage liés aux Sommets du G8/G20 de 2010 ainsi que les restrictions de voyage qui ont été mis en place au ministère en février 2012.

Non-fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l'exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses ministérielles sur les voyages des non-fonctionnaires ont diminué en raison de la non-récurrence des coûts associés aux sommets du G8/G20 et l'évacuation des Canadiens de l'Egypte et de la Libye.

Ministre et personnel du ministre : Le Canada se dresse fièrement sur ​​la scène mondiale, offrant du leadership dans la promotion des droits de l'homme, de la démocratie et de la primauté du droit, et fournissant des services aux Canadiens à l'étranger. Le plan ambitieux de commerce de notre gouvernement favorise la création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiens et nos partenaires commerciaux dans le monde entier.

Accueil: La diminution des frais d'accueil est principalement due à des dépenses non récurrentes en 2010-2011 liées au rôle du Canada en tant qu'hôte des sommets du G8/G20.

Frais de participation aux conférences: Il n'y a aucun écart significatif concernant les frais de conférence entre les exercices.