Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso remains one of the world’s poorest countries, with a mainly rural population, ranking 181 out of 187 on the United Nations Development Programme’s 2014 Human Development Index. In 2012, close to 45 percent of the population lived on less than US$1.25 per day.

The average actual growth rate of Burkina Faso’s gross domestic product (GDP) has been about five percent per year for a decade. The primary sector—particularly agriculture—which employs more than 80 percent of the labour force, contributes only 34 percent of GDP and remains vulnerable to climatic conditions, a limited supply of water resources in the country’s Sahel region, and fluctuations in global food and petroleum product markets. The service sector does not allow for the stimulation of an inclusive economy, and the processing sector, which could potentially generate added value, accounts for only 25 percent of GDP. Revenues from gold exports have surpassed those from cotton exports since 2009. In 2013, gold accounted for some 80 percent of exports, and cotton for 18 percent. According to the World Bank’s 2014 Doing Business index, which measures business regulations and their effective application in 189 countries, Burkina Faso occupies 154th place for ease of doing business.

Despite the country’s poor performance on most of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), progress has been made in the areas of basic education, access to drinking water and combating HIV/AIDS. The primary school enrolment rate rose from 44.4 percent in 2000 to 84 percent in 2014. In 2013, the HIV/AIDS prevalence rate in adults aged 15 to 49 was 0.9 percent.

Since the adoption of a multi-party system in 1991, the political situation has been relatively stable. However, in October 2014, a popular uprising prevailed over former president Compaoré after 27 uninterrupted years in power. A transitional government was appointed with Lieutenant-Colonel Issac Zida as prime minister. Elections are planned for November 2015.

Efforts in the area of good governance include the progressive adoption of legislative frameworks and ratification in 2006 of the United Nations Convention against Corruption. In 2003, Burkina Faso joined the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM), a mutually agreed-upon program adopted by the member states of the African Union to promote and reinforce high standards of governance. Even so, Burkina Faso is ranked 85th out of 175 countries on Transparency International’s 2014 Corruption Perceptions Index.

Priorities

In 2014, Burkina Faso was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts.

Canada's international development programming in Burkina Faso supports the Government of Burkina Faso's Strategy for Accelerated Growth and Sustainable Development 2011–2015 (PDF, 1.68 MB, 99 pages), which identifies four major challenges:

  • developing accelerated growth foundations;
  • reinforcing human capital and promoting social protection;
  • reinforcing good governance; and
  • integrating crosscutting priorities in development policies and programs.

The strategic direction of Canada's program in Burkina Faso is to help the country secure a future for children and youth, and stimulate sustainable economic growth.

Children and youth

The country has a high proportion of children and youth, with some seven million Burkinabés under the age of 14. This segment of the population is especially vulnerable to violence and economic and sexual exploitation. Although Burkina Faso has ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1990) and the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (1992), the application of these treaties is hindered by factors such as the increasing poverty of most of the population, limited knowledge of the various legal texts and insufficient educational opportunities.

From 2001 to 2011, Canada supported the Burkinabé government's Ten-Year Basic Education Development Plan. Since 2012, Canada has supported the government’s new initiative called the ten-year plan for the development of the basic education sector 2011–2020 . This plan aims to improve educational services and make them more accessible and to develop a skills-for-employment training program for youth.

Canada also supports the implementation of Burkina Faso's national gender policy(PDF in French, 1 MB, 56 pages), which aims to make educational services more accessible to girls.

Key anticipated results

  • The percentage of girls and boys who finish primary school will increase from 40 percent to 75 percent by 2016.
  • The percentage of youth who finish post-primary education, including vocational training, will increase from 16 percent to 34 percent by 2016.

Economic growth

Canada continues to focus on improving microfinance and developing the agri-food sector by concentrating on the economic empowerment of women and young people, and their integration into the labour market.

Key anticipated results

  • Entrepreneurs and farmers use the financial services and products designed for them more frequently and more equitably.
  • Workers in the agri-food sector will increase their sustainable productivity.

Progress on aid effectiveness

Burkina Faso signed the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages) in 2005 and the Busan Partnership Agreement for effective development cooperation in 2011.

Based on the Busan agreement, Burkina Faso adopted a national action plan for development cooperation effectiveness (PANED) in 2014. One purpose of the plan is to strengthen the role of the private sector and civil society in the country’s development and build good governance, particularly by implementing anti-corruption measures and strengthening the decentralization process.

Burkina Faso is a model for best practices in public financial management in Africa, which is why 9 out of 10 of Burkina Faso's main donors provide it with general budgetary support. Canada is a member of the donor coordination group and plays a leadership role among donors in education and microfinance.

Achievements

2013-2014

Achievements 2013-2014

Children and youth

  • Helped increase the percentage of children attending primary school from 81 percent in 2012 to about 84 percent in 2014.
  • Helped increase the number of primary school classrooms from 34,900 in 2009 to more than 52,000 in 2013—a 49-percent increase.
  • Helped to increase the successful completion rate at the primary level from 45.9 percent (42.5 percent girls) in 2009 to 59.5 percent (59.7 percent girls) in June 2013.

Sustainable economic development

  • Helped increase membership in the Réseau des caisses populaires du Burkina Faso from 673,100 to 923,100 (an increase of 37 percent), and helped increase its assets from $180 million to $356 million (an increase of 100 percent) between 2009 and the end of 2013.
  • Helped expand the geographic scope of the Réseau des caisses populaires du Burkina Faso by putting in place business financial centres and agricultural financial centres in three additional areas: Bobo-Dioulasso, Koupéla and Ouhigouya.

International Development Projects in Burkina Faso

Map of projects in Burkina Faso
Project Browser - Burkina Faso

CIDA Disbursements in Burkina Faso: 2012-2013

CIDA Disbursements in Burkina Faso
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Long-Term Development Assistance37,67
Humanitarian Assistance3,09
Total40,76

Burkina Faso

Le Burkina Faso demeure l’un des pays les plus pauvres de la planète avec une population principalement rurale, et il se classe au 181e rang sur 187 selon l’indice de développement humain 2014 établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. En 2012, près de 45 % de la population vivait avec moins de 1,25 $ US par jour.

Le taux moyen de croissance réelle du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Burkina Faso est d’environ 5 % par an depuis une décennie. Le secteur primaire, surtout agricole, qui emploie plus de 80 % de la population active, ne contribue qu’à environ 34 % du PIB et demeure vulnérable aux conditions climatiques, à l’approvisionnement limité en ressources hydriques dans la région sahélienne du pays et aux variations des cours mondiaux des denrées alimentaires et des produits pétroliers. Le secteur des services ne permet pas de stimuler une économie inclusive et le secteur de la transformation, potentiellement générateur de valeur ajoutée, ne représente que 25 % du PIB. Depuis 2009, les revenus d’exportation de l’or ont surpassé ceux générés par le coton. En 2013, l’or représentait environ 80 % des exportations tandis que le coton en représentait 18 %. Selon l’indice Doing Business 2014 de la Banque mondiale, qui mesure la réglementation des affaires et son application effective dans 189 pays, le Burkina Faso occupe le 154e rang en ce qui a trait à la facilité de faire des affaires.

Bien que le pays enregistre de faibles résultats à l’égard des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), des progrès ont été réalisés en ce qui a trait à l’éducation de base, l’accès à l’eau potable et la lutte contre le VIH/sida. Le taux brut de scolarisation au primaire est passé de 44,4 % en 2000 à 84 % en 2014. En 2013, le taux de prévalence du VIH/sida chez les adultes de 15 à 49 ans était de 0,9 %.

Depuis l’adoption du multipartisme en 1991, la situation politique a été relativement stable. Mais, en octobre 2014, un soulèvement populaire a eu raison de l’ex-président Compaoré, qui était au pouvoir depuis 27 ans sans interruption. Un gouvernement de transition a été nommé avec comme premier ministre le lieutenant-colonel Issac Zida. Des élections sont prévues en novembre 2015.

Des efforts ont été déployés sur le plan de la bonne gouvernance, notamment avec l'adoption progressive de cadres législatifs et la ratification de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption, en 2006. En 2003, le Burkina Faso a adhéré au Mécanisme africain d’évaluation par les pairs (MAEP). Le MAEP est un programme accepté d’un commun accord et adopté par les États membres de l’Union africaine en vue de promouvoir et de renforcer des normes élevées de gouvernance. Malgré cela, le Burkina Faso occupe le 85e rang sur 175 pays selon l’indice de perception de la corruption 2014 établi par Transparency International.

Priorités

En 2014, le Burkina Faso a été confirmé comme l’un des pays ciblés par le gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les efforts de développement international.

La programmation de développement international du Canada au Burkina Faso soutient la Stratégie de croissance accélérée et de développement durable (2011-2015) du gouvernement burkinabé, qui se déploie autour de quatre axes principaux :

  • • Développer des priorités pour une croissance accélérée
  • • Consolider le capital humain et promouvoir la protection sociale
  • • Renforcer la bonne gouvernance
  • • Prendre en compte les priorités transversales dans les politiques et les programmes de développement

L’orientation stratégique de la programmation du Canada au Burkina Faso est d’aider le pays à assurer l’avenir des enfants et des jeunes et à stimuler la croissance économique durable.

Enfants et jeunes

Les enfants et les jeunes sont très nombreux : environ 7 millions de Burkinabés ont moins de 14 ans. Ils forment un segment de la population particulièrement vulnérable à la violence et à l’exploitation économique et sexuelle. Le Burkina Faso a ratifié la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant (1990) et la Charte Africaine des droits et du bien-être de l’enfant (1992). Toutefois, la pauvreté croissante de la majorité de la population, les connaissances limitées des différents textes juridiques et l’inadéquation de l’offre éducative contribuent à entraver la mise en application de ces traités.

De 2001 à 2011, le Canada a appuyé le Plan décennal de développement de l’éducation de base du gouvernement burkinabé. Depuis 2012, le Canada appuie le nouveau plan du gouvernement, appelé le Plan décennal pour le développement du secteur éducatif de base 2011-2020 . Ce plan vise à améliorer les services éducatifs et à les rendre plus accessibles, ainsi qu’à élaborer un programme de formation axé sur les compétences en emploi à l’intention des jeunes.

Le Canada soutient aussi la mise en œuvre de la Politique nationale genre du Burkina Faso (PDF, 1 Mo, 56 pages) afin d’augmenter l’accès aux services d’éducation pour les filles.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • La proportion de filles et de garçons qui auront achevé leur éducation primaire passera de 40 % à 75 % d’ici 2016.
  • La proportion de jeunes ayant achevé une éducation postprimaire (y compris une formation professionnelle) passera de 16 % à 34 % d’ici 2016.

Croissance économique

Le gouvernement du Canada maintient son appui au renforcement du secteur de la microfinance et au développement du secteur agroalimentaire en mettant l’accent sur l’autonomisation économique des femmes et des jeunes et leur insertion sur le marché de l’emploi.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Les entrepreneurs et les agriculteurs utilisent les services et produits financiers taillés sur mesure plus souvent et de façon plus équitable.
  • Les travailleurs du secteur de l’agroalimentaire augmenteront leur productivité de façon durable.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Burkina Faso a adhéré à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide en 2005 (PDF, 1,55 Mo, 26 pages) et à l’Accord de partenariat de Busan pour une coopération efficace au service du développement en 2011.

Sur la base de l’accord de Busan, le Burkina Faso a adopté un Plan d’action national pour l’efficacité de la coopération au développement (PANED, en 2014). Ce plan vise entre autres à renforcer le rôle du secteur privé et de la société civile dans le développement du pays et à consolider la bonne gouvernance, notamment en mettant en œuvre les mesures de lutte contre la corruption et en renforçant le processus de décentralisation.

Le Burkina Faso fait figure d’exemple en matière de meilleures pratiques de gestion des finances publiques en Afrique, c’est pourquoi neuf des dix principaux donateurs lui accordent des appuis budgétaires généraux. Le Canada est membre du groupe de coordination des donateurs et joue le rôle de chef de file des donateurs en matière d’éducation et de microfinance.

Réalisations

2013-2014

Réalisations 2013-2014

Enfants et jeunes

  • Contribuer à l’augmentation du taux brut de scolarisation au primaire de 81 % en 2012 à environ 84 % en 2014.
  • Accroître le nombre de salles de classe dédiées à l’enseignement primaire de 34 900 en 2009 à plus de 52 000 en 2013 soit une augmentation de 49 %.
  • Faire augmenter le taux de réussite au primaire de 45,9 % (42,5 % pour les filles) en 2009 à 59,5 % (59,7 % pour les filles) en juin 2013.

Croissance économique durable

  • Faire augmenter le nombre de membres et d’actifs du Réseau des caisses populaires du Burkina Faso respectivement de 673 100 à 923 100 (soit de 37 %) et de 180 à 356 millions de dollars (soit de 100 %) de 2009 à la fin de 2013. Contribuer à l’élargissement de la portée géographique du Réseau des caisses populaires du Burkina Faso par la mise en place de Centres financiers aux entreprises et de Centres financiers agricoles dans trois zones supplémentaires : Bobo-Dioulasso, Koupéla et Ouhigouya.

Bien que le Canada n’a pas de programmation direct au SMNE au Burkina Faso, le Canada a amélioré la santé des femmes et des enfants en travaillant avec des partenaires canadiens et mondiaux Voyez tous les projets de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants en Burkina Faso.

Visitez la page Le Canada obtient des résultats pour les femmes et les enfants du monde pour plus d’information.

Projets de développement international au Burkina Faso

Carte des projets au Burkina Faso
Banque de projets - Burkina Faso

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Burkina Faso : 2012-2013

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Burkina Faso
Décaissements de l'ACDI$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI37,67
Assistance humanitaire3,09
Total40,76