Burma

Burma is emerging from decades of isolation from the West and has launched a "triple-transition" agenda with ambitious goals for democratic reform, economic growth and peace-building. Since 2010, the Government of Burma has enacted a number of reforms to build a more just and peaceful society, one that provides economic opportunities for all its citizens. Despite the overall positive trajectory, Burma continues to face enormous challenges related to economic development, infrastructure, the rule of law, capacity of government institutions and peace and reconciliation.

With an estimated population of 52.8 million, of whom 25.6 percent live below the national poverty line, Burma is among the world’s poorest and least developed countries. On the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 Human Development Index, Burma ranks 149 out of 187 countries.

Approximately 70 percent of Burma’s citizens live in rural areas and depend upon agriculture for their livelihoods. Burma's border areas are home to numerous ethnic groups, which account for 40 percent of the country’s population. Relations among the seven major ethnic groups and with the Burmese majority have been characterized by long-standing armed conflict: at the end of 2013, there were 640,900 internally displaced people in the country.

Between 1988 and 2012, in compliance with long-standing sanctions, Canada provided humanitarian assistance within Burma and longer-term assistance to the Burmese people through a "border area programming" approach, using geographic and multilateral (food aid) channels. For example, through the Burma Border Assistance Program: Building Social Capital, Canada is working with local partner organizations based in neighboring countries, primarily Thailand, to build their capacity to identify needs, deliver basic services, including health care, shelter and fuel to displaced and vulnerable communities on both sides of the border.

With the suspension of most economic sanctions, Canada can now expand its development assistance to Burma, working with Canadian and international partners to achieve its international development goals.

Canada's role

In 2014, Burma was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts.

To align with the international development priorities and needs identified by the Government of Burma, Canada will focus on implementing programs that stimulate sustainable economic growth and advance democracy. Canada will continue to provide humanitarian assistance as needed, working with Canadian and international partners and civil society to reduce poverty in Burma, especially in the areas of greatest need.

International Development Projects in Burma

Map of projects in Burma
Project Browser - Burma (Myanmar)

CIDA Disbursements in Burma: 2012-2013

CIDA Disbursements in Burma (Myanmar)
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Long-Term Development Assistance5,32
Humanitarian Assistance3,49
Total8,81

Birmanie

La Birmanie sort de décennies d’isolement de l’Occident et a lancé un programme de triple transition comportant d’ambitieux objectifs en matière de réforme démocratique, de croissance économique et de consolidation de la paix. Depuis 2010, le gouvernement de la Birmanie a adopté diverses réformes pour établir une société plus juste et pacifique, une société qui offre des possibilités économiques à tous ses citoyens. Malgré la voie positive qu’elle a adoptée dans l’ensemble, la Birmanie demeure aux prises avec d’immenses défis liés au développement économique, à l’infrastructure, à la primauté du droit, à la capacité des institutions gouvernementales, ainsi qu’à la paix et à la réconciliation.

La Birmanie, qui compte une population d’environ 52,8 millions d’habitants, dont 25,6 % vivent sous le seuil national de la pauvreté, est l’un des pays les plus pauvres et les moins développés du monde. En 2012, le pays se classait 149e sur 187 pays selon l’indice du développement humain du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Quelque 70 % des Birmans vivent en milieu rural et dépendent de l’agriculture pour assurer leur subsistance. Les régions frontalières birmanes sont le foyer de nombreux groupes ethniques, qui représentent 40 % de la population du pays. Les relations entre les sept principaux groupes ethniques ainsi qu’avec la majorité birmane sont caractérisées par un conflit armé de longue date : à la fin de 2013, il y avait 640 900 personnes déplacées à l’intérieur du pays.

Entre 1988 et 2012, conformément aux sanctions de longue date qui sont en vigueur, le Canada a accordé une aide humanitaire à la Birmanie et une aide à long terme aux citoyens birmans par la voie d’un programme ciblant les régions frontalières mis en œuvre au moyen de mécanismes de livraison géographiques et multilatéraux (aide alimentaire). Par exemple, dans le cadre du Programme d’aide dans les régions frontalières de la Birmanie : Renforcer le capital social, le Canada collabore avec des organisations partenaires locales installées dans les pays avoisinants, principalement la Thaïlande, pour renforcer leurs capacités à déterminer les besoins, à offrir des services de base, y compris des soins de santé, un abri et du carburant aux collectivités déplacées et vulnérables des deux côtés de la frontière.

Dans le contexte de la suspension de la plupart des sanctions économiques, le Canada peut maintenant accroître son aide au développement à la Birmanie, en collaborant avec des partenaires canadiens et internationaux pour atteindre ses objectifs de développement international.

Rôle du Canada

En 2014, la Birmanie a été désignée comme l’un des pays ciblés dans le cadre des efforts déployés par le gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement international.

En harmonie avec les priorités de développement international et les besoins cernés par le gouvernement de la Birmanie, le Canada concentrera ses activités sur la mise en œuvre de programmes qui stimulent la croissance économique durable et font progresser la démocratie. Il continuera d’offrir de l’aide humanitaire au besoin, en collaborant avec des partenaires canadiens et internationaux et les acteurs de la société civile pour réduire la pauvreté en Birmanie, particulièrement dans les régions où les besoins sont les plus importants.

Projets de développement international en Birmanie

Carte des projets en Birmanie
Branque de projets - Birmanie (Myanmar)

Décaissements 2012-2013 de l'ACDI en Birmanie

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Mozambique
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI5,32
Assistance humanitaire3,49
Total8,81