Ghana

Ghana is a peaceful and stable democracy, making good progress toward its goal of becoming a middle-income country by 2020. With economic growth rates consistently topping 6 percent over recent years, Ghana is being hailed as an emerging African economic success story. It has had five consecutive democratic elections and two peaceful transitions of power since 1992, leading other African nations to look to Ghana for assistance with their own elections.

Since 1990, the Ghanaian government has been working closely with the donor community and has nearly halved the number of citizens living in extreme poverty. However, about 30 percent of Ghanaians still live on less than US$1.25/day. Some two million individuals have limited access to food, and food shortages are recurring in the three northern regions. Children are especially vulnerable, with approximately 12 percent of Ghana's children under the age of five currently underweight. Ghana ranks 135 out of 187 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 human development index.

In terms of the 2008 international food crisis, Ghana has been fairly successful in minimizing the effects by means of social support programs and such measures as the removal of import duties and taxes on food and fuel.

However, Ghana does face serious macroeconomic challenges, including high inflation, significant deficits, and a growing debt load due, in part, to high public sector spending to ease the impact of the international food and fuel price crises.

Ghana is still vulnerable to the ongoing effects of the global economic crisis, and poverty has recently deepened among some groups, especially women, farmers, and people living in the northern regions.

Ghana's main challenges include:

  • Weak public sector institutions, resulting in poor delivery of basic services in areas such as agriculture, health, and education.
  • Persistent food insecurity in the three northern regions.
  • Limited access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation.
  • Inequality between women and men.

Thematic Focus

In 2014, Ghana was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts. In keeping with this agenda, Canada continues to provide direct support to the Government of Ghana's budget in order to carry out the objectives of Ghana's national plan.

Canada's international development program in Ghana builds on efforts already being undertaken by the Government of Ghana to support public sector reform, promote a stronger parliamentary role in terms of government oversight and accountability, and enhance public participation in the development and assessment of government plans and policies. Canada continues to have a strategic focus in the North—where poverty and food insecurity are highest—and continues to dialogue with the Government of Ghana, other donors, and various Canadian and local civil society organizations for more effective aid delivery.

Children and youth

Canada supports the Government of Ghana in playing a lead role in the design, development, and implementation of a multidonor program to support Ghana's new national water policy, which will have a significant impact on the health and well-being of women, children, and youth.

In keeping with Ghana's decentralization plan to deliver basic services more efficiently at the local level, Canada also provides increasing technical and financial assistance to local governments to help them provide health and education services that benefit children and youth.

Key anticipated results

  • Developed water systems in a sustainable manner in 13 northern districts.
  • Provided rural communities and small towns with access to safe drinking water.
  • Provided households with access to safe drinking water in urban areas.

Food security

Canada supports efforts to increasing food security in Ghana through:

  • Continued investment in community-level food security initiatives in the North.
  • Complementary investments in agricultural research and in the strengthening of farmer-based organizations.
  • Support to sustainable management of land and water resources.

Canada also continues to support efforts to the strengthen Ghana's Ministry of Food and Agriculture by helping it be more effective in implementing the national food and agriculture sector development policy.

Key anticipated results

  • Trained government officials of the Northern Regional Coordination Council in the planning, coordination, and monitoring of food security initiatives.
  • Strengthened farm-based organizations to function smoothly and support agricultural productivity.
  • Improved access for farmers-women and men-to improved technology, farming advice, and agricultural supplies.

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Aid effectiveness, as the term implies, is an approach for improved delivery and monitoring of aid to achieve greater efficiency, strengthened partnerships, and greater results. Overall, aid to Ghana is more untied, and more funds are flowing through program-based approaches. As well, donor coordination of analysis and reporting is more effective.

In 2008, Ghana hosted the Third High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness, and, in recent years, it has demonstrated strong ownership of the development agenda. The Government of Ghana has prepared a new aid policy containing bold measures to strengthen Ghanaian ownership and leadership of development cooperation in the country.

Achievements

2011-2012

Achievements 2011-2012

Food Security

  • Provided supplementary feeding to 67,000 children under five and 101,500 pregnant and lactating women suffering from malnutrition.
  • Provided over 125,000 people with more than 10,000 metric tons of food through Food-For-Assets and Food-For-Training programs.
  • Contributed to the increased production of staple foods from 28 million metric tonnes in 2010 to 28.8 million in 2011, making more food available for purchase throughout Ghana in spite of a poor growing season due to scarce and erratic rainfall.
  • Trained 3,445 small food processors (80 percent female) on eight different technologies for processing crops to help reduce post-harvest losses and add market value.
  • Helped build 250 dams and dugouts to provide a secure water supply for household and agricultural needs.

Children and Youth

  • Helped improve access to safe water, reaching 63 percent of the population nationwide, up from 59 percent in 2009.
  • Helped increase access to improved sanitation, reaching 16 percent of the population nationwide in 2011, compared to 13 percent in 2010.
  • Through support to the Catalytic Initiative, trained over 15,000 front-line health workers and provided treatment for over 500,000 cases of childhood diseases between 2007 and 2012.
  • Increased tuberculosis treatments by 70 percent and screening by 60 percent in 10 hospitals in Accra.
2010-2011

Achievements 2010-2011

Food security

  • Agricultural growth reached an estimated 5.3 percent for 2010, maintaining a positive trend of growth between 4 and 7 percent over the last three years, with the highest level recorded in 2009 (7.2 percent).
  • Helped improve access to services such as storage, marketing, and credit; and provided enterprise training to 1,480 farmers, 40 percent of them women.
  • Provided nutritious food to nearly 130,000 people in areas affected by droughts and floods and helped improve nutrition monitoring in the north, increasing the number of surveillance sites from 102 to 182.
  • Trained more than 5,000 community-based volunteers and trainers to recognize malnutrition among young people, which resulted in 2,530 malnourished children being admitted to community care facilities in the three northern regions.
  • Provided training and equipment to more than 1,000 women from 27 women's groups across the three northern regions to help them mill and fortify flour and fortify salt with iodine and re-bag it.

Children and youth

  • Helped increase access to safe drinking water in rural areas, meeting the 63 percent target set for 2010 as compared to 59 percent in 2009.
  • Helped achieve the virtual elimination of guinea worm disease by providing potable water, with only 8 indigenous cases reported in 2010, down from 242 in 2009 and more than 7,000 in 2004.
  • Helped to improve the learning environment for approximately 40,000 students (including 16,000 girls) by building more than 1,100 new classrooms over the past several years.
2009-2010

Achievements 2009-2010

Food security

  • Contributed to agricultural growth of 6.2 percent in 2009, up from 5.1 percent in 2008.
  • Helped train 55 community livestock workers in disease control, who then assisted farmers in 180 communities, resulting in improved health and longevity of livestock.
  • Supported the implementation of 254 community-based food security initiatives and the participatory development of 250 community action plans and 74 area-level plans in twelve districts in northern Ghana.

Children and youth

  • Helped 90 percent of pregnant women undertake at least one antenatal visit.
  • Helped the national Youth Employment Programme provide jobs to more than 110,700 young people in 2009.
  • Helped approximately 1,700 schools and 657,000 children benefit from the national school feeding program in 2009, compared to 975 schools and 476,000 children in the previous year.
  • Helped increase the enrolment rate at the primary school level to 88.5 percent.
  • Helped the government to complete 605 new water points in rural communities in 2009.

International development projects in Ghana

Map of projects in Ghana
Project Browser - Ghana

2012-2013 CIDA disbursements in Ghana

Total: $119.51 millon

Ghana

Le Ghana est une démocratie stable et paisible, en bonne voie d'atteindre son objectif de devenir un pays à revenu intermédiaire d'ici 2020. Il est salué comme un nouveau modèle de réussite économique en Afrique : ces dernières années, son taux de croissance a toujours dépassé les 6 %. Depuis 1992, cinq élections démocratiques consécutives y ont eu lieu, et deux transitions de gouvernement se sont déroulées dans la paix. D'autres pays d'Afrique se tournent maintenant vers le Ghana pour obtenir des conseils sur la tenue d'élections.

Depuis 1990, le gouvernement du Ghana a travaillé de près avec la communauté des donateurs et a réduit de près de moitié le nombre de personnes vivant dans l'extrême pauvreté. Cependant, environ 30 % des Ghanéens vivent toujours avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour. Environ 2 millions de personnes ont un accès limité à la nourriture, et les trois régions du Nord du pays sont régulièrement touchées par des pénuries de vivres. Les enfants sont particulièrement vulnérables : environ 12 % des enfants ghanéens de moins de cinq ans ont un poids insuffisant. En 2012, le Ghana occupait le 135e  rang sur 187 pays pour ce qui est de l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Le Ghana a assez bien réussi à atténuer les répercussions de la crise alimentaire mondiale de 2008 grâce à des programmes d'aide sociale et à d'autres mesures; il a entre autres supprimé les droits d'importation et les taxes sur les aliments et le carburant.

Cependant, le pays est aux prises avec de sérieuses difficultés macroéconomiques, y compris une inflation élevée, des déficits importants et une dette croissante. Ces problèmes sont attribuables en partie aux dépenses publiques visant à réduire l'incidence de la crise mondiale des prix des aliments et du carburant.

Le Ghana est toujours vulnérable aux effets persistants de la crise économique mondiale. La pauvreté s'est accentuée dans certains groupes de population, surtout les femmes, les agriculteurs et les personnes vivant dans les régions du Nord.

Le Ghana doit faire face à un certain nombre de difficultés, les principales étant les suivantes :

  • la fragilité des institutions publiques, ce qui entraîne des services de base de piètre qualité dans les domaines de l'agriculture, de la santé et de l'éducation;
  • l'insécurité alimentaire persistante dans les trois régions du Nord du pays;
  • l'accès limité à l'eau potable et aux services sanitaires de base;
  • les inégalités entre les femmes et les hommes.

Priorités

En 2014, le Ghana a été confirmé comme l'un des pays ciblés par le gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les efforts de développement international. Le Canada continue de fournir une aide financière directe au gouvernement du Ghana pour qu'il puisse réaliser les objectifs énoncés dans son plan national de développement (en anglais — PDF, 946 Ko, 179 pages).

Le programme du Canada prend appui sur les efforts déjà entrepris par le gouvernement du Ghana pour soutenir la réforme du secteur public, promouvoir un rôle accru du Parlement dans la surveillance et la responsabilisation du gouvernement, et faire participer davantage la population à l'élaboration et à l'évaluation des politiques et des plans nationaux. Le Canada continue d'accorder la priorité aux régions du Nord du pays, où les problèmes de pauvreté et d'insécurité alimentaire sont les plus sérieux. Il poursuit le dialogue avec le gouvernement du Ghana, les autres donateurs et les organisations de la société civile canadienne et ghanéenne pour rendre l'aide plus efficace.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada aide le gouvernement du Ghana à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre d'un programme multidonateur pour appuyer la nouvelle politique nationale sur l'eau. Cette initiative aura des répercussions importantes sur la santé et le bien-être des femmes, des enfants et des jeunes.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement du Ghana souhaite décentraliser les services de base à l'échelle locale pour les rendre plus efficaces. En accord avec ce plan, le Canada accroît son aide technique et financière aux administrations locales pour les aider à fournir des services de santé et d'éducation à l'intention des enfants et des jeunes.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Aménagement durable de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau dans 13 districts du nord.
  • Accès à une eau potable sûre pour les collectivités rurales et les petites villes.
  • Accès à une eau potable sûre pour les ménages des régions urbaines.

Sécurité alimentaire

Le Canada s'emploie à appuyer les efforts visant à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire au Ghana :

  • en continuant d'investir dans les initiatives locales liées à la sécurité alimentaire dans le Nord du pays;
  • en fournissant des investissements complémentaires pour la recherche agricole et la consolidation des organisations agricoles;
  • en appuyant la gestion durable des ressources en sol et en eau.

Le Canada continue aussi de soutenir les efforts de renforcement du ministère de l'Alimentation et de l'Agriculture du Ghana en l'aidant à mettre en oeuvre plus efficacement sa politique sur le développement du secteur alimentaire et agricole.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Formation de représentants du gouvernement qui siègent au conseil de coordination des régions du nord, pour leur apprendre à planifier, à coordonner et à surveiller les initiatives en matière de sécurité alimentaire.
  • Consolidation des organisations agricoles pour assurer leur bonne marche et soutenir la productivité agricole.
  • Amélioration de l'accès des agriculteurs (femmes et hommes) aux techniques perfectionnées, à des conseils sur l'agriculture et à des fournitures agricoles.

Vers une aide plus efficace

L'efficacité de l'aide est une approche qui vise une meilleure prestation et une meilleure surveillance de l'aide afin d'en accroître l'efficience, de renforcer les partenariats et d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats. Dans l'ensemble, l'aide au Ghana est davantage déliée, et plus de fonds sont investis au moyen d'approches axées sur des programmes. La coordination des donateurs au chapitre de l'analyse et de la reddition de comptes est aussi plus efficace.

En 2008, le Ghana a été l'hôte du troisième forum de haut niveau sur l'efficacité de l'aide (en anglais). Ces dernières années, il a montré qu'il a vraiment pris en charge son programme de développement. Le gouvernement du Ghana a préparé une nouvelle politique en matière d'aide qui comporte des mesures audacieuses pour renforcer la responsabilisation et la direction du pays dans la coopération au développement.

Réalisations

2011-2012

Réalisations 2011-2012

Sécurité alimentaire

  • A fourni des suppléments alimentaires à 67 000 enfants de moins de cinq ans et à 101 500 femmes enceintes et allaitantes souffrant de malnutrition.
  • A fourni plus de 10 000 tonnes métriques de vivres à plus de 125 000 personnes par l'entremise de programmes de vivres contre actifs et de vivres contre formation.
  • A contribué à accroître la production de denrées de base, qui est passée de 28 millions de tonnes métriques en 2010 à 28,8 millions de tonnes métriques en 2011, ce qui a augmenté la quantité de vivres sur le marché dans l'ensemble du Ghana en dépit de la saison de croissance difficile attribuable aux précipitations rares et irrégulières.
  • A donné à 3 445 petits transformateurs d'aliments (80 % étant des femmes) une formation sur huit technologies différentes de transformation des cultures afin d'aider à réduire les pertes après la récolte et d'augmenter la valeur marchande.
  • A aidé à construire 250 barrages et fosses-réservoirs afin d'assurer une source sûre d'approvisionnement en eau aux ménages et aux exploitants agricoles.

Enfants et jeunes

  • A aidé à améliorer le taux d'accès à une eau salubre à l'échelle du pays, lequel est passé de 59 % en 2009 à 63 % en 2011.
  • A aidé à améliorer le taux d'accès à de meilleurs services d'assainissement, lequel est passé de 13 % en 2010 à 16 % en 2011, et ce, à l'échelle du pays.
  • Grâce au soutien offert à l'Initiative catalytique, a formé plus de 15 000 professionnels de la santé de première ligne et a offert plus de 500 000 traitements à des enfants souffrant de maladies d'enfance entre 2007 et 2012.
  • A augmenté de 70 % les traitements contre la tuberculose et de 60 % les dépistages dans dix hôpitaux d'Accra.
2010-2011

Réalisations 2010-2011

Sécurité alimentaire

  • Il est estimé que la croissance agricole a atteint 5,3 % pour 2010, et poursuit la tendance à la hausse du taux de croissance, qui a varié de 4 % à 7 % dans les trois dernières années, et qui a été le plus élevé en 2009 (7,2 %).
  • A contribué à l'amélioration de l'accès à différents services tels que l'entreposage, la commercialisation et le crédit; et a offert de la formation pour la gestion d'entreprise à 1 480 producteurs agricoles, dont 40 % étaient des femmes.
  • A fourni des aliments nutritifs à près de 130 000 personnes dans les régions touchées par la sécheresse ou les inondations, et a contribué à l'amélioration du suivi de la nutrition dans le Nord, grâce à l'augmentation du nombre de centres de suivi, lesquels sont passés de 102 à 182.
  • A formé plus de 5 000 bénévoles et formateurs communautaires pour qu'ils reconnaissent la malnutrition chez les jeunes; cela a permis d'identifier 2 530 enfants souffrant de malnutrition et de les faire soigner dans les établissements communautaires de soins dans les trois régions du Nord.
  • A fourni de la formation et du matériel à plus de 1 000 femmes issues de 27 groupes de femmes dans les trois régions du Nord pour les aider à moudre et à enrichir la farine, de même qu'à enrichir le sel en iode, puis à le réemballer.

Enfants et jeunes

  • A contribué à l'augmentation de l'accès à l'eau potable dans les régions rurales, pour atteindre la cible de 63 % établie pour 2010, comparativement à 59 % en 2009.
  • A contribué à la quasi-élimination de l'infestation par le ver de Guinée, dont le nombre de cas autochtones signalés était seulement de 8 en 2010. Ce nombre est en baisse par rapport à 242 cas en 2009 et à plus de 7 000 cas en 2004.
  • A contribué à l'amélioration de l'environnement d'apprentissage pour environ 40 000 élèves (y compris 16 000 filles), en construisant plus de 1 100 nouvelles salles de classe au cours des dernières années.
2009-2010

Réalisations 2009-2010

Sécurité alimentaire

  • Le taux de croissance de l'agriculture est passé de 5,1 % en 2008 à 6,2 % en 2009.
  • Au total, 55 travailleurs de l'élevage communautaire ont reçu une formation en matière de lutte contre la maladie; ceux-ci ont ensuite aidé les agriculteurs de 180 collectivités, avec pour résultat une amélioration de la santé et de la longévité du bétail.
  • On a mis en oeuvre 254 initiatives communautaires en sécurité alimentaire, et on a élaboré 250 plans d'action à l'échelle communautaire et 74 plans régionaux dans 12 districts du nord du Ghana.

Enfants et jeunes

  • Au total, 90 % des femmes enceintes ont bénéficié d'au moins une visite prénatale.
  • Le Programme national d'emploi pour les jeunes a permis de fournir des emplois à 110 700 jeunes en 2009.
  • Environ 1 700 écoles et 657 000 enfants ont bénéficié du Programme national des cantines scolaires en 2009, comparativement à 975 écoles et 476 000 enfants inscrits l'année précédente.
  • Le taux de scolarisation primaire est passé à 88,5 %.
  • Le gouvernement a reçu de l'aide pour terminer 605 nouveaux points d'eau dans les collectivités rurales en 2009.
 

Projets de développement international au Ghana

Carte des projets au Ghana
Banque de projets - Ghana

Décaissements 2012-2013 de l'ACDI au Ghana

Total : 119,51 M$