Where we work in International Development

Countries of Focus

The Government of Canada announced in 2014 that it has increased the number of countries of focus from 20 to 25, in order to deliver the greatest results for those in need. These countries were chosen based on their real needs, their capacity to benefit from development assistance, and their alignment with Canadian foreign policy priorities. The goal is to make Canada's international assistance more focused, more effective and more accountable.

Partner Countries

Canada also maintains significant bilateral aid programs with numerous partner countries. Programming in these countries focuses on increasing food security, stimulating sustainable economic growth, securing the future of children and youth, and supporting governance.

Humanitarian Assistance

In times of disaster, crises or severe conflict, Canada provides humanitarian assistance to save lives and alleviate suffering. Canada's response is the result of close cooperation among DFATD humanitarian officers, Canadian representatives in the field, representatives of other government departments, and international and Canadian humanitarian partners.

Americas

For more information on Canada’s engagement in the Americas, see Canada and the Americas.

Asia Pacific

For more information on Canada’s engagement in Asia Pacific, see Canada and Asia-Pacific.

Eastern Europe

Countries of Focus

For more information on Canada’s engagement in Eastern Europe, see Canada and Europe.

Middle East and North Africa

Countries of Focus

Partner Countries

Humanitarian Assistance

More countries in the Middle East and Northern Africa

For more information on Canada’s engagement in the Middle East and North Africa, see Canada and the Middle East & North Africa.

Sub-Saharan Africa

For more information on Canada’s engagement in Sub-Saharan Africa, see Canada and Sub-Saharan Africa.

Où nous travaillons en développement international

Pays en développement ciblés

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé en 2014 qu’il a augmenté le nombre de pays ciblés de 20 à 25, afin que les personnes dans le besoin puissent bénéficier de meilleurs résultats. Ces pays ont été choisis en fonction de leurs besoins réels, de leur aptitude à profiter de l’aide au développement, et de leur alignement avec les priorités de la politique étrangère du Canada. L’objectif est de rendre l’aide internationale du Canada plus ciblée, plus efficace et plus responsable.

Pays partenaires du développement

Le Canada entretient aussi des programmes importantes d’aide bilatérale avec de nombreux pays partenaires. La programmation du Canada dans ces pays vise à accroître la sécurité alimentaire, à stimuler la croissance économique durable, à assurer l’avenir des enfants et des jeunes, et à appuyer la gouvernance.

L’aide humanitaire

Lorsque survient une catastrophe, une crise ou un conflit grave, le Canada fournit une aide humanitaire visant à sauver des vies et à alléger les souffrances. Les interventions du Canada sont le fruit d’une collaboration étroite entre les responsables de l'aide humanitaire au MAECD, des représentants d’autres ministères et des partenaires humanitaires internationaux et canadiens.

Amériques

Pays partenaires du développement

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques, consultez Le Canada et les Amériques.

Asie Pacifique

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’engagement du Canada dans l'Asie Pacifique, consultez Le Canada et l'Asie Pacifique.

Europe de l’Est

Pays en développement ciblés

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’engagement du Canada dans l’Europe de l'Est, consultez Le Canada et l’Europe.

Le Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord

Pays en développement ciblés

Pays partenaires du développement

L’aide humanitaire

Autres pays du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’engagement du Canada dans le Moyen-Orient et l'Afrique du Nord, consultez Le Canada et le Moyen-Orient et l'Afrique du Nord.

Afrique subsaharienne

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’engagement du Canada dans le l'Afrique subsaharienne, consultez Le Canada et l'Afrique subsaharienne.