Kenya

Kenya is the economic engine and key driver of stability in East Africa. Its strong private sector, infrastructure, and financial services contribute significantly to growth in the region. Kenya's diplomatic and peacekeeping efforts also reinforce its role as a regional stabilizer.

However, the country faces significant development challenges, such as cross-border insecurity, severe income inequalities, frequent droughts, and youth unemployment. The fallout from the disputed 2007 elections was devastating. Post-election violence had a particularly high impact on the educational system, as schools were destroyed or turned into camps for internally displaced persons. Students and teachers were themselves displaced, and many lost weeks or months of classes.

Following a power-sharing agreement brokered in 2008 that helped to end the crisis, Kenya has since embarked on an ambitious reform agenda. Most notably, a new constitution was passed in 2010 that promises to devolve power to new county governments and reform Kenya's legal and political institutions. Kenya's ability to achieve lasting prosperity depends on the country's commitment to improving governance and achieving the promise of its constitution. With Kenya's strong civil society and independent media, the country has great potential for progress. The country's vibrant private sector and growing middle class can also help to drive economic growth.

Kenya ranks 145 out of 187 countries in the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 Human Development Index. Although one out of five Kenyans is living on less than US$1.25 per day, the country has made significant progress toward meeting the Millennium Development Goals for universal primary education and gender parity in education.

Thematic Focus

Canada's international development program in Kenya is closely aligned with Kenya's long-term national planning strategy, officially known as Kenya Vision 2030.

The goal of Canada's program is to help Kenya secure a future for children and youth by improving primary education and strengthen democratic governance by improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the public sector.

Children and youth

Canada continues to improve the quality of education in Kenya by working with the Government of Kenya to train quality teachers and make schools child-friendly learning environments in which children—especially girls—feel safe and secure, healthy, and well nourished. Canada strives to work in the most disadvantaged areas of the country, where dropout rates are the highest, and supports initiatives that offer innovative solutions for the most marginalized communities, such as accelerated learning for refugee children and mobile schools for nomadic children.

Key anticipated results

  • Primary school enrolment rates will increase from 92.5 percent to 98 percent.
  • Primary school completion rates will improve from 79.5 percent in 2008 to 90 percent in 2015.

Democratic governance

Canada supports public sector accountability and citizens' engagement to improve the delivery of public services to Kenyans. By working with public institutions and grass-roots/civil society organizations, Canada is supporting good governance practices in areas such as basic education, women's political participation, conflict prevention, electoral systems, public financial management, and community participation.

Democratic governance is one of the Government of Canada's priority themes for international assistance.

Key anticipated results

  • At least 70 percent of all the eligible 19 million voters in Kenya will be educated about the new constitution and their rights as citizens.
  • Public services are more customer-focused as government departments adopt better performance monitoring and evaluation.

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Kenya adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages). There has been considerable progress in implementing aid effectiveness principles, particularly donor harmonization through the Kenya Joint Assistance Strategy 2007–2012, which was signed by 17 bilateral donors, including Canada, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, and the United Nations. This strategy also aligns with the Government of Kenya's Vision 2030, indicating local ownership.

Achievements

2011-2012

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth

  • Contributed, along with other donors, to improving the rate of students going from primary to secondary school from 59.6 percent in 2007 to 72.5 percent in 2011
  • Provided Canadian technical assistance to Kenya's Ministry of Education in developing its Taskforce Report on Education, leading to a new legal and policy framework and strategy for the entire sector

Democratic governance

  • Helped train nearly 8,200 national and local government officials since 2004 on performance agreements so that public service delivery is more focused on clear results for Kenyans
  • Increased citizens' participation by supporting Kenyan civil society's contribution to the development of at least five key legal bills on elections, teachers, political parties, and public appointments
2010-2011

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth

  • Contributed to lowering the textbook-to-pupil ratio to 1:3 in lower primary schools and 1:2 in upper primary schools in 2010 from a ratio of 1:15 before 2005
  • Contributed, along with other donors, to the construction of 6,012 new classrooms and 7,043 separate toilets for girls through Kenya's School Infrastructure Investment Programme

Democratic governance

  • Supported civil society partners that successfully lobbied for the national budget to be more gender sensitive, resulting in $3.3 million set aside for sanitary pads (a key barrier to girls' attendance at school)
  • Helped to establish a Commission on Revenue Allocation to better manage the resources of Kenyan taxpayers
2009-2010

Achievements 2009-2010

Children and youth

  • Helped develop a policy on equality between women and men at the Ministry of Education to ensure that girls have a safe and secure environment for learning
  • Helped develop a national assessment of student achievement to provide information to improve the quality of teaching and learning in primary schools
  • Contributed to increasing the primary school completion rate from 79.5 percent in 2008 to 82 percent in 2009, bringing Kenya closer to the national target of 90 percent by 2015
  • Supported 2,500 public primary schools in completing report cards, enabling parents, teachers and students to assess school management and demand better quality education

Democratic governance

  • Helped the Interim Independent Electoral Commission reform the electoral process using short message service, or text messaging, at polling stations and registering more than 12.5 million vote rs, leading to a peaceful vote for a new constitution
  • Helped train more than 2,800 public servants in performance contract evaluations

International development projects in Kenya

Map of projects in Kenya
Project Browser - Kenya

2012-2013 CIDA Disbursements in Kenya

CIDA Disbursements in Kenya
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Long-Term Development Assistance51.96
Humanitarian Assistance14.33
Total66.29

Kenya

Le Kenya est le moteur économique et le principal facteur de stabilité de l'Afrique de l'Est. Son secteur privé, ses infrastructures et ses services financiers robustes contribuent grandement à la croissance de la région. Les activités diplomatiques et les initiatives de maintien de la paix du Kenya renforcent aussi son rôle de stabilisateur régional.

Cependant, le pays est confronté à des obstacles majeurs sur le plan du développement, comme l'insécurité transfrontalière, les grandes inégalités de revenus, les sécheresses répétées et le chômage chez les jeunes. Les retombées des élections contestées de 2007 ont été dévastatrices. La violence postélectorale a eu de graves répercussions sur le système d'éducation, puisque des écoles ont été détruites ou transformées en camps pour les personnes déplacées. Les élèves et les professeurs eux-mêmes ont été déplacés, et bon nombre ont perdu des semaines ou des mois de cours.

À la suite d'un accord de partage du pouvoir, négocié en 2008, qui a permis de mettre fin à la crise, le Kenya s'est lancé dans un ambitieux programme de réformes. Notamment, la nouvelle constitution, adoptée en 2010, promettait de déléguer des pouvoirs aux nouvelles administrations des districts et de réformer les institutions juridiques et politiques du Kenya. La capacité de ce pays d'atteindre une prospérité durable dépend de son engagement à l'égard de l'amélioration de sa gouvernance et de la réalisation des promesses de la constitution. Le Kenya, grâce au dynamisme de sa société civile et à l'indépendance de ses médias, a un grand potentiel pour réaliser des progrès. Le pays peut aussi compter sur un secteur privé dynamique et une classe moyenne grandissante pour stimuler sa croissance économique.

Le pays se classe au 145e rang sur 187 pays dans l'indice du développement humain de 2012 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD). Bien qu'un Kényan sur cinq vive avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour, le pays a fait des progrès importants en vue d'atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement en ce qui touche l'éducation primaire pour tous et l'égalité des sexes dans l'éducation.

Priorités

La programmation de développement international du Canada au Kenya est étroitement harmonisée avec sa nouvelle stratégie de planification nationale à long terme, dont le nom officiel est Kenya Vision 2030 (en anglais).

L'objectif visé par le Canada au Kenya est d'offrir aux enfants et aux jeunes de meilleures perspectives d'avenir, en améliorant l'enseignement primaire, et de renforcer la gouvernance démocratique, en améliorant l'efficience et l'efficacité du secteur public.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada continue d'améliorer la qualité de l'éducation au Kenya en collaborant avec le gouvernement pour former des enseignants compétents et faire des écoles des milieux propices à l'apprentissage, où les enfants, surtout les filles, se sentent en sécurité et sont en santé et bien nourris. Elle s'efforce d'œuvrer dans les régions les plus défavorisées du pays, où les taux de décrochage sont les plus élevés, et soutient des initiatives qui proposent des solutions novatrices aux collectivités les plus marginalisées, comme l'apprentissage accéléré pour les enfants réfugiés et les écoles mobiles pour les enfants nomades.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Les taux d'inscription à l'école primaire passeront de 92,5 % à 98 %.
  • Les taux d'achèvement des études primaires passeront de 79,5 % en 2008 à 90 % en 2015.

Gouvernance démocratique

Le Canada préconise la responsabilisation du secteur public et l'engagement des citoyens pour améliorer la prestation des services publics aux Kényans. En collaborant avec les institutions publiques, les organisations communautaires et la société civile, le Canada favorise la bonne gouvernance dans des domaines comme l'éducation de base, la participation des femmes à la vie politique, la prévention des conflits, les systèmes électoraux, la gestion des finances publiques et la participation communautaire.

La gouvernance démocratique constitue l'un des cinq thèmes prioritaires du gouvernement du Canada pour l'aide internationale.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Au moins 70 % des 19 millions d'électeurs kényans admissibles recevront de l'information sur la nouvelle constitution et sur leurs droits en tant que citoyens.
  • Les services publics sont axés davantage sur le client, à mesure que les ministères adoptent de meilleures façons de suivre et d'évaluer le rendement.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Kenya adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide au développement (PDF, 1,55 Mo, 26 pages). Des progrès considérables ont été réalisés dans la mise en œuvre des principes d'efficacité de l'aide, particulièrement au chapitre de l'harmonisation entre les donateurs, grâce à la Stratégie d'aide conjointe au Kenya 2007-2012 (en anglais), qui a été signée par 17 donateurs bilatéraux, dont le Canada, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et les Nations Unies. Cette stratégie s'harmonise aussi à la vision du gouvernement du Kenya pour 2030, ce qui démontre une prise en charge locale.

Réalisations

2012-2013

Réalisations 2012-2013

Enfants et jeunes

  • A offert une assistance technique au ministère de l’Éducation pour faire concorder l’intégralité du cadre stratégique du Ministère en matière d’éducation avec la nouvelle constitution kenyane.
  • En partenariat avec le ministère de l’Éducation, a tenu des consultations publiques dans les camps de réfugiés de Dadaab et a aidé des communautés pastorales à trouver de bonnes solutions pour éduquer les enfants non scolarisés, les jeunes mères et les enfants nomades.

Responsabilisation dans le secteur public

  • A aidé la Commission indépendante des élections et des frontières à gérer efficacement les élections de 2013, notamment en offrant un soutien pour l’adoption de cinq grands textes législatifs et la résolution efficace des plaintes concernant les élections.
  • Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle structure de gouvernance décentralisée, a favorisé la participation de la société civile à l’établissement des critères régissant la répartition des recettes entre le gouvernement national et les gouvernements de comtés.
2011-2012

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes

  • A contribué, avec d'autres donateurs, à faire passer de 59,6 % en 2007 à 72,5 % en 2011 le taux d'étudiants qui sont passés de l'école primaire à l'école secondaire.
  • A fourni de l'assistance technique au ministère de l'Éducation du Kenya pour la préparation du rapport du groupe de travail sur l'éducation, ce qui a débouché sur l'établissement d'un nouveau cadre juridique et politique et d'une nouvelle stratégie connexe pour tout le secteur.

Gouvernance démocratique

  • A contribué à la formation de près de 8 200 fonctionnaires du gouvernement fédéral et des administrations locales depuis 2004 sur les ententes de rendement, afin que la prestation des services publics soit axée davantage sur l'obtention de résultats clairs pour les Kényans.
  • A accru la participation des citoyens en appuyant la contribution de la société civile kényane à la rédaction d'au moins cinq projets de loi sur les élections, les enseignants, les partis politiques et les nominations publiques.
2010-2011

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes

  • A contribué à réduire le ratio manuel-élève à 1:3 pour la première moitié du primaire et à 1:2 pour la seconde moitié en 2010; avant 2005, on comptait un manuel pour quinze élèves.
  • A contribué, avec d'autres donateurs, à la construction de 6 012 salles de classe et de 7 043 toilettes distinctes pour filles dans le cadre du Programme d'investissement dans l'infrastructure scolaire du Kenya.

Gouvernance démocratique

  • A soutenu les partenaires de la société civile qui ont réussi à faire pression pour que le budget national tienne davantage compte des sexospécificités. Ainsi, 3,3 millions de dollars ont pu être réservés pour l'achat de serviettes hygiéniques (un obstacle majeur à la présence des filles à l'école).
  • A aidé à mettre sur pied une commission d'affectation des recettes afin de mieux gérer les ressources des contribuables kényans.

Projets de développement international au Kenya

Carte des projets au Kenya
Banque de projets - Kenya

Décaissements 2012-2013 de l'ACDI au Kenya

Investissements de l'ACDI au Kenya
Décaissements de l'ACDI$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI51,96
Assistance humanitaire14,33
Total66,29