Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Canada provides only humanitarian assistance to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, or North Korea. This assistance is delivered through experienced international partners that provide food assistance directly to vulnerable populations within the country, such as the World Food Programme.

On October 28, 2010, the Government of Canada announced the adoption of a controlled engagement policy toward North Korea. Under this policy, official bilateral contact with the North Korean government is limited to topics concerning regional security concerns; the human rights and humanitarian situation in North Korea; inter-Korean relations; and consular issues. All government-to-government cooperation and communication on topics not covered under the controlled engagement policy has stopped.

Although Canada does not have direct programming in MNCH in North Korea Canada has improved the health of women and children by working with Canadian and global partners. See all maternal, newborn and child health projects in North Korea.

Visit the Canada delivers results for the world’s women and children page for more information.

Related Links

2012-2013 CIDA disbursements in Korea

Total: $6.08 million

République populaire démocratique de Corée

Le Canada fournit uniquement de l'aide humanitaire à la République démocratique populaire de Corée, ou Corée du Nord. Cette aide est offerte par l'entremise de partenaires internationaux chevronnés, comme le Programme alimentaire mondial, qui fournit de l'aide alimentaire directement aux populations vulnérables dans le pays.

Le 28 octobre 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé l'adoption d'une politique d'engagement restreint envers la Corée du Nord. Dans le cadre de cette politique, les interactions bilatérales avec le gouvernement nord-coréen sont limitées aux questions concernant la sécurité régionale; les droits de la personne et la situation humanitaire dans le pays; les relations entre les deux Corées; et les affaires consulaires. Toutes les activités de coopération et les communications entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Corée du Nord sur des sujets non couverts par la politique d'engagement restreint ont cessé.

Bien que le Canada n’a pas de programmation direct au SMNE en Corée du Nord, le Canada a amélioré la santé des femmes et des enfants en travaillant avec des partenaires canadiens et mondiaux Voyez tous les projets de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants en Corée du Nord.

Visitez la page Le Canada obtient des résultats pour les femmes et les enfants du monde pour plus d’information.

Liens connexes

Déboursés 2012-2013 de l'ACDI en Corée

Total : 6,08 M$