Canada’s development assistance in Lebanon

Although Lebanon is an upper-middle-income country, the country faces significant poverty challenges. In fact, a large portion of the population lacks access to quality education, health care and other basic services due to the deterioration of the country’s public institutions.

Lebanon currently faces a significant social and economic burden because the country has received over one million Syrian refugees since March 2011. In the absence of official camps, refugees currently live among local communities, often in the poorest areas. Further, the arrival of such a huge number of refugees has led to competition for basic services and jobs, and this strain on resources has led to growing tensions within the communities. In fact, since the beginning of the crisis in Syria, Lebanon has seen unemployment rates double and overall poverty increase to 34 percent. Youth unemployment in the country is high at 34 percent, and women account for only 24 percent of the work force. The country ranks 78 out of 188 countries in terms of gender inequality.

Lebanon achieved notable success in making progress towards several Millennium Development Goals since 2000, notably in reducing child and maternal mortality and towards achieving universal primary education, with a high literacy rate among youth for both males and females. Critical targets for poverty reduction, gender equality and the environment have not been achieved, however, due in part to the complex politics of Lebanon and the regional impact of the Syrian crisis. Lebanon ranks 67 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme’s 2015 Human Development Index.

Thematic focus

At the beginning of 2016, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced Canada's new strategy to address the ongoing crises in Iraq and Syria, including further increases over the next three years toward Canada's new approach to security, stabilization, humanitarian and development assistance. Complementing Canada’s humanitarian assistance, Canada’s bilateral development assistance will help to strengthen basic service delivery, for example in education, and improve employment and livelihoods opportunities, particularly for youth. These efforts will help to strengthen the resilience of individuals, communities and systems to withstand the crisis in the region and be well positioned to contribute to the longer-term development of Lebanon.

Key anticipated results

Examples of results include:

  • Lebanese public and private institutions support economic growth by creating employment and livelihood opportunities, particularly for women, youth and refugees
  • More Syrian and Lebanese children now have improved access to quality formal education

Achievements

2015-2016

Achievements 2015-2016

Children and youth:

  • 700,000 students have benefited from nutritious food at school.
  • 2,009 schools implemented school-improvement plans that enhanced quality of education.
  • 2,368 teachers and administrators in Jordanian public schools received training on self-assessment, strategic planning as well as results-based management and gender mainstreaming to improve the quality of education.

L’aide canadienne au développement au Liban

Bien que le Liban soit un pays à revenu intermédiaire, il est également aux prises avec d’importants problèmes de pauvreté. En raison de l‘affaiblissement des institutions publiques du pays, une grande partie de la population n’a, de fait, pas accès à des services d’éducation et de santé de qualité ainsi qu’à d’autres services de base.

Le Liban se retrouve actuellement avec un lourd fardeau social et économique après avoir accueilli, depuis mars 2011, plus de 1 million de réfugiés syriens. En l’absence de camps officiels, les réfugiés vivent dans des collectivités locales, souvent dans les régions les plus pauvres. Par ailleurs, l’afflux de réfugiés a créé une compétition pour l’accès aux services essentiels et aux emplois, et la pression ainsi engendrée sur les ressources a mené à des tensions grandissantes au sein des collectivités. En fait, depuis le début de la crise en Syrie, le taux de chômage au Liban a doublé tandis que celui de la pauvreté s’est élevé à 34 p. 100. Le chômage chez les jeunes a atteint un pic de 34 p. 100, et les femmes ne forment que 24 p. 100 de la population active. Le pays se classe au 78e rang parmi 188 pays pour l’inégalité des sexes.

Depuis 2000, le Liban a fait des progrès significatifs vers l’atteinte de plusieurs Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), notamment en ce qui concerne la réduction des taux de mortalité infantile et maternelle et l’accès universel à l’éducation primaire. Le pays affiche d’ailleurs un niveau d’alphabétisation très élevé chez les jeunes, filles et garçons. Cependant, les cibles critiques dans les secteurs de la réduction de la pauvreté, de l’égalité des sexes et de l’environnement n’ont pas été atteintes, en raison notamment de la complexité de la situation politique au Liban et de l’incidence régionale de la crise syrienne. Le Liban occupait le 67e rang sur 188 pays au classement général de l’Indice du développement humain pour 2015 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD).

Priorités thématiques

Au début de 2016, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a annoncé les Nouvelles orientations du Canada pour faire face aux crises en Irak et en Syrie, assorties de nouvelles augmentations, sur les trois prochaines années, de l’aide canadienne pour la sécurité, la stabilisation ainsi que l’aide humanitaire et l’assistance au développement. En complément de l’aide humanitaire canadienne, l’aide au développement bilatérale du Canada permettra de renforcer la prestation de services essentiels, notamment en éducation, d’augmenter les occasions d’emploi et de gagne-pain, surtout pour les jeunes. Ces efforts vont contribuer à accroître la résilience des personnes, des collectivités et des systèmes pour qu’ils puissent faire face à la crise régionale et éventuellement contribuer au développement à long terme du Liban.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Voici des exemples des résultats escomptés :

  • les organismes publics et privés du Liban soutiennent la croissance économique en créant des occasions d’emploi et de gagne-pain pour les femmes, les jeunes et les réfugiés;
  • davantage d’enfants syriens et libanais jouissent d’un meilleur accès à une scolarisation officielle de qualité.

Réalisations

2015-2016

Réalisations 2015-2016

  • Le Canada a aidé 101 515 enfants non libanais et 30 933 enfants libanais à s’inscrire à un programme scolaire officiel, au Liban.
  • Le Canada a appuyé le lancement d’un nouveau programme scolaire pilote pour aider 6 009 enfants empêchés d’aller à l’école en raison du conflit à rattraper leurs retards scolaires et à réintégrer le réseau officiel.
  • Vingt-deux écoles ont été remises en état, ce qui a permis d’améliorer les conditions d’apprentissage et d’intégrer un plus grand nombre d’étudiants dans les écoles.