Malawi

Portrait of a Malawian woman holding a child in her arms. © ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour

Malawi is a small land-locked country of approximately 15 million people in Southern Africa. It is one of the world's poorest countries, and ranks 170 out of 187 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 human development index. Three out of four Malawians live on less than US$1.25/day. Almost half of the population— 46 percent—is under 15 years old.

Most Malawians are subsistence farmers, with women producing 75 percent of the nation's food supply. Agricultural productivity in Malawi is low. In 2010, maternal mortality stood at 675 per 100,000 births and 47 percent of under-five children suffered from stunting.

Although the country experienced high economic growth between 2004 and 2010, it remains vulnerable to external economic shocks such as reduced global demand for its primary exports—tobacco, tea and sugar.

Progress toward the Millennium Development Goals in Malawi is uneven. The country has exceeded its water and sanitation targets and has made significant strides in strengthening food security nationally. It is on track to achieving the targets for reducing infant and child mortality and combatting HIV/AIDS.

Challenges remain, however, in achieving the goals for poverty reduction, maternal health, universal primary education and gender equality. Only 55 percent of children who enter Grade 1 actually complete the full eight years of primary school. Some 22 percent of primary school-aged girls do not attend school, while 60 percent of those enrolled do not attend regularly.

As part of the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012, Canada is restructuring and streamlining its operations. By March 2014, all funding for country-to-country (bilateral) programs in Malawi will end and all existing project and contract work will be completed, with the exception of the Muskoka Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health (MNCH) initiatives which will continue. Malawi will also continue to remain eligible for support through the Pan-Africa regional program, as well as through the Multilateral and global programs (including international humanitarian assistance when needed) and Partnerships with Canadians programs.

Thematic Focus

Canada's international development program in Malawi is closely aligned with the goals of the Government of Malawi's Growth and Development strategy II for 2011-2016. Its main objectives are to reduce poverty and achieve the Millennium Development Goals.

The goal of Canada's international development program in Malawi is to help the country secure a future for children and youth by reducing the primary school dropout rate and improving the nutritional status of young children and pregnant/nursing women.

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

Canada supports efforts to improve the quality of basic education to reduce dropout rates. With support from Canada to the Malawi's Ministry of Education is strengthening primary school teacher training and ensuring that new teachers have the skills to help girls stay in school. Canada is also supporting efforts to help increase the Ministry of Education's capacity to manage and monitor the national education sector plan, including strengthening government systems that handle the purchase of education materials such as textbooks.

Canada also provides support to reduce malnutrition in young children and pregnant/nursing women. Canada continues to help Malawi train health workers and educate parents and community leaders about appropriate feeding practices. Canada supports the Government of Malawi's community-based therapeutic care program, which treats acute malnutrition of children and mothers at the community level. This outreach includes support to provide locally produced ready-to-use therapeutic foods to those suffering from malnutrition.

Key anticipated results

  • About 1,000 more students per year will be enrolled in teacher training colleges
  • The ratio of qualified teachers to pupils will be improved from 1:80 to 1:60
  • Up to 10,200 community volunteers will be trained to recognize the signs of acute child malnutrition
  • The number of children screened for malnutrition at the community level will be increased from 970,000 per year to 2 million

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Malawi adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages). Donor harmonization and alignment is steadily improving. The Government of Malawi encourages all donors to work with its priorities and monitors aid flows. Program-based approaches are used in the health, HIV/AIDS, education, and water sectors.

Canada participates in the annual Joint Education Sector Review process and also participates in donor-government working groups related to education and nutrition.

Achievements

2011-2012

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth

  • Improved capacity of the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology to better manage the student-teacher support system through a strengthened partnership between Teacher Training Colleges and Teaching Practice Schools
  • 4,600 new primary school teacher candidates are being trained under an improved teacher training curriculum and with new learning aids designed to improve the quality and gender appropriateness of classroom teaching at the primary level.
  • Contributed to the scaling up of the Government of Malawi's Community Therapeutic Care (CTC) program for malnourished children in eight districts, increasing the number of health centres offering CTC services from 85 to 104 (84 percent of health centres in those districts)
  • Procured and helped distribute 184 metric tonnes of ready-to-use therapeutic foods to treat malnourishment in children (this represents 33 percent of the national requirement)
  • Trained 5,192 health workers, volunteers and community leaders in identifying and treating acute malnutrition at the community and health centre levels
2010-2011

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth

  • Helped increase the Government of Malawi's capacity to plan, manage, procure and distribute educational materials in all primary schools
  • Distributed almost 6.5 million teaching and learning materials to more than 5,000 primary schools
  • Contributed to the scaling-up of the Government of Malawi's Community Therapeutic Care program in five districts, increasing coverage from 52 sites (42 percent) to 85 sites (69 percent)
  • Procured and helped distribute 408 metric tonnes of ready-to-use therapeutic food to treat acute malnutrition in children (this represents 63 percent of the national requirement) as well as equipment for 490 outpatient treatment sites needed to identify malnutrition earlier
  • Trained 2,983 health workers, volunteers and community leaders in identifying acute malnutrition at the community level
2009-2010

Achievements 2009-2010

Children and youth

  • Trained 11,000 teachers (6,000 women and 5,000 men) on the new education curriculum, resulting in an increased supply of qualified primary teachers with the capacity to apply learner-centered teaching methods that benefit both girls and boys equally
  • Distributed malnutrition screening tools and more than 130 metric tonnes of ready-to-use therapeutic foods to community care sites, improving the nutritional status of children under the age of five
  • Contributed to building the Government of Malawi's capacity to plan, manage, procure and distribute educational materials in all primary schools
  • Helped the Government of Malawi procure and distribute 12.5 million textbooks, pencils, teaching manuals and slates

International development projects in Malawi

Map of projects in Haiti
Project Browser - Malawi

CIDA Disbursements in Malawi: 2012-2013

CIDA Disbursements in Malawi
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Long-Term Development Assistance28,24
Humanitarian Assistance2,19
Total30,43

Malawi

Portrait d'une Malawite portant un enfant dans ses bras. © ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour

Le Malawi est un pays sans accès à la mer dont la population s'élève environ à 15 millions de personnes et qui est situé en Afrique australe. Cependant, le Malawi compte parmi les pays les plus pauvres de la planète, et se classe au 170 e rang parmi les 187 pays que dénombre l'indice du développement humain 2012 du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Trois personnes sur quatre vivent avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour. Près de la moitié de la population — 46 % — a moins de 15 ans.

La majorité des Malawites pratiquent une agriculture de subsistance, et les femmes sont responsables de 75 % de la production alimentaire du pays. La productivité agricole au Malawi est faible. En 2010, la mortalité des mères s'élevait à 675 décès pour 10 000 naissances, et 47 % des enfants de moins de cinq ans souffraient d'un retard de croissance.

Bien que le pays ait connu une forte croissance économique entre 2004 et 2010, il demeure vulnérable aux chocs économiques externes, comme la baisse de la demande mondiale pour ses principaux produits d'exportation : le tabac, le thé et le sucre.

Les progrès qu'a faits le Malawi à l'égard de certains des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement sont inégaux. Le pays a dépassé ses cibles pour ce qui est de l'eau et de l'assainissement et a fait des progrès notables pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire à l'échelle nationale. Il est en bonne voie d'atteindre les cibles concernant la réduction de la mortalité chez les bébés et les enfants et la lutte contre le VIH/sida.

Toutefois, des difficultés restent à surmonter pour atteindre les objectifs relatifs à la réduction de la pauvreté, à la santé maternelle, à l'éducation primaire pour tous et à l'égalité entre les sexes. Seulement 55 % des enfants qui entrent en première année complètent le cycle complet d'études primaires (huit ans). Quelque 22 % des filles en âge d'aller à l'école primaire ne sont pas scolarisées et 60 % des filles qui sont inscrites dans un établissement ne fréquentent pas l'école régulièrement.

Dans le cadre de son Plan d'action économique 2012, le Canada restructure et rationalise ses opérations. D'ici mars 2014, le financement pour les programmes de pays à pays (bilatéraux) au Malawi prendra fin, et tous les travaux liés à des projets et à des contrats existants seront achevés, à l'exception des activités liées à l'Initiative de Muskoka sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, qui seront menées à terme. Le Malawi demeurera admissible à un soutien par l'entremise du Programme régional panafricain, ainsi que des programmes multilatéraux et mondiaux (y compris l'assistance humanitaire internationale au besoin) et des programmes des partenariats avec les Canadiens.

Priorités

Les programmes en matière de développement international du Canada au Malawi correspondent étroitement aux objectifs de la stratégie de développement et de croissance du gouvernement du Malawi II pour 2011-2016. Ses objectifs principaux consistent à réduire la pauvreté et à atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement.

Le but du programme de canadien au Malawi est d'aider ce pays à assurer l'avenir des enfants et des jeunes en réduisant le taux d'abandon scolaire au primaire et en améliorant l'état nutritionnel des jeunes enfants, des femmes enceintes et des mères allaitantes.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada met l'accent sur l'amélioration de la qualité de l'éducation de base afin de réduire les taux d'abandon scolaire. L'appui canadien apporté au ministère de l'Éducation du Malawi permet d'améliorer la formation des enseignants du primaire et de faire en sorte que les nouveaux enseignants aient les compétences voulues pour aider les filles à rester à l'école. Le Canada contribue également à raffermir la capacité du ministère de l'Éducation à gérer le plan national pour le secteur de l'éducation et à en assurer le suivi, y compris le renforcement des systèmes gouvernementaux responsables de l'approvisionnement en matériel pédagogique, comme les manuels.

Le Canada met aussi l'accent sur la réduction de la malnutrition chez les jeunes enfants, les femmes enceintes et les mères allaitantes. Elle continue d'aider le Malawi à former des travailleurs de la santé et à sensibiliser les parents et les dirigeants communautaires aux pratiques adéquates en matière d'alimentation. Le Canada appuie l'approche axée sur les soins thérapeutiques communautaires adoptée par le gouvernement du Malawi pour traiter la malnutrition aigüe chez les enfants et les mères à l'échelon local. Cette approche inclut la fourniture aux personnes souffrant de malnutrition d'aliments thérapeutiques prêts à servir (ATPS) et cultivés localement.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Environ 1 000 étudiants de plus s'inscriront chaque année dans des collèges de formation des enseignants.
  • Le rapport des enseignants qualifiés aux élèves sera amélioré, pour passer de 1 à 80 à 1 à 60.
  • Jusqu'à 10 200 bénévoles locaux seront formés pour reconnaître les signes de la malnutrition aiguë chez les enfants.
  • Le nombre d'enfants subissant un test de dépistage de la malnutrition dans les collectivités passera de 970 000 à 2 000 000 par an.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Malawi adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 1,55 Mo, 26 pages). L'harmonisation et l'alignement des actions des donateurs ne cessent de s'améliorer. Le gouvernement du Malawi encourage tous les donateurs à donner suite à ses priorités et surveille les apports d'aide. Des approches-programmes sont utilisées dans les secteurs de la santé, de la lutte contre le VIH/sida, de l'éducation et de l'eau.

Le Canada participe à l'examen annuel conjoint du secteur de l'éducation et à des groupes de travail donateurs-gouvernement en matière d'éducation et de nutrition.

Réalisations

2011-2012

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes

  • A renforcé la capacité du ministère de l'Éducation, des Sciences et de la Technologie pour mieux gérer le système d'aide aux élèves et aux enseignants grâce à un partenariat plus fort entre les collèges de formation des enseignants et les écoles de pratique de l'enseignement.
  • A permis la formation de 4 600 futurs enseignants d'école primaire grâce à un programme de formation des enseignants amélioré et aux nouveaux outils d'apprentissage visant à améliorer la qualité de l'enseignement en classe dans les écoles primaires, tout en tenant compte des différences entre les sexes.
  • A contribué à étendre le programme de soins thérapeutiques offerts à la collectivité, mis en œuvre par le gouvernement du Malawi au profit des enfants de huit districts qui souffrent de malnutrition; le nombre de centres de santé qui offrent ces services est passé de 85 à 104 (dont 84 % sont situés dans ces huit districts).
  • A contribué à fournir et à distribuer 184 tonnes métriques d'aliments thérapeutiques prêts à l'emploi qui servent à traiter la malnutrition des enfants, ce qui représente 33 % de l'exigence nationale.
  • A formé 5 192 travailleurs de la santé, volontaires et dirigeants communautaires qui aident à déceler et à traiter la malnutrition sévère à l'échelle des collectivités et des centres de santé.
2010-2011

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes

  • A aidé à accroître la capacité du gouvernement du Malawi à planifier, à gérer, et à acheter du matériel pédagogique ainsi qu'à le distribuer dans toutes les écoles primaires du pays.
  • A distribué près de 6,5 millions d'articles scolaires dans plus de 5 000 écoles primaires.
  • A contribué à la mise à niveau du programme communautaire de soins thérapeutiques du gouvernement du Malawi dans cinq districts. Le programme couvre maintenant 85 sites (69 %) du territoire, comparativement à 52 sites (42 %).
  • A acheté et aidé à distribuer plus de 408 tonnes métriques d'aliments thérapeutiques prêts à servir pour traiter la malnutrition aiguë chez les enfants (ce qui représente 63 % de l'exigence nationale) et de l'équipement servant à dépister de façon plus hâtive la malnutrition pour 490 sites de traitement destinés à des patients externes.
  • A formé un total de 2 983 travailleurs de la santé, y compris des bénévoles et des chefs de la communauté, afin qu'ils puissent identifier la malnutrition aiguë à l'échelle communautaire.
2009-2010

Réalisations 2009-2010

Enfants et jeunes

  • A formé 11 000 enseignants (6 000 femmes et 5 000 hommes) sur le nouveau programme d'éducation soucieux de l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes, de sorte qu'il y a maintenant un plus grand nombre d'enseignants et d'enseignantes du primaire qualifiés en mesure d'appliquer des méthodes d'enseignement axées sur les apprenants et tenant compte des écarts entre les femmes et les hommes.
  • A distribué plus de 130 tonnes métriques d'aliments thérapeutiques prêts à servir et des outils de dépistage de malnutrition dans des sites de soins communautaires afin d'améliorer l'état nutritionnel des enfants de moins de cinq ans.
  • A aidé à accroître la capacité du gouvernement du Malawi à planifier, à gérer et à acheter du matériel pédagogique ainsi qu'à le distribuer dans toutes les écoles primaires du pays.
  • A aidé le gouvernement du Malawi à acheter et à distribuer plus de 12,5 millions d'articles scolaires, y compris des manuels, des crayons, du matériel pédagogique et des ardoises.
 

Projets de développement international au Malawi

Carte des projets au Malawi
Banque de projets - Malawi

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Malawi : 2012-2013

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Malawi
Décaissements de l'ACDI$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI28,24
Assistance humanitaire2,19
Total30,43