Mozambique

Mozambique’s transition from a post conflict country to one of Africa’s “frontier economies” has been impressive. After almost 30 years of struggle, the country has made strong progress in economic growth, access to basic services and in democratic development. In spite of domestic, regional and international constraints, Mozambique is achieving development results, demonstrating what aid, debt relief, and strong commitment can achieve in one of the most impoverished countries of the world.

Mozambique’s GDP growth averaged 7.3 percent over the past decade, and is projected to grow 8.5 percent in 2014 and 2015, driven mainly by sustained and sizable foreign direct investment (FDI) in the extractive sector and increasing public expenditure. For the last two years, Mozambique has been the second most preferred destination for FDI in Africa.

Despite this impressive economic growth and progress in key social services, such as health and education, Mozambique only ranks 185 out of 187 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2013 Human Development Index. This is mainly due to the lasting impact of the 16-year war of independence and a devastating 16-year civil war that ended in 1992. Currently, about 60 82 percent of Mozambique's population of 25.2 million lives on less than US$2.00/day. Yearly flooding and drought threaten food security and rural livelihoods. Among other obstacles that contribute to ongoing poverty is the deep-rooted lack of equality between women and men.

Mozambique is estimated to have one of the world's largest untapped coal reserves and significant offshore natural gas reserves. The 2012 discovery of nearly 170 trillion cubic feet of natural gas off the northern coast of Mozambique could make it the third-largest gas exporter in the world. Other natural resources include mineral sands, graphite, iron ore and abundant tropical hardwoods. These vast and untapped natural resources can support the development of other sectors, such as agriculture, forestry, energy and tourism. This potential could also transform the country and accelerate its progress toward sustainable development.

Canada works with trusted Canadian, Mozambican and international partners, including the private sector, the government of Mozambique, CSOs, and multilateral organizations to implement its development assistance programming in Mozambique. Through a mix of program delivery modalities, including direct support to the national budget of Mozambique, Canada and other donors assist Mozambique in implementing its Poverty Reduction Action Plan (PARP) (PDF, 662 KB, 42 pages), maintaining its focus on reducing poverty, improving living conditions and enhancing public financial management systems.

Thematic Focus

In 2014, Mozambique was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts. Canada's international development program in Mozambique is directly aligned with the Government of Mozambique's 2011-2014 Poverty Reduction Action Plan.

Canada, one of the lead bilateral donors in Mozambique, is supporting the Government of Mozambique in securing a future for children and youth—by improving education and health (especially maternal newborn and child health) and by stimulating sustainable economic growth. Canada will remain a strong champion in promoting equality between women and men in these thematic areas, which are key to reducing poverty in Mozambique.

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

Canada focuses on increasing access to and the quality of education, as well as on improving access to quality health care for mothers and children Canada also works with other donors to strengthen the capacity of the ministries of Education and Health so that they can plan, implement, monitor and evaluate their policies and programs in a more effective way.

Key anticipated results

  • Improved teacher training, strengthened education system and safer schools with high quality teaching.
  • Reduced incidence of disease, stronger health systems and improved nutrition in order to further Canada’s support for maternal, newborn and child health.

Economic growth

Canada supports the Mozambican government's programs in economic growth through general budget support, skills training for employment, support for the growth of small businesses and a strengthened regulatory environment, with an emphasis on the extractive sector. To ensure that the Government of Mozambique's programs in education, health, and income-generation can achieve their goals, Canada gives greater emphasis to transparency and accountability measures, including through support to local civil society organizations.

Key anticipated results

  • Improved capacity of the Government of Mozambique for budgeting and program delivery as well as the oversight of public finances.
  • Increased poverty-focused policies, plans and budgets that integrate key issues, such as the environment, accountability and equality between women and men.
  • Improved business climate for the growth of small businesses.
  • Increased skills training for individuals and small businesses.

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

The Government of Mozambique works with donors to ensure that the country's development priorities are supported in a harmonized, effective and efficient manner. The 2011-2014 PARP was endorsed by the donor community. Development assistance in Mozambique is framed by a sophisticated relationship between donors and the Government of Mozambique. Canada is an active and respected donor within this structure, and Canadian influence has had concrete results in the past.

Achievements

2012-2013

Achievements 2012-2013

Maternal, Newborn and Child Health

  • Contributed to reducing child mortality from a baseline of 141/1,000 in 2008 to 97/1,000 in 2011 (latest figures). In 2012, Canada’s support resulted in 76,267 children under one year old receiving the vaccination for diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, hepatitis B, and haemophilius influenzae.
  • Helped increase by 1,600 in the Zambezia province the number of women who had institutional deliveries in 2012 (from 55.5% in 2011 to 56.1% in 2012).
  • Contributed to procuring and delivering 70,000 long-lasting impregnated nets to approximately 126,000 people who benefited from malaria-prevention measures.
  • Contributed to 282,687 HIV-positive adults receiving antiretroviral therapy, exceeding the 2012 target of 282,040. Canada’s funding provided antiretroviral treatment to 7,189 pregnant women to reduce the risk of mother-to-child transmission, slightly below the contribution target of 8,575.

Education

  • Helped the Government of Mozambique to procure 17 million textbooks and workbooks providing bilingual education to approximately 592,800 primary school children (47% of which were girls) in Niassa and Cabo Delgado provinces.
  • Supplied 6,000 lap desks, an innovative tool used when tables and chairs are not available.
  • Contributed to 110,231 new primary students being enrolled (of which 45% were girls), meeting the Government’s target.
  • Contributed to the establishment of 908 new schools.

Sustainable Economic Growth

  • helped Mozambique become fully compliant with the international Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative standards, providing greater transparency of the revenues collected from companies in the extractives sector.
  • Ensured greater accountability in the use of public funds: the proportion of expenditures made directly through the Integrated Electronic Financial Tracking System (e-SISTAFE) grew to 53% in 2012 from 42% in 2011.
  • Helped achieve progress in the decentralization of the state budget to provincial and district levels. Approximately 27.6% of the state budget was transferred to the provinces for administration, and 20.8% was transferred to the districts, exceeding the targets for 2012.
  • Strengthened public institutions and improved service delivery, particularly in the areas of decentralization, transparency and public administration reform.
  • Through policy dialogue and technical support, helped provide gender-disaggregated data for all sectors in the Government’s annual review process
  • Contributed to the drafting of Mozambique’s anti-corruption strategy; in 2012, this was followed up with the implementation of the public probity law that prohibits conflict of interest for politicians.
  • In 2012, Canada tied with the UK’s Department for International Development (DfID) as the most aid effective donor of the G19 (Government assessment of Program Aid Partners – 2013).
2011-2012

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Recruited and hired 1,688 additional doctors and nurses to improve availability of health care.
  • Provided anti-retroviral treatment for 250,000 HIV positive adults.
  • Supported a national campaign that vaccinated approximately 4 million children against measles and provided them with Vitamin A supplements.
  • Trained 100 tuberculosis clinicians and procured three GeneXpert machines, for improved diagnosis, in Sofala and Manica Province, increasing the number of tuberculosis cases detected and treated.
  • Supported the training and hiring of 8,500 new primary school teachers.

Food security

  • Contributed to a 6.3 percent increase in agriculture production between 2010 and 2011.
  • Supported the Mozambican Ministry of Agriculture to provide agricultural advice and services to 534,122 farmers.

Economic growth

  • Contributed to the introduction of new anti-corruption legislation, and legal protection for whistle-blowers.
2010-2011

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Helped provide antiretroviral treatment to more than 218,000 HIV-positive adults.
  • Helped increase the number of health workers to 63 per 100,000 people.
  • Helped increase the number of children receiving antiretroviral treatment from 14,510 in 2009 to 17,385 in 2010.
  • Helped increase the percentage of  women giving birth in health facilities with access to trained health providers to 64 percent in 2010, up from 54 percent in 2009.
  • Helped procure more than 14.1 million textbooks, maintaining a textbook-to-student ratio of 1:1.
  • Supported the hiring of 9,800 new primary school teachers, nearly all with professional training.

Food security

  • Helped provide agricultural extension services to more than 432,000 farmers, an increase of 14 percent since 2009.
  • Contributed to an increase of the amount of land under irrigation by 1,723 hectares.
  • Helped more than 4,200 associations, which represent 132,000 farmers, through agricultural extension services.

Economic growth

  • Helped improve data collection by the National Statistics Institute to guide policymaking.
  • Helped implement a public administration performance management system including training 850 public servants.

International development projects in Mozambique

Map of projects in Mozambique
Project Browser - Mozambique

2012-2013 CIDA Disbursements in Mozammbique

CIDA Disbursements in Mozambique
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Long-Term Development Assistance90,73
Humanitarian Assistance1,70
Total92,43

Mozambique

La transition du Mozambique d’un pays qui émerge d’un conflit vers l’un des marchés frontières de l’Afrique a été impressionnante. À l’issue de près de trente ans de conflit, le pays a réussi à faire de solides progrès en matière de croissance économique, d’accès aux services de base et de développement démocratique. Le pays a obtenu des résultats de développement, malgré les contraintes aux échelons national, régional et international. Il illustre bien ce que l’aide, l’allègement de la dette et une solide mobilisation peuvent accomplir dans l’un des pays les plus pauvres du monde.

La croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Mozambique tournait autour de 7,3 % au cours des dix dernières années, et elle devrait s’élever à 8,5 % en 2014 et 2015, principalement en raison des considérables investissements directs étrangers (IDE) soutenus dans le secteur de l’extraction et des dépenses publiques en croissance. Au cours des deux dernières années, le Mozambique a été la deuxième destination de choix pour les IDE en Afrique.

Malgré cette croissance économique impressionnante et des progrès liés aux principaux services sociaux tels que la santé et l’éducation, le Mozambique n’occupait en 2013 que le 185e rang sur 187 pays pour ce qui est de l’indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Ce rang est principalement attribuable aux répercussions durables de la guerre d’indépendance, qui a duré 16 ans, et d’une guerre civile, de 16 ans également, qui a pris fin en 1992. À l’heure actuelle, environ 82 % des 25,2 millions d’habitants du pays subsistent avec moins de 2 $ US par jour. Les inondations et les sécheresses annuelles compromettent la sécurité alimentaire et les moyens de subsistance dans les régions rurales. L’inégalité entre les sexes, profondément ancrée, est un autre obstacle qui contribue à maintenir la pauvreté.

On estime que le Mozambique a l’une des plus grandes réserves inexploitées de charbon du monde et d’importantes réserves marines de gaz naturel. La découverte, en 2012, de près de 170 billions de pieds cubes de gaz naturel sur la côte Nord du Mozambique pourrait faire du pays le troisième principal exportateur de gaz naturel au monde. Le pays compte aussi d’autres ressources naturelles, dont les sables minéralisés, le graphite, le minerai de fer et une abondance de bois durs tropicaux. Ces ressources naturelles, vastes et encore inexploitées, peuvent appuyer le développement d’autres secteurs, tels que l’agriculture, la foresterie, l’énergie et le tourisme. Ces ressources ont aussi le potentiel de transformer le pays et d’accélérer ses progrès en vue d’un développement durable.

Le Canada collabore avec des partenaires canadiens, mozambicains et internationaux de confiance, y compris le secteur privé, le gouvernement du Mozambique, des organisations de la société civile et des organisations multilatérales pour mettre en œuvre ses programmes d’aide au développement au pays. Grâce à un ensemble de mécanismes d’exécution de programmes, notamment le soutien direct au budget national du Mozambique, le Canada et d’autres donateurs aide le pays à mettre en œuvre son plan d’action pour la réduction de la pauvreté (en anglais, PDF, 662 Ko, 42 pages) en maintenant le cap sur la réduction de la pauvreté, l’amélioration des conditions de vie et la modernisation des systèmes de gestion des finances publiques.

Priorités

En 2014, le Mozambique a été désigné comme l’un des pays ciblés par le gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les efforts de développement international. Le programme d’aide au développement international du Canada pour le Mozambique concorde avec le plan d’action pour la réduction de la pauvreté (2011-2014) du gouvernement du Mozambique.

Le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs bilatéraux au Mozambique. Il appuie les efforts que le gouvernement mozambicain déploie en vue d’assurer l’avenir des enfants et des jeunes — en améliorant l’éducation et la santé (particulièrement la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants) — et de favoriser une croissance économique durable. Le Canada continuera de militer activement en faveur de l’égalité entre les sexes dans ces domaines thématiques, tous indispensables à la réduction de la pauvreté au Mozambique.

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

Le Canada s’efforce principalement d’accroître l’accès à une éducation et à des soins de santé de qualité pour les mères et les enfants. Il collabore aussi avec d’autres donateurs pour renforcer les moyens d’action des ministères de l’Éducation et de la Santé afin qu’ils puissent planifier, mettre en œuvre, surveiller et évaluer leurs politiques et leurs programmes plus efficacement.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Une formation aux enseignants améliorée, un système d’éducation renforcé et des écoles plus sécuritaires dotées d’un enseignement de grande qualité.
  • Moins de maladies, des systèmes de santé plus forts et une nutrition améliorée afin d’appuyer davantage l’initiative du Canada sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Croissance économique

Le Canada appuie les programmes de croissance économique du gouvernement mozambicain par l’entremise d’un soutien budgétaire général, d’une formation sur les compétences pour l’emploi, d’un soutien à la croissance des petites entreprises et d’un contexte réglementaire renforcé, en mettant l’accent sur le secteur de l’extraction. Pour que les programmes d’éducation, de santé et de génération de revenus du gouvernement atteignent leurs objectifs, le Canada mise davantage sur la transparence et les mesures de responsabilisation, y compris l’appui aux organisations de la société civile locale.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Les capacités du gouvernement du Mozambique en matière de budgétisation, d’exécution de programmes et de surveillance dans le domaine des finances publiques seront améliorées.
  • Des politiques, des plans et des budgets axés sur la pauvreté qui intègrent des questions fondamentales telles que l’environnement, la responsabilisation et l’égalité entre les sexes seront accrus.
  • Le climat des affaires sera amélioré en vue de la croissance des petites entreprises.
  • La formation axée sur les compétences pour les personnes et les petites entreprises sera accrue.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le gouvernement du Mozambique travaille avec les donateurs pour veiller à ce que les priorités du pays en matière de développement soient soutenues d’une manière harmonisée et efficace. Le plan d’action pour la réduction de la pauvreté pour 2011-2014 a été approuvé par la communauté des donateurs. Au Mozambique, l’aide au développement est le fruit d’une relation complexe entre les donateurs et le gouvernement du pays. Le Canada est un donateur actif et respecté au sein de cette structure, et l’influence canadienne a donné lieu à des résultats concrets dans le passé.

Réalisations

2012-2013

Réalisations 2012-2013

Santé des méres, des nouveaux-nés et des enfants

  • A contribué à réduire le taux de mortalité juvénile, lequel est passé de 141/1 000 en 2008 à 97/1 000 en 2011 (données les plus récentes). En 2012, grâce au soutien du Canada, 76 267 enfants de moins d’un an ont été vaccinés contre la diphtérie, la coqueluche, le tétanos, l’hépatite B et Haemophilus influenzae.
  • A permis d’accroître de 1 600, de la province de Zambézie, le nombre de femmes qui ont accouché dans un établissement de santé en 2012 (de 55,5 % en 2011 à 56,1 % en 2012).
  • A contribué à l’achat de 70 000 moustiquaires imprégnées d’insecticide de longue durée et à leur distribution à 126 000 personnes qui ont ainsi bénéficié d’un moyen de protection contre le paludisme.
  • A permis à 282 687 adultes séropositifs de recevoir un traitement antirétroviral, ce qui a dépassé l’objectif de 282 040 fixé pour 2012. Grâce au financement du Canada, 7 189 femmes enceintes ont reçu un traitement antirétroviral afin de réduire le risque de transmission du VIH de la mère à l’enfant, ce qui est un peu moins que l’objectif de 8 575.

Éducation

  • A permis au gouvernement du Mozambique d’acheter 17 millions de manuels scolaires et de cahiers de travail pour offrir une éducation bilingue à environ 592 800 écoliers (47 % de filles) dans les provinces de Niassa et de Cabo Delgado.
  • A fourni 6 000 plateaux de travail, un outil novateur qu’utilisent les écoliers lorsqu’il n’y a pas de tables et de chaises.
  • A permis à 110 231 nouveaux jeunes (dont 45 % de filles) de s’inscrire à l’école primaire, atteignant ainsi l’objectif du gouvernement.
  • A contribué à l’établissement de 908 nouvelles écoles.

Croissance économique durable

  • A aidé le Mozambique à se conformer pleinement aux normes de l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives, ce qui a assuré une plus grande transparence des revenus perçus par les entreprises dans le secteur de l’extraction.
  • A assuré une responsabilisation accrue à l’égard de l’utilisation des fonds publics : la proportion des dépenses faites directement par l’entremise du e-SISTAFE (système intégré électronique de suivi financier) est passée de 42 % en 2011 à 53 % en 2012.
  • A fait avancer la décentralisation du budget de l’État à l’échelon des provinces et des districts. Environ 27,6 % du budget de l’État a été transféré aux provinces à des fins d’administration, et 20,8 % du budget a été transféré aux districts, ce qui dépasse les objectifs pour 2012.
  • A renforcé les institutions publiques et a amélioré la prestation des services, surtout dans les domaines de la décentralisation, de la transparence et de la réforme de l’administration publique.
  • A aidé à fournir, par le dialogue politique et le soutien technique, des données ventilées par sexe pour tous les secteurs dans le cadre du processus d’examen annuel du gouvernement.
  • A participé à la rédaction de la stratégie de lutte contre la corruption du Mozambique; en 2012, il y a ensuite eu la mise en œuvre de la loi sur la probité publique, qui interdit les conflits d’intérêts chez les politiciens.
  • En 2012, le Canada arrivait à égalité avec le Royaume-Uni (ministère du Développement international – DfID) à titre de donateur le plus efficace du G-19 (évaluation des partenaires du programme d’aide par le gouvernement – 2013).
2011-2012

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • A recruté et embauché 1 688 médecins et infirmières supplémentaires afin d'améliorer la disponibilité des soins de santé.
  • A fourni un traitement antirétroviral à 250 000 adultes séropositifs.
  • A soutenu une campagne nationale de vaccination qui a permis d'immuniser environ 4 millions d'enfants contre la rougeole et leur a fourni des suppléments de vitamine A.
  • A formé 100 cliniciens spécialisés en tuberculose et a fourni trois machines GeneXpert qui permettent de poser un meilleur diagnostic, dans les provinces de Sofala et de Manica, ce qui a permis d'augmenter le nombre de cas de tuberculose détectés et traités.
  • A soutenu la formation et l'embauche de 8 500 nouveaux enseignants du primaire.

Sécurité alimentaire

  • A contribué à une augmentation de 6,3 % de la production agricole entre 2010 et 2011.
  • A aidé le ministère de l'Agriculture du Mozambique à fournir des conseils et des services à 534 122 agriculteurs.

Croissance économique

  • A contribué à la mise en place de nouvelles lois anticorruption et d'une protection légale pour les dénonciateurs.
2010-2011

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • A permis de fournir un traitement antirétroviral à plus de 218 000 adultes séropositifs.
  • A contribué à faire passer le nombre de travailleurs de la santé à 63 pour 100 000 personnes.
  • A contribué à l'augmentation du nombre d'enfants recevant un traitement antirétroviral, de 14 510 en 2009 à 17 385 en 2010.
  • A contribué à l'augmentation du pourcentage de femmes qui ont accouché dans des établissements de santé en présence de travailleurs de la santé qualifiés, de 54 % en 2009 à 64 % en 2010.
  • A participé à la distribution de plus de 14,1 millions de manuels scolaires, ce qui a permis de maintenir un ratio manuel-élève de 1:1.
  • A aidé à l'embauche de 9 800 nouveaux enseignants au primaire, presque tous ayant reçu la formation professionnelle requise.

Sécurité alimentaire

  • A contribué à l'offre de services de vulgarisation agricole à plus de 432 000 exploitants agricoles, ce qui représente une hausse de 14 % depuis 2009.
  • A contribué à l'accroissement de la superficie des terres irriguées de 1 723 hectares.
  • A offert du soutien à plus de 4 200 associations, représentant 132 000 exploitants agricoles, par l'entremise de services de vulgarisation agricole.

Croissance économique

  • A participé à l'amélioration de la cueillette de renseignements par l'Institut national de la statistique afin de guider l'élaboration de politiques.
  • A contribué à la mise en œuvre d'un système de gestion du rendement de l'administration publique, ce qui comprend la formation de 850 fonctionnaires.

Projets de développement international au Mozambique

Carte des projets au Mozambique
Banque de projets - Mozambique

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Mozambique: 2012-2013

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Mozambique
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI90,73
Assistance humanitaire1,70
Total92,43