Nicaragua

Despite a significant reduction in poverty in recent years, Nicaragua is still one of the poorest countries in the Americas. It has the second-lowest GDP per capita in the Americas, with 30 percent of the population living below the national poverty line. Nicaragua ranks 125 out of 188 countries on the United Nations Development Programme’s 2015 Human Development Index.

Poverty in Nicaragua is concentrated in rural areas, with 50 percent of rural residents living below the national poverty line. The majority of the rural poor live in the vast, dry central region, where natural resources are limited, lands have been over-exploited and water for production is scarce. Families depend on agriculture for their livelihood and devote two-thirds of their income to purchasing food. Small-scale farmers and landless farm workers are also among the most vulnerable to climate change.

Nicaragua’s administration of public institutions and its management of the economy and the national budget are steadily improving. But the commitment to democracy, human rights and rule of law is being questioned by civil society and the media.

The country has made progress on targets of achieving universal primary education, promoting gender equality and empowering women and reducing child mortality. It faces challenges, however, in eradicating poverty and ensuring environmental sustainability. Nicaragua is also vulnerable to natural disasters, such as drought, floods and hurricanes, which regularly plague the country and jeopardize development gains in poor rural areas.

The Government of Nicaragua’s achievements in the area of community policing and security have helped to contain the insecurity that is prevalent in the Northern Triangle of Central America (Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala). However, while the country has among the lowest homicide rates in the region, there is a risk that criminal networks operating in the northern countries could present increasing security challenges.

Find out what Canada is doing to support development in Nicaragua

Thematic Focus

Nicaragua’s current administration is committed to implementing policies and programs that positively impact the most vulnerable members of society, including rural poor and women. Canada’s international development assistance program in Nicaragua is closely aligned with Nicaragua’s National Human Development Plan. This plan focuses on:

  • economic growth, job creation and the reduction of poverty and inequality;
  • rebuilding infrastructure for energy, roads, electrical grids and ports;
  • stimulating business development and the agriculture sector; and
  • strengthening food security by improving financial services and technical assistance available to producers and by creating associations of producers to better market their products.

The goal of Canada’s international development assistance program in Nicaragua is to help the country improve clean economic growth and improve the lives of children and youth. Indeed, preventive strategies, such as increasing economic opportunities for the poor and support for young people to acquire dignified livelihoods, are key to reducing poverty, migration and crime.

In the context of the International Aid Review (PDF, 2.75 MO, 28 pages) launched by the Minister of International Development and La Francophonie, Canada conducted consultations in Nicaragua with the Government of Nicaragua, local civil society organizations, co-operatives, think tanks and other stakeholders, as well as with the general public, through a country-specific online survey. The information gathered through these consultations is feeding into the broader global analysis led by Global Affairs Canada to develop new international assistance policies and programs.

1. Clean economic growth

Canada supports efforts to help Nicaragua increase the income of the rural poor by improving productivity and competitiveness. This support includes increasing access to electricity and improving sustainable management of resources by local authorities. To promote clean economic growth, Canada is focusing on supporting small enterprises, entrepreneurs and smallholder men and women producers in agricultural and non-agricultural activities. Priority is given to improving agriculture and its resilience to climate change, improving the methods of agri-food products processing and marketing, increasing access to knowledge and technology for higher-value production in agriculture and non-agricultural activities and improving access to markets.

Key anticipated results

  • Improve the competitiveness and profitability of 30,000 smallholder farmers and 85 agri-food processors and distributors, and create 850 jobs in the agri-food sector.
  • Improve the quality and transformation processes of agriculture production and increase access to markets for 900 small farmers organizations.
  • Increase the quality of life and improve economic opportunities for approximately 75,000 individuals in over 292 communities by providing access to electricity in remote rural communities.
  • Enhance women’s economic empowerment through business development support to enable the growth of women-owned or managed small businesses.

2. Health and rights of women and children

Thanks to important gains made to ensure food security in the country, Canada’s international development assistance program in Nicaragua is transitioning out of food security programming and is in the process of developing new programming in the sectors related to health and rights of women and children. Initiatives will emphasize building young people’s employment, entrepreneurship and life skills, and protecting girls and boys from key risk factors to both reduce poverty and mitigate pressures for them to migrate and engage in illicit activities.

Key anticipated results

  • Reintegrate 11,000 at-risk youth with behavioral problems into the social and economic life of the country in 38 targeted municipalities and support employment entry for at-risk youth.

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Nicaragua adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages). Donors are harmonizing their efforts, and Canada played a lead role in donor-government coordination in rural development. As the donor liaison for the Productive Rural Development Sector Pooled Fund (concluded in 2014 to 2015), Canada has engaged the Nicaraguan government to develop new policies and service models for expanding early agro-industrialization of women- and youth-led rural family enterprises.

The Government of Nicaragua works very closely with donors in demonstrating local ownership, managing for results and ensuring donor alignment with its National Human Development Plan. In particular, Nicaragua’s stable and experienced civil service is actively engaged in implementing aid effectiveness principles.

Achievements

2015 to 2016

Sustainable economic growth

  • Production volumes of prioritized crops increased by as much as 21 percent, and production losses were reduced by 6 percent through the training of 1,477 smallholder families (35 percent of the participants were women); 1,958 metric tons of maize and beans were sold to formal markets; and a 320 percent increase in access to credit was made from the prior year.
  • Electrification services were provided to a total of 13,932 people in 59 communities in northern Nicaragua, 56 percent of whom were women and girls.
  • Nicaragua was the first country to subscribe to the Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility for Central America ($16.6M) in 2015, providing its government with natural disaster risk insurance coverage for earthquakes and hurricanes, to support its ability to maintain essential services in the aftermath of a disaster and to protect its poverty-reduction gains.
  • Rural women were provided training and support to improve their agricultural production, post-harvest management and access to credit and local markets, as well as in assuming decision-making positions within producers’ organizations (women hold 38 percent of the total leadership positions). A group of 1,069 young women received agricultural technical training, and 50 percent of them have increased their leadership in family-farm decision making.

Children and youth

  • Technical education was provided to 2,380 poor rural young women and men in agro-ecological production to increase farm productivity and profitability, adapt to climate change and provide economic alternatives, which generated US$189,269 in revenues—an increase of 286 percent in the last year.
  • Training was provided to 1,586 women, most of whom were young, through Skills for Employment projects.
2014 to 2015

Sustainable Economic growth

  • Despite a severe drought in 2014 and 2015, Canada provided training and support to over 2,700 rural farmers to improve their productivity and capacity to adapt to climate change, with increases of between 13 percent and 21 percent of targeted products over the year.
  • Technical assistance was provided to 26,154 women, 8,450 women received agricultural inputs and business management training, and 5,980 producers accessed credit for basic grains.
  • The Nicaragua Electrification Project: Phase I, which ended in March 2015, provided electrification services to a total of 126,894 men, women and children in 444 communities in northern Nicaragua, 26,318 of them in 65 communities just in the last year of Phase 1.
  • The program helped to improve access to credit for over 2,600 farmers, as well as improve sales volumes and sales prices.

Food security

  • Support to improve agricultural productivity via technical assistance and new technologies was provided to 46,304 producers.
  • Assistance to improve household diets was provided to 8,452 women.
  • Technical education was provided to 1,650 young subsistence producers. As a result, farming productivity increased by 50 percent, allowing 45 percent of the producers to generate an income from their production and 56 percent met their families’ food security needs throughout the year.

The story behind the results: Focusing on Nicaragua’s next generation of farmers

Although the world’s food is grown in rural areas, people living in these areas are not free from malnutrition, a condition that affects young children in particular. There are many challenges involved in increasing food security, including low productivity, high costs and gaps in modern techniques and technologies. By targeting the men and women farmers of the future in northern Nicaragua, Solidarité Union Coopération (SUCO) is helping the next generation to overcome these challenges and ensure the future success and sustainability of rural farmers.

Since 2010, with support from Canada, SUCO’s PROGA-Jeunes project has helped more than 2,378 Nicaraguan young people improve production yields on their experimental agricultural plots. In addition, 456 hectares have been cultivated using agro-ecological farming practices, 118 facilitators and technicians have been trained, 2,378 young people and their families have received training on gender equality, and 988 environmental protection and 8,624 productive infrastructure projects have been implemented.

One of these young farmers-in-the-making, 22-year-old Duglas Mendez Espinoza, runs a farm near San Andrés together with his parents and four brothers. Through training and technical guidance provided by PROGA-Jeunes, Duglas and his family have increased their farm revenues by 80 percent by diversifying crops, adopting agro-ecological practices and marketing part of their production.

“I didn’t know how to farm effectively,” said Duglas. “Traditional methods were very expensive. At first, my family and I were not convinced that agro-ecological methods would be successful, especially since our neighbours told us we would face crop diseases and pests.”

One such infrastructure project is also a source of pride for 18-year-old Dimas Ramón Olivas Sánchez. He built himself a rearing pond for tilapia that can hold 200 fish. Thanks to this pond and the knowledge Dimas acquired from the PROGA-Jeunes project, the family farm has tripled the number of its income-generating food products, from five to 15. “With all of these products, my family has access to food for at least 10 months of the year,” said Dimas.

2014-2015 international assistance disbursements to Nicaragua (in millions of dollars)

Source
Global Affairs Canada14.4
Other departments and sources0.33
Total14.73

Nicaragua

Le Nicaragua est l’un des pays les plus pauvres des Amériques, malgré une diminution considérable de la pauvreté constatée au cours des dernières années. Son produit intérieur brut (PIB) par habitant occupe l’avant-dernier rang du continent, et 30 p. 100 de sa population vit sous le seuil national de pauvreté. Le Nicaragua occupe le 125e rang sur 188 pays dans l’Indice de développement humain de 2015 (IDH) du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Au Nicaragua, la pauvreté se concentre dans les régions rurales où 50 p. 100 des habitants vivent sous le seuil national de pauvreté. La majorité des pauvres des régions rurales habitent la région centrale du pays, une vaste zone aride où les ressources naturelles sont rares, où les terres ont été surexploitées et où l’accès à l’eau est restreint. Les familles dépendent de l’agriculture pour subvenir à leurs besoins et elles consacrent les deux tiers de leurs revenus à l’achat de nourriture. Les petits producteurs agricoles et les ouvriers agricoles sans terre sont également parmi les plus vulnérables au changement climatique.  

L’administration des institutions publiques nicaraguayennes ainsi que la gestion de l’économie et du budget national du pays s’améliorent constamment. Cependant, l’engagement du pays envers le respect de la démocratie, des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit est remis en question par la société civile et les médias.

Le Nicaragua a réalisé des progrès par rapport à ses objectifs visant à assurer l’éducation primaire pour tous, à promouvoir l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation économique des femmes, et à réduire la mortalité infantile. Cependant, il lui reste des défis à relever en ce qui concerne la réduction de la pauvreté et la préservation de l’environnement. Le Nicaragua est aussi vulnérable aux catastrophes naturelles comme les sécheresses, les inondations et les ouragans, qui affligent fréquemment le pays et compromettent les progrès en matière de développement dans les régions rurales pauvres.

Les réalisations du gouvernement du Nicaragua dans le domaine du maintien de l’ordre et de la sécurité au niveau communautaire ont contribué à restreindre l’insécurité qui règne dans le triangle du nord de l’Amérique centrale (Honduras, Salvador et Guatemala). Cependant, bien que le taux d’homicides au Nicaragua soit le plus bas de la région, il existe toujours des risques liés aux réseaux criminels à l’œuvre dans les pays au nord de sa frontière, augmentant ainsi les défis en matière de sécurité.

Découvrez ce que fait le Canada pour soutenir le développement au Nicaragua.

Priorités

Le gouvernement actuel du Nicaragua est déterminé à mettre en place des politiques et des programmes qui auront un impact positif sur les membres les plus vulnérables de la société, y compris les pauvres des régions rurales et les femmes. Le programme canadien d’aide au développement international au Nicaragua s’harmonise étroitement avec le Plan national de développement humain du Nicaragua. Ce plan se concentre sur :

  • la croissance économique, la création d’emplois et la diminution de la pauvreté et des inégalités;
  • la reconstruction des infrastructures pour l’énergie, le réseau routier, le réseau électrique et les ports;
  • le développement des entreprises et du secteur agricole;
  • le renforcement de la sécurité alimentaire, grâce à l’amélioration des services financiers et de l’assistance technique offerts aux producteurs et à la mise sur pied d’associations de producteurs pour améliorer la commercialisation de leurs produits.

L’objectif du programme canadien d’aide au développement international au Nicaragua est d’aider le pays à augmenter sa croissance économique propre et à améliorer la vie des enfants et des jeunes. La mise en place de stratégies préventives telles que l’augmentation des possibilités économiques pour les pauvres et le soutien aux jeunes pour qu’ils puissent gagner leur vie dignement constitue un facteur clé pour diminuer la pauvreté, la migration et la criminalité.

Dans le cadre de l’Examen de l’aide internationale (PDF, 2.80 Mo, 30 pages) lancé par la ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie, le Canada a mené des consultations au Nicaragua auprès du gouvernement, d’organismes locaux de la société civile, de coopératives, de groupes de réflexion, d’autres intervenants et de la population en général, au moyen d’un sondage en ligne adapté au contexte du pays. Les renseignements recueillis lors de ces consultations alimentent l’analyse globale menée par Affaires mondiales Canada pour élaborer ses nouvelles politiques et ses nouveaux programmes d’aide internationale.

1. Croissance économique propre

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant à aider le Nicaragua à augmenter les revenus des pauvres dans les régions rurales au moyen d’une productivité et d’une compétitivité accrues. Pour y parvenir, l’appui du Canada cible des projets visant à accroître l’accès à l’électricité et à aider les autorités locales à gérer les ressources de façon durable. Afin de promouvoir une croissance économique propre, l’aide du Canada se concentre sur le soutien aux petites entreprises, aux entrepreneurs et aux petits exploitants (hommes et femmes)  dans les secteurs agricoles et non agricoles. La priorité est accordée à l’amélioration de l’agriculture et de sa résistance aux changements climatiques, au perfectionnement des méthodes de transformation et de commercialisation des produits agroalimentaires, à l’accroissement de l’accès aux connaissances et à la technologie pour ajouter de la valeur aux produits agricoles et non agricoles, et à l’amélioration de l’accès aux marchés.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Améliorer la compétitivité et la rentabilité de 30 000 propriétaires de petites fermes et de 85 entreprises de transformation et de distribution de produits agroalimentaires, et créer 850 emplois dans le secteur agroalimentaire.
  • Améliorer la qualité de la production agricole et celle de ses procédés de transformation, et faciliter l’accès aux marchés de 900 regroupements de petits propriétaires agricoles.
  • Améliorer la qualité de vie et les perspectives économiques d’environ 75 000 personnes dans plus de 292 collectivités rurales éloignées, en facilitant l’accès à l’électricité.
  • Favoriser l’autonomisation économique des femmes en soutenant le développement d’entreprises, en particulier les petites entreprises dont des femmes sont propriétaires ou qu’elles gèrent.

2. Santé et droits des femmes et des enfants

Grâce aux progrès considérables réalisés par le Nicaragua pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire, le programme canadien d’aide au développement international au Nicaragua effectue une transition finalisant les programmes de sécurité alimentaire en faveur de nouveaux programmes dans les secteurs de la santé et des droits des femmes et des enfants. Les nouvelles initiatives seront axées sur les jeunes, afin d’accroître leurs possibilités d’emploi, leur esprit d’entreprise et leurs compétences essentielles, ainsi que sur les filles et des garçons afin de diminuer la pauvreté et les protéger ainsi contre les principaux facteurs de risque qui les incitent à migrer ou à se livrer à des activités illégales.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Réintégrer, dans les activités sociales et économiques du pays, 11 000 jeunes à risque de 38 municipalités ciblées qui présentent des problèmes de comportement, et soutenir l’entrée de ces jeunes à risque sur le marché du travail.  

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Nicaragua adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l’efficacité de l’aide (PDF, 317 Ko, 26 pages), en vertu de laquelle les donateurs s’efforcent d’harmoniser leurs efforts. Le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la coordination entre donateurs et gouvernements pour soutenir le développement rural. En sa qualité d’agent de liaison des donateurs au fonds commun pour le Programme sectoriel de développement rural productif, conclu en 2014-2015, le Canada a encouragé le gouvernement nicaraguayen à élaborer de nouvelles politiques et de nouveaux modèles de service pour élargir l’agro-industrialisation des entreprises familiales rurales dirigées par des femmes ou par des jeunes.

Le gouvernement du Nicaragua collabore de très près avec les donateurs afin d’assurer la prise en charge par le pays, la gestion axée sur les résultats et l’harmonisation des efforts des donateurs avec le Plan national de développement humain. Entre autres, la fonction publique stable et expérimentée du Nicaragua participe activement à la mise en œuvre des principes de l’efficacité de l’aide.

Réalisations 2015-2016

Croissance économique durable

  • Le rendement agricole des cultures ciblées a augmenté de 21 p. 100 dans certains cas, et les pertes de production ont diminué de 6 p. 100 grâce au programme de formation offert à 1 477 familles propriétaires de petites fermes (35 p. 100 des participants à cette formation étaient des femmes); 1 958 tonnes métriques de maïs et de haricots ont été vendues sur les marchés officiels; et l’accès au crédit a augmenté de 320 p. 100 comparativement à l’année précédente.
  • Dans le nord du Nicaragua, 59 collectivités ont été électrifiées, ce qui profite à 13 932 personnes, dont 56 p. 100 sont des femmes et des filles.
  • Le Nicaragua a été le premier pays à s’inscrire au Mécanisme d’assurance contre les risques liés aux catastrophes en Amérique centrale (doté d’une enveloppe de 16,6 millions de dollars) en 2015, ce qui a permis à son gouvernement d’acquérir une couverture d’assurance contre les risques de catastrophes naturelles, notamment les tremblements de terre et les ouragans, afin qu’il puisse continuer à offrir des services essentiels à la suite d’un cataclysme, et préserver ses gains dans la lutte contre la pauvreté.
  • Les femmes des régions rurales ont reçu de la formation et du soutien afin de leur permettre d’améliorer leurs rendements agricoles, la gestion après-récolte et leur accès au crédit et aux marchés locaux, ainsi que d’occuper des postes décisionnels au sein d’organisations de producteurs (les femmes occupent 38 p. 100 des postes décisionnels). En tout, 1 069 jeunes femmes ont reçu une formation technique agricole et la moitié d’entre elles ont acquis plus de poids dans la prise de décisions pour la ferme familiale.

Enfants et jeunes

  • Une formation technique dans le domaine de la production agro-écologique a été offerte à 2 380 jeunes femmes et hommes pauvres de régions rurales afin de leur permettre d’augmenter la productivité et la rentabilité de leur ferme, de s’adapter au changement climatique et de leur offrir de plus vastes perspectives économiques. Cette initiative a généré 189 269 $ américains en revenu, soit une augmentation de 286 p. 100 comparativement à l’année précédente.
  • De la formation a été offerte  à 1 586 femmes, principalement des jeunes femmes, par l’entremise de projets sur l’acquisition de compétences pour l’emploi.

Réalisations 2014-2015

Croissance économique durable

  • Le Canada a offert de la formation et du soutien à plus de 2 700 fermiers de régions rurales dans le but d’améliorer leur productivité et leur capacité à s’adapter au changement climatique, ce qui a permis d’augmenter de 13 à 21 p. 100 le rendement de productions ciblées, en dépit de la grave sécheresse qui a sévi en 2014 et 2015.
  • Du soutien technique a été offert à 26 154 femmes; des intrants agricoles et de la formation sur la gestion d’entreprises ont été fournis à 8 450 femmes; 5 980 producteurs ont eu accès à du crédit pour l’achat de semences.
  • La phase 1 du Projet d’électrification du Nicaragua, qui s’est terminée en mars 2015, a permis d’électrifier 444 collectivités du nord du Nicaragua et leurs 126 894 habitants (hommes, femmes et enfants), dont 26 318 habitants dans 65 collectivités ayant rejoint le réseau au cours de la dernière année de la phase 1 seulement.
  • Ce programme a facilité l’accès au crédit de plus de 2 600 fermiers, et a aidé à améliorer leurs prix et leurs volumes de vente.

Sécurité alimentaire

  • Du soutien a été apporté à 46 304 producteurs pour qu’ils puissent accroître leurs rendements agricoles grâce à une aide technique et au recours à de nouvelles technologies.
  • De l’aide a été fournie à 8 452 femmes pour leur permettre d’améliorer l’alimentation de leur ménage.
  • De la formation technique a été offerte à 1 650 jeunes producteurs agricoles de subsistance, ce qui leur a permis d’augmenter leur productivité de moitié. Au total, 45 p. 100 d’entre eux ont pu générer un revenu à partir de leur production tandis que 56 p. 100 d’entre eux ont pu assurer la sécurité alimentaire de leurs familles tout au long de l’année.

Des résultats qui en disent long : Pleins feux sur la prochaine génération d’agriculteurs au Nicaragua

Même si, partout dans le monde, la nourriture est produite dans les régions rurales, les personnes qui vivent dans ces régions ne sont pas à l’abri de la malnutrition, un phénomène qui frappe particulièrement les jeunes enfants. Les défis à relever pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire sont nombreux : faible productivité, coûts élevés et pénuries de techniques et de technologies modernes. En ciblant les agriculteurs et agricultrices de demain dans le nord du Nicaragua, Solidarité Union Coopération (SUCO) aide la prochaine génération à relever ces défis et contribue à garantir la réussite et la viabilité futures des exploitants agricoles.

Depuis 2010, fort de l’appui du Canada, le projet PROGA Jeunes de SUCO a aidé plus de 2 378 jeunes Nicaraguayens à améliorer le rendement de leurs parcelles expérimentales. En outre, 456 hectares ont été cultivés au moyen de méthodes agroécologiques, 118 animateurs et techniciens ont été formés, 2 378 jeunes et leur famille ont reçu de la formation sur l’égalité entre les sexes, 988 ouvrages de protection de l’environnement ont été réalisés et 8 624 infrastructures de production ont été mises en place.

Parmi ces jeunes agriculteurs en devenir, Duglas Mendez Espinoza, un jeune homme âgé de 22 ans, exploite avec ses parents et ses quatre frères une ferme près de San Andrés. Grâce aux formations et aux conseils techniques offerts par PROGA Jeunes, Duglas et sa famille ont augmenté leurs revenus agricoles de 80 p. 100, essentiellement par la diversification de leurs cultures, l’adoption de pratiques agroécologiques et la commercialisation d’une partie de leur production.

« Je ne savais pas comment m’y prendre pour être efficace, avoue Duglas. Les méthodes traditionnelles étaient très coûteuses. Au départ, ma famille et moi doutions que nous puissions avoir du succès avec la méthode agroécologique, d’autant plus que nos voisins prédisaient que nous serions aux prises avec des maladies et des insectes ravageurs. »

Un autre de ces projets d’infrastructure fait la fierté de Dimas Ramón Olivas Sánchez, un jeune de 18 ans. Il s’agit d’un bassin d’élevage de tilapias qu’il a lui-même aménagé et qui peut contenir 200 poissons. Grâce à cet étang et aux nouvelles connaissances acquises par Dimas dans le cadre de PROGA Jeunes, la ferme familiale a triplé le nombre de produits alimentaires dont elle tire des revenus (ils sont passés de 5 à 15). « Grâce à tous ces produits, ma famille a accès à de la nourriture au moins 10 mois par année », explique Dimas.

Carte des projets de développement international dans les Amériques

Carte des projets dans les Amériques

Décaissements d'assistance internationale 2014-2015 au Nicaragua (en millions de dollars)

Source
Affaires mondiales Canada14,4
Autres départements et sources0,33
Total14,73