Peru

Peru is a significant partner in the promotion of democracy, stability, security, and human rights throughout Latin America. Its economy has been among the best-performing in the region in recent years, mainly due to strong mineral and hydrocarbon prices. Growth in Peru's gross domestic product slowed from 9.4 percent in 2008 to 2.2 percent in 2009. However, sound macroeconomic fundamentals, adequate fiscal reserves, and a healthy anti-crisis plan have positioned Peru relatively well to weather the global economic crisis. Despite aggregate economic growth, income inequality persists. Some 2.2 million individuals (eight percent of a population of 29.5 million) live on less than US$1.25/day. Women, children, and indigenous people living in rural areas and the highlands are the most vulnerable.

Peru has embarked on an ambitious decentralization reform process and is addressing regional disparities by bringing decision-making and delivery of public services closer to rural populations. This will address social conflict and manage and redistribute revenues (in large part derived from the extractive industries) so they directly target the poor and marginalized through increased health and education services.

Although Peru has made significant strides in education in recent years, the quality of education remains among the lowest in Latin America and the Caribbean, as shown by below-average scores for math and reading (UNESCO 2008). Peru's government has made it a priority to improve education standards, with special attention to reducing inequality by targeting rural areas and disadvantaged populations such as indigenous groups, women, and girls.

Find out what Canada is doing to support development in Peru.

Thematic Focus

In 2014, Peru was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada's international development efforts.

The overall goal of Canada's program in Peru is to reduce inequality in educational and economic opportunities for excluded populations in Peru.

Peru provides a framework for donor alignment through its National Policy on International Technical Cooperation (NPITC) for 2006-2011 (in Spanish — PDF, 560 KB, 25 pages), which ties together the national, sectoral, and regional policies that make up the country's development plan. Following an assessment of Peru's key development objectives of human development, economic growth and sustainability, and governance, Canada is responding to Peru's priority needs as expressed in its NPITC.

Children and youth

Canada supports efforts to strengthen the quality and efficiency of basic education, including intercultural education, for Peruvian girls and boys in rural areas and among indigenous populations by enhancing the managerial and technical capacity in education at national, regional and local levels.

Key anticipated results

  • Quality intercultural education for girls and boys
  • Provided access for boys and girls in Grades 1 and 2 to clear learning standards

Economic growth

Canada supports efforts to increase the participation of vulnerable populations in economic development through market-driven skills-for-employment programs and effective corporate social responsibility initiatives for the sustainable well-being of communities. Canada also supports the Government of Peru's decentralization reform by strengthening the capacity of regional governments to plan and deliver equitable and inclusive public services to their citizens and to sustainably develop the extractive and natural resources sector (especially mining).

Key anticipated results

  • Increased participation of small and medium-sized enterprises in the formal economy through training and access to credit
  • Implemented community-level sustainable development projects with extractive companies, regional and local governments, and non-governmental organizations
  • Enhanced the inclusive delivery, improved quality, and increased accessibility of public services at the regional level with a special emphasis on vulnerable populations—children and youth, women, and rural and indigenous populations
  • Improved management and resolution of social conflict in areas affected by extractive industries

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Peru adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages).

Ongoing efforts are required by donors to continue progress on aid effectiveness in partnership with Peru's International Cooperation Agency (APCI) (in Spanish). Canada is an active member of a number of donor committees, including education; governance; decentralization and modernization of the state; and equality between women and men.

Canada played a key role in creating a joint multidonor initiative in support of Peru's Ombudsman (Defensoría del Pueblo) (in Spanish), the key Peruvian organization that addresses human rights issues.

2014-2015 international assistance disbursements to Peru (in millions of dollars)

Source
Global Affairs Canada28.27
Other departments and sources1.66
Total29.93

Pérou

Le Pérou est un important partenaire pour promouvoir la démocratie, la stabilité, la sécurité et les droits de la personne en Amérique latine. Son économie est de celles qui se portent le mieux dans la région ces dernières années, surtout en raison des prix élevés des minéraux et des hydrocarbures. Cependant, le taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut a fléchi, passant de 9,4 % en 2008 à 2,2 % en 2009. Malgré cela, le Pérou est assez bien placé pour traverser le ralentissement économique mondial grâce à de solides paramètres macroéconomiques fondamentaux, à des réserves fiscales suffisantes et à un plan bien conçu pour affronter la crise.Bien qu’on enregistre une croissance générale de l'économie, des inégalités de revenu persistent au Pérou. Environ 2,2 millions de Péruviens (soit 8 % de la population totale de 29,5 millions d'habitants) subsistent avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour. Les femmes, les enfants et les Autochtones habitant les campagnes et les hautes terres sont ceux dont la situation est la plus précaire.

Le Pérou a entrepris un vaste programme de décentralisation et tente de réduire les disparités régionales en rapprochant les centres de décisions et de services publics de la population rurale. Ces mesures permettront d'atténuer les conflits sociaux et de gérer les recettes (provenant en grande partie des activités d'extraction) et leur redistribution de manière à accroître les services de santé et d'éducation pour les personnes pauvres et marginalisées.

Le Pérou a beaucoup progressé dans le domaine de l'éducation ces dernières années. Toutefois, la qualité de l'éducation y est parmi les moins bonnes d'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, comme en témoignent les résultats inférieurs à la moyenne enregistrés en mathématiques et en lecture (UNESCO, 2008). Le gouvernement a comme priorité de hausser les normes d'éducation et surtout de réduire les disparités à cet égard, principalement en milieu rural et chez les groupes défavorisés comme les Autochtones, les femmes et les filles.

Découvrez ce que fait le Canada pour soutenir le développement au Pérou.

Priorités

En 2014, le Pérou a été confirmé comme l'un des pays ciblés en ce qui concerne les engagements du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement international.

Le programme du Canada pour le Pérou a pour but de réduire les inégalités dans l'accès à l'éducation et dans les perspectives économiques pour les groupes de population exclus.

Le Pérou a établi un cadre pour coordonner l'aide des donateurs : il s'agit de sa politique nationale sur la coopération technique internationale pour 2006-2011 (en espagnol – PDF, 561 Ko, 25 pages). Cette politique fusionne les mesures nationales, sectorielles et régionales qui constituent le plan de développement du pays. Le Canada a examiné les principaux objectifs de développement du Pérou en matière de développement humain, de croissance et de durabilité économiques, et de gouvernance démocratique. Il répond aux besoins prioritaires du pays tels qu'ils sont énoncés dans la politique.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant surtout à accroître la qualité et l'efficacité de l'éducation de base dont l'éducation interculturelle pour les garçons et les filles en milieu rural et pour les Autochtones. Pour y parvenir, on améliorera la capacité de gestion et les techniques d'enseignement à l'échelle nationale, régionale et locale.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Une éducation interculturelle de qualité sera offerte aux filles et aux garçons.
  • Les filles et les garçons de première et de deuxième année pourront s'appuyer sur des normes d'apprentissage clairement définies.

Croissance économique

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant à accroître la participation des groupes vulnérables au développement économique. Pour ce faire, il a recours à des programmes d'acquisition de compétences professionnelles axées sur les besoins du marché ainsi qu'à des initiatives efficaces portant sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. À l'appui des mesures de décentralisation du gouvernement du Pérou, le Canada aide les administrations régionales à améliorer leur capacité de planifier et d'offrir des services publics équitables et accessibles à tous et d'exploiter de manière durable les ressources naturelles (surtout les gisements miniers).

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Accroître la participation des petites et moyennes entreprises dans l'économie structurée grâce à une formation et à l'accès au crédit.
  • Mettre en œuvre des projets de développement durable à l’échelle des collectivités en collaboration avec des entreprises de l'industrie extractive, des administrations régionales et locales ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales.
  • Améliorer la prestation inclusive, la qualité, et l'accessibilité des services publics au niveau régional, l'accent étant surtout mis sur les populations vulnérables : les enfants et les jeunes, les femmes ainsi que les populations rurales et indigènes.
  • Améliorer la gestion et la résolution des conflits sociaux dans les régions touchées par l'industrie extractive.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Pérou adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 1.55 Mo, 26 pages).

En collaboration avec l'Agence péruvienne de coopération internationale (en espagnol), les donateurs doivent poursuivre leurs efforts pour rendre l'aide plus efficace. Le Canada participe activement à des comités de donateurs qui s'intéressent à l'éducation, à la gouvernance, à la décentralisation, à la modernisation de l'État et à l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Le Canada a joué un rôle important dans la mise en œuvre d'une initiative regroupant plusieurs donateurs en vue de fournir un appui au Bureau de l'ombudsman du Pérou (Defensoría del Pueblo) (en espagnol), le principal organisme chargé des questions liées aux droits de la personne.

En travaillant avec des partenaires canadiens et mondiaux, le Canada cherche à améliorer la santé et les droits des femmes et des enfants au Pérou.

Décaissements d'assistance internationale 2014-2015 au Pérou (en millions de dollars)

Source
Affaires mondiales Canada28,27
Autres départements et sources1,66
Total29,93