Sri Lanka

After the end of a 25-year ethnic conflict in 2009, Sri Lanka is ready to move forward on its long-term development plan to reduce poverty. The country ranks 92 out of 187 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 human development index.

Pockets of deep poverty persist in the plantation areas in central Sri Lanka and in the former conflict areas in the east and north. Unemployment is high, especially among women and youth. Following the defeat of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) in May 2009, approximately 270,000 civilians were displaced from their homes. The majority of these displaced people have returned to their home areas; however, many continue to need humanitarian assistance to meet their basic needs, and the extensive damage caused by the conflict means they face significant barriers to earning a living. In addition, the country is prone to frequent natural disasters such as floods, drought and landslides.

Sri Lanka is a parliamentary democracy, although governance and the rule of law are weak. Since 2010, the country has maintained relatively high levels of growth, spurred by private sector demand, and Sri Lanka has become a middle-income country. Consumer and investor confidence is higher and tourism has strongly rebounded.

Despite the longstanding conflict, Sri Lanka has made good progress in health and education, as well as in food self-sufficiency. Women take an active role in livestock production, forest-resource use and fishery processing and are important to Sri Lanka's future economic development.

Thematic Focus

The goal of Canada bilateral international development assistance program in Sri Lanka is to continue to promote equitable and sustainable economic growth in a post-conflict environment while also emphasizing the important role of human rights in reducing poverty.

Economic growth

Canada supports efforts to:

  • Increase skills for employment
  • Develop small agricultural businesses
  • Improve the business climate
  • Increase women's access to economic assets and jobs

This effort includes support for developing and rebuilding small-scale agriculture and infrastructure, including irrigation systems, rural access roads, and agricultural storage and processing facilities. Canada's program also helps internally displaced people return to their villages.

Key anticipated results

  • Some 30,000 poor and returning displaced people will have better access to economic opportunities and assets such as credit, equipment and land
  • Some 20 public and private institutions will be newly certified to provide vocational training to poor and internally displaced populations

Democratic governance

Canada will help improve human rights in Sri Lanka by supporting the implementation of Sri Lanka's official language policy. This policy will help minority groups to access social services such as health, education and police protection in their own language.

Democratic governance is one of the Government of Canada's five priority themes for international development assistance.

Key anticipated results

  • More than 100,000 returning displaced people will have improved access to social services in their own language
  • Some 75,000 civil servants and some 6,000 frontline staff such as receptionists, telephone operators, and clerks, will be trained and able to provide improved government services in both official languages, i.e. Sinhala and Tamil
  • More than 2,000 plantation workers will receive national identity cards

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Sri Lanka endorsed the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages). Canada and other bilateral donors do not provide funding directly to the Government of Sri Lanka. Donors, however, have developed a common set of principles to guide their work in Sri Lanka and conduct joint evaluations where feasible.

Achievements

2010-2012

Achievements 2010-2012

Economic growth

  • Helped more than 3,000 Sri Lankans in remote villages—nearly 90 percent women—increase their incomes by approximately 40 percent
  • Since 2009, some 2,574 marginalized students—30 percent women—have received technical and vocational training. Monthly wages have increased 510 percent for men and 340 percent for women
  • In two districts, nearly 6,000 households have received agricultural inputs (fruit trees) and an additional 1,200 have received livestock to help rebuild their livelihoods

Democratic governance

Helped 768 plantation workers in central Sri Lanka obtain national identity cards, improving their access to services available to all citizens.

2009-2010

Achievements 2009-2010

Economic growth

  • Helped increase incomes of poor and returning displaced person members of 57 community groups in four regions by 20 percent
  • Provided 10,386 Sri Lankans—more than one third, women—with vocational training
  • Helped 40 local vocational training providers gain certification, register with the Technical and Vocational Education Commission and provide nationally accredited training

Democratic governance

  • Helped 768 plantation workers in Central Sri Lanka obtain national identity cards, improving their access to services available to all citizens

Although Canada does not have direct programming in MNCH in Sri Lanka Canada has improved the health of women and children by working with Canadian and global partners. See all maternal, newborn and child health projects in Sri Lanka.

Visit the Canada delivers results for the world’s women and children page for more information.

International development projects in Sri Lanka

Map of projects in Haiti
International Development Project Browser

CIDA disbursements in Sri Lanka: 2012-2013

CIDA disbursements in Sri Lanka
CIDA Disbursements$M
Long-Term Development Assistance9,51
Humanitarian Assistance1,55
Total11,06

Sri Lanka

En 2009, le conflit ethnique qui déchirait le Sri Lanka depuis 25 ans a pris fin. Le pays est maintenant prêt à aller de l'avant avec son plan de développement à long terme pour réduire la pauvreté. En 2012, le Sri Lanka occupait le 92e rang sur 187 pays selon l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Des foyers de pauvreté extrême persistent dans les zones de plantations au centre du Sri Lanka et dans les régions autrefois touchées par le conflit, dans l'Est et le Nord. Le chômage est élevé, surtout chez les femmes et les jeunes. Après la défaite des Tigres libérateurs de l'Eelam Tamoul, en mai 2009, environ 270 000 civils ont été déplacés. La plupart sont retournés dans leur région, mais plusieurs ont encore besoin d'une aide humanitaire pour répondre à leurs besoins de base; et les dommages étendus causés par le conflit dressent des obstacles qui les empêchent de gagner leur vie. En outre, le pays est souvent frappé par des catastrophes naturelles comme des inondations, des sécheresses et des glissements de terrain.

Le Sri Lanka est une démocratie parlementaire, mais la gouvernance et la primauté du droit y sont faibles. Depuis 2010, le pays a maintenu un taux de croissance élevé, alimenté par la demande du secteur privé, et le Sri Lanka est devenu un pays à revenu intermédiaire. La confiance des consommateurs et des investisseurs s'est accrue et le tourisme s'est beaucoup développé.

Malgré le long conflit, le Sri Lanka a bien progressé en matière de santé, d'éducation et d'autosuffisance alimentaire. Les femmes jouent un rôle actif dans la production d'animaux d'élevage, l'utilisation des ressources forestières et la transformation des pêches. Leur participation est importante pour le développement économique du pays.

Découvrez ce que fait le Canada pour soutenir le développement au Sri Lanka.

Priorités

Le programme bilatéral canadien d'aide au développement international pour le Sri Lanka continue à favoriser une croissance économique durable et équitable après le conflit, tout en insistant sur l'importance du respect des droits de la personne pour réduire la pauvreté.

Croissance économique

Le Canada axe ses efforts sur ce qui suit :

  • accroître les compétences pour l'emploi
  • Favoriser le développement petites entreprises agricoles
  • améliorer le climat commercial
  • augmenter l'accès des femmes aux actifs économiques et aux emplois

Ces efforts comprennent le développement et la reconstruction du secteur et des infrastructures agricoles à petite échelle, y compris les systèmes d'irrigation, les routes d'accès rurales et les installations d'entreposage et de transformation. Les programmes du Canada ciblent les personnes déplacées à l'intérieur du pays qui sont de retour dans leur village.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Quelque 30 000 personnes démunies, déplacées et de retour dans leur village, auront un meilleur accès aux possibilités et aux actifs économiques comme le crédit, l'équipement et les terres.
  • Quelque 20 établissements publics et privés auront acquis une certification leur permettant d'offrir de la formation professionnelle aux personnes démunies déplacées à l'intérieur du pays.

Gouvernance démocratique

Le Canada aidera à améliorer le respect des droits de la personne au Sri Lanka en appuyant la mise en œuvre de la politique du Sri Lanka sur les langues officielles. Cet appui aidera les groupes minoritaires à obtenir des services sociaux dans leur propre langue, par exemple des services de santé, d'éducation et de protection policière.

La gouvernance démocratique est l'un des cinq thèmes prioritaires qui orientent l'aide qu'apporte le Canada au sri Lanka en matière de développement international.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Plus de 100 000 personnes déplacées de retour dans leur village auront un meilleur accès aux services sociaux dans leur propre langue.
  • Quelque 75 000 fonctionnaires et 6 000 employés de première ligne (dont des réceptionnistes, des téléphonistes et des commis) seront formés et aptes à offrir de meilleurs services gouvernementaux dans les deux langues officielles, soit le cinghalais et le tamoul.
  • Plus de 2 000 employés de plantations recevront une carte d'identité nationale.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Sri Lanka adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 317 Ko, 26 pages). Le Canada et d'autres donateurs bilatéraux n'accordent pas de soutien financier direct au gouvernement sri-lankais. Les donateurs ont cependant établi un ensemble de principes communs pour guider leurs efforts au Sri Lanka et pour mener des évaluations conjointes là où il est possible de le faire.

Réalisations

2010-2012

Réalisations 2010-2012

Croissance économique

  • A aidé plus de 3 000 Sri Lankais vivant dans des villages éloignés, dont près de 90 % de femmes, a accroître leur revenu d'environ 40 %.
  • Depuis 2009, 2 574 étudiants marginalisés, dont 30 % de femmes, ont reçu une formation technique et professionnelle. Le salaire mensuel des hommes a augmenté de 510 % et celui des femmes, de 340 %.
  • Dans deux districts, près de 6 000 foyers ont reçu des produits à usage agricole (arbres fruitiers), et 1 200 autres ont reçu du bétail, ce qui les aide à rebâtir leurs moyens de subsistance.

Gouvernance démocratique

Le Canada a aidé 768 employés de plantations au centre du Sri Lanka à obtenir des cartes d'identité nationales, améliorant ainsi leur accès aux services offerts à tous les citoyens.

2009-2010

Réalisations 2009-2010

Croissance économique

  • A aidé à augmenter le revenu des personnes pauvres et rapatriées de 20 % pour 57 groupes communautaires dans quatre régions.
  • A fourni une formation professionnelle à 10 386 Sri Lankais, dont plus du tiers sont des femmes.
  • A aidé 40 fournisseurs de services de formation professionnelle à obtenir leur accréditation. Ils sont inscrits auprès de la Commission de la formation technique et professionnelle et offrent maintenant une formation officiellement reconnue.

Bien que le Canada n’a pas de programmation direct en SMNE au Sri Lanka, le Canada a amélioré la santé des femmes et des enfants en travaillant avec des partenaires canadiens et mondiaux Voyez tous les projets de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants au Sri Lanka.

Visitez la page Le Canada obtient des résultats pour les femmes et les enfants du monde pour plus d’information.

Carte des projets de développement international en Asie Pacifique

Carte des projets en Asie Pacifique

Décaissements d'assistance internationale 2014-2015 au Sri Lanka (en millions de dollars)

Source
Affaires mondiales Canada9,48
Autres départements et sources0,59
Total10,07