South Sudan

Portrait of three Sudanese women ©  ACDI-CIDA/Roger LeMoyne

Following the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between the Government of Sudan and the Sudan People's Liberation Movement/Sudan People's Liberation Army in 2005, a referendum on the self-determination of southern Sudan was held in January 2011. During the referendum, the citizens of southern Sudan voted overwhelmingly in favour of independence. The Government of Sudan recognized the results of the referendum, and the Republic of South Sudan became independent on July 9, 2011. On the same day, Minister John Baird announced Canada’s recognition of the new country.

South Sudan is located south of Sudan and is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, and the Central African Republic to the west. Juba is its capital city. According to the World Bank, in 2012 the population of South Sudan was roughly 10.8 million and growing.

South Sudan has an abundance of natural resources; however, years of civil war have left the country extremely underdeveloped. The economy is based primarily on oil, which at times has provided as much as 98 percent of the government’s revenue. While South Sudan has an abundance of arable land, only 4.2 percent is currently cultivated.

The life expectancy is 55 years; while South Sudan’s maternal mortality is among the worst in the world at 2,054 per 100,000 births. The country lacks basic infrastructure with only 300 km of paved roads, and 80 percent of the population lacks proper sanitation.

In December 2013, fighting broke out in Juba, which escalated into months of ongoing violence and hostilities, particularly in the oil-producing regions of the country. The conflict has displaced more than one million people, as civilians have fled within South Sudan and to neighbouring countries. Furthermore, it has resulted in grave human rights violations and atrocities, including ethnic targeting, gender-based violence, as well as widespread looting and destruction. With the planting season disrupted by conflict, the country is at risk of famine with as many as seven million people expected to be food insecure in 2014.

Canada is following mediation efforts and promoting a sustainable resolution to the conflict through dialogue, as well as respect of the cessation of hostilities agreements. Canada advocates for the Government of South Sudan and the opposition to do their utmost to respect human rights and protect civilians, meet the humanitarian needs of conflict-affected populations, and be accountable to citizens.

Thematic Focus

In 2014, South Sudan was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada's international development efforts. South Sudan was chosen based on its level of need and its ability to use aid dollars wisely and on Canada's capacity to make a difference. Canada's engagement in South Sudan focuses on helping set the conditions for long-term peace, stability, and prosperity.

Through a whole-of-government approach, Canada is working to support the people of South Sudan to:

  • Address humanitarian challenges
  • Reduce security threats
  • Enhance stability
  • Meet basic human needs
  • Promote reconciliation and democratization

Canada's international development efforts in South Sudan contribute to poverty reduction by improving the health of mothers, newborns and children, increasing food security, and strengthening democratic governance.

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

Canada seeks to address maternal, newborn and child mortality and morbidity in South Sudan by delivering life-saving health services and supporting the delivery of basic health services, including to conflict-affected populations. This support also seeks to address sexual and gender-based violence, which has increased as a result of the conflict. Over the longer-term, Canada’s investments in infrastructure and human resources will help to develop a sustainable public health care system.

South Sudan is a priority country as part of the Muskoka Initiative for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (MNCH).

Key anticipated results

  • Reduce the maternal mortality rate from 2,054 per 100,000 live births
  • Increase the number of women accessing basic MNCH interventions at primary and secondary health facilities
  • Reduce the number of children dying from diseases such as malaria, diarrhea and pneumonia, which account for 45 percent of deaths for children under the age of five
  • Increase the number of trained health workers providing services in South Sudan, especially midwives

Food security

Canada seeks to prevent widespread food insecurity and reduce the risk of famine by boosting food production and protecting livelihoods for vulnerable populations. Canada is supporting smallholder farmers to continue to produce food throughout the crisis and helping them to access markets. Over the longer-term, and depending on the security situation, agriculture is expected to play a key role in diversifying South Sudan’s economy and supporting economic growth. 

Key anticipated results

  • Increase agricultural production for farming households through better access to training and farming inputs including seeds and tools
  • Reduce the percentage of the population requiring emergency food assistance, which was as high as 33 percent prior to the crisis
  • Construct new roads to link farming communities to markets and build capacity for government maintenance
  • Increase the number of people receiving livelihoods training and support

Governance

After supporting the 2010 elections in Sudan (including southern Sudan) and the 2011 referendum leading to South Sudan’s independence, Canada has a strong interest in continuing to advance democracy, and improve stability and accountability in South Sudan. Currently, Canada is working to promote more effective government oversight and the accountable use of public resources. In response to the current crisis, Canada is exploring opportunities to support South Sudanese citizens, including women, youth, civil society and church groups, to understand and meaningfully participate in reconciliation processes.

Key anticipated results

  • Strengthen oversight of the government's use of public resources through capacity building of government bodies responsible for transparency and accountability, such as the national government external audit office

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

The principles of aid effectiveness, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's and Canada's guidelines for fragile states, the Millennium Development Goals, and the New Deal for Engagement in Fragile States, will continue to guide Canada's engagement in South Sudan.

Canada co-ordinates with other donors through a number of mechanisms, including sector working groups, and aligns with the Government of South Sudan’s Aid Strategy. To promote aid effectiveness, Canada's international development program has a dual approach of working through pooled funds managed by trusted partners on large-scale projects and directly with experienced non-governmental and multilateral organizations on focused projects. Canada provides humanitarian assistance in South Sudan, through the United Nations, the Red Cross Movement, and non-governmental organizations.

Achievements 2013-2014

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Provided 3,526 women with emergency obstetric services and newborn care
  • Trained 525 health workers (including midwives and nurses) to provide children and mothers with the care they need
  • Helped 1,152,376 children younger than age five to fight communicable diseases, including malaria, pneumonia and diarrhea
  • Helped establish four national health training institutes for midwifery and nursing  training over 300 students

Food security

  • 15,717 households were employed through food for work activities, supporting 109,994 beneficiaries (of which 48.4% were women)
  • 40 farmer groups and 16 dry season vegetable groups were formed and trained, contributing to a 25%-30% increase in yield for most households and improving food security for 10,800 people
  • 3,500 livelihood kits and 4,000 fuel stoves were distributed on an emergency basis in Upper Nile, one of the states most affected by conflict

Humanitarian Assistance

With Canada's support, humanitarian partners were able to provide:

  • Provision of emergency food and nutrition assistance to over 3.3 million people (of which 1.7 million are children) at risk of high food insecurity
  • Emergency vaccinations for 1 million children 6 to 15 years and provision of child  friendly spaces
  • Provision of shelter kits and emergency medical care for over 300,000 conflict-affected people
  • Provision of safe drinking water and sanitation facilities for up to 250,000 conflict-affected people

Although Canada does not have direct programming in MNCH in Sudan Canada has improved the health of women and children by working with Canadian and global partners. See all maternal, newborn and child health projects in Sudan.

Visit the Canada delivers results for the world’s women and children page for more information.

International development projects in South Sudan

International Development Project Browser

2012-2013 CIDA Disbursements in South Sudan

CIDA Disbursements in South Sudan
CIDA Disbursements$M
Long-Term Development Assistance51.08
Humanitarian Assistance29.45
Total80.53

Soudan du Sud

Portrait of three Sudanese women ©  ACDI-CIDA/Roger LeMoyne

À la suite de la signature de l'Accord de paix global (APG) entre le gouvernement soudanais et le Mouvement populaire de libération du Soudan (MPLS), et l'Armée populaire de libération du Soudan en 2005, un référendum sur l'autodétermination du sud du Soudan a été organisé en janvier 2011. Au cours de ce référendum, les citoyens du sud-soudanais ont massivement voté en faveur de l'indépendance. Le gouvernement du Soudan a reconnu les résultats du référendum et l'indépendance de la République du Soudan du Sud a été proclamée le 9 juillet 2011. Le même jour, le ministre John Baird a annoncé que le Canada reconnaissait le nouveau pays.

Le Soudan du Sud est situé au sud du Soudan et est bordé par l'Éthiopie à l'est, le Kenya, l'Ouganda et la République Démocratique du Congo au sud et la République centrafricaine à l'ouest. Sa capitale est Djouba. Selon la Banque mondiale, en 2012, la population du Soudan du Sud était estimée à environ 10,8 millions et elle est en évolution constante.

Le Soudan du Sud est très riche en ressources naturelles; toutefois, des années de guerre civile ont laissé le pays extrêmement sous-développé. L'économie est fondée principalement sur le pétrole, qui à certaines époques, a assuré jusqu'à 98 % des revenus du gouvernement. Si le Soudan du Sud dispose d'une abondance de terres arables, aussi peu que 4,2 % de celles-ci sont actuellement cultivées.

L'espérance de vie est de 55 ans et la mortalité maternelle au Soudan du Sud est parmi les pires au monde avec 2 054 décès par 100 000 naissances. Le pays manque d’infrastructures de base, car on n'y compte que 300 km de routes asphaltées, et 80 % de la population ne dispose pas d'installations d'assainissement adéquates.

En décembre 2013, des combats ont éclaté à Djouba et ils ont dégénéré en plusieurs mois de violence et d’hostilités continues, en particulier dans les régions pétrolières du pays. Le conflit a forcé le déplacement de plus d'un million de personnes, majoritairement des civils fuyant les conflits vers d'autres régions du pays ou vers les pays voisins. En outre, la situation a engendré de graves violations des droits de la personne et des atrocités, notamment un ciblage ethnique, des cas de violence fondée sur le sexe, de même que des pillages et une destruction généralisés. Les conflits ont perturbé la période des semis et le pays risque d'être confronté à une situation de famine, car près de sept millions de personnes sont menacées d'insécurité alimentaire en 2014.

Le Canada suit les efforts de médiation et encourage une résolution durable du conflit par le dialogue, ainsi que par le respect des accords sur la cessation des hostilités. Le Canada encourage le gouvernement du Soudan du Sud et l'opposition à tout mettre en œuvre pour respecter les droits de la personne, protéger les civils, combler les besoins humanitaires des populations touchées par les conflits et assumer leurs responsabilités vis-à-vis des citoyens.

Thèmes prioritaires

En 2014, le Soudan du Sud a été désigné comme un pays ciblé en ce qui concerne les efforts du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement international. Le pays a été choisi en fonction de l'envergure de ses besoins, de son potentiel à utiliser les fonds d'aide intelligemment et de la capacité du Canada à apporter des changements tangibles dans le pays. L'engagement du Canada au Soudan du Sud vise principalement à mettre en place les conditions pour que la paix, la stabilité et la prospérité soient établis à long terme.

Avec une approche pangouvernementale, le Canada œuvre à soutenir la population du Soudan du Sud en contribuant aux activités suivantes :

  • Remédier aux problèmes humanitaires.
  • Réduire les menaces à la sécurité.
  • Accroître la stabilité.
  • Satisfaire les besoins humains fondamentaux.
  • Promouvoir la réconciliation et la démocratisation.

Les efforts déployés par le Canada en matière de développement international au Soudan du Sud contribuent à réduire la pauvreté en améliorant la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, ainsi que la sécurité alimentaire, tout en renforçant la gouvernance démocratique.

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

Le Canada tente de réduire la mortalité et la morbidité chez les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants sud-soudanais en offrant des services de santé essentiels et en soutenant l'offre de services de santé de base, notamment pour les populations affectées par le conflit. Ce soutien vise également à remédier aux actes de violence sexuelle et de violence fondée sur le sexe, qui ont augmenté à la suite du conflit. À plus long terme, les investissements du Canada dans l'infrastructure et les ressources humaines permettront de développer un système de soins de santé public durable.

Le Soudan du Sud est un pays prioritaire dans le cadre de l'Initiative de Muskoka sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (SMNE).

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Réduire le taux de mortalité maternelle actuel qui est de 2 054 décès par 100 000 naissances vivantes.
  • Augmenter le nombre de femmes ayant accès aux interventions de base liées à la SMNE dans les établissements de soins de santé primaires et secondaires.
  • Réduire le nombre d'enfants qui meurent de maladies telles que le paludisme, la diarrhée et la pneumonie, qui sont responsables de 45 % des décès chez les enfants âgés de moins de cinq ans.
  • Augmenter le nombre de travailleurs de la santé formés adéquatement dans le but d’offrir des services au Soudan du Sud, en particulier les sages-femmes.

Sécurité alimentaire

Le Canada tente de prévenir une généralisation de l'insécurité alimentaire et de réduire le risque de famine en stimulant la production alimentaire et en protégeant les moyens de subsistance des populations vulnérables. Le Canada soutient les petits exploitants agricoles afin de maintenir la production alimentaire pendant la crise et de les aider à avoir accès aux marchés. À plus long terme et en fonction de la situation liée à la sécurité, l'agriculture devrait jouer un rôle clé dans la diversification de l'économie du Soudan du Sud et dans l’appui à la croissance économique.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Augmenter la production agricole pour les ménages agricoles au moyen d'un meilleur accès à la formation et aux intrants agricoles, notamment aux semences et aux outils.
  • Réduire le pourcentage de la population nécessitant une aide alimentaire d'urgence, qui se situait à 33 % avant la crise.
  • Construire de nouvelles routes pour relier les communautés agricoles aux marchés et renforcer la capacité de maintenance du gouvernement.

  • Augmenter le nombre de personnes bénéficiant d'une formation et d'un soutien relatifs aux moyens de subsistance

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Renforcer la surveillance par le gouvernement de l'utilisation des ressources publiques en renforçant la capacité des organes gouvernementaux responsables de la transparence et de la responsabilisation, par exemple le bureau d’audit externe du gouvernement national

Vers une aide plus efficace

Les principes de l'efficacité de l'aide, les directives de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et du Canada pour les États fragiles, les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement et le Nouveau Pacte pour l'engagement dans les États fragiles continueront d'orienter l'engagement du Canada au Soudan du Sud.

Le Canada coordonne ses efforts avec ceux d'autres donateurs par divers mécanismes, notamment des groupes de travail sectoriels, et s'aligne sur la Stratégie d'aide du gouvernement du Soudan du Sud. Afin de promouvoir l'efficacité de l'aide, le programme de développement international du Canada présente une double approche en travaillant par le biais de fonds communs gérés par des partenaires de confiance pour les projets à grande échelle et directement avec des organisations non gouvernementales et multilatérales expérimentées pour des projets plus ciblés. Le Canada offre une aide humanitaire au Soudan du Sud par l'intermédiaire des Nations Unies, de la Croix-Rouge et d’organisations non gouvernementales.

Réalisations 2013–2014

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • Fournir à 3,526 femmes des services obstétriques d’urgence et des soins pour les nouveau-nés
  • Former 525 travailleurs de la santé (notamment des sages-femmes et des infirmières) afin qu’ils puissent prodiguer des soins aux enfants et aux mères
  • Aider 1,152,376 enfants âgés de moins de cinq ans à combattre des maladies transmissibles, notamment le paludisme, la pneumonie et la diarrhée
  • Appuyer la mise sur pied de quatre institutions nationales spécialisées en santé et plus spécifiquement dans la formation  des sages-femmes et des infirmières, 300 étudiant(e)s formés

Sécurité alimentaire

  • 15,717 ménages ont été rémunérés en vivres contre du travail, appuyant 109,994 bénéficiaires (dont 48,4 % étaient des femmes);
  • 40 groupes de fermiers et 16 groupes axées sur la production des légumes de saison sèche ont été constituées et formées, contribuant à une augmentation du rendement de 25 %-30 % pour la plupart des ménages et améliorer la sécurité alimentaire de 10 800 personnes;
  • 3 500 trousses de subsistance et 4 000 poêles carburant ont été distribués sur une base d'urgence dans le Haut Nil, l'un des états les plus touchés par le conflit

Aide humanitaire

Avec le soutien du Canada, les partenaires humanitaires ont été en mesure de fournir les produits et services suivants :

  • Fourniture d’une aide alimentaire et nutritionnelle d'urgence à plus de 3,3 millions de personnes (dont 1,7 millions sont des enfants) au risque d'insécurité alimentaire élevée
  • Les vaccinations d'urgence de 1 millions d'enfants de 6 à 15 ans et la fourniture d'espaces accueillant pour enfants
  • Fourniture d'abris et des soins médicaux d'urgence pour plus de 300 000 personnes touchées par les conflits
  • Fourniture d'eau potable et des installations sanitaires pour jusqu'à 250 000 personnes touchées par les conflits

Bien que le Canada n’a pas de programmation direct au SMNE au Soudan, le Canada a amélioré la santé des femmes et des enfants en travaillant avec des partenaires canadiens et mondiaux Voyez tous les projets de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants au Soudan.

Visitez la page Le Canada obtient des résultats pour les femmes et les enfants du monde pour plus d’information.

Projets de développement international au Soudan du Sud

Banque de projets de développement international

Décaissements 2012-2013 de l'ACDI au Sudan du Sud

Décaissements de l'ACDI au Soudan du Sud
CIDA Disbursements$M
Sources
Décaissements de l'ACDI51,08
Assistance humanitaire29,45
Total80,53