Canada’s Bilateral Development Assistance in Ukraine

Ukraine, the second-largest country in Europe, with a population of more than 45 million, has close and long-standing ties to Canada. Ongoing efforts highlighted here and in Canada’s Response to the Situation in Ukraine, include development commitments that will help establish a more promising future for Ukrainians.

Ukraine achieved independence in August 1991 upon the dissolution of the Soviet Union. However, almost a quarter of a century later, Ukraine is still struggling to consolidate democracy and lay the foundations for economic prosperity. Following the “Revolution of Dignity” in late 2013 and early 2014, Ukraine’s new government committed to implementing democratic and economic reforms in line with its European aspirations. However, Russian aggression, which started in 2014 with the illegal annexation of Crimea, continues drawing Ukraine into a bloody conflict in the east of the country, which has placed significant pressure and uncertainty on the Ukrainian government’s ability to carry out its much-needed reforms. According to the latest estimate, more than 1.8 million Ukrainians have been internally displaced and more than 3 million are in need of humanitarian assistance. Ukraine is facing daunting challenges to simultaneously defend its sovereignty while implementing reforms critical to the country’s economic growth and political stability.

Canada is among the strongest international supporters of Ukraine and its democratic and economic reform processes. To support Ukraine’s reforms and its development needs in order to reduce poverty in that country, Canada is promoting sustainable economic growth and supporting the rule of law and democratic governance. In addition, Canada responds to the humanitarian and recovery needs caused by the conflict in the eastern part of Ukraine.

Thematic Focus

In 2014, Ukraine was confirmed as a country of focus for the Government of Canada's international development efforts. The goal of Canada’s international development program in Ukraine is to improve economic opportunities for Ukrainians in a strengthened democracy. Canada is working with the Government of Ukraine to assist with the reforms needed to realize the country’s full economic potential and build a sound public institutional and legal environment for closer integration with Europe.

Economic growth

In order to help Ukraine avoid a total economic collapse following the “Revolution of Dignity”, Canada has taken a comprehensive approach to economic assistance that supports the stabilization, reform and growth of the Ukrainian economy. Since January 2014, Canada has committed more than $140 million in bilateral development assistance to support economic reform and economic growth in Ukraine. Canada’s assistance to the economic reform process seeks to foster more inclusive private-sector-led growth, investment, and job creation to reduce poverty while support to economic growth promotes local economic development and competitiveness among small and medium-sized businesses, particularly in small-scale farms.

Key anticipated results

  • more modern and environmentally sustainable management practices among small and medium-sized enterprises and farms, including those led by women;
  • an improved local business environment for small and medium-sized enterprises and farms, including those led by women; and
  • improved regulatory reform for increased trade and investment opportunities, particularly in key areas of growth such as small businesses.

Advancing democracy

Since January 2014, Canada has committed over $88 million in international assistance to advance democracy, human rights and the rule of law in Ukraine through support to national and local institutions, citizens groups, political parties and independent media. Canadian support to democratic development focuses on improving citizens’ participation in public life and decision making by assisting political parties and local officials to proactively engage the public and be more responsive to citizens’ needs. Human rights programming fosters democratization, helping those affected by the conflict, and supports religious freedom and pluralism. Canadian assistance is also supporting Ukraine’s efforts to reform the judicial system and improve independence and access to justice. Canada-funded rule-of-law projects seek to improve consistency, fairness and transparency in the application of justice, in line with international and European norms.

Key anticipated results

  • increased equitable access to justice for women and men, particularly those from marginalized groups; and
  • improved participation of citizens, particularly women, in public life and decision making.

Responding to the humanitarian crisis (resilience)

Canada aims to support bilateral and multilateral initiatives to advance peacebuilding and recovery in conflict areas in Ukraine. Canada’s support focuses on initiatives that address both immediate humanitarian and longer-term recovery needs, such as support for agricultural recovery. In addition, Canada is supporting stakeholders in Ukraine to improve communications about activities and services available to displaced and conflict-affected persons and their host communities.

Key anticipated results

  • enhanced economic renewal and recovery in conflict-affected areas in Ukraine; and
  • •improved quality and availability of media content useful to internally displaced persons in Ukraine.

Progress on aid effectiveness

Canada is a leading bilateral donor in Ukraine. Canada will continue to build Ukraine’s capacity to engage in donor coordination by encouraging joint monitoring of projects and playing an active role in several donor working groups.

Achievements

2015-2016

Achievements 2015-2016

Advancing democracy

  • With Canada’s support, the legal aid system in Ukraine has been expanded to include the opening of 100 local legal aid centres across the country which provide free legal services to about eight million prospective clients, including the most marginalized and vulnerable citizens, thus increasing protection of their rights and improving their access to justice.
  • Recognizing the impact that the ongoing conflict in the east has had on internally displaced persons, the International Organization for Migration has educated up to 3,000 children, young people and their parents, including families of internally displaced persons and soldiers fighting in the Donbas, on prevention of trafficking and safe migration rules.
  • Canada supported the passing of the political finance reform law by the Ukrainian Parliament in October 2015, increasing the transparency of political parties’ financing and reducing the influence of vested interests.
  • • Canada supported the production of 149 investigative reports to uncover instances of alleged corruption, some of which resulted in eight people in senior leadership positions resigning or being forced to step down, including the deputy attorney general and the deputy minister of regional development.

Sustainable Economic growth

  • Canada-funded technical assistance (totalling $26 million since 2009) successfully helped the Government of Ukraine to implement the financial sector component of Ukraine’s $17.5 billion International Monetary Fund program, to restore macroeconomic stability, to strengthen economic governance and transparency, and lay the foundations for robust and balanced economic growth following the political and economic crises of 2014.
  • Through Canadian contribution of $3.8 million (2014-2019), Canada has helped facilitate financing of over US$156 million for more than 300 small and medium-scale farms in Ukraine, and over 11,000 individuals have received training and advice on small and medium-sized enterprise development in the agricultural sector.
  • Canada helped establish two milk laboratories, which are now operating in Lviv and Dnipropetrovsk, helping Ukrainian dairy farmers improve the quantity and quality of the milk they produce, establish more successful farm businesses and increase their household incomes.

International development projects in Ukraine

Map of projects in Ukraine

2012-2013 CIDA disbursements in Ukraine

Total: $31.11 million

International Development Project Browser

Aide au développement bilatérale du Canada en Ukraine

L’Ukraine, deuxième pays d’Europe en superficie, compte plus de 45 millions d’habitants et entretient depuis longtemps des relations étroites avec le Canada. Les efforts continus que déploie le Canada, mis en évidence dans le présent document et sur la page Web La réponse du Canada à la situation en Ukraine, comprennent des engagements en matière de développement pour aider les Ukrainiens à s’assurer un avenir plus prometteur.

L’Ukraine a obtenu son indépendance en août 1991 lors de la dissolution de l’Union soviétique. Cependant, presque un quart de siècle plus tard, le pays lutte encore pour consolider la démocratie et établir le fondement d’une prospérité économique. Après la « Révolution de la dignité » survenue à la fin de 2013 et au début de 2014, le nouveau gouvernement de l’Ukraine s’est engagé à mettre en œuvre des réformes démocratiques et économiques conformes à ses aspirations européennes. Cependant, l’agression russe, qui a commencé en 2014 par l’annexion illégale de la Crimée, maintient l’Ukraine dans un conflit sanglant dans l’Est du pays, ce qui exerce d’énormes pressions sur la capacité du gouvernement de l’Ukraine de réaliser ces réformes si essentielles et crée beaucoup d’incertitude. Selon les dernières estimations, plus de 1,8 million d’Ukrainiens ont été déplacés à l’intérieur des frontières du pays et plus de 3 millions ont besoin d’aide humanitaire. L’Ukraine est aux prises avec des défis de taille : elle doit à la fois défendre sa souveraineté et instaurer des réformes vitales pour sa croissance économique et sa stabilité politique.

Le Canada est l’un des plus ardents défenseurs de l’Ukraine et de ses processus de réformes démocratiques et économiques. Pour appuyer les réformes de l’Ukraine et ses besoins en matière de développement, afin de réduire la pauvreté qui sévit dans ce pays, le Canada fait la promotion d’une croissance économique durable et soutient la primauté du droit et la gouvernance démocratique. En outre, le Canada répond aux besoins de l’Ukraine en matière d’aide humanitaire et de rétablissement qui découlent du conflit en cours dans l’Est du pays.

Découvrez ce que fait le Canada pour soutenir le développement en Ukraine.

Priorités

En 2014, l’Ukraine a été désignée en tant que pays ciblé dans le cadre des efforts déployés par le gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement international. Le programme du Canada en Ukraine a pour objectif d’améliorer les perspectives économiques des Ukrainiens au sein d’une démocratie renforcée. Le Canada travaille avec le gouvernement de l’Ukraine en vue de faciliter la mise en œuvre des réformes nécessaires au développement du plein potentiel économique du pays et pour établir un cadre public, institutionnel et législatif solide lui permettant de mieux s’intégrer à l’Europe.

Croissance économique

 Afin d’aider l’Ukraine à éviter l’effondrement total de son économie à la suite de la « Révolution de la dignité », le Canada a adopté une stratégie globale d’aide économique qui favorise la stabilisation, la réforme et la croissance de l’économie ukrainienne. Depuis janvier 2014, le Canada s’est engagé à verser plus de 140 millions de dollars dans des programmes bilatéraux d’aide au développement afin de soutenir la réforme et la croissance économiques en Ukraine. Par son aide au processus de réforme économique, le Canada cherche à favoriser une croissance plus inclusive dirigée par le secteur privé, ainsi que l’investissement et la création d’emplois, afin de réduire la pauvreté, alors que son soutien à la croissance économique favorise le développement économique local et la compétitivité des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), surtout des petites exploitations agricoles.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Encourager l’adoption de pratiques de gestion plus modernes et durables sur le plan environnemental par les PME et les exploitations agricoles, y compris celles dirigées par des femmes.
  • Améliorer le milieu des affaires local pour les PME et les exploitations agricoles, y compris celles dirigées par des femmes.
  • • Renforcer la réforme réglementaire pour favoriser les affaires et l’investissement, particulièrement dans les secteurs clés de la croissance, comme les petites entreprises.

Promouvoir la démocratie

Depuis janvier 2014, le Canada s’est engagé à verser plus de 88 millions de dollars en aide internationale pour promouvoir la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit en Ukraine en accordant son soutien aux institutions locales et nationales, aux groupes de citoyens, aux partis politiques et aux médias indépendants. L’appui du Canada au développement démocratique a pour but d’amener les citoyens à participer davantage à la vie publique et à la prise de décisions en aidant les partis politiques et les représentants locaux à mobiliser la population de façon proactive et à mieux répondre aux besoins des citoyens. Les programmes de soutien aux droits de la personne favorisent la démocratisation, assurent une aide aux personnes touchées par le conflit et appuient la liberté de religion et le pluralisme. Cette aide du Canada soutient aussi les efforts déployés par l’Ukraine pour réformer le système judiciaire et améliorer l’indépendance judiciaire et l’accès à la justice. Les projets que finance le Canada pour promouvoir la primauté du droit ont pour but d’améliorer l’uniformité, l’équité et la transparence dans l’application de la justice, conformément aux normes internationales et européennes.

  • Garantir un accès équitable à la justice pour tous, hommes et femmes, notamment les membres de groupes marginalisés.
  • Accroître la participation des citoyens, surtout celle des femmes, à la vie publique et à la prise de décisions.

Réponse à la crise humanitaire (résilience)

Le Canada entend soutenir des initiatives bilatérales et multilatérales pour favoriser la consolidation de la paix et le rétablissement dans les régions de l’Ukraine touchées par le conflit. L’aide du Canada met l’accent sur les initiatives qui répondent à la fois aux besoins d’aide humanitaire immédiats ainsi qu’aux besoins de rétablissement à plus long terme, comme l’aide à la relance du secteur agricole. En outre, le Canada appuie les intervenants en Ukraine pour améliorer les communications sur les activités et les services offerts aux personnes déplacées et touchées par le conflit ainsi qu’à leurs collectivités d’accueil.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Accroître le renouvellement et le rétablissement économiques dans les régions de l’Ukraine touchées par le conflit.
  • Améliorer la qualité et la disponibilité du contenu médiatique utile aux personnes déplacées à l’intérieur des frontières de l’Ukraine.

Progrès sur le plan de l’efficacité de l’aide

Le Canada se classe au premier rang des donateurs bilatéraux en Ukraine. Il continuera d’aider l’Ukraine à renforcer sa capacité de participer à la coordination de l’aide des donateurs, et ce, en préconisant la surveillance conjointe des projets et la participation active à plusieurs groupes de travail dont font partie les donateurs.

Réalisations

2015-2016

Réalisations 2015-2016

Promouvoir la démocratie

  • Avec le soutien du Canada, le système d’aide juridique en Ukraine a été élargi par l’ouverture de 100 centres d’aide juridique partout au pays qui fournissent gratuitement des services juridiques à une clientèle d’environ 8 millions de personnes, y compris les citoyens marginalisés et les plus vulnérables, améliorant ainsi la protection de leurs droits et leur accès à la justice.
  • Consciente des répercussions du conflit qui perdure dans l’Est sur les personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de l’Ukraine, l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations a offert une formation à au plus 3 000 enfants, jeunes et leurs parents, y compris les familles de personnes déplacées à l’intérieur du pays et de soldats partis combattre dans la région de Donbas, sur la prévention de la traite de personne et les règles de sécurité relatives à la migration.
  • Le Canada a appuyé l’adoption par le Parlement ukrainien, en octobre 2015, de la loi sur la réforme du financement politique, ayant permis d’améliorer la transparence du financement des partis politiques et de réduire l’influence des groupes d’intérêt.
  • Le Canada a appuyé la production de 149 rapports d’enquête pour faire la lumière sur des allégations de corruption, dont certains ont entraîné la démission, volontaire ou forcée, de huit cadres supérieurs au gouvernement, y compris le sous-procureur général et le sous-ministre du Développement régional.

Croissance économique durable

  • L’aide technique financée par le Canada (totalisant 26 millions de dollars depuis 2009) a aidé le gouvernement de l’Ukraine à mettre en place la composante relative au secteur financier du programme du Fonds monétaire international pour l’Ukraine (17,5 milliards de dollars), afin de restaurer la stabilité macroéconomique, de renforcer la gouvernance économique et la transparence, et de jeter les bases d’une croissance économique vigoureuse et équilibrée à la suite des crises politique et économique de 2014.
  • Au moyen d’une contribution de 3,8 millions de dollars (de 2014 à 2019), le Canada aide à faciliter le financement de plus de 156 millions de dollars américains auprès de plus de 300 exploitations agricoles de petite et moyenne échelle en Ukraine. En outre, plus de 11 000 personnes ont reçu une formation et des conseils sur le développement d’une petite ou moyenne entreprise dans le secteur agricole.
  • Le Canada a contribué à mettre sur pied deux laboratoires d’analyse du lait, à L’viv et à Dnipropetrovsk, qui permettent aux producteurs laitiers d’Ukraine d’améliorer la quantité et la qualité du lait qu’ils produisent, d’assurer la prospérité de leurs fermes et d’augmenter leur revenu familial.

Carte des projets de développement international en Europe de l’Est

Carte des projets en Europe de l’Est

Décaissements d'assistance internationale 2014-2015 à l'Ukraine (en millions de dollars)

Source
Affaires mondiales Canada105,76
Autres départements et sources400,18
Total505,93