Consultation on the Draft Civil Society Partnership Policy

DFATD’s Proposed Approach to Effective Development Cooperation with Civil Society

The online public consultation on the draft Civil Society Partnership Policy was held over a two month period, from June 9 to August 8, 2014. In total, DFATD received 25 feedback submissions, including from the following:

  • Canadian Council for International Co-operation (representing 75 organizations)
  • Inter-Council Network (representing 400 organizations)
  • Canadian international development organizations, and Canadian humanitarian assistance organizations
    • Action Against Hunger
    • Aga Khan Foundation Canada
    • The Canadian Urban Institute
    • CESO
    • Confédération des syndicats nationaux
    • CUSO International
    • Equitas - International Centre for Human Rights Education
    • Handicap International
    • Inter Pares
    • Plan International Canada
    • RESULTS Canada
    • UNICEF Canada
    • World Vision Canada
  • McLeod Group
  • New Democratic Party
  • Non-Canadian international organizations
    • IDH - Sustainable Trade Initiative
    • Norwegian Refugee Council)
  • Citizens

Please see the External Online Consultation Summary for an overview of feedback received. DFATD will publish the names of contributors who have agreed to be listed. The Department encourages all contributing organizations to make their feedback available on their websites.


The Government of Canada fosters sustainable international development and poverty reduction in developing countries and provides humanitarian assistance during crises. Canada’s aim is to help poor and vulnerable people living in developing countries by supporting high impact initiatives that will lead to meaningful and sustainable results. The Government of Canada is committed to making Canada's international assistance more effective, focused, and accountable in line with international agreements and recognised best practices.

Canada works with a wide range of partners at local, national, regional and international levels to maximise the impact of public funds. Our partners in development include citizens in Canada and in developing countries, traditional and emerging donors, multilateral organizations, the private sector, and civil society organizations (CSOs). As we move forward, Canada is committed to working effectively with all of its development partners and drawing on their expertise to increase the impact of Canadian aid.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) has drafted a Civil Society Partnership Policy to help guide its international development efforts and specifically its engagement with CSOs. This document sets out DFATD’s proposed approach to enhancing effective development cooperation with CSOs in Canada and overseas. It outlines guiding principles for, and the overall objectives of, Canada’s development engagement with CSOs.

Request for Feedback

The online consultation on the Draft Civil Society Partnership Policy is now closed.

Please Read the Privacy Notice Statement for this consultation.

Consultation sur l’ébauche de la politique de partenariat avec la société civile

Démarche proposée par le MAECD pour une coopération efficace avec la société civile au service du développement

La consultation publique en ligne sur l’ébauche de la politique de partenariat avec la société civile s’est déroulée sur une période de deux mois, soit du 9 juin au 8 août 2014. Au total, le MAECD a reçu 25 rétroactions, y compris des parties suivantes:

  • Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale, qui représente 75 organisations
  • Réseau de coordination des conseils, qui représente 400 organisations
  • Organisations canadiennes de développement international et d’aide humanitaire
    • Action Contre la Faim
    • Confédération des syndicats nationaux
    • CUSO International
    • Equitas–Centre international d’éducation aux droits humains
    • Fondation Aga Khan Canada
    • Handicap International
    • Institut urbain du Canada
    • Inter Pares
    • Plan International Canada
    • RÉSULTATS Canada
    • SACO
    • SOCODEVI
    • UNICEF Canada
    • Vision Mondiale Canada
  • Groupe McLeod
  • Nouveau Parti démocratique
  • Organisations internationales non canadiennes
    • IDH- Sustainable Trade Initiative
    • Norwegian Refugee Council
  • Citoyens

S’il vous plaît voir le sommaire des consultations externes en ligne pour un aperçu des commentaires reçus. DFATD publiera les noms des contributeurs qui ont accepté d'être énumérés. Le ministère encourage tout les organismes participants de faire monter leur commentaires sur leur sites web.

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada favorise le développement international durable et la réduction de la pauvreté dans les pays en développement et fournit de l’aide humanitaire en cas de crise. Le Canada vise à aider les personnes pauvres et vulnérables qui vivent dans des pays en développement en appuyant des initiatives à fort impact qui permettent d’obtenir des résultats significatifs et durables. Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à rendre son aide internationale plus efficace, plus ciblée et plus transparente, conformément aux accords internationaux et aux pratiques exemplaires reconnues.

Le Canada collabore avec une vaste gamme de partenaires à l’échelle locale, régionale, nationale et internationale pour optimiser les retombées des deniers publics. Ses partenaires de développement incluent des citoyens du Canada et des pays en développement, des donateurs traditionnels et émergents, ainsi que des représentants d’organisations multilatérales, du secteur privé et d’organisations de la société civile (OSC). Le Canada est déterminé à travailler efficacement avec tous ses partenaires de développement et à s’appuyer sur leurs compétences pour accroître les retombées de l’aide canadienne.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) a élaboré une version préliminaire d’une Politique de partenariat avec la société civile pour orienter ses efforts de développement international et, plus précisément, sa collaboration avec les OSC. Ce document établit la démarche proposée par le MAECD pour accroître la coopération efficace au service du développement avec les OSC au Canada et à l’étranger. Elle expose les principes directeurs de la collaboration du Canada avec des OSC en matière de développement et les grands objectifs connexes.

Demande de rétroaction

La consultation en ligne sur le projet de politique de partenariat avec la société civile est maintenant fermée.

Prière de lire l'Énoncé de confidentialité pour cette consultation.