Humanitarian Crisis in Mali

Men, women and children wait near poaches and buckets of food. © ©World Food Program/Daouda Guirou

The conflict in northern Mali, which began in January 2012, continues to result in civilian casualties. A number of displaced persons have not yet returned home, even though much of the territory was retaken from rebel groups during the military intervention launched by French and Malian forces in January 2013. Some 229 556 people continue to be displaced by the violence, including over 86,026 people within Mali and approximately 143,530 people who have sought refuge in Burkina Faso, Niger and Mauritania. Military operations, mine incidents and violence by armed groups continue to create a highly volatile security situation in the north, which jeopardizes humanitarian workers’ ability to access people in need.

The ongoing insecurity has also affected household food security, as markets have been disrupted and people have lost their livelihoods. Moreover, the most affected households, especially those that remain displaced within the country, were already vulnerable because of the 2012-2013 food and nutrition crisis. The United Nations has indicated that 2.1 million people in Mali are currently affected by food insecurity, 1.5 million of whom require immediate food assistance.

Refugees and vulnerable displaced populations in Mali rely heavily on humanitarian agencies to meet their most basic needs, including food, shelter, safe drinking water, sanitation and access to medical care. Those who are most vulnerable are concentrated mainly in the northern regions that are affected by the conflict—Tombouctou, Gao and Kidal—but displaced persons who live in urban zones in the south are also among those who have been identified as being the most vulnerable and are in need of immediate assistance.

Canada continues to respond to humanitarian needs in Mali, especially those of the people living in northern regions, where the effects of the conflict and of the food crisis are still being felt.

Crise humanitaire au Mali

Des hommes, des femmes et des enfants à un point de distribution de nourriture. © Programme alimentaire mondial/Daouda Guirou

Le conflit dans le nord du Mali qui a éclaté en janvier 2012 continue de faire des victimes parmi les civils. Plusieurs personnes déplacées ne sont pas encore rentrées à la maison, même si une part importante du territoire a été reprise aux groupes rebelles durant l’intervention militaire des forces françaises et maliennes lancée en janvier 2013. Quelque 229 556 personnes sont encore déplacées par la violence , soit plus de 86 026 personnes au Mali et environ 143 530 personnes réfugiées au Burkina Faso, au Niger et en Mauritanie. Les opérations militaires, les incidents liés à des mines et la violence des groupes armés continuent d’alimenter la très grande instabilité sur le plan de la sécurité dans le nord, compromettant ainsi l’accès des travailleurs humanitaires aux personnes dans le besoin.

L’insécurité perpétuelle entraîne aussi l’insécurité alimentaire des ménages touchés, car les marchés ont été perturbés et les gens ont perdu leurs moyens de subsistance. En outre, les ménages les plus touchés, surtout ceux qui sont toujours déplacés dans le pays, demeurent vulnérables en raison de la crise alimentaire et nutritionnelle de 2012-2013 Les Nations Unies signalent que 2.1  millions de personnes au Mali souffrent actuellement d’insécurité alimentaire, dont 1,5 million ont besoin d’assistance alimentaire immédiate.

Les réfugiés et les populations déplacées vulnérables au Mali dépendent grandement des organisations humanitaires pour combler leurs besoins les plus fondamentaux, dont la nourriture, les abris, l’eau salubre, l’assainissement et l’accès à des soins de santé. Les personnes les plus vulnérables sont principalement concentrées dans les régions du nord touchées par la guerre – Tombouctou, Gao et Kidal –, mais les populations déplacées qui résident dans les zones urbaines au sud font également partie des groupes jugés les plus vulnérables, et elles ont besoin d’aide immédiate.

Le Canada continue de répondre aux besoins humanitaires au Mali, particulièrement à ceux des populations du nord du pays où les effets du conflit et de la crise alimentaire persistent toujours.