Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund

Canada's Response to Typhoon Haiyan

Typhoon Haiyan slammed into the Philippines on Friday, November 8, 2013, setting off landslides, knocking out power in several provinces, and cutting communications in the country's central region. Thousands of lives are feared to have been lost, with a large number of injuries and destruction of property and infrastructure. Approximately 11.3 million people are reportedly affected , and although needs assessments are ongoing, humanitarian needs will be substantial.

Donation criteria for individual Canadians

For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities in response to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan on the Philippines and other affected countries, the government will set aside one dollar for the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund. The government will use the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund to provide assistance through international and Canadian humanitarian organizations, employing established channels and procedures.

To be counted for the purposes of the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund, donations from individual Canadians may not exceed $100,000 per individual and must be:

  • monetary in nature.
  • made to a registered Canadian charity that is receiving donations in response to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan. (Please note, donations cannot be made directly to the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund or to DFATD.)
  • specifically earmarked for response to Typhoon Haiyan.
  • be made between November 9 and December 23, 2013.

For more information about making a individual donation to the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund, visit the How to make a donation page.

Donation criteria for individuals fundraising on behalf of organizations

Donations from a fundraising event undertaken to raise money from individuals in response to Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines are eligible to be matched. This fundraising may be undertaken by schools, faith-based organizations, clubs, social groups, businesses, incorporated entities, or charitable organizations.

Any donations made by corporations, governments, businesses, partnerships, schools, incorporated or non-incorporated entities, and unions from their existing resources that were not raised from individuals specifically in response to the typhoon in the Philippines are not eligible to be matched.

In addition, donations that were made by corporations, governments, incorporated entities, charitable organizations, unions, or government bodies (provincial, territorial, or municipal) to augment an amount raised in a fundraising activity or event not eligible to be matched.

For more information about making a donation to the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund on behalf of corporations, organizations and groups, visit the How to make a donation page.

Donation criteria for registered charities

Registered charities declaring eligible donations must complete the declaration form. Forms must be received by DFATD on or before January 10 for donations to be counted towards the size of the relief fund.

To ensure that donations are eligible for the matching program, you should ensure that:

  • the donation complies with the conditions outlined above,
  • the registered charity receiving the donation will be using the funds in response to the humanitarian crisis related to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan, and
  • the registered charity receiving the donation will be declaring it to DFATD.

Declaration form

It is up to the registered Canadian charity to certify, through the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Matching Fund 2013 declaration form, that the donations declared are eligible. Registered Canadian charities are under no obligation to declare donations to DFATD if they are not satisfied that they meet eligibility requirements. Registered charities declaring eligible donations must complete the declaration form. Forms must be received by DFATD on or before January 10 for donations to be counted towards the size of the relief fund.

The Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and will be administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that a charity declaring the amount of eligible donations raised does not receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada. For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities, the government set aside one dollar for the fund. The government will use the fund to support the efforts of experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to meet immediate needs in response to the crisis in the Philippines and other affected countries.

Guidelines for submitting proposals to the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund

The Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund will support experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations with significant in-country capacity to deliver humanitarian assistance in the Philippines and other affected countries.

Allocation of funds

Charitable organizations fundraising for the relief efforts in the Philippines and surrounding countries will not have privileged access to the fund. Allocation decisions will be based on DFATD's humanitarian assistance guidelines and the ability of Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to access the affected populations and deliver timely, effective, and appropriate humanitarian assistance.

Media Centre

 

How to make a donation

Donations collected by registered Canadian charities:

$35 million

Consular Information

Follow us on Twitter: @DFATD_MAECD

Canadians in the Philippines

63 (2) 857-9000
63 (2) 857-9001

Family and Friends

613-996-8885
1-800-387-3124 (toll-free from the U.S. and Canada only)
sos@international.gc.ca.

Immigration

Immigration Enquiries:

Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan

Réponse du Canada au typhon Haiyan

Le typhon Haiyan a frappé de plein fouet les Philippines le vendredi 8 novembre 2013, causant des glissements de terrain, des pannes d'électricité dans plusieurs provinces et l'interruption des communications dans la région centrale du pays. On craint que des milliers de personnes aient perdu la vie. Les blessés sont nombreux et les dommages matériels, entre autres aux infrastructures, sont importants. Environ 11,3 millions de personnes seraient touchées et, bien que les évaluations ne soient pas terminées, les besoins humanitaires seront considérables.

Critères des dons versés par les Canadiens à titre personnel

Pour chaque dollar admissible versé par les Canadiens, à titre personnel, à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré, le gouvernement du Canada versera un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan. Le MAECD remettra ces fonds à des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales bien établies pour venir en aide aux personnes les plus touchées par la crise.

Pour être versés au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan, les dons versés par les Canadiens ne doivent pas excéder 100 000 $ par donateur et doivent respecter certaines conditions :

  • Les dons doivent être faits en argent.
  • Ils doivent être versés à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qui recueille les dons pour venir en aide aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan. (Veuillez noter que les dons ne peuvent être faits directement au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan, ou au MAECD.)
  • Ils doivent être précisément réservés aux fins de l'aide aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan.
  • Ils doivent être faits entre le 9 novembre et le 23 décembre 2013

Pour obtenir plus d’information, en tant que particulier, sur la façon d’effectuer un don en appui au Fonds de secours aux victimes du Typhon Haiyan, allez à la page Comment faire un don.

Critères pour des dons versés dans le cadre de collectes de fonds organisées par des particuliers au nom d'organisations

Les dons recueillis auprès des particuliers lors d'une collecte de fonds organisée pour venir en aide aux victimes du typhon Haiyan, aux Philippines et dans les autres pays touchés, sont admissibles. Ils incluent les montants recueillis dans le cadre d'une collecte de fonds organisée par une école, un organisme religieux, un club, un groupe social, une entreprise, une entité constituée en société ou un organisme de bienfaisance.

Cependant, les dons recueillis auprès de personnes morales, de gouvernements, d'entreprises, de sociétés de personnes, d'établissements scolaires, d'entités constituées ou non en personnes morales et de syndicats avec leurs propres ressources sont exclus, puisqu'ils n'ont pas été versés par des particuliers spécifiquement pour venir en aide aux victimes du typhon aux Philippines.

De plus, les dons faits par des sociétés, des gouvernements, des entités constituées en personne morale, des organismes de bienfaisance, des syndicats ou des organismes gouvernementaux (provinciaux, territoriaux ou municipaux) qui visent à faire augmenter le montant recueilli dans le cadre d'une activité de collecte de fonds sont exclus.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur la façon d’effectuer — au nom de sociétés, d’organisations ou de groupes — un don au Fonds de secours aux victimes du typhon Haiyan, allez à la page Comment faire un don.

Critères des dons versés par les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés

Pour qu'un don soit admissible au calcul de la contrepartie, les conditions suivantes doivent être respectées :

  • le don doit respecter les conditions mentionnées ci-dessus;
  • l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui reçoit le don doit utiliser les fonds pour aider à atténuer la crise provoquée par le typhon Haiyan;
  • l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui reçoit le don doit le déclarer au MAECD.

Formulaire de déclaration

C'est à l'organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qu'il incombe d'attester, au moyen du formulaire de déclaration que les dons déclarés sont admissibles. Les organismes de bienfaisance ne sont pas obligés de déclarer les dons au MAECD, s'ils ne sont pas certains qu'ils respectent les critères d'admissibilité. Les organismes de bienfaisance qui produiront des déclarations de dons admissibles devront remplir le formulaire de déclaration à cette fin et le faire parvenir au MAECD au plus tard le 10 janvier 2014 pour qu'ils puissent être comptabilisés aux fins du calcul de la contrepartie du Fonds de secours.

Le Fonds susmentionné est distinct des sommes recueillies par les organismes de bienfaisance et il sera géré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada. Ainsi, l'organisme de bienfaisance qui déclare le montant des dons amassés admissibles ne recevra pas de montant équivalent de la part du gouvernement du Canada. Pour chaque dollar que les Canadiens envoient à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens admissibles, le gouvernement versera un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie. Le gouvernement utilisera ce Fonds pour soutenir les efforts des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience qui tentent de répondre aux besoins immédiats des victimes du typhon aux Philippines et les pays touchés.

Lignes directrices pour la présentation de propositions relativement au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan

Le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan appuiera les organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience ayant de solides capacités sur le terrain pour fournir l'aide humanitaire nécessaire aux Philippines et autres pays touchés.

Attribution des fonds

Les organismes de bienfaisance qui auront recueilli de l'argent pour les victimes du typhon aux Philippines et autres payes touchés n'auront pas un accès privilégié au Fonds de contrepartie. Les décisions concernant l'attribution des fonds seront fondées sur les lignes directrices sur l'aide humanitaire du MAECD ainsi que sur la capacité des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'accéder aux populations touchées pour leur prodiguer promptement une aide humanitaire efficace et opportune.

Salle des médias

 

 

Comment faire un don

Montant amassé à ce jour par les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés :

35 millions de dollars

Canadiens aux Philippines

63 (2) 857-9000
63 (2) 857-9001

Famille et amis

613-996-8885
1-800-387-3124 (sans frais aux États-Unis et au Canada seulement)
sos@international.gc.ca.