Canada’s response to Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines

On November 8, 2013, when category 5 Typhoon Haiyan (locally known as Yolanda) made landfall in the Philippines, Canada was there to support the Government of the Philippines and the humanitarian partners in their response to the urgent needs of people affected by the typhoon.

Typhoon Haiyan affected more than 16 million people, led to more than 6,300 deaths, injured more than 28,600 people, temporarily displaced 4.1 million people in 57 cities, and damaged more than 1.14 million houses.

The Government of Canada has provided a total of $90.5 million in response to the crisis. This amount includes the matching of $85.5 million generously donated by Canadians to eligible organizations through the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund, which was established by the Government of Canada to engage the Canadian public and support humanitarian, recovery and reconstruction efforts.

Humanitarian assistance

By working with experienced humanitarian partners in the Philippines, Canada helped provide:

  • 3.7 million people with emergency food assistance;
  • 190,000 children with supplementary feeding;
  • 570,000 households with emergency shelters;
  • 1.4 million people with financial assistance to procure essential household items;
  • 162,000 vulnerable workers with paid debris clearing work;
  • 545,000 children with  learning materials;
  • 4,900 temporary learning spaces and 285 child-friendly spaces;
  • 2.3 million children with vaccinations;
  • 1.9 million people with hygiene kits;
  • 350,000 people with access to new or fixed latrines;
  • 111,000 people with training about gender-based violence;
  • 103,000 farmers with agricultural seeds and tools; and
  • 24,000 fishermen with assistance to build and repair their boats.

Canada also supported the deployment of a Canadian Red Cross Emergency Response Unit to support the damaged Ormoc District Hospital in Leyte Province by providing surgical care and pediatric and post-partum inpatient care. Between November 21st and December 21st, the field hospital personnel assisted more than 1,200 patients, and provided 418 birth deliveries and 114 surgeries during its month of operation.

In addition, eight Canadian humanitarian experts were deployed to support Red Cross and United Nations humanitarian response. The Government of Canada also deployed relief stocks to support the relief efforts in the Philippines, including tents, shelter kits, hygiene kits and other emergency relief items.

Canadian Armed Forces Task Force Philippines

The Canadian Armed Forces deployed 319 personnel (Operation RENAISSANCE 13-1) to the Philippines, with a range of specialities, the majority coming from the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART).

Long term recovery and reconstruction

In recognition of continuing reconstruction needs, Canada is providing $20.5 million for longer term economic recovery from 2015 to 2019. This assistance focuses on rebuilding livelihoods, strengthening micro, small and medium-sized enterprises, and disaster risk reduction.

Related Links

banniere

Réponse du Canada à la suite du typhon Haiyan aux Philippines

Le 8 novembre 2013, quand le typhon de catégorie 5 Haiyan (appelé « Yolanda » aux Philippines) a frappé les Philippines, le Canada était là pour appuyer le gouvernement des Philippines et les partenaires d’aide humanitaire dans leurs efforts afin de subvenir aux besoins urgents des personnes touchées.

Le typhon Haiyan a fait plus de 16 millions de victimes, a causé plus de 6 300 décès et a blessé plus de 28 600 personnes; 4,1 millions de personnes dans 57 villes ont été temporairement déplacées et 1,14 million de résidences ont été endommagées.

En réponse à la crise, le gouvernement du Canada a fourni 90,5 millions de dollars au total, égalant notamment les généreux dons de 85,5 millions de dollars que les Canadiens ont faits à des organismes admissibles dans le cadre du Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan, établi par le gouvernement du Canada afin de mobiliser la population canadienne et de soutenir l’aide humanitaire et les efforts de rétablissement et de reconstruction.

Aide humanitaire

En collaboration avec des partenaires d’aide humanitaire chevronnés actifs aux Philippines, l’appui du Canada a contribué à offrir ce qui suit.

  • De l’aide alimentaire d’urgence pour 3,7 millions de personnes.
  • Des suppléments alimentaires pour 190 000 enfants.
  • Des abris d’urgence pour 570 000 ménages.
  • Une aide financière pour permettre à 1,4 million de personnes de se procurer des articles ménagers essentiels.
  • Du travail rémunéré de ramassage des débris pour 162 000 travailleurs vulnérables.
  • Du matériel pédagogique pour 545 000 enfants.
  • 4 900 espaces temporaires réservés à l’apprentissage et 285 lieux adaptés aux enfants.
  • Des vaccins pour 2,3 millions d’enfants.
  • Des trousses d’hygiène pour 1,9 million de personnes.
  • Accès à de nouvelles latrines ou à des latrines fixes pour 350 000 personnes.
  • De la formation au sujet de la violence sexiste pour 111 000 personnes.
  • Des semences et des outils agricoles pour 103 000 agriculteurs.
  • Aide pour bâtir des bateaux ou en réparer à 24 000 pêcheurs.

Le Canada a aussi collaboré au déploiement d’une équipe d’intervention d’urgence de la Croix‑Rouge canadienne pour soutenir l’hôpital du district Ormac dans la province de Leyte en offrant des soins chirurgicaux et des soins pédiatriques et postnataux aux patients hospitalisés. Entre le 21 novembre et le 21 décembre, le personnel hospitalier sur place est venu en aide à plus de 1 200 patients et a procédé à 418 accouchements et 114 chirurgies.

En outre, huit experts humanitaires canadiens ont été déployés pour soutenir l’intervention humanitaire de la Croix‑Rouge et des Nations Unies. Le gouvernement du Canada a aussi fourni des approvisionnements de secours pour soutenir les secours d’urgence aux Philippines, notamment des tentes, des abris montables, des trousses d’hygiène et d’autres articles de secours d’urgence.

Force opérationnelle des Forces armées canadiennes aux Philippines

Les Forces armées canadiennes ont déployé aux Philippines 319 militaires (Opération RENAISSANCE 13-1) possédant une vaste gamme de spécialisations, la plupart faisant partie de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC).  

Activités de rétablissement et de reconstruction à long terme

Compte tenu des besoins en reconstruction, le Canada consacre une somme de 20,5 millions de dollars à la reprise économique à long terme, entre 2015 et 2019. Cette aide servira à rebâtir les moyens de subsistance, à renforcer les micro, petites et moyennes entreprises et à réduire les risques liés aux catastrophes.

Liens connexes