Typhoon Haiyan - Questions and Answers

Canada's Response to Typhoon Haiyan

Typhoon Haiyan - Questions and Answers

Questions and Answers

What is Canada doing to respond to the devastation in the Philippines?

  • Canada made an initial allocation of $30,000 to the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies on Friday, November 8, to help launch relief operations and meet the needs of those affected by Typhoon Haiyan. Immediately following the typhoon, the Government of Canada deployed the Interdepartmental Strategic Support Team to the Philippines to help assess the needs of the affected population and identify areas for potential support.
  • Canada also provided an initial $5 million in support to humanitarian organizations striving to meet the needs of the people affected by this typhoon in the Philippines. These funds will be used to provide emergency relief activities and will include the provision of emergency shelter, food, water, livelihood support, and other essential services.
  • Canada established the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund, to match the eligible donations Canadians make to registered Canadian charities responding to the crisis, from November 9 to December 23, 2013.
  • The Canadian Armed Forces deployed the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) to conduct emergency relief operations.
  • An additional $15 million was allocated to a range of United Nations agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and experienced non-governmental humanitarian organizations that are helping with relief efforts by providing food, water and sanitation, emergency shelter, and other essential services to those impacted by the Typhoon.
  • Canada will also be prioritizing the processing of applications on request from Filipinos who are significantly and personally affected by Typhoon Haiyan.

How can Canadians help?

  • The best way for Canadians to help is to donate money—not clothing or food—to experienced humanitarian organizations. Canadians are invited to consult the DFATD website. Cash donations are the fastest, most efficient way to get help to people affected by a disaster. They allow relief agencies to quickly purchase supplies based on the specific needs of the affected population.
  • Canadians are also encouraged to check with the registered charity of their choice to verify the organization has launched a charitable campaign for the Philippines. Eligible donations made in response to appeals for the Philippines will be matched by the Government of Canada.

Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund

Why did the government decide, on November 10, to establish a matching mechanism?

  • Given that humanitarian needs were growing, the Government of Canada decided to establish this matching mechanism in order to meet the increased needs of affected populations, and to encourage support for the appeals made by humanitarian organizations in order to recognize the compassion and generosity of individual Canadians.

How will Canada's Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund (matching fund) work?

  • For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities in response to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan, the government will set aside one dollar for the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund.
  • The government will use the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund to provide assistance through international and Canadian humanitarian organizations by employing established channels and procedures.
  • To be counted for the purposes of the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund, donations from individual Canadians may not exceed $100,000 per individual and must be:
    • monetary in nature;
    • made to a registered Canadian charity that is receiving donations in response to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan;
    • specifically earmarked for response to Typhoon Haiyan; and
    • made between November 9 and December 23, 2013.
  • Registered charities declaring eligible donations must complete the declaration form. Forms must be received by DFATD on or before January 10, 2014, for donations to be counted toward the relief fund. To ensure that donations are eligible for the matching program, you should ensure that the:
    • donation complies with the conditions outlined above;
    • registered charity receiving the donation will be using the funds in response to the humanitarian crisis related to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan; and
    • registered charity receiving the donation will be declaring it to DFATD.
  • It is up to the registered Canadian charity to certify, through the declaration form (this will be made available on the DFATD website), that the donations declared are eligible. Registered Canadian charities are under no obligation to declare donations to DFATD if they are not satisfied that they meet eligibility requirements.

How will a registered Canadian charity use my donation?

  • A registered charity will use the donations it receives from individual Canadians to deliver its own relief projects or it will forward the donations to other eligible organizations with the capacity to deliver relief, early recovery, and reconstruction assistance in the Philippines.
  • Donations made by individual Canadians will provide immediate funding, over and above the Government of Canada’s assistance, to deliver humanitarian aid and relief.

How can I confirm whether a charity is registered?

For each dollar given to a registered charity for the relief efforts responding to Typhoon Haiyan, will the charity receive a matching dollar from the government?

  • The Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and will be administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that a charity declaring the amount of eligible donations raised does not receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada. For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities, the government will set aside one dollar to the relief fund. The government will use the relief fund to support the efforts of experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to meet immediate needs in response to Typhoon Haiyan.

How will the Government of Canada use the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund?

  • The Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund has been set up to match the generosity of Canadians in order to support the efforts of experienced Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations.
  • Decisions as to which organizations will receive funding will be based on the merit of their project proposals and their ability to deliver aid in the most timely, effective, and efficient manner possible.

Does this program follow the same principles used following the 2010 flooding in Pakistan, 2012 earthquake in Haiti, and 2012 food and nutrition crisis in the Sahel region?

  • Yes. The same criteria apply.

How do I ensure that my donation will be well spent toward the relief efforts in response to Typhoon Haiyan?

  • It is important for Canadians to make informed decisions about how their donations will be used. To do this, here are some questions to help guide your decisions:
    • How is the charity contributing to the relief efforts in response to Typhoon Haiyan?
    • How will the charity use donations to help the people affected by the humanitarian crisis in response to Typhoon Haiyan?
    • Is the charity conducting its own relief efforts on the ground in response to Typhoon Haiyan?
    • Has the charity worked in areas affected by Typhoon Haiyan, and if so, what did it do, and for how long?
    • If the charity has never worked in these areas, what experience does it have in carrying out humanitarian assistance in other developing countries?
    • If the charity is not working in areas affected by Typhoon Haiyan, where is your donation going?
  • Any questions regarding the use of the funds by the fundraising organizations should be addressed to the organizations themselves.
  • Please consult the Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund webpage for more information.

How do I find registered Canadian charities that are responding to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan?

  • You should verify that the organization is a registered charity according to the Canada Revenue Agency, and you should contact the charity directly and try to get as much information as you can.
  • If you do not already have a charity in mind, a good starting point would be to check out the news reports on the humanitarian assistance efforts in response to Typhoon Haiyan. This will help you get a picture of the situation on the ground, and identify those organizations involved in the relief activities.

How will the Government of Canada ensure that donated money is used transparently and accountably?

  • Registered charities receiving donations for the purposes of humanitarian assistance efforts are accountable to their donors for the use of the funds they receive. Individuals are encouraged to ensure that the organizations to which they are donating are using the funds for humanitarian crisis relief.
  • The Typhoon Haiyan Relief Fund is separate from—not pooled with—the funds raised by charitable organizations. DFATD has monitoring, audit, and evaluation systems in place to ensure that its programs, including those financed through the relief fund, are implemented effectively.

Can Canadians send relief goods as a way of helping?

  • Canadians have always been known for their generosity. The best way for Canadians to help those affected by the crisis is to make a monetary donation to a reputable Canadian or international humanitarian organization that intends to use the funds for crisis relief.
  • Monetary contributions enable humanitarian partners to purchase needed goods locally. This saves valuable time and transportation costs. Goods are often less expensive when they are purchased locally, and this also helps to support the local economy.

How much money has Canada contributed to date?

  • As of November 20, the total Government of Canada contribution in response to the impact of Typhoon Haiyan is more than $20 million.
  • Through the announcements made by the Government of Canada, coupled with the generous contributions made by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities to date ($19.6 million, according to a number of Canadian NGOs), the total Canadian contribution as of November 18 to help the people affected by Typhoon Haiyan is close to $40 million.
  • We anticipate this amount will only increase as donations from individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities continue to grow and are matched. Canadians have always demonstrated compassion and generosity, and can continue to donate until December 23.

What is Canada's long-term plan to help the Philippines beyond what it has already given?

  • Canada is supporting experienced humanitarian partners, including UN Agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and non-governmental organizations, to alleviate suffering and meet the basic needs of those affected by this crisis.
  • Our partners are working around the clock to provide emergency assistance such as food, medical care, shelter, water and sanitation, and other essential services, and have already begun their work on the ground. Given the scale of the devastation, it is clear that assisting so many people to return, rebuild, and re-establish their livelihoods will take time. Canada will continue to monitor the situation closely to determine how we can best support those affected by the crisis in going forward.
  • Prior to the typhoon, in fiscal year 2011–2012, Canada provided $21 million in official development assistance in the Philippines. This long-term development programming supports sustainable economic growth by improving the climate for investment and protecting the economic interests of the poor.
  • Canada also provided $1 million to the people of the Philippines after the earthquake that struck it in October 2013. Shortly after, Typhoon Haiyan slammed into the Philippines, hence this funding is currently also helping Typhoon-affected Filipinos.

What is Canada doing to help Canadian citizens affected by the typhoon?

  • We are attempting to contact Canadians in the affected areas by all available means, including telephone, text messaging, email, and social media channels. As well, we are in close contact with the families and friends in Canada of potentially affected Canadians to gather as much information as possible that could help locate Canadians in the Philippines.
  • We are liaising with local authorities in the Philippines to gather information regarding Canadians thought to have been in the affected areas.
  • On Monday, November 18, a consular team was deployed to Roxas City with the Canadian DART. It will provide advice and support for Canadian citizens and family members in the DART’s area of operation. This team will provide advice and support for Canadian citizens and family members in the DART’s area of operation.
  • Canadian consular teams have been deployed to Villamor Air Base near Manila, which is being used as a hub for flights from the affected regions.
  • The 24/7 Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa has increased the number of staff to answer phone calls and emails from concerned Canadians. Additional staff from Ottawa and Canadian missions in Asia has been deployed to the Philippines to assist affected Canadians on the ground.
  • We are also working with our international partners, such as the United States, Australia, and the United Kingdom, to exchange information and to coordinate our efforts. As an example, the United States and Australia have offered to take Canadians on board their military aircraft flights out of Tacloban, and have allowed a consular officer from the Embassy of Canada to be on-site in Tacloban to assist Canadians and help them leave.

Whom do we contact to get information on our loved ones in the Philippines?

  • Canadian citizens in the Philippines who require emergency assistance should contact the Embassy of Canada in Manila at (63-2) 857-9000 or 1-800-1-110-0226 (toll-free within the Philippines only when using a landline). They can also contact DFATD’s 24/7 Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa by calling +1 613-996-8885 (collect calls are accepted where available). An email can also be sent to sos@international.gc.ca.
  • Friends and relatives in Canada concerned for Canadian citizens who they believe to be in the affected areas should contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada’s 24/7 Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa at 613-996-8885 (collect calls accepted) or 1-800-387-3124. They can also send an email to sos@international.gc.ca.

What is Canada doing to provide support to Filipinos who are temporarily working in or visiting Canada?

  • On November 13, Canada announced that, effective immediately, Canada will be prioritizing the processing of applications on request from Filipinos who are significantly and personally affected by Typhoon Haiyan.
  • Requests for extensions from visitors, international students, and temporary foreign workers who wish to extend their stay will be assessed in a compassionate and flexible manner.
  • In support of these measures, Citizenship and Immigration Canada has set up special email addresses and a dedicated phone line to respond to requests from applicants and their families.

For more information

For more information, please consult How Canadians Can Help.

Media Centre

Typhon Haiyan - Questions et réponses

Réponse du Canada au typhon Haiyan

Questions et réponses

Que fait le Canada relativement à la dévastation aux Philippines?

  • Le vendredi 8 novembre, le Canada a consenti une première allocation d'un montant de 30 000 $ à la Fédération internationale de la Croix-Rouge pour faciliter le lancement des opérations de secours et répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan. Immédiatement après le typhon, le gouvernement du Canada a déployé l'Équipe interministérielle de soutien stratégique aux Philippines pour aider à l'évaluation des besoins de la population touchée et déterminer les domaines où il est possible d'apporter du soutien.
  • De plus, le Canada a fourni un montant initial de 5 millions de dollars d'appui aux organismes humanitaires qui tentent de répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées par le typhon aux Philippines. Ces fonds serviront à financer les secours d'urgence qui distribueront des abris temporaires, des aliments, de l'eau, fourniront de l'aide au rétablissement des moyens de subsistance et d'autres services essentiels.
  • Le Canada a créé le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan afin d'égaler les dons admissibles que feront les Canadiens aux organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés répondant à la crise, du 9 novembre au 23 décembre 2013.
  • Les Forces armées canadiennes ont déployé l'Équipe d'intervention d'urgence en cas de catastrophe (EEIC) pour mener les opérations de secours.
  • Une somme additionnelle de 15 millions de dollars a été allouée à divers organismes des Nations Unies, au Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et à des organisations humanitaires non gouvernementales d'expérience qui contribuent aux opérations de secours en fournissant de la nourriture, de l'eau et des installations sanitaires ainsi que des abris d'urgence et d'autres services essentiels aux personnes touchées par le typhon.
  • Le Canada accordera aussi la priorité au traitement des demandes présentées par les Philippins qui sont personnellement et lourdement touchés par le typhon Haiyan.

Que peuvent faire les Canadiens?

  • La meilleure forme d'aide est un don en argent, et non un don de vêtements ou d'aliments, à une organisation humanitaire reconnue. Nous invitons les Canadiens à consulter le site Web du MAECD. Les dons d'argent comptant sont le moyen le plus rapide et le plus économique d'aider les habitants d'une région sinistrée. Ils permettent aux organisations d'aide d'acheter rapidement les fournitures exactes dont a besoin la population touchée.
  • On encourage les Canadiens à vérifier auprès de l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré de leur choix si celui-ci a lancé une campagne de charité pour les Philippines. Les dons admissibles faits en réponse aux appels lancés pour les Philippines seront égalés par le gouvernement du Canada.

Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan

Pourquoi le gouvernement a-t-il décidé d'instaurer un mécanisme de contrepartie le 10 novembre?

  • Compte tenu de l'augmentation constante des besoins, le gouvernement du Canada a décidé d'instaurer ce mécanisme de contrepartie pour répondre aux besoins de la population touchée et pour appuyer les appels faits par les organismes de bienfaisance de manière à témoigner de la compassion et de la générosité des Canadiens.

Comment fonctionne le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan?

  • Pour chaque dollar admissible versé par un Canadien à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qui vient en aide aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan, le gouvernement du Canada versera un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan.
  • Le gouvernement se servira du Fonds de contrepartie pour offrir de l'assistance par l'intermédiaire d'organisations humanitaires internationales ou canadiennes, conformément aux mécanismes et procédures établis.
  • Pour être versés au Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan, les dons versés par les Canadiens ne doivent pas excéder 100 000 $ par donateur et doivent respecter certaines conditions :
    • Les dons doivent être faits en argent.
    • Ils doivent être versés à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qui recueille les dons pour venir en aide aux victimes du typhon Haiyan.
    • Ils doivent être précisément réservés aux fins de l'aide aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan.
    • Ils doivent être faits entre le 9 novembre et le 23 décembre 2013.
  • Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui déclarent des dons admissibles doivent remplir un formulaire de déclaration. Le formulaire devra être retourné au MAECD au plus tard le 10 janvier 2014 pour que les dons puissent être comptabilisés aux fins de la contrepartie du Fonds. Pour qu'un don soit admissible au calcul de la contrepartie, les conditions suivantes doivent être respectées :
    • le don doit respecter les conditions mentionnées ci-dessus;
    • l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui reçoit le dont doit utiliser les fonds pour aider à atténuer la crise provoquée par le typhon Haiyan;
    • l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui reçoit le don doit le déclarer au MAECD.
  • C'est à l'organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qu'il incombe d'attester, au moyen du formulaire de déclaration (qui sera disponible sur le site Web du MAECD) que les dons déclarés sont admissibles. Les organismes de bienfaisance ne sont pas obligés de déclarer les dons au MAECD, s'ils ne sont pas certains qu'ils respectent les critères d'admissibilité.

Comment l'organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré utilisera-t-il mon don?

  • Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés utiliseront les fonds recueillis auprès des particuliers canadiens en vue de leurs propres opérations de secours ou achemineront les dons à d'autres organismes admissibles qui ont la capacité d'apporter une aide d'urgence, de rétablissement et de reconstruction aux Philippines.
  • Les dons des particuliers canadiens constitueront un fonds immédiat, qui complétera les fonds octroyés par le gouvernement du Canada pour les opérations de secours et d'aide humanitaire.

Comment puis-je m'assurer qu'un organisme de bienfaisance est enregistré?

Chaque fois qu'un dollar sera versé à un organisme de bienfaisance pour prêter secours aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan, est-ce que le gouvernement du Canada remettra un dollar d'équivalence à l'organisme?

  • Non, le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan sera administré séparément des fonds recueillis par les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés. Ainsi, un organisme de bienfaisance qui déclare le montant reçu en dons admissibles n'obtient pas un dollar en contrepartie du gouvernement du Canada. Pour chaque dollar versé en don par un particulier à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré, le gouvernement du Canada versera un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie. Le gouvernement utilisera le Fonds pour soutenir les efforts des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience qui tentent de répondre aux besoins immédiats des personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada utilisera-t-il le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan?

  • Le Fonds de contrepartie a été mis sur pied afin d'être à la hauteur de la générosité des Canadiens et ainsi d'appuyer les efforts des organisations de développement et humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience.
  • Les décisions quant au choix des organisations humanitaires qui recevront des fonds seront prises selon le mérite de leurs propositions et leur capacité d'apporter de l'aide le plus efficacement possible et dans les meilleurs délais.

Est-ce que ce programme reprend les principes appliqués dans le cas des programmes de 2010 à la suite des inondations au Pakistan, du tremblement de terre en Haïti en 2012 et de celui de la crise alimentaire de 2012 dans la région du Sahel?

  • Oui, les mêmes critères s'appliqueront.

Comment puis-je m'assurer que le don que je fais sera bien dépensé pour aider les personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan?

  • Il est important que les Canadiens prennent des décisions éclairées en prévision de l'utilisation de leurs dons. Voici des questions à se poser pour faciliter ces décisions :
    • Comment l'organisme de bienfaisance permettra-t-il d'offrir de l'aide à la suite du passage du typhon Haiyan?
    • De quelle façon l'organisme de bienfaisance utilisera-t-il vos dons pour aider les personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan?
    • L'organisme de bienfaisance mène-t-il ses propres efforts de secours en réponse au typhon Haiyan?
    • L'organisme de bienfaisance a-t-il déjà mené des activités dans les zones touchées par le typhon Haiyan? Si oui, quelles sortes d'activités a-t-il menées et pendant combien de temps?
    • Si l'organisme de bienfaisance n'a jamais mené des activités ces zones, a-t-il de l'expérience dans la prestation d'activités de secours dans d'autres pays en développement?
    • Si l'organisme de bienfaisance ne travaille pas directement dans les zones touchées par le typhon Haiyan, de quelle façon votre don sera-t-il utilisé?
  • Toute question sur l'utilisation des fonds doit être adressée directement à l'organisme de bienfaisance.
  • Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web du MAECD.

Comment puis-je trouver les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés qui apportent de l'aide en réponse au typhon Haiyan?

  • Vous devez d'abord vous assurer auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada que l'organisme de bienfaisance est enregistré au Canada, puis vous devez communiquer directement avec l'organisme pour obtenir le plus de renseignements possible.
  • Si vous n'avez pas un organisme de bienfaisance à l'esprit, il serait bon de commencer par lire les nouvelles portant sur l'aide apportée en réponse au typhon Haiyan. Vous pourrez ainsi vous faire une idée de la situation sur le terrain et connaître les organismes qui participent aux secours.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada s'assurera-t-il que les dons en argent sont dépensés de manière transparente et responsable?

  • Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui reçoivent des dons destinés à secourir les personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan sont tenus de rendre compte à leurs donateurs de l'utilisation qu'ils font de ces dons. Les particuliers sont invités à s'assurer que les organismes auxquels ils versent des dons s'en servent pour prêter secours aux personnes touchées par des crises humanitaires.
  • Le Fonds de contrepartie pour le typhon Haiyan est indépendant, et non pas mis en commun avec les fonds recueillis par les organismes de bienfaisance. Le MAECD dispose de systèmes de vérification, de surveillance et d'évaluation pour veiller à ce que les programmes soutenus par le Fonds de contrepartie soient mis en œuvre de façon efficace.

Les Canadiens peuvent-ils envoyer des fournitures d'urgence pour aider les sinistrés?

  • Les Canadiens ont toujours été reconnus pour leur générosité. Le meilleur moyen pour les Canadiens d'aider les personnes touchées par cette crise consiste à faire un don en argent à une organisation humanitaire canadienne ou internationale réputée, qui a l'intention de se servir des fonds pour venir en aide aux victimes de la catastrophe.
  • Les contributions en argent permettent aux organismes partenaires des opérations de secours d'acheter les biens nécessaires localement et donc de gagner un temps précieux et de réduire les frais de transport. Les biens sont généralement moins dispendieux lorsqu'ils sont achetés localement, ce qui, du même coup, encourage l'économie locale.

Combien d'argent le Canada a-t-il versé jusqu'à maintenant?

  • En date du 20 novembre, la contribution totale du gouvernement du Canada pour venir en aide aux personnes touchées par le typhon Haiyan dépasse 20 millions de dollars.
  • En combinant l'aide annoncée par le gouvernement du Canada et les généreuses contributions versées par des Canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés du Canada jusqu'à ce jour (19,6 millions de dollars, selon certaines ONG canadiennes), la contribution canadienne totale du Canada à l'assistance aux victimes du typhon Haiyan est de près de 40 millions de dollars, en date du 18 novembre.
  • Nous prévoyons que ce montant continuera d'augmenter à mesure que les dons faits à titre personnel par les Canadiens aux organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés continuent de croître et de se bonifier. Les Canadiens ont toujours fait preuve de compassion et de générosité et peuvent continuer à faire des dons jusqu'au 23 décembre.

Quel est le plan à long terme du Canada pour aider les Philippines au-delà des interventions actuelles?

  • Le Canada soutient des partenaires d'aide humanitaire chevronnés, notamment les organismes des Nations Unies, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et des organisations non gouvernementales, afin d'atténuer les souffrances et de répondre aux besoins de base de ceux qui sont touchés par cette crise.
  • Nos partenaires travaillent d'arrache-pied pour fournir une aide d'urgence, soit de la nourriture, des soins, des abris, de l'eau et des dispositifs d'assainissement, ainsi que d'autres services essentiels, et ils sont déjà actifs sur le terrain. Compte tenu de l'ampleur de la dévastation, il faudra du temps pour aider un si grand nombre de personnes à rebâtir leur vie sur les lieux de cette catastrophe. Le Canada continuera de suivre la situation de près pour déterminer quelle est la meilleure façon de soutenir à plus long terme les populations qui ont été si durement touchées par cette crise.
  • Avant le typhon, au cours de l'exercice 2011-2012, le Canada a fourni 21 millions de dollars aux Philippines en aide au développement officielle. Ce programme de développement à long terme appuie la croissance économique durable en favorisant le climat d'investissement et en protégeant les intérêts économiques des plus démunis.
  • Le Canada a également fourni un million de dollars aux gens des Philippines après le tremblement de terre survenu en octobre 2013. Comme le typhon Haiyan a frappé les Philippines peu après, ce financement aide également les gens de ce pays qui ont été touchés par cette catastrophe.

Que fait le Canada pour venir en aide aux citoyens canadiens touchés par le typhon?

  •  Nous tentons d'entrer en contact avec les Canadiens qui se trouvent dans les zones sinistrées par tous les moyens dont nous disposons, y compris le téléphone, les messages textes, le courriel et les médias sociaux. De plus, au Canada, nous restons en contact étroit avec les familles et les amis de Canadiens qui pourraient se trouver dans les zones sinistrées afin de recueillir le plus d'information possible qui pourrait permettre de déterminer où ils se trouvent.
  • Nous sommes en liaison avec les autorités locales aux Philippines afin de recueillir de l'information concernant les Canadiens qui auraient pu se trouver dans les zones sinistrées.
  • Le lundi 18 novembre, une équipe consulaire a été déployée à Roxas City avec l'Équipe d'intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC). Cette équipe prodiguera des conseils et du soutien aux citoyens canadiens et aux membres de leur famille qui se trouvent dans la zone d'opération de l'EICC.
  • Des équipes consulaires canadiennes ont été déployées à la base aérienne de Villamore, près de Manille, qui sert de plaque tournante pour les vols en provenance des zones sinistrées.
  • Le Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence (CSIU) d'Ottawa, qui fonctionne 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, a augmenté le nombre d'employés chargés de répondre aux appels téléphoniques et aux courriels de Canadiens préoccupés par la situation. Du personnel supplémentaire d'Ottawa et des missions canadiennes en Asie a été déployé aux Philippines pour venir en aide aux Canadiens touchés sur le terrain.
  • Nous collaborons également avec nos partenaires internationaux, comme les États-Unis, l'Australie et le Royaume-Uni, pour échanger de l'information et coordonner nos efforts. Par exemple, les États-Unis et l'Australie ont offert de prendre des Canadiens à bord de leurs vols d'appareils militaires au départ de Tacloban, et ont permis la présence d'un agent consulaire de l'ambassade du Canada sur le terrain à Tacloban pour venir en aide aux Canadiens et les aider à quitter la zone.

Avec qui devons-nous communiquer pour obtenir des renseignements sur nos proches aux Philippines?

  • Les citoyens canadiens actuellement aux Philippines qui ont besoin d'une aide d'urgence doivent communiquer avec l'ambassade du Canada à Manille au numéro (63-2) 857-9000 ou 1-800-1-110-0226 (sans frais aux Philippines pour une ligne terrestre). Ils peuvent également communiquer avec le Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence du MAECD, à Ottawa, accessible jour et nuit au numéro +1-613-996-8885 (à frais virés, lorsque ce service est disponible). Ils peuvent aussi envoyer un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca.
  •  Les parents et amis au Canada qui désirent avoir des nouvelles de citoyens canadiens susceptibles de se trouver dans les régions touchées devraient communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d'urgence du MAECD, à Ottawa, accessible jour et nuit au numéro +1-613-996-8885 (appels à frais virés acceptés) ou 1-800-387-3124. Ils peuvent aussi envoyer un courriel à l'adresse sos@international.gc.ca.

Que fait le Canada pour aider les Philippins en visite au Canada ou qui y travaillent temporairement?

  • Le 13 novembre, le Canada a annoncé que, à partir de cette date, il accordera la priorité au traitement des demandes présentées par les Philippins qui sont « personnellement et lourdement » touchés par le typhon Haiyan.
  • Les demandes de prolongation présentées par des visiteurs, des étudiants internationaux et des travailleurs temporaires étrangers seront évaluées avec souplesse et avec compassion.
  • Afin d'appuyer ces mesures, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) a créé des adresses électroniques et installé une ligne téléphonique réservées au traitement des demandes présentées par les personnes touchées et leur famille.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements, vous êtes invité à consulter la page Que peuvent faire les Canadiens.

Salle des médias