Find a Job in International Development

Many avenues are open to skilled individuals who wish to work in international development, with either the Government of Canada or its partners:

  1. Work for the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) on a temporary or permanent basis as a federal public servant
  2. Work as an intern through DFATD’s International Youth Internship Program or through the International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative
  3. Work as an advisor or volunteer with a non-governmental organization
  4. Work as an advisor on contract with an executing agency carrying out an international development project
  5. Work as a technical advisor on contract with a United Nations agency in a developing country
  6. Become a development officer at DFATD

DFATD also contracts with consultants in support of its assistance programs and projects.

If you are a youth, visit the Youth Zone for more internship and volunteer opportunities.

If you have any comments or questions, contact DFATD by phone or email:

Telephone:
1-800-267-8376 (toll-free in Canada)
613-944-4000 (in the National Capital Region and outside Canada)
Email: Enquiry Service - On line form

1. Work for DFATD on a temporary or permanent basis as a federal public servant

The Public Service of Canada is constantly hiring at all levels to ensure that it has the skills, knowledge, and talent base to meet the evolving needs of Canadians and the mandates of each department and agency, including DFATD.

As the nation's largest employer, the Public Service of Canada offers a broad diversity of careers in locations throughout Canada and, particularly in DFATD’s case, around the world. Duties and requirements for skills and experience vary with the position.

When recruiting from outside the public service, preference is given to Canadian citizens, in accordance with the Public Service Employment Act.

How to apply

DFATD recruits employees from outside the public service through the services of the Public Service Commission (PSC), which lists job opportunities open to the public on their Careers in the federal public service website.

The PSC may list some positions separately:

  • If you are a postsecondary graduate or will be shortly and are interested in a career in international development with the Government of Canada, visit the PSC's Post-Secondary Recruitment site
  • If you are a full-time student looking for summer or part-time employment with DFATD, visit the PSC's Federal Student Work Experience Program site
  • If you are enrolled in a work-study program, visit your educational institution's internship office
  • If you are presently a federal public service employee or an employee in private business, another level of government, a Crown corporation, a union, an academic institution, or a non-profit organization, you could work with DFATD for a determinate period through Interchange Canada , a program that promotes lasting bridges between the federal public sector and all other sectors, both within Canada and internationally, by offering employees from one sector a temporary assignment in another sector

2. Work as an intern through DFATD's International Youth Internship Program or International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative

The International Youth Internship Program is part of the Career Focus stream of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES), which provides Canadian youth with tools and experience they need to launch successful careers.

The International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative provides opportunities for Aboriginal youth to participate in international internships in developing countries.

3. Work as an advisor or volunteer with a non-governmental organization

The Government of Canada establishes partnerships with many non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that carry out international development work overseas. Contracts with a variety of professional and technical duties in all sectors of international development are available with several of these NGOs for work as an advisor or volunteer. Postings in a developing country are usually for up to two years and must be approved by the partner organization in the field. Remuneration varies from one organization to the other and generally includes a living allowance and other forms of compensation. Requirements also vary from one organization to another but generally include:

  • Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status
  • Relevant professional qualifications
  • Experience in the sector concerned
  • Belief in the organization's direction and objectives

Apply directly by sending your résumé to the appropriate NGOs. Below you will find a list of the principal NGOs supported by the Government of Canada that send advisors or volunteers to developing countries. You will also find a list of provincial/regional councils supported by the Government of Canada. The members of these umbrella organizations may also send volunteers overseas and their websites provide more information about jobs, internships and volunteer opportunities.

Canada World Youth

Canada World Youth

Canada World Youth (CWY) designs international educational programs with a focus on volunteer work and community development for youth aged 15 to 29.

Since 1971, CWY has provided more than 33,000 youth safe opportunities by which to gain enriching international experience, learn about other cultures, and become informed and action-oriented global citizens.

Working in partnership with local organizations, CWY programs are two-part, with one phase in Canada and the other in another country in Africa, Latin America, Asia, the West Indies, or Eastern Europe.

Canadian Centre for International Studies and Cooperation

Canadian Centre for International Studies and Cooperation

Each year through its volunteer cooperation programs, the Canadian Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI) sends volunteers abroad on two-week to two-year mandates to work on development projects. Volunteers must have qualifications or expertise in sectors such as:

  • Humanitarian aid
  • Health, including HIV/AIDS intervention
  • Primary education, occupational training, and university teaching
  • Economic development and fair trade
  • Agriculture
  • Governance and equality between women and men

Crossroads International

Crossroads International

Crossroads International works with local organizations in West Africa, Southern Africa, and South America that are fighting extreme poverty and the non-respect of women's rights.

Through international volunteering and partnership programs, Crossroads International leverages expertise and resources necessary to address these challenges.

Canadian Executive Service Organization

Canadian Executive Service Organization

The Canadian Executive Service Organization (CESO) has one of the biggest resource banks of Canadian professional and technical expertise.

CESO sends experts registered in its database to developing countries to assist individuals, businesses, communities, and non-government agencies in carrying out projects related to social and economic development, governance, and environmental sustainability.

Cuso International

Cuso International

Cuso International was created through the 2008 merger between Canadian University Service Overseas, founded in 1961, and Voluntary Service Overseas. It works to reduce poverty through the efforts of volunteers who pass on skills and unlock potential in the following areas: secure livelihoods and natural resource management; education; participation and governance; HIV and AIDS; disability and health. Cuso International's volunteers collaborate with local partner groups on projects in Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and Asia.

Engineers Without Borders

Engineers Without Borders

Each year, Engineers Without Borders (EWB) sends multidisciplinary individuals with specific technical knowledge abroad on short- and long-term placements to promote human development in some of the world's poorest communities.

These volunteer workers help local organizations and entrepreneurs acquire the knowledge, access the technologies, and build the capacities required in finding innovative and appropriate solutions to poverty.

Oxfam-Québec

Oxfam-Québec

Oxfam-Québec sends interns and volunteer advisors for periods of six months to two years to Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, and Southeast Asia to participate in sustainable development projects.

Oxfam-Québec is dedicated to building the capacity of its partners and colleagues in developing countries to implement sustainable solutions to poverty.

Solidarité, Union, Coopération (in French)

Solidarité, Union, Coopération

Solidarité, Union, Coopération (SUCO) is an international cooperation agency that, by sending advisors and interns to developing countries in West Africa, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, aims to:

  • Promote the participation of disadvantaged people in development through empowerment and capacity building
  • Support the establishment of a participatory democracy that is respectful of individuals and their environment
  • Incite Canadians to common action by educating them about the realities and challenges of international development

World University Service of Canada

World University Service of Canada

World University Service of Canada (WUSC) provides qualified individuals and post-secondary students with unique and exciting opportunities to volunteer in Canada and in developing countries. WUSC currently has active projects in southern and western Africa, South and Southeast Asia, Latin America, Europe, and the Middle East.

WUSC also implements development awareness programs for youth through its network of members and local committees on college and university campuses across Canada.

Youth Challenge International

Youth Challenge International

Youth Challenge International (YCI) carries out projects that address the needs of youth in the following major sustainable development sectors:

  • Leadership
  • Environment
  • Economic development
  • Health
  • Education

These short- and long-term projects are conducted by young volunteers and development professionals. YCI uses a participative approach in which local youth in developing countries actively take part in the projects.

Provincial/Regional Councils

These umbrella organizations represent a wide range of international development organizations and individual associate members working globally for social justice. Each council works with 40 to 70 organizations to increase public engagement in international development.

4. Work as an advisor on contract with an executing agency carrying out an international development project

The management of some projects is delegated by the Government of Canada to private sector firms, universities or colleges, Canadian non-government organizations or institutions, and provincial or territorial government departments, commonly known as executing agencies. These projects comprise a variety of professional or technical activities in all development sectors. The executing agency sets the contract requirements, which generally include:

  • Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status
  • Required skills and experience
  • Experience in the field

To apply for a position with one of our partners, send your résumé directly to the organization. Executing agencies generally list positions on their website; others use the career sections of local or national newspapers.

5. Work as a technical advisor on contract with a United Nations agency in a developing country

The Government of Canada collaborates with several United Nations (UN) agencies whose mandates relate to international development. These agencies include:

These agencies contract with professional, scientific, or technical experts. To obtain a contract in Canada, candidates must satisfy various requirements, which generally include:

  • Canadian citizenship
  • University degree in a relevant field
  • Minimum five years' experience in the field concerned (preferably in a developing country)

Candidates must apply directly to the agency.

6. Become a development officer at DFATD

The New Development Officers Program is a recruitment and career development program aimed at renewing the department's international development officers. The program establishes a development framework for recruits to acquire the competencies required of a development officer at the PM-4 level.

The date of the next campaign has yet to be determined. Information will be posted on Careers in the federal public service as it becomes available.

Trouver un emploi en développement international

De nombreuses possibilités sont offertes aux personnes qualifiées qui désirent travailler en développement international, que ce soit pour le gouvernement du Canada ou ses partenaires :

  1. Emplois temporaires ou permanents à titre de fonctionnaire fédéral au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD)
  2. Stages dans le cadre du Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes du MAECD ou de l'Initiative des stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones
  3. Contrats à titre de conseiller ou de bénévole pour une organisation non gouvernementale
  4. Contrats à titre de conseiller auprès d'un organisme qui exécute un projet de développement international
  5. Contrats à titre de conseiller technique dans un pays en développement auprès d'un organisme de l'ONU
  6. Recrutement pour le Programme des nouveaux agents de développement du MAECD

Le MAECD octroie aussi des contrats à des consultants afin d'appuyer ses programmes et ses projets d'aide.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les possibilités de stages et de bénévolat pour les jeunes, visitez la Zone jeunesse.

Si vous avez des commentaires ou des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le MAECD par téléphone ou par courriel :

Téléphone :
613-944-4000 (dans la région de la capitale nationale et à l'extérieur du Canada)
1-800-267-8376 (sans frais au Canada)
Courriel : Services des renseignements - Formulaire en ligne

1. Emplois temporaires ou permanents à titre de fonctionnaire fédéral au MAECD

La fonction publique du Canada cherche constamment à embaucher des employés à tous les niveaux, pour veiller à ce qu'elle ait les compétences, les connaissances et la banque de talents dont elle a besoin pour répondre aux besoins évolutifs des Canadiens et s'acquitter des mandats de chaque ministère et organisme, y compris le MAECD.

À titre d'employeur le plus important au pays, la fonction publique du Canada offre un éventail diversifié de carrières partout au Canada et, notamment dans le cas du MAECD, partout dans le monde. Les tâches et les exigences liées aux compétences et à l'expérience varient en fonction du poste.

Dans le cas du recrutement externe à la fonction publique, conformément à la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique, la préférence est accordée aux citoyens canadiens.

Comment postuler

Le MAECD a recours aux services de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) lorsqu'elle recrute à l'extérieur de la fonction publique. La CFP affiche les postes ouverts au public sur le site Carrières à la fonction publique fédérale.

La CFP pourrait afficher certains postes séparément :

  • Si vous êtes titulaire d'un diplôme de niveau postsecondaire ou le serez sous peu et que vous désirez faire carrière en développement international au MAECD, visitez le site du Recrutement postsecondaire de la CFP.
  • Si vous êtes un étudiant à temps plein à la recherche d'un emploi d'été ou d'un emploi à temps partiel au MAECD, visitez le site du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant de la CFP.
  • Si vous êtes inscrit à un programme d'enseignement coopératif, visitez le bureau de stages de votre institution d'enseignement.
  • Si vous êtes actuellement employé de la fonction publique fédérale, d'une entreprise privée, d'un autre palier de gouvernement, d'une société d'État, d'un syndicat, d'un établissement universitaire ou d'un organisme sans but lucratif, le programme Échanges Canada pourrait vous permettre de travailler au MAECD pour une période déterminée. Ce programme favorise des liens plus forts entre l'administration publique fédérale et tous les autres secteurs, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, en offrant à des employés d'un secteur l'occasion d'obtenir une affectation temporaire dans un autre secteur.

2. Stages dans le cadre du Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes du MAECD ou de l'Initiative des stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones

Le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes fait partie du volet « Objectif carrière » de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada, qui veut donner aux jeunes Canadiens les outils et l'expérience nécessaires pour amorcer leur carrière du bon pied.

L'Initiative des stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones offre aux jeunes Autochtones des occasions de participer à des stages internationaux dans des pays en développement.

3. Contrats à titre de conseiller ou de bénévole pour une organisation non gouvernementale

Le gouvernement du Canada établit des partenariats avec de nombreuses organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) qui effectuent des activités de développement international à l'étranger. Plusieurs de ces ONG offrent des contrats pour travailler comme conseiller ou bénévole et exercer une variété de fonctions professionnelles et techniques dans tous les secteurs liés au travail en développement international.

Les affectations dans un pays en développement sont généralement d'une durée allant jusqu'à deux ans et doivent être approuvées par l'organisation partenaire sur le terrain. La rémunération varie d'une organisation à l'autre et comprend habituellement une allocation de subsistance et d'autres indemnités.

Les exigences diffèrent selon l'organisation, mais comprennent en général les suivantes :

  • être citoyen canadien ou avoir obtenu le statut de résident permanent;
  • avoir des qualifications professionnelles pertinentes;
  • avoir de l'expérience dans le secteur concerné;
  • adhérer aux orientations et objectifs de l'organisation.

Veuillez présenter directement une demande aux ONG appropriées en leur transmettant votre curriculum vitæ. La liste suivante comprend les principales ONG appuyées par le gouvernement du Canada qui affectent des conseillers ou des bénévoles dans les pays en développement. Vous trouverez aussi une liste de conseils provinciaux et régionaux appuyés par le gouvernement du Canada. Les organisations que ces conseils chapeautent pourraient aussi affecter des bénévoles à l'étranger et leurs sites Web offrent de plus amples renseignements sur des emplois, des stages et des projets de bénévolat.

Carrefour international

Carrefour international

Le Carrefour international travaille de concert avec des organisations situées en Afrique occidentale, en Afrique australe et en Amérique du Sud qui luttent contre l'extrême pauvreté et le non-respect des droits des femmes.

Le Carrefour international met à contribution les expertises et les ressources requises pour relever ces défis en affectant des bénévoles à l'étranger par l'entremise de ses programmes internationaux de volontariat et de partenariat.

Centre canadien d'étude et de coopération internationale

Centre canadien d'étude et de coopération internationale

Chaque année, le Centre canadien d'étude et de coopération internationale (CECI) affecte des bénévoles à des projets de développement à l'étranger par l'entremise de ses programmes de volontariat. La durée des projets varie de deux semaines à deux ans. Les bénévoles doivent avoir des compétences et une expertise dans des secteurs tels que :

  • l'aide humanitaire;
  • la santé (y compris les interventions liées au VIH/sida);
  • l'éducation primaire, la formation professionnelle et l'enseignement universitaire;
  • le développement économique et le commerce équitable;
  • l'agriculture;
  • la gouvernance et les questions touchant l'égalité entre femmes et les hommes.

Cuso International

Cuso International

Cuso International a été créé à la suite de la fusion en 2008 entre le Service universitaire canadien outre-mer, établi en 1961, et l'agence Voluntary Service Overseas . Il travaille à réduire la pauvreté grâce aux efforts déployés par les coopérants-volontaires qui transmettent des compétences et stimulent le potentiel des gens dans les domaines suivants : sécurité des moyens de subsistance et gestion des ressources naturelles, éducation, participation et gouvernance, VIH/sida, intégration des personnes handicapées et santé. Les coopérants-volontaires de Cuso International collaborent avec des groupes de partenaires locaux à des projets en Amérique latine, dans les Caraïbes, en Afrique et en Asie.

Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada

Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada

Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (EUMC) offre aux individus qualifiés et aux étudiants post-secondaires des occasions de volontariat uniques et passionnantes au Canada et dans des pays en développement. EUMC a actuellement des projets en cours dans le sud et dans l'ouest de l'Afrique, en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est, en Amérique latine, en Europe et au Moyen-Orient.

EUMC met aussi sur pied des programmes de sensibilisation au développement pour les jeunes par son réseau de membres et de comités locaux dans les campus collégiaux et universitaires du Canada.

Ingénieurs sans frontières

Ingénieurs sans frontières

Chaque année, Ingénieurs sans frontières (ISF, en anglais) envoie des travailleurs bénévoles formés dans plusieurs disciplines (y compris en ingénierie) à l'étranger dans le cadre de placements à court terme et à long terme.

Ces bénévoles font la promotion du développement humain dans certaines des collectivités les plus pauvres du monde. Ils aident les organisations et les entrepreneurs locaux à acquérir les connaissances, les technologies et les capacités nécessaires pour trouver des solutions innovatrices et appropriées aux défis de la pauvreté.

Jeunesse Canada Monde

Jeunesse Canada Monde (JCM)

Jeunesse Canada Monde (JCM) met sur pied des programmes éducatifs internationaux axés sur le bénévolat et le développement communautaire et destinés aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans.

Depuis 1971, JCM a permis à plus de 33 000 jeunes de vivre une expérience internationale valorisante et sécuritaire, de découvrir d'autres cultures et de devenir des citoyens du monde informés et actifs.

En partenariat avec des organisations locales, les programmes de JCM se déroulent en partie au Canada et en partie dans des pays d'Afrique, d'Amérique latine, d'Asie, des Antilles et d'Europe de l'Est.

Oxfam-Québec

Oxfam-Québec

Oxfam-Québec envoie des stagiaires et des coopérants volontaires en Afrique, en Amérique latine, au Moyen-Orient et en Asie du Sud-Est pour participer à des projets de développement durable. La durée des contrats et des stages varie de six mois à deux ans.

Sa mission consiste à renforcer les capacités de ses partenaires et alliés des pays en développement dans la mise en œuvre de solutions durables à la pauvreté.

Service d'assistance canadienne aux organismes

Service d'assistance canadienne aux organismes

Le Service d'assistance canadienne aux organismes (SACO) détient l'une des plus grandes banques d'expertise canadienne professionnelle et technique.

Le SACO envoie des experts inscrits dans son répertoire soutenir des particuliers, des entreprises, des collectivités et des ONG dans la réalisation de projets dans les pays en développement. Ces projets touchent entre autres le développement économique et social, la gouvernance et la préservation de l'environnement.

Solidarité, Union, Coopération

Solidarité, Union, Coopération

Solidarité, Union, Coopération (SUCO) est un organisme de coopération internationale qui, par l'envoi de coopérants et de stagiaires dans des pays en développement en Afrique occidentale, en Amérique centrale, en Amérique du Sud et dans les Caraïbes, vise à :

  • favoriser une meilleure emprise des populations défavorisées sur leur développement par le renforcement des capacités;
  • appuyer l'instauration d'une démocratie participative, dans le respect des personnes et de leur environnement;
  • inciter les Canadiens à poser des gestes de solidarité en les renseignant sur les réalités et les enjeux du développement international.

Youth Challenge International

Youth Challenge International (YCI)

Youth Challenge International (YCI) (en anglais) réalise des projets touchant des secteurs clés du développement durable lié aux jeunes tels que :

  • leadership;
  • environnement;
  • développement économique;
  • santé;
  • éducation.

Ces projets à court et à long terme sont menés à bien par de jeunes bénévoles et par des professionnels du développement. YCI favorise une approche participative où des jeunes des collectivités dans les pays en développement participent activement aux projets.

Conseils provinciaux et régionaux de coopération internationale

Les conseils provinciaux et régionaux de coopération internationale sont des organisations qui chapeautent une variété d'organisations de développement international et des membres associés œuvrant pour la justice sociale. Chaque conseil collabore en moyenne avec 40 à 70 organisations afin de promouvoir la participation du public au développement international.

4. Contrats à titre de conseiller auprès d'un organisme qui exécute un projet de développement international

Le gouvernement du Canada délègue la gestion de certains projets à des entreprises du secteur privé, à des universités ou des collèges, à des organisations ou des institutions non gouvernementales canadiennes et à des ministères provinciaux ou territoriaux, communément appelés agents d'exécution. Ces projets comportent un éventail d'activités professionnelles ou techniques dans tous les secteurs du développement. L'agent d'exécution établit les exigences pour les postes de conseillers offerts, qui comprennent en général les suivantes :

  • être un citoyen canadien ou avoir obtenu le statut de résident permanent;
  • avoir les compétences et l'expérience requises;
  • avoir de l'expérience sur le terrain.

Pour postuler pour un emploi auprès d'un partenaire du MAECD, veuillez transmettre directement votre curriculum vitæ à l'organisation concernée. Les agents d'exécution indiquent généralement les postes offerts sur leur site Web, et certains utilisent la section Carrières des journaux locaux ou nationaux.

5. Contrats à titre de conseiller technique dans un pays en développement auprès d'un organisme des Nations Unies

Divers organismes des Nations Unies sont partenaires du gouvernement du Canada et ont des mandats liés au développement international, y compris :

Ces organismes octroient des contrats à des experts professionnels, scientifiques ou techniques. Pour obtenir un contrat au Canada, les candidats doivent satisfaire à différentes exigences. En général, ils doivent :

  • être un citoyen canadien;
  • être titulaire d'un diplôme universitaire dans une discipline pertinente;
  • avoir au moins cinq années d'expérience dans le domaine concerné (de préférence dans un pays en développement).

Les candidats doivent présenter une demande directement auprès de l'organisme de leur choix.

6. Recrutement pour le Programme des nouveaux agents de développement du MAECD

Le Programme des nouveaux agents de développement est un programme de recrutement et de développement de carrière qui a pour objectif d'assurer le renouvellement du groupe des agents de développement international du MAECD.

Ce programme établit un cadre de perfectionnement qui permet aux nouveaux agents de développement d'atteindre le niveau de compétence attendu d'un agent de développement au niveau PM-04.

La date de la prochaine campagne de recrutement n'a pas encore été fixée. Des renseignements seront affichés sur le site Carrières à la fonction publique fédérale dès que possible.