Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls' Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan

This call is closed. The deadline for proposal submissions was October 22, 2015.

Note

If you are experiencing problems opening an application form, right click on the link, save it on your computer and open it from there.

 

Modification

All applicants please note that a new version of the application form for this call was published on July 14, 2015 at 14:00 EST. Please download the new form and use it to submit your application. The new version of the form will allow you to enter more content in your responses.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is launching a call for proposals on Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan. This call for proposals is valued at up to thirty million Canadian dollars (C$30,000,000) over a period of five years, from 2016–2017 to 2020–2021. DFATD intends to contribute funding ranging from a minimum of three million Canadian dollars (C$3,000,000) to a maximum of six million Canadian dollars (C$6,000,000) to each selected project. Selected projects must be fully completed, including all project reporting requirements, by March 31, 2021.

DFATD may decide to fund any number or none of the proposals submitted for consideration.

The submission deadline was October 22, 2015, 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4). Proposals received after the deadline will not be accepted.

Objective

The call for proposals is designed to fund projects that contribute to women and girls’ rights and empowerment that are in line with one or more of the following streams:

  1. Addressing violence against women and girls, and supporting the implementation of the Law on Elimination of Violence against Women;
  2. Building the capacity of civil society organizations working to advance women and girls’ rights and empowerment.

Projects funded under this call for proposals must align with the ultimate outcome and at least one of the two intermediate outcomes:

  • Ultimate Outcome: Women and girls are better empowered to participate in decision-making in Afghan society.
  • Intermediate Outcome 1: Afghan society and government are more effectively supporting the protection of rights of women and girls from gender-based violence through enhanced commitment, policies and programming that defend the rights and empowerment of women and girls; and/or
  • Intermediate Outcome 2: Strengthened Afghan civil society organizations are actively coordinating, advocating, protecting, and promoting the rights and empowerment of women and girls.

All proposals must also align with Afghan government national priorities.

Eligibility

This call for proposals is open to 1) Canadian organizations which are legally incorporated or otherwise constituted under the provincial, territorial or federal laws of Canada, and have their main place of business in Canada, 2) international organizations, and 3) Afghan organizations that meet the minimum eligibility criteria as listed on the Application Form.

If you do not meet the minimum eligibility criteria but are interested in this call for proposals, please consider the option of forming a consortium with an organization that meets all eligibility criteria. It is not necessary for a consortium to form a separate legal entity for the purpose of applying to the Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan call for proposals.

In particular, we encourage organizations with less than two years of experience in managing and delivering international development initiatives to work in consortiums with more experienced organizations.

For more information, please download the Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan Application Form with Guidelines.

Proposal assessment

DFATD will review and assess only completed proposals. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria or to provide all requested information, as identified on the application form, will result in rejection of the proposal.

DFATD will assess all completed proposals on a comparative basis against nine Assessment Criteria:

  1. Rationale for the initiative
  2. Managing for results and responding to risks
  3. Initiative plan
  4. Environmental sustainability
  5. Gender equality
  6. Governance
  7. Sustainability of results
  8. Financial information
  9. Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

DFATD will also assess applications against additional criteria. Applications for stream 1 will be assessed against:

  1. Incorporation of a Rights and Empowerment Approach

Applications for stream 2 will be assessed against:

  1. Civil Society Strengthening

Applications that address both streams 1 and 2 will be assessed against all of the criteria above.

Application process

Note: DFATD will only accept completed proposals by email at appel.afghanistan.call@international.gc.ca, not by mail or fax.

  1. Submit your proposal by the date and time of the deadline.
  2. Please read thoroughly the Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan Application Form with Guidelines. If you experience difficulties downloading the Application Form, please visit the Help section.
  3. Submit the mandatory organization and proposal documents, as listed in the supporting documentation section of the Application Form, including the completed Application Form. Incomplete proposals will be automatically rejected. Supporting documentation that is not available in an electronic format should be scanned and submitted electronically.

After submission, you will receive an email confirming that your proposal has been submitted. If you have not received a confirmation email, your proposal is not considered as received.

Proposals received after the deadline will not be accepted.

Supporting DFATD documentation available to applicants

Application process questions

Applicants may submit questions about the application process by email to appel.afghanistan.call@international.gc.ca.  Organizations must submit questions by October 1, 2015, 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4). DFATD will not answer enquiries received after this date.

DFATD will acknowledge the receipt of questions within one business day and will post all pertinent questions and answers about the call for proposals on its public website on the page devoted to Promoting the Advancement of Women and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment in Afghanistan call for proposals. Information posted on DFATD’s Calls for Proposals Website, the Frequently Asked Questions about Applying for Funding, and the Frequently Asked Questions concerning this Call for Proposals, represents the only official interpretation of the application process.

Review process

For proposals that meet all of the assessment criteria, DFATD will determine which proposals best align with its priorities.

To ensure transparency and fairness to all applicants, DFATD will not discuss proposals with applicants until all organizations have been notified of decisions regarding their proposals.

Applicants will be advised of the results of the proposal assessment process once funding decisions have been made. A DFATD officer will then contact successful applicants to discuss funding arrangement details. DFATD will also send a letter to all unsuccessful candidates to inform them of the decision.

Promouvoir l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan

Cet appel est terminé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 22 octobre 2015.

Note

Si vous avez de la difficulté à accéder au formulaire de demande, enregistrez-le sur votre ordinateur en cliquant sur le bouton droit de la souris et ouvrez-le ensuite.

 

Modification

Avis aux demandeurs : Une nouvelle version du formulaire de demande pour cet appel de propositions a été publiée le 14 juillet 2015 à 14h00 HE. Veuillez télécharger et soumettre votre demande en utilisant ce nouveau formulaire, lequel vous permet de fournir des réponses plus longues.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) lance un appel de propositions pour promouvoir  l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan. Le présent appel de propositions a une valeur maximale de trente millions de dollars canadiens (30 000 000 $CAN) qui seront versés sur une période de cinq ans, de 2016-2017 à 2020-2021. Le MAECD entend contribuer au financement en versant au moins trois millions de dollars canadiens (3 000 000 $CAN) et au plus six millions de dollars canadiens (6 000 000 $CAN) pour chaque initiative retenue. Les initiatives retenues doivent être complétés, et toutes les exigences en matière de rapports s'y rattachant doivent être remplies, d'ici au 31 mars 2021.

Le MAECD peut décider de financer plusieurs des demandes soumises ou de n'en financer aucune.

La date limite de présentation des demandes était le 22 octobre 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4). Les demandes reçues après cette date limite ne seront pas acceptées.

Objectif

L'appel de propositions vise le financement d'initiatives qui contribueront à l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles et qui comporteront au moins un des deux volets suivants :

  1. Lutter contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles et soutenir la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur l'élimination de la violence contre les femmes;
  2. Renforcer la capacité des organisations de la société civile qui s'efforcent de faire avancer les droits et l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles.

Les projets financés dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions doivent s'aligner sur le résultat ultime et sur au moins un des deux résultats intermédiaires :

  • Résultat ultime : Les femmes et les filles sont mieux habilitées à participer à la prise de décisions dans la société afghane.
  • Résultat intermédiaire 1 : La société et le gouvernement afghan soutiennent plus efficacement la protection des droits des femmes et des filles contre la violence en rehaussant  l’engagement, les politiques et les programmes qui défendent leurs droits et autonomisation; et/ou
  • Résultat intermédiaire 2 : Le renforcement des organisations de la société civile afghane leur permet de coordonner activement la défense, la protection et la promotion des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles.

Toutes les propositions doivent également s'aligner avec les priorités nationales du gouvernement afghan.

Admissibilité

Le présent appel de propositions est ouvert 1) aux organisations canadiennes qui sont dûment constituées en société en vertu des lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédérales du Canada et ont leur lieu d'affaires principal au Canada, 2) aux organisations internationales et 3) aux organisations afghanes qui satisfont aux critères d'admissibilité minimaux énumérés dans le formulaire de demande.

Les organisations qui ne répondent pas aux critères d'admissibilité minimaux, mais qui souhaitent participer au présent appel de propositions sont priées d'envisager de former un consortium avec une organisation qui répond à tous les critères d'admissibilité. Les consortiums n'ont pas à être constitués en entité juridique distincte pour soumettre une demande dans le cadre de l'appel de propositions Promouvoir l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan.

Toutefois, nous encourageons les organisations qui ont moins de deux années d'expérience en gestion et en réalisation de projets de développement international à former un consortium avec des organisations plus expérimentées.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez télécharger le formulaire de demande et les lignes directrices relatifs à la promotion de l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan.

Évaluation de la demande

Le MAECD n'examinera et n'analysera que les demandes dûment remplies. Si les conditions d'admissibilité ne sont pas respectées ou s'il manque l'un des renseignements requis dans le formulaire de demande, la proposition sera rejetée.

Le MAECD analysera toutes les propositions sur une base comparative en fonction des neuf critères d'évaluation :

  1. Bien-fondé de l'initiative
  2. Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques
  3. Plan de l'initiative
  4. Viabilité de l'environnement
  5. Égalité entre les sexes
  6. Gouvernance
  7. Durabilité des résultats
  8. Renseignements financiers
  9. Capacité de l'organisation par rapport à l'initiative

Le MAECD évaluera également les demandes en fonction d'autres critères. Les demandes relatives au volet 1 seront évaluées en fonction du critère suivant :

  1. Intégration de l'approche fondée sur les droits et l'autonomisation

Les demandes relatives au volet 2 seront évaluées en fonction du critère suivant :

  1. Renforcement de la société civile

Les demandes relatives aux volets 1 et 2 seront évaluées en fonction de tous les critères susmentionnés.

Processus de demande

Remarque : Le MAECD acceptera les demandes dûment remplies envoyées par courriel à appel.afghanistan.call@international.gc.ca, et non par la poste ou par télécopieur.

  1. Vous devez soumettre votre demande avant la date et l'heure de clôture.
  2. Veuillez lire attentivement le formulaire de demande et les lignes directrices relatifs de Promouvoir l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à télécharger le formulaire de demande, veuillez vous reporter à la section Aide.
  3. Envoyez le formulaire de demande dûment rempli et les documents obligatoires au sujet de l'organisation et de la demande qui sont mentionnés dans la section sur la documentation à l'appui. Les demandes incomplètes seront automatiquement rejetées. Les  documents qui ne sont pas en format électronique doivent être numérisées puis envoyées par voie électronique.

Après avoir soumis votre demande, vous recevrez un courriel confirmant qu'elle a été reçue. Si vous ne recevez pas de courriel de confirmation, votre demande ne sera pas considérée comme ayant été reçue.

Les demandes reçues après la date limite ne seront pas acceptées.

Documents du MAECD à l'appui pour les demandeurs

Questions relatives au processus de demande

Les demandeurs peuvent transmettre leurs questions au sujet du processus de demande par courriel, à l'adresse appel.afghanistan.call@international.gc.ca. Les organisations doivent soumettre leurs questions d'ici le 1 octobre 2015, 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4). Le MAECD ne répondra pas aux questions reçues après cette date.

Le MAECD accusera réception des questions dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable et affichera toutes les questions et les réponses pertinentes concernant l'appel de propositions dans son site Web, à la page consacrée à l'appel de propositions Promouvoir l'avancement des droits et de l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles en Afghanistan. Les renseignements qui figurent dans la page web appels de propositions, y compris la foire aux questions sur la présentation d'une demande de financement, et la foire aux questions concernant le présent appel de propositions, constituent la seule interprétation officielle du processus de demande.

Processus d'examen

Dans le cas des demandes qui satisfont à tous les critères d'évaluation, le MAECD déterminera quelles demandes s'alignent le mieux sur ses priorités.

Afin d'assurer la transparence et l'impartialité du processus pour tous les demandeurs, le MAECD ne discutera pas des demandes avec les demandeurs tant que toutes les organisations n'auront pas été avisées de la décision prise au sujet de leur demande.

Les organisations seront informées des résultats du processus d'évaluation des demandes une fois que les décisions de financement auront été prises. Ensuite, un agent du MAECD communiquera avec les demandeurs dont les demandes auront été retenues afin de discuter des détails liés à l'instrument financier. Par ailleurs, le MAECD enverra une lettre à toutes les organisations dont les demandes n'auront pas été retenues afin de les informer de la décision.