Call for Proposals – Promotion of Rural Economic Development in the Dry Corridor of Honduras

This call is closed. The deadline for submissions was July 15, 2015.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is launching a call for proposals for Promotion of Rural Economic Development in the Dry Corridor of Honduras. The total amount of funding available under this call is thirty-five million dollars ($35,000,000), to be disbursed over a period of up to six years between 2016 and 2022. All figures in this document are in Canadian dollars.

Based on the availability of funds, DFATD will fund projects valued at between five million dollars ($5,000,000) and twelve million dollars ($12,000,000) that will be implemented over a period of four to six years. Selected projects must be fully completed, including all project-reporting requirements, by February 15, 2022.

DFATD may decide to fund any number or none of the proposals submitted for consideration.

Objective

The call for proposals is designed to increase the economic opportunities of small-scale entrepreneurs and producers in the Dry Corridor of Honduras, especially women, youth and marginalized groups living in poverty.

Results

Projects funded under this call for proposals must contribute to the achievement of the following ultimate outcome:

  • Ultimate outcome: Improved economic well-being of small-scale entrepreneurs and producers in the Dry Corridor, especially women, youth and marginalized people living in poverty.

Projects must also contribute to the achievement of at least one of the two following intermediate outcomes:

  • Intermediate outcome 1: Improved business, technical and/or financing practices by small-scale enterprises, especially those led by or mainly employing women, youth and/or marginalized people living in poverty.
  • Intermediate outcome 2: Increased productivity and sales by small-scale enterprises, especially those led by or mainly employing women, youth and/or marginalized people living in poverty.

In order to better communicate to Canadians the key aggregate results of this call, DFATD has established a performance indicator to measure and demonstrate results achieved.

Applicants must use the following indicator in the Performance Measurement section of their proposal:

  • Intermediate indicator: Change in net incomes of members of micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs) that are led by or mainly employ women, youth and/or marginalized people living in poverty in the Dry Corridor.

The applicant must also include additional indicators in the Performance Measurement section of the application form.

Definitions

By small-scale enterprises, DFATD means micro, small and medium enterprises, whether on-farm or off-farm.

By youth, DFATD means any person between the ages of 18 and 30.

By marginalized people, DFATD means people who belong to a group that faces barriers in accessing economic opportunities in Honduras, such as indigenous people.

By living in poverty, DFATD means those living under the poverty line, as defined in terms of income per person per day, and in accordance with official calculations of the poverty threshold. The condition applies to women, youth and marginalized groups in the results statements above.

Eligibility

This call for proposals is open to Canadian, international and local organizations that are legally incorporated or otherwise constituted under the law. Organizations must also meet the eligibility requirements listed on the application form.

The applicant must demonstrate at least three years of experience in managing and implementing one or more international development projects in the areas of economic or rural development that produced positive results. The applicant must also have at least three years of experience implementing one or more international development projects in Spanish-speaking Latin America, since the working language in Honduras is Spanish. At least one of the projects managed by the applicant must have had a value of three million dollars ($3,000,000) or more.

Only organizations that meet all of the eligibility requirements listed on the application form may be considered a consortium lead or individual applicant under this call for proposals. Organizations that do not meet the minimum eligibility requirements may form a consortium with another organization that does meet all of the eligibility requirements. It is not necessary for a consortium to form a separate legal entity for the purpose of applying to this call.

DFATD will only review and assess duly completed proposals. Failure to meet all of the eligibility requirements may result in the rejection of the application.

Proposal assessment

DFATD will assess all complete proposals on a comparative basis against nine main assessment criteria, which are explained further on DFATD’s website:

  1. Rationale for the initiative
  2. Managing for results and responding to risks
  3. Initiative plan
  4. Environmental sustainability
  5. Gender equality
  6. Governance
  7. Sustainability of results
  8. Financial information
  9. Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

DFATD will also assess proposals against the following additional criterion, which is further explained in the application form:

  1.  Alignment with Alliance for the Dry Corridor

Application process

  1. Please read the call for proposals Application Form with Guidelines (PDF, 440 KB, 24 pages) carefully.
  2. Complete the application form and attach the mandatory documents listed in the Eligibility Requirements section of the application form. DFATD will not accept forms or supporting documentation sent by regular mail, courier or fax. Supporting documentation that is not available in an electronic format must be scanned.
  3. Submit your proposal by July 15, 2015, at 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC -4) to callforproposals.honduras@international.gc.ca. Proposals received after this deadline will not be accepted.

After submission, you will receive an email confirming that your application has been submitted. If you do not receive a confirmation email, your proposal will not be considered as received.

Review process

DFATD will apply an initial merit screening against assessment criteria 1 (Rationale for the initiative), 2 (Managing for results and responding to risks) and 9 (Organizational ability relevant to the initiative). Proposals deemed unacceptable or weak will not proceed for further review.

Proposals that are deemed acceptable will be reviewed based on all the assessment criteria. From the proposals that meet all the assessment criteria, DFATD will determine which proposals or group of proposals best align with its priorities and complement other initiatives in the Dry Corridor of Honduras. The organization’s proposed contribution to the project and to the Government of Canada’s visibility could be considered as assets at this stage.

To ensure that the process is transparent and fair, DFATD will not discuss applications until all organizations have been notified of decisions with regard to their applications. However, organizations can email questions concerning the application process to callforproposals.honduras@international.gc.ca. The deadline for submitting questions was June 25, 2015. DFATD will not answer enquiries received after that date.

DFATD will acknowledge receipt of questions within five business days and will post all pertinent questions and answers concerning the process on its website. Information posted on the Development section of DFATD’s website, including the Frequently Asked Questions, represents the only official interpretation of the application process.

Organizations will be informed of the results once a decision has been made. An officer will then contact the successful applicants to discuss the details of the funding agreement. DFATD will also send an email to all unsuccessful candidates to inform them of the decision.

Supporting DFATD documentation available to applicants

Software required for completing online forms

To download, view and complete the forms, you will need version 9.1 or higher of Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Appel de propositions – Promotion du développement économique rural dans le corridor sec du Honduras

Cet appel est terminé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 15 juillet 2015.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) lance un appel de propositions pour la promotion du développement économique rural dans le corridor sec du Honduras. Le montant total du financement disponible relativement à l’appel est de 35 millions de dollars (35 000 000 $), qui seront décaissés sur une période d’au plus 6 ans, de 2016 à 2022. Tous les chiffres fournis dans ce document sont exprimés en dollars canadiens.

Selon la disponibilité des fonds, le MAECD financera des projets d’une valeur de 5 à 12 millions de dollars (de 5 000 000 $ à 12 000 000 $), qui seront mis en œuvre sur une période de 4 à 6 ans. Les projets retenus devront être entièrement réalisés, y compris les rapports relatifs aux exigences du projet, au plus tard le 15 février 2022.

Le MAECD peut décider de financer n’importe quel nombre de propositions ou de n’en financer aucune.

Objectif

L’appel de propositions vise à multiplier les possibilités économiques des entrepreneurs et producteurs de petite envergure dans le corridor sec du Honduras, notamment des femmes, des jeunes et des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté.

Résultats

Les projets financés à la suite de cet appel de propositions doivent contribuer à l’atteinte du résultat ultime suivant :

  • Résultat ultime : Amélioration du bien-être économique des entrepreneurs et producteurs de petite envergure dans le corridor sec, notamment des femmes, des jeunes et des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté.

Les projets doivent également contribuer à la concrétisation d’au moins un des deux résultats intermédiaires suivants :

  • Résultat intermédiaire 1 : Amélioration des pratiques commerciales, techniques ou financières des entreprises de petite envergure, voire de l’ensemble de ces pratiques, notamment celles qui sont dirigées par des femmes, des jeunes ou des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté ou qui emploient surtout des femmes, des jeunes ou des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté.
  • Résultat intermédiaire 2 : Amélioration de la productivité et des ventes des entreprises de petite envergure, notamment celles qui sont dirigées par des femmes, des jeunes ou des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté ou qui emploient surtout des femmes, des jeunes ou des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté.

Pour mieux communiquer aux Canadiens les principaux résultats agrégés de cet appel de propositions, le MAECD a choisi un indicateur de rendement qui permettra de mesurer et d’attester les résultats obtenus.

Les candidats doivent employer l’indicateur suivant dans la section « Mesure du rendement » de leur proposition :

  • Indicateur intermédiaire : Changement dans le revenu net des membres de micro, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME), notamment celles qui ont comme dirigeants ou qui emploient surtout des femmes, des jeunes ou des groupes marginalisés vivant dans la pauvreté dans le corridor sec.

Les candidats doivent aussi inclure d’autres indicateurs dans la section « Mesure du rendement » du formulaire.

Définitions

Par entreprises de petite envergure, le MAECD entend les MPME, agricoles ou non.

Par jeunes, le MAECD entend toutes les personnes âgées de 18 à 30 ans.

Par groupes marginalisés, le MAECD entend les membres de groupes qui, au Honduras, se heurtent à des obstacles concernant l’accès aux possibilités économiques, par exemple les autochtones.

Par vivant dans la pauvreté, le MAECD entend les personnes qui vivent sous le seuil de la pauvreté tel qu’il est défini en termes de revenu quotidien par personne et selon les calculs officiels de ce seuil. Ce critère s’applique aux femmes, aux jeunes et aux groupes marginalisés dans les énoncés de résultats ci-dessus.

Admissibilité

Cet appel de propositions est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes, internationales et locales qui sont dûment constituées en société ou autrement constituées en vertu de la loi. Elles doivent également satisfaire les critères d’admissibilité énumérés dans le formulaire.

Le demandeur doit détenir au moins trois années d’expérience en gestion et dans la mise en œuvre de projets de développement international dans le secteur de la croissance économique ou rurale, et ces projets doivent avoir donné des résultats probants. Le candidat doit aussi avoir au moins trois ans d’expérience dans la mise en œuvre d’un ou de plusieurs projets de développement international dans un pays d’Amérique latine hispanophone, puisque la langue de travail au Honduras est l’espagnol. Le budget d’au moins un des projets réalisés par le candidat doit avoir été de trois millions de dollars (3 000 000 $) ou plus.

Seules les organisations remplissant tous les critères d’admissibilité énumérés dans le formulaire peuvent être considérées comme organisation principale d’un consortium ou comme un candidat individuel aux termes du présent appel de propositions. Les organisations qui ne répondent pas aux critères d’admissibilité peuvent former un consortium avec une organisation répondant à tous les critères d’admissibilité. Un consortium n’est pas tenu de former une entité juridique distincte pour soumettre une demande dans le cadre de cet appel.

Le MAECD n’examinera et n’évaluera que les propositions dûment remplies. Les propositions qui ne remplissent pas l’ensemble des exigences risquent d’être rejetées.

Évaluation des demandes

Le MAECD évaluera toutes les propositions dûment remplies sur une base comparative en fonction de neuf grands critères d’évaluation, expliqués en détail sur le site Web du MAECD :

  1. Bien-fondé de l’initiative
  2. Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques
  3. Plan de l’initiative
  4. Viabilité de l’environnement
  5. Égalité entre les sexes
  6. Gouvernance
  7. Viabilité des résultats
  8. Information financière
  9. Capacité de l’organisation par rapport à l’initiative

Le MAECD évaluera également les propositions en fonction du critère supplémentaire suivant, qui est explicité dans le formulaire :

  1.  Conformité à l'Alliance pour le corridor sec

Processus de demande 

  1. Veuillez lire attentivement le formulaire de demande avec lignes directrices (PDF, 461 Ko, 25 pages) relatif à l’appel de propositions.
  2. Remplissez le formulaire de demande et joignez les documents obligatoires mentionnés dans la section « Conditions d’admissibilité » du formulaire de demande. Le MAECD n’acceptera aucun formulaire ou document connexe envoyé par la poste, par service de messagerie ou par télécopieur. Les documents qui ne sont pas en format électronique doivent être préalablement numérisés.
  3. Envoyez votre proposition au plus tard le 15 juillet 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l’Est (UTC-4) à : appeldepropositions.honduras@international.gc.ca. Les demandes soumises après la date d’échéance ne seront pas acceptées.

Une fois votre demande transmise, vous recevrez automatiquement un courriel confirmant que votre demande a été soumise. Dans le cas contraire, votre demande ne sera pas considérée comme reçue.

Processus d’examen

Le MAECD procédera à une analyse initiale fondée sur le mérite en tenant compte des critères d’évaluation 1 (Bien-fondé de l’initiative), 2 (Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques) et 9 (Capacité de l’organisation par rapport à l’initiative). À la fin de cette étape, les propositions jugées inacceptables ne feront pas l’objet d’une évaluation plus poussée.

Les propositions jugées acceptables seront examinées en tenant compte de tous les critères d’évaluation. Parmi les propositions qui auront satisfait à tous les critères d'évaluation, le MAECD déterminera quelles propositions ou quel groupe de propositions s’alignent le mieux sur ses priorités et complètent les autres projets en cours dans le corridor sec du Honduras. Les contributions de l’organisation au projet et à la visibilité du gouvernement du Canada pourraient être prises en considération comme des atouts à cette étape.

Afin d’assurer la transparence et l’impartialité du processus, le MAECD ne discutera pas des demandes tant que toutes les organisations n’auront pas été avisées de la décision prise au sujet de leur demande. Toutefois, les organisations peuvent soumettre leurs questions sur le processus de demande par courriel à appeldepropositions.honduras@international.gc.ca. Les organisations doivent respecter la date limite pour soumettre leurs questions, soit le 25 juin 2015. Le MAECD ne répondra à aucune question reçue après cette date.

Le MAECD accusera réception des questions dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables et affichera toutes les questions pertinentes et les réponses concernant l’appel sur son site Internet. L’information publiée dans la section Développement du site Web du MAECD, y compris dans la foire aux questions, constitue la seule interprétation officielle du processus de demande.

Les organisations seront informées des résultats une fois qu’une décision aura été prise. Un agent communiquera avec les demandeurs dont la proposition aura été retenue afin de discuter des détails liés à l’accord de financement. Par ailleurs, le MAECD enverra une lettre à toutes les organisations dont la proposition n’aura pas été retenue, afin de les informer de la décision.

Documentation pour les demandeurs

Logiciel requis pour remplir les formulaires en ligne

Pour télécharger, visualiser et remplir les formulaires, vous aurez besoin de la version 9.1 ou d’une version plus récente du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader.