Women's Economic Empowerment in Jordan Call for Proposals

This call is closed. The deadline for submissions was October 21, 2015.

Note

If you are experiencing problems opening an application form, right click on the link, save it on your computer and open it from there.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is launching a call for proposals for Women's Economic Empowerment in Jordan. This call is valued at up to fifteen million Canadian dollars (C$15,000,000). DFATD intends to contribute funding ranging from a minimum of three million Canadian dollars (C$3,000,000) to a maximum of ten million Canadian dollars (C$10,000,000) toward projects to be implemented over a period of up to five years. Organizations must have the ability to work in English.

DFATD may decide to fund any number or none of the proposals submitted for consideration.

The deadline for submissions was October 21, 2015, at 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4). Proposals received after the deadline will not be accepted.

Objectives

The call for proposals is designed to support private sector economic growth by increasing women's entrepreneurship and participation in the work force in Jordan.

Projects funded under this call for proposals must align with the following ultimate outcome:

  • Increased women's empowerment for sustainable economic growth

The projects must also contribute to the achievement of at least one of the three intermediate outcomes:

  • Increased productivity and job opportunities generated by women entrepreneurs
  • Increased employment of women by businesses
  • Reduced gender-specific barriers to women's entrepreneurship and to women entering into and remaining in the work force

The projects should focus on factors that help women advance in the marketplace and generate increased economic activity. This includes increasing skills and access to financial and non-financial services, improving the institutional environment, and assisting women in their ability to make and act upon decisions in order to benefit from economic growth. Proposed projects should recognize that economic empowerment is intertwined with social and political empowerment, and take into account the underlying social and cultural factors that limit women's ability to interact with and benefit from markets, such as unpaid and inequitably distributed domestic and family-related responsibilities, limited mobility, limited control over assets, the disproportionate effect of corruption on women and the prevalence of sexual and gender-based violence in the public sphere. Proposed projects should suggest ways to challenge the existing gender-based division of labour.

Eligibility

The call for proposals is open to Canadian, international, multilateral and local organizations working in Jordan that:

  • for Canadian organizations, are legally incorporated, or otherwise constituted under the provincial, territorial or federal laws of Canada;
  • for non-Canadian organizations, are legally incorporated (multilateral organizations) in Jordan or registered entities—companies, non-government organizations (NGOs) or international NGOs—with a license to work in Jordan; and
  • have at least five years of organizational experience in managing and delivering initiatives related to international development.

Non-registered/inexperienced entities will not be considered. If you do not meet the minimum eligibility criteria, but are interested in this call, please consider the option of forming a consortium with an organization that meets all eligibility criteria. It is not necessary for a consortium to form a separate legal entity for the purpose of applying to the Women's Economic Empowerment in Jordan call for proposals.

For more information, please download the application form.

Proposal assessment

DFATD will review and assess only complete proposals. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria or to provide all requested information (as identified on the application form) will result in rejection of the proposal.

DFATD will assess all complete proposals on a comparative basis against nine Assessment Criteria:

  1. Rationale for the initiative
  2. Managing for results and responding to risks
  3. Initiative plan
  4. Environmental sustainability
  5. Gender equality
  6. Governance
  7. Sustainability of results
  8. Financial information
  9. Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

DFATD will also assess applications against two additional criteria, which are explained further in the application form:

  1. Engaging Canadian organizations
  2. Engaging the private sector

Application process

Note: DFATD will only accept complete proposals by email at correspondence.jordancall@international.gc.ca, not by mail or fax.

  1. Submit your proposal by the date and time of the deadline.
  2. Please read the Application Form with guidelines thoroughly. If you experience issues downloading the application form, please visit the Help section.
  3. Submit the mandatory organization and proposal documents, as listed in the supporting documentation section of the application form, including the completed application form. Incomplete proposals will be automatically rejected. Supporting documentation that is not available in an electronic format must be scanned and submitted electronically.

After submission, you will receive an email confirming that your proposal has been submitted. If you have not received a confirmation email, your proposal is not considered as received.

Proposals received after the deadline will not be accepted.

Application process questions

Applicants may submit questions about the application process by email to correspondence.jordancall@international.gc.ca. Organizations must submit questions by the enquiry closing date: October 7, 2015, 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4). DFATD will not answer enquiries received after that date.

DFATD will acknowledge the receipt of questions within one business day and will post all pertinent questions and answers about the call for proposals on its public website. Information posted in DFATD's calls for proposals section, the frequently asked questions about applying for funding page, and the frequently asked questions concerning this call for proposals page, represents the only official interpretation of the application process.

Supporting DFATD documentation available to applicants

Review process

DFATD will apply an initial merit screening against the following assessment criteria only: (1) Rationale for the initiative, (2) Managing for results and responding to risks, (5) Gender Equality, and (9) Organizational capacity relevant to the initiative. Proposals deemed unacceptable or weak will not proceed for further review.

To ensure transparency and fairness to all applicants, DFATD will not discuss proposals with applicants until all organizations have been notified of decisions regarding their proposals.

Applicants will be advised of the results once a decision has been made. A DFATD officer will then contact successful applicants to discuss contract details. DFATD will also send a letter to all unsuccessful candidates to inform them of the decision.

Software for using online forms

To download, view, and complete forms, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader version 9.1 or later.

Appel de propositions pour l'autonomisation économique des femmes en Jordanie

Cet appel est terminé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 21 octobre 2015.

Note

Si vous avez de la difficulté à accéder au formulaire de demande, enregistrez-le sur votre ordinateur en cliquant sur le bouton droit de la souris et ouvrez-le ensuite.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) lance un appel de propositions pour l'autonomisation économique des femmes en Jordanie. Jusqu'à 15 millions de dollars canadiens (15 000 000 $ CA) seront versés dans le cadre de cet appel. Le MAECD entend verser un minimum de 3 millions de dollars canadiens (3 000 000 $ CA) et un maximum de 10 millions de dollars canadiens (10 000 000 $ CA) aux projets retenus, lesquels devront être réalisés sur une période d'au plus cinq ans. Les organisations doivent être capables de travailler en anglais.

Le MAECD pourrait décider de financer plusieurs des propositions soumises, ou n'en financer aucune.

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 21 octobre, 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4). Les propositions reçues après cette date ne seront pas acceptées.

Objectifs

L'appel de propositions vise à soutenir la croissance économique du secteur privé en accroissant l'entrepreneuriat et la participation des femmes au marché du travail en Jordanie.

Les projets financés dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions doivent être en conformité avec l'objectif ultime suivant :

  • Accroissement de l'autonomisation des femmes pour favoriser la croissance économique durable

Les projets doivent également contribuer à l'atteinte d'au moins un des trois objectifs intermédiaires suivants :

  • Hausse de la productivité et du nombre de possibilités d'emploi générées par les entrepreneures
  • Augmentation du nombre de femmes employées par les entreprises
  • Réduction des obstacles sexospécifiques qui entravent l'entrepreneuriat des femmes et les empêchent d'intégrer le marché du travail et d'y demeurer

Les projets devraient se concentrer sur des facteurs qui aident les femmes à avancer sur le marché du travail et qui favorisent une activité économique accrue. Ils devraient notamment permettre d'améliorer leurs habiletés et l'accès aux services financiers et non financiers, d'améliorer l'environnement institutionnel et d'aider les femmes à prendre des décisions et à les appliquer afin de tirer profit de la croissance économique. Les projets proposés devraient reconnaître que l'autonomisation économique est indissociable de l'autonomisation sociale et politique, et prendre en considération les facteurs sociaux et culturels sous-jacents qui limitent la capacité des femmes à interagir avec les marchés et à en tirer profit. Parmi ces facteurs limitatifs, on compte les tâches ménagères et les responsabilités familiales non rémunérées et inéquitablement réparties, la mobilité réduite, le contrôle restreint des actifs, l'effet disproportionné de la corruption sur les femmes et la prévalence de la violence sexuelle et sexiste dans la sphère publique. Les projets proposés devraient suggérer des façons de remettre en question la division du travail fondée sur le sexe.

Admissibilité

Cet appel de propositions est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes, multilatérales, internationales et aux organisations locales travaillant en Jordanie qui :

  • dans le cas d'organisations canadiennes, doivent être légalement incorporées ou autrement constituées en vertu d'une loi provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale du Canada;
  • dans le cas d'organisations non canadiennes, doivent être légalement constituées (organisations multilatérales) en Jordanie ou être des entités enregistrées – entreprises, organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) ou ONG internationales – et avoir un permis de travail en Jordanie;
  • doivent avoir au moins cinq ans d'expérience dans la gestion et la mise en œuvre d'initiatives de développement international.

Les entités non enregistrées ou sans expérience ne seront pas considérées. Si votre organisation ne répond pas aux critères d'admissibilité, mais que vous souhaitez participer au présent appel, veuillez envisager de former un consortium avec une organisation qui répond à tous les critères d'admissibilité. Les consortiums n'ont pas à être constitués en entité distincte pour présenter une demande dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions sur l'autonomisation économique des femmes en Jordanie.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez télécharger le formulaire de demande.

Évaluation de la proposition

Le MAECD examinera et évaluera uniquement les propositions dûment remplies. Si les conditions d'admissibilité ne sont pas respectées, ou s'il manque des renseignements (tels qu'ils figurent sur le formulaire de demande), la proposition sera rejetée.

Le MAECD examinera toutes les propositions dûment remplies sur une base comparative en fonction de neuf critères d'évaluation :

  1. Bien-fondé de l'initiative
  2. Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques
  3. Plan de l'initiative
  4. Viabilité de l'environnement
  5. Égalité entre les sexes
  6. Gouvernance
  7. Viabilité des résultats
  8. Information financière
  9. Capacité de l'organisation par rapport à l'initiative

Le MAECD évaluera également les demandes par rapport à deux critères supplémentaires, qui sont expliqués plus en détail dans le formulaire de demande :

  1. Encourager la participation d'organisations canadiennes
  2. Encourager la participation du secteur privé

Processus de présentation d'une demande

Remarque : Le MAECD n'acceptera que les propositions dûment remplies envoyées par courriel à correspondance.appeljordanie@international.gc.ca, et non par la poste ou par télécopieur.

  1. Veuillez présenter votre demande de proposition avant la date et l'heure limite.
  2. Veuillez lire attentivement le formulaire de demande et les lignes directrices (AJOUTER LE LIEN ICI). Si vous avez de la difficulté à télécharger le formulaire de demande, consultez la section Aide.
  3. Envoyez le formulaire de demande dûment rempli et les documents obligatoires au sujet de l'organisation et de la proposition tels qu'ils sont mentionnés dans la section sur la documentation à l'appui. Les propositions incomplètes seront automatiquement rejetées. Les documents qui ne sont pas en format électronique doivent être numérisés puis envoyés par courriel.

Après avoir soumis votre proposition, vous recevrez un courriel confirmant qu'elle a été reçue. Si vous ne recevez pas de courriel de confirmation, votre proposition n'est pas considérée comme ayant été reçue.

Les propositions reçues après la date limite ne seront pas acceptées.

Questions au sujet du processus de présentation d'une demande

Les demandeurs peuvent transmettre leurs questions au sujet du processus de présentation d'une demande par courriel, à l'adresse correspondance.appeljordanie@international.gc.ca. Les organisations doivent soumettre leurs questions avant la date limite, à savoir le 7 octobre, 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4). Le MAECD ne répondra pas aux questions reçues après cette date.

Le MAECD accusera réception des questions dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable et affichera dans son site Web toutes les questions et les réponses pertinentes concernant l'appel de propositions. Les renseignements publiés dans la section Appels de propositions, la page Foire aux questions sur la présentation d'une demande de financement et la page Foire aux questions pour cet appel de propositions, représentent la seule interprétation officielle du processus de demande.

Documentation à l'appui du MAECD que les demandeurs peuvent consulter

Processus d'examen

Le MAECD fera une première évaluation du mérite des propositions reçues uniquement en fonction des critères d'évaluation suivants : 1) bien-fondé de l'initiative; 2) gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques; 5) égalité entre les sexes; 9) capacité de l'organisation par rapport à l'initiative. Les propositions jugées inacceptables ou faibles ne feront pas l'objet d'un examen plus approfondi.

Afin d'assurer la transparence et l'impartialité du processus pour tous les demandeurs, le MAECD ne discutera pas des propositions avec les demandeurs tant que toutes les organisations n'auront pas été avisées de la décision prise au sujet de leur proposition.

Les organisations seront informées des résultats une fois qu'une décision aura été prise. Par la suite, un agent du MAECD communiquera avec les organisations dont la proposition aura été retenue afin de discuter des détails du contrat. Le MAECD enverra également une lettre à toutes les organisations non retenues pour les informer de sa décision.

Logiciel requis pour les formulaires en ligne

Pour télécharger, visualiser et remplir les formulaires, vous aurez besoin de la version 9.1 ou de toute autre version plus récente d'Adobe Acrobat Reader.