Call for proposals – From Farms to Markets in South Sudan

This call is closed. The deadline for submissions was August 14, 2015, at 3 p.m., Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4).

Note

If you are experiencing problems opening an application form, right click on the link, save it on your computer and open it from there.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is launching a call for proposals for food security initiatives in South Sudan. The total amount of funding available under this call is up to forty million dollars ($40,000,000). All figures in this document are in Canadian dollars.

Based on the availability of funds, DFATD will fund projects valued at between six million dollars ($6,000,000) and eight million dollars ($8,000,000), which will be implemented over a period of up to three years, not including an additional three-month project close-out period.

DFATD may decide to fund any number or none of the proposals submitted for consideration.

The deadline for proposal submissions is August 14, 2015, at 3 p.m., Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4).

Objective

This call for proposals is designed to fund projects in South Sudan that will boost food production and support the market participation of smallholder farmers in order to protect livelihoods.

Results

Projects funded under this call for proposals must contribute to the achievement of the following ultimate outcome:

  • Ultimate outcome: Improved food security for rural populations in targeted geographic areas.

Projects must also contribute to the achievement of both of the following intermediate outcomes:

  • Intermediate outcome 1: Increased sustainable agricultural production of year-round diversified crops and fisheries, particularly by women, in targeted geographic areas; and
  • Intermediate outcome 2: Increased participation of smallholder farmers and fisherfolk in economic activities, particularly by women, in targeted geographic areas.Footnote 1

"Food production" includes staple crops, root crops, legumes, fruits, vegetables as well as fish, to allow farmers to continue food production even outside regular cropping seasons with the intent of moving beyond subsistence agriculture.

"Economic activities" includes activities that support market participation around targeted crops such as value addition activities (e.g. drying, processing, packaging, etc.), improving linkages between buyers and sellers, and training on business skills or literacy and/or numeracy.

Eligibility

This call for proposals is open to Canadian, international and local organizations, including private sector organizations, that are legally incorporated or otherwise constituted under the law. It excludes multilateral institutions. Organizations must also meet the eligibility requirements listed on the application form.

DFATD will review proposals requesting between six million dollars ($6,000,000) and eight million dollars ($8,000,000) for projects with an overall duration of up to thirty-nine (39) months (based on up to three years of project implementation and an additional three months for project close-out).

Organizations must have at least three years' experience in managing, delivering and achieving proven results for food security initiatives in South Sudan.

Proposed projects should be located in one or more of the following locations: Eastern Equatoria State, Warrap State, Western Bahr el Ghazal State and/or Northern Bahr el Ghazal State.

Only organizations that meet all of the eligibility requirements listed on the application form may be considered an individual applicant or a consortium lead under this call for proposals. Organizations that do not meet the minimum eligibility requirements may form a consortium with another organization that does meet all of the eligibility requirements. However, each member of the consortium will be required to show proof of legal status. It is not necessary for a consortium to form a separate legal entity for the purpose of applying to this call.

DFATD will only review and assess duly completed proposals. Failure to meet all of the eligibility requirements may result in the rejection of the proposal.

Proposal assessment

DFATD will assess all of the proposals on a comparative basis against the nine main assessment criteria shown below. Please note that given the context in South Sudan, all programming must take a conflict-sensitive approach to achieving outcomes. While conflict sensitivity is not a stand-alone assessment criterion for this call for proposals, it will be considered as part of your integrated response to the nine assessment criteria. At a minimum for this call for proposals, conflict sensitivity requires a "do no harm" approach to ensure that interventions do not create or exacerbate conflict.

  1. Rationale for the initiative
  2. Managing for results and responding to risks
  3. Initiative plan
  4. Environmental sustainability
  5. Gender equality
  6. Governance
  7. Sustainability of results
  8. Financial information
  9. Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

Application process

  1. Please read the call for proposals application form carefully.
  2. Complete the application form and attach the mandatory documents listed in the "Eligibility Requirements" section of the application form. DFATD will not accept forms or supporting documentation sent by regular mail, courier or fax. Supporting documentation that is not available in an electronic format must be scanned.
  3. Submit your proposal by August 14, 2015, at 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4) to SouthSudanCFP.SoudanduSudADP@international.gc.ca. Proposals received after this deadline will not be accepted.

After submission, you will receive an email confirming that your application has been submitted. If you do not receive a confirmation email, your application will not be considered as received.

Review process

DFATD will apply an initial merit screening against assessment criteria 1 (Rationale for the initiative), 2 (Managing for results and responding to risks), 5 (Gender equality) and 9 (Organizational ability relevant to the initiative). First consideration will be given to applications that clearly show plans to hire and integrate the services of a full-time gender equality advisor in the gender equality section of the application form. Proposals deemed unacceptable or weak will not proceed for further review.

Proposals that are deemed acceptable will be reviewed based on all of the assessment criteria. From the proposals that meet all of the assessment criteria, DFATD will determine which proposals or group of proposals best align with its priorities. Consideration at this stage could be given to the use of Canadian expertise, the organization’s contribution to the project (cash and/or in-kind), the amount of specific activities supporting increased decision making for women and the engagement of youth. Proposals that are led by a Canadian organization or have a partnership with a Canadian organization will be given preference.

To ensure that the process is transparent and fair, DFATD will not discuss applications until all organizations have been notified of decisions with regard to their applications. However, organizations can email questions concerning the application process to SouthSudanCFP.SoudanduSudADP@international.gc.ca. The deadline for submitting questions is July 31, 2015, 3 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4). DFATD will not answer enquiries received after that date.

DFATD will acknowledge receipt of questions within five (5) business days and will post all questions and answers concerning the guidelines on its website. Information posted on the Development section of DFATD’s website, including the "Frequently asked questions about applying for funding" and the "Frequently asked questions concerning this call for proposals", represents the only official interpretation of the application process.

Organizations will be informed of the results once a decision has been made. An officer will then contact the successful applicants to discuss the details of the funding agreement. DFATD will also send a letter to all unsuccessful candidates to inform them of the decision.

Supporting DFATD documentation available to applicants

Software required for completing online forms

To download, view and complete the forms, you will need version 9.1, or later, of Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Under this call for proposals, funding will not be provided to support any microfinance or revolving-fund activities.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Appel de propositions – De la ferme au marché au Soudan du Sud

Cet appel est terminé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 14 août 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4).

Note

Si vous avez de la difficulté à accéder au formulaire de demande, enregistrez-le sur votre ordinateur en cliquant sur le bouton droit de la souris et ouvrez-le ensuite.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) lance un appel de propositions pour des initiatives axées sur la sécurité alimentaire au Soudan du Sud. Le montant total des fonds accordés pour cet appel s'élève à près de quarante millions de dollars (40 000 000 $). Tous les chiffres fournis dans ce document sont exprimés en dollars canadiens.

En se basant sur la disponibilité des fonds, le MAECD financera les projets évalués à entre six millions de dollars (6 000 000 $) et huit millions de dollars (8 000 000 $), et ces projets seront mis en œuvre au cours d'une période de près de trois ans, excluant une période additionnelle de trois mois pour la clôture du projet.

Le MAECD peut décider de financer n'importe quel nombre de propositions ou de n'en financer aucune.

La date limite pour la soumission des propositions est le 14 août 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4).

Objectif

Cet appel de propositions vise à financer des projets qui permettront d'accroître la production alimentaire au Soudan du Sud et de soutenir la participation au marché des petits exploitants agricoles afin de protéger leurs moyens de subsistance.

Résultats

Les projets financés à la suite de cet appel de propositions doivent contribuer à l'atteinte du résultat ultime suivant :

  • Résultat ultime : Sécurité alimentaire améliorée pour les populations rurales des régions ciblées.

Les projets doivent également contribuer à la concrétisation des deux résultats intermédiaires suivants :

  • Résultat intermédiaire 1 : Production agricole durable accrue de cultures diversifiées et de pêches durant toute l'année, surtout celles réalisées par les femmes, dans des régions ciblées.
  • Résultat intermédiaire 2 : Participation accrue des petits exploitants agricoles et des pêcheurs aux activités économiques, surtout celles menées par les femmes, dans des régions cibléesFootnote 1

La production alimentaire comprend les cultures vivrières, celles de plantes racines, de légumineuses, de fruits et de légumes, ainsi que les poissons. Les exploitants agricoles peuvent ainsi poursuivre la production en dehors des saisons des récoltes régulières afin d'aller au-delà de l'agriculture de subsistance.

Les activités économiques comprennent celles qui soutiennent la participation au marché pour les cultures ciblées, comme des activités qui ajoutent de la valeur (p. ex. séchage, transformation et emballage). Ces activités permettent d'améliorer les liens entre les acheteurs et les vendeurs, en plus de leur offrir une formation sur les compétences en affaires, en littératie et en numératie.

Admissibilité

Cet appel de propositions est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes, internationales et locales, y compris les organisations du secteur privé, qui sont dûment constituées en société ou autrement constituées en vertu de la loi. Les institutions multilatérales sont exclues. Les organisations admissibles doivent également satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité énumérés dans le formulaire.

Le MAECD examinera les propositions dont les projets nécessitent un financement entre six millions de dollars (6 000 000 $) et huit millions de dollars (8 000 000 $) pour une durée totale de jusqu'à trente-neuf (39) mois (en fonction d'une période de trois ans pour la mise en œuvre du projet et d'une période additionnelle de trois mois pour la clôture du projet).

Les organisations doivent détenir une expérience d'au moins trois ans de la gestion et de l'exécution d'initiatives axées sur la sécurité alimentaire au Soudan du Sud, et ces initiatives doivent s'accompagner de résultats probants.

Les projets proposés devraient être situés dans un ou plusieurs des emplacements suivants : l'État de l'Équatoria oriental, l'État du Warrap, l'État du Bahr el-Ghazal occidental ou l'État du Bahr el-Ghazal septentrional.

Seules les organisations remplissant tous les critères d'admissibilité énumérés dans le formulaire peuvent être considérées comme organisation principale d'un consortium ou comme un candidat individuel aux termes du présent appel de propositions. Les organisations qui ne répondent pas aux critères d'admissibilité peuvent former un consortium avec une organisation répondant à tous les critères d'admissibilité. Une preuve de statut juridique sera néanmoins requise pour chaque membre du consortium. Un consortium n'est pas tenu de former une entité juridique distincte pour soumettre une demande dans le cadre de cet appel.

Le MAECD n'examinera et n'évaluera que les propositions dûment remplies. Les propositions qui ne remplissent pas l'ensemble des exigences risquent d'être rejetées.

Évaluation des demandes

Le MAECD évaluera toutes les propositions dûment remplies sur une base comparative en fonction des neuf grands critères d'évaluation ci-dessous. Veuillez noter qu'en raison du contexte au Soudan du Sud, tous les programmes doivent suivre une approche d'adaptation au conflit pour atteindre des résultats. Bien que l'adaptation au conflit ne soit pas un critère d'évaluation unique pour cet appel de propositions, elle sera considérée comme faisant partie intégrante de votre réponse aux neuf critères d'évaluation. Pour cet appel de propositions, l'adaptation au conflit exige au moins une approche ne causant aucun préjudice afin de veiller à ce que les interventions n'exacerbent pas le conflit ou n'en créent aucun.

  1. Bien-fondé de l'initiative
  2. Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques
  3. Plan de l'initiative
  4. Viabilité de l'environnement
  5. Égalité entre les sexes
  6. Gouvernance
  7. Viabilité des résultats
  8. Information financière
  9. Capacité de l'organisation par rapport à l'initiative

Processus de demande 

  1. Veuillez lire attentivement le formulaire de demande avec lignes directrices relatif à l'appel de propositions.
  2. Remplissez le formulaire de demande et joignez les documents obligatoires mentionnés dans la section « Conditions d'admissibilité » du formulaire de demande. Le MAECD n'acceptera aucun formulaire ou document connexe envoyé par la poste, par service de messagerie ou par télécopieur. Les documents qui ne sont pas en format électronique doivent être préalablement numérisés.
  3. Envoyez votre proposition au plus tard le 14 août 2015, à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC‑4) à : SouthSudanCFP.SoudanduSudADP@international.gc.ca. Les demandes soumises après la date d'échéance ne seront pas acceptées.

Une fois votre demande transmise, vous recevrez automatiquement un courriel confirmant que votre demande a été soumise. Dans le cas contraire, votre demande ne sera pas considérée comme reçue.

Processus d'examen

Le MAECD procédera à une analyse initiale fondée sur le mérite en tenant compte des critères d'évaluation 1 (Bien-fondé de l'initiative), 2 (Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques), 5 (Égalité entre les sexes) et 9 (Capacité de l'organisation par rapport à l'initiative). Il examinera d'abord les demandes dans lesquelles l'organisation démontre clairement son intention d'embaucher et d'intégrer les services d'une conseillère en égalité entre les sexes à temps plein, dans la section sur l'égalité entre les sexes du formulaire de demande. À la fin de cette étape, les propositions jugées inacceptables ne feront pas l'objet d'une évaluation plus poussée.

Les propositions jugées acceptables seront examinées en tenant compte de tous les critères d'évaluation. Parmi les propositions qui auront satisfait à tous les critères d'évaluation, le MAECD déterminera quelles propositions ou quel groupe de propositions s'harmonisent le mieux avec les priorités au Soudan du Sud. À ce stade, on pourrait considérer l'utilisation des compétences canadiennes, la contribution de l'organisation au projet (en espèces ou en nature), le nombre d'activités particulières favorisant un pouvoir de décision accru pour les femmes et l'engagement des jeunes. Les propositions menées par des organisations canadiennes ou celles dont le demandeur a établi un partenariat avec une organisation canadienne auront priorité.

Afin d'assurer la transparence et l'impartialité du processus, le MAECD ne discutera pas des demandes tant que toutes les organisations n'auront pas été avisées de la décision prise au sujet de leur demande. Toutefois, les organisations peuvent soumettre leurs questions sur le processus de demande par courriel à SouthSudanCFP.SoudanduSudADP@international.gc.ca. Les organisations doivent respecter la date limite pour soumettre leurs questions, soit le 31 juillet 2015 à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est (UTC-4). Le MAECD ne répondra à aucune question reçue après cette date.

Le MAECD accusera réception des questions dans un délai de cinq (5) jours ouvrables et affichera toutes les questions et les réponses concernant les lignes directrices sur son site Internet. L'information publiée dans la section Développement du site internet du MAECD, y compris la « Foire aux questions sur la présentation d'une demande de financement » et la « Foire aux questions pour cet appel de propositions », constitue la seule interprétation officielle du processus de demande.

Les organisations seront informées des résultats une fois qu'une décision aura été prise. Un agent communiquera avec les demandeurs dont la proposition aura été retenue afin de discuter des détails liés à l'accord de financement. Par ailleurs, le MAECD enverra une lettre à toutes les organisations dont la proposition n'aura pas été retenue, afin de les informer de la décision.

Documentation pour les demandeurs

Logiciel requis pour remplir les formulaires en ligne

Pour télécharger, visualiser et remplir les formulaires, vous aurez besoin de la version 9.1 ou d'une version plus récente du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Notes

Note 1

Dans le présent appel de propositions, aucun financement ne sera accordé pour une microfinance ou les activités d'un fonds renouvelable.

Return to footnote 1 referrer