Call for Proposals - Support to Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Ukraine


This call is closed. The deadline for submissions was August 14, 2015, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time (UTC-4).

A technical error in the application form has been corrected. You may download the new version or continue using the version previously published.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is launching a call for proposals to support the growth and competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Ukraine.

This call is valued at as much as $30 million over a period of six years (2015–2021) and is open to Canadian organizations or Canadian-led consortia only, which could include partnership with Canadian provinces and/or Ukrainian-Canadian diaspora organizations.

DFATD intends to fund three to five high-quality proposals to support SMEs in Ukraine. DFATD may decide to fund any number, or none, of the proposals submitted for consideration.

Please be aware that new frequently asked questions (FAQs) have been posted. Given this new information, the deadline for proposal submissions has been extended from August 4, 2015, to August 14, 2015, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time (UTC-4).

Objective

The call for proposals is designed to support projects to increase SME growth and competitiveness in Ukraine in a sustainable and cost-effective manner. The call for proposals aims to build on previous DFATD investments for economic development, leverage the influence of existing local organizations, and provide practical and relevant technical assistance and resource support to SMEs.

Proposed projects must be designed to contribute to the achievement of the following ultimate outcome:

  • Ultimate outcome: Improved economic opportunities for Ukrainian women and men in targeted regions.

The projects must also contribute to the achievement of at least one of the two related intermediate outcomes:

  • Intermediate outcome 1: More competitive SMEs led by women and men.
  • Intermediate outcome 2: An improved business-enabling environment for SMEs, including those led by women.

Eligibility

This call for proposals is open to Canadian organizations (including Canadian-led consortia) that:

  • are legally incorporated under the provincial, territorial or federal laws of Canada, and have their main place of business in Canada;
  • meet the minimum eligibility criteria as listed on the application form; and
  • have organizational experience managing and delivering international private sector development programming, preferably in the SME sector and preferably in Ukraine or another transition country in eastern and central Europe.

Preference may be given to projects that propose to work in more than one region of Ukraine, and spanning the eastern/southern and western/central regions. The purpose of this preference is to promote dynamic interactions between businesses and organizations in the more European-oriented western/central regions of Ukraine and the more Russian-oriented eastern/southern regions. A possible engagement with the eastern regions will depend on the security situation.

Application process

  1. Please read the call for proposals Application Form with Guidelines (PDF, 439 KB, 19 pages) carefully.
  2. Create or update your organization profile through Partners@International. If your organization is not registered, the first step is to register your organization’s profile. Applicants should allow at least two business days before obtaining approval for a new registration. Applicants should contact us promptly if they experience any technical difficulties related to the management of their account. That way, the problem can be resolved before the call for proposals closes. If you would like to check whether your organization already has an account, please email us at partenaires-partners@international.gc.ca.
  3. Upload the completed application form and all of the mandatory documents listed in the Eligibility Requirements section of the application form to your organization profile on Partners@International. Documents that are not available in an electronic format must be scanned and uploaded to Partners@International. Please note that DFATD will not accept applications or supporting documentation by mail, email or fax.
  4. Submit your proposal by the deadline.

If the applicant does not press Submit after uploading the application form and supporting documents, the proposal will be deemed a draft and will not be assessed.

Applicants may submit questions about the application process by email to correspondence.ukrainecall@international.gc.ca. Organizations must submit questions by the enquiry closing date of July 14, 2015, 3 p.m. Eastern Time (UTC-5). DFATD will not answer enquiries received after that date.

DFATD will acknowledge the receipt of questions within one business day, and will post all pertinent questions and answers about the call for proposals on its public website. Information posted in DFATD's calls for proposals section, the frequently asked questions about applying for funding page, and the frequently asked questions concerning this call for proposals page, represents the only official interpretation of the application process.

Software for using online forms

To download, view, and complete forms, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader version 9.1 or later. If you have any questions concerning these forms, please read our help page.

Supporting DFATD documentation available to applicants

Proposal assessment

DFATD will review and assess only complete proposals. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria or to provide all requested information (as identified on the application form) will result in the rejection of the proposal.

DFATD will assess all complete proposals on a comparative basis against nine Assessment Criteria:

  1. Rationale for the initiative
  2. Managing for results and responding to risks
  3. Initiative plan
  4. Environmental sustainability
  5. Gender equality
  6. Governance
  7. Sustainability of results
  8. Financial information
  9. Organizational ability relevant to the initiative

Review process

DFATD will apply an initial merit screening against the following assessment criteria only: 1) Rationale for the initiative, 2) Managing for results and responding to risks, and 9) Organizational ability relevant to the initiative. Proposals deemed unacceptable or weak against these assessment criteria will not proceed for further review.

To ensure transparency and fairness to all applicants, DFATD will not discuss proposals with applicants until all organizations have been notified of decisions regarding their proposals. A DFATD officer will then contact successful applicants to discuss contract details. DFATD will also send a letter to all unsuccessful candidates to inform them of the decision.

Appel de propositions - Appui aux petites et moyennes entreprises en Ukraine

Cet appel est terminé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 14 août 2015, 15 h, heure de l’Est (UTC-4).

Un problème technique a été corrigé dans le formulaire de demande. Vous pouvez télécharger la nouvelle version ou continuer d’utiliser la version originale.

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) lance un appel de propositions pour appuyer la croissance et la compétitivité des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) en Ukraine.

Cet appel, qui pourrait représenter une valeur de 30 millions de dollars sur six ans (2015‑2021), est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes ou à des consortiums dirigés par une entité canadienne seulement, ce qui pourrait inclure des partenariats avec des provinces du Canada ou des organismes de la diaspora ukraino-canadienne.

Le MAECD a l'intention de financer de trois à cinq propositions de grande qualité afin d'appuyer les PME en Ukraine. Le MAECD pourrait décider de financer le nombre de propositions qu'il juge à propos ou de n'en financer aucune.

Veuillez prendre note que de nouvelles questions et réponses ont été affichées dans la foire aux questions (FAQ). Compte tenu des nouveaux renseignements contenus dans la FAQ, la date limite pour soumettre une proposition, qui était le 4 août, est reportée au 14 août 2015, 15 h, heure de l’Est (UTC-4).

Objectif

Cet appel de propositions vise à appuyer des projets de promotion de la croissance et de la compétitivité des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) en Ukraine de façon durable et économique. L'objectif est de prendre appui sur les investissements antérieurs réalisés par le MAECD dans le développement économique, de mettre à profit l'influence des organisations locales existantes et d'apporter aux PME une aide et des ressources techniques pratiques et pertinentes.

Les projets proposés doivent contribuer à produire le résultat ultime suivant :

  • Résultat ultime : Amélioration des débouchés économiques pour les femmes et les hommes de l'Ukraine dans des régions ciblées

Les projets doivent également contribuer à l'atteinte d'au moins un des deux objectifs intermédiaires suivants :

  • Objectif intermédiaire 1 : Des PME plus concurrentielles dirigées par des femmes ou  des hommes.
  • Objectif intermédiaire 2 : L'éclosion d'un climat plus propice aux affaires pour les PME, y compris celles qui sont dirigées par des femmes.

Admissibilité

Cet appel de propositions est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes (y compris les consortiums dirigés par des Canadiens) qui :

  • sont dûment constituées en société aux termes des lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédérales du Canada et ont leur lieu d'affaires principal au Canada;
  • satisfont aux critères minimaux d'admissibilité figurant dans le formulaire de demande;
  • ont de l'expérience de la gestion et de la prestation de programmes de développement international du secteur privé, de préférence dans le secteur des PME et de préférence en Ukraine ou dans un autre pays en transition d'Europe centrale ou orientale.

On pourrait accorder la préférence à des projets qui proposent de travailler dans plus d'une région de l'Ukraine et qui touchent les régions de l'Est/du Sud et de l'Ouest/du Centre. Cette préférence vise à promouvoir des échanges dynamiques entre les entreprises et les organisations dans les régions de l'Ouest/du Centre de l'Ukraine qui sont axées davantage sur l'Europe et celles de l'Est/du Sud qui sont tournées davantage vers la Russie. Un engagement dans les régions de l'Est dépendra la situation sur le plan de la sécurité

Processus de demande

  1. Veuillez lire attentivement le formulaire de demande avec lignes directrices (PDF, 459 Ko, 24 pages) relatif à l'appel de propositions.
  2. Créez le profil de votre organisation ou mettez-le à jour au moyen du portail Partenaires@International. Si votre organisation n'est pas inscrite, vous devez d'abord créer son profil. Les demandeurs doivent prévoir au moins deux jours ouvrables pour faire approuver une nouvelle inscription. Ils doivent communiquer avec nous rapidement s'ils ont des difficultés techniques liées à la gestion de leur compte. On pourra ainsi régler le problème avant la fermeture de l'appel de propositions. Pour vérifier si votre organisation a déjà un compte, veuillez nous faire parvenir un message électronique à partenaires-partners@international.gc.ca.
  3. Téléchargez le formulaire de demande dûment rempli et tous les documents obligatoires mentionnés dans la section relative aux conditions d'admissibilité du formulaire de demande dans votre profil d'organisation dans Partenaires@International. Vous devez numériser les documents non disponibles en format électronique et les télécharger sur le site Partenaires@International. Veuillez noter que le MAECD n'acceptera aucune demande ni aucun document connexe transmis par courrier, par courriel ou par télécopieur.
  4. Soumettez votre proposition avant la date butoir.

Si le demandeur n'appuie pas sur Soumettre après avoir téléchargé son formulaire de demande et ses documents justificatifs, la proposition sera considérée comme une ébauche et ne sera pas analysée.

Les demandeurs peuvent soumettre leurs questions au sujet du processus de demande par courriel, à l'adresse correspondence.ukrainecall@international.gc.ca. Les organisations doivent respecter la date butoir pour soumettre une question, qui est fixée au 14 juillet 2015, à 15 h heure de l'Est (TUC‑5). Le MAECD ne répondra pas aux questions reçues après cette échéance.

Le MAECD accusera réception des questions dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable et affichera sur son site Internet toutes les questions et les réponses pertinentes concernant l'appel de propositions. L'information affichée sous Appels de propositions du MAECD, sur la page Foire aux questions sur les demandes de financement et sur la page de la Foire aux questions relatives à cet appel de propositions constitue la seule interprétation officielle du processus de demande.

Logiciel pour utiliser les formulaires en ligne

Pour télécharger, consulter et remplir les formulaires, vous avez besoin de la version 9.1 (ou d'une version plus récente) d'Adobe Acrobat Reader. Si vous avez des questions concernant ces formulaires, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.

Documents d'appui du MAECD à l'intention des candidats

Évaluation de la proposition

Le MAECD examinera et analysera seulement les propositions dûment remplies. Si les critères d'admissibilité ne sont pas respectés ou s'il manque des renseignements (indiqué sur le formulaire de demande), la proposition sera rejetée.

Le MAECD analysera toutes les propositions complètes en fonction de neuf critères d'évaluation :

  1. Bien-fondé de l'initiative
  2. Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques
  3. Plan de l'initiative
  4. Viabilité environnementale
  5. Égalité entre les sexes
  6. Gouvernance
  7. Durabilité des résultats
  8. Information financière
  9. Capacités de l'organisation pertinentes pour l'initiative.

Processus d'examen

Le MAECD procédera à une première évaluation du mérite en fonction des critères d'évaluation suivants seulement : 1) Bien-fondé de l'initiative, 2) Gestion axée sur les résultats et atténuation des risques et 9) Capacités de l'organisation pertinentes pour l'initiative. Les propositions jugées inacceptables ou faibles en fonction de ces critères d'évaluation ne seront pas étudiées plus à fond.

Afin d'assurer la transparence et l'impartialité du processus pour tous les demandeurs, le MAECD ne discutera pas des propositions avec les demandeurs tant que toutes les organisations n'auront pas été prévenues de la décision prise au sujet de leur proposition. Un agent du MAECD communiquera alors avec les demandeurs retenus pour discuter des détails du marché. Par ailleurs, le MAECD enverra une lettre à tous les demandeurs non retenus afin de les informer de la décision.