International Aboriginal Youth Internships (IAYI) initiative

Available internships

Please stay tuned for more details

The International Aboriginal Youth Internships (IAYI) initiative provides opportunities for Aboriginal youth to participate in international internships in developing countries.

In order to qualify, Aboriginal youth must be between the ages of 18 and 35, and possess a secondary school diploma (or equivalent certification) and/or equivalent work experience related to the internship description.

The initiative aims to:

  • provide valuable international work experience for Aboriginal youth;
  • provide opportunities for Aboriginal youth to increase their awareness of and contribution to Canada’s international development efforts, through participation in internships with local partner organizations; and,
  • build the capacity of Aboriginal youth to promote Canada’s international development efforts both in Canada and abroad.

International Aboriginal youth internships consist of a four to six-month period spent in a developing country working on issues such as equality between men and women, the environment, health, education, small business development, and agriculture.

Following the first year of the IAYI initiative, DFATD conducted a lessons learned workshop to identify program results and areas for improvement. Participants included interns, Canadian organizations, field support staff and DFATD employees. The workshop generated a list of best practices for Canadian organizations.

Initiative de Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones (SIJA)

Stages disponibles

Restez à l'affût, de plus amples renseignements suivront

L'initiative des Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones (SIJA) offre aux jeunes Autochtones des occasions de participer à des stages internationaux dans des pays en développement.

Pour être admissible, les jeunes Autochtones doivent être âgés entre 18 et 35 ans, et détenir un diplôme d'études secondaires (ou une certification équivalente) ou posséder une expérience professionnelle équivalente se rapportant à la description du stage en question.

Ce programme vise à :

  • fournir une expérience de travail international significative aux jeunes  Autochtones;
  • donner aux jeunes Autochtones des occasions d'accroître leur sensibilisation aux efforts du Canada en matière de développement international et d'y contribuer en participant à des stages avec des organisations partenaires locales; et,  
  • renforcer la capacité des jeunes Autochtones à promouvoir les efforts du Canada en matière de développement international au Canada et à l'étranger.

Les stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones consistent en une période de quatre à six mois passée dans un pays en développement à travailler sur des questions telles que l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes, l'environnement, la santé, l'éducation, le développement des petites entreprises, et de l'agriculture.

Suite à la première année de l'initiative des SIJA, le MAECD a mené un atelier de leçons apprises afin d'identifier les résultats du programme et les aspects à améliorer. Les participants comprenaient des stagiaires, des organisations canadiennes, des employés des services d'appui sur le terrain et des employés du MAECD. L'atelier a permis de générer une liste de pratiques exemplaires pour les organisations canadiennes.