Canada's Free Trade Agreements in an International Perspective

PDF Version (287 KB)Footnote *

Rick Cameron
January 25, 2010

Summary

Regional and bilateral trade agreements have become prominent features of the multilateral trading system, and Canada is moving forward with its own regional and bilateral negotiating agenda. Canada has so far implemented six free trade agreements (FTAs) involving 10 countries, including those with NAFTA and more recently with EFTA partners. Compared to other advanced economies, Canada is middle-of-the-pack in terms of the number of FTAs, but when measured as a percentage of merchandise trade with FTA partners, Canada is in the top third, given the heavy weight of NAFTA partners in our trade. The integration of emerging economies into world trade has caused the share of trade covered by FTAs to fall for most major economies. However, Canada has experienced among the largest declines in this measure, with the percentage of trade with FTA partners going from 79.6 percent to 70.6 percent between 2000 and 2008. This is due to the decline in the share of the U.S. in our merchandise trade. Canada is also ranked near the bottom of the advanced economies in terms of FTA coverage of its merchandise trade with developing/emerging economies. This points to a need to conclude new FTAs with these economies, as well as with other advanced economies, to reverse the decline in FTA coverage of our trade.

Background

This paper briefly examines Canada's free trade agreements as well as those of the other advanced economies,Footnote 1 along with six select developing economies namely Mexico, Chile, and the BRICs. The analysis includes only those agreements that have been ratified, and excludes preferential trade agreements, or PTAs, that only reduce tariffs for certain products between partner countries.

Number of Partner Countries Covered by Trade Agreements
PartnerTrade AgreementsAdvanced EconomiesDeveloping Economies
Includes 26 (19 advanced) internal EU partner countries.
†† Includes 27 (20 advanced) EU partner countries.
††† Includes 27 (20 advanced) EU partners and 3 internal EFTA partners.
†††† Includes an FTA with Yugoslavia.
Advanced EU702446
Chile††523121
EFTA†††512724
Mexico††442816
Israel362610
Singapore24915
Brazil19118
US17413
Korea1459
Japan12111
Russia11011
Canada1064
India††††918
China835
Australia633
New Zealand624
Taiwan505
Hong Kong101

This paper briefly examines Canada's free trade agreements as well as those of the other advanced economies, along with six select developing economies namely Mexico, Chile, and the BRICs. The analysis includes only those agreements that have been ratified, and excludes preferential trade agreements, or PTAs, that only reduce tariffs for certain products between partner countries.

Those countries who are members of the EU along with those who have an FTA with the EU lead in terms of total number of FTAs. Canada has implemented six FTAs involving 10 countries including those with NAFTA and with EFTA, putting it in the middle-of-the-pack amongst the advanced economies by this measure.

Share of Merchandise Trade Covered by FTAs in 2000 and 2008
Country20002008
Chile88.7%86.7%
Norway82.1%84.7%
Mexico92.9%82.3%
Iceland75.9%77.4%
Switzerland74.1%74.7%
Advanced EU73.1%72.3%
Canada79.6%70.6%
Singapore67.9%66.2%
Israel71.6%63.2%
Hong Kong37.8%45.5%
New Zealand29.1%36.8%
U.S.37.9%34.3%
Australia27.4%22.2%
Brazil23.0%20.2%
Japan16.2%15.3%
China16.1%12.9%
Russia13.3%11.1%
Korea11.6%10.9%
India5.1%6.7%
Taiwan0.2%0.1%

Another way to look at the trade liberalizing performance of a country is to examine the coverage (or share) of trade that is liberalized. "Trade" is restricted to merchandise trade and all trade between FTA partners is counted as "covered" and therefore the analysis provides an approximate benchmark, in view of the fact that FTAs usually have sectoral exemptions. It is clear that the extent to which advanced and developing economies use trade liberalization as part of their trade policy varies considerably - from nearly 90 percent coverage for Chile to less than one percent for Taiwan.

To gain some historical perspective on the evolution of trade with FTA partners, the trade shares with these same partners is included for 2000. Canada has experienced among the largest declines in this measure as the share of trade going to FTA partners in its total merchandise trade fell from 79.6 to 70.6 percent, due to the decline in the share of the U.S. in Canada's trade. Only Mexico saw a larger decline in the share of FTA partners in its trade. However, most of the other countries examined also experienced declines in their shares as well. This does not suggest that FTAs lead to slower growth in trade. Rather, it is indicative of changing trade patterns, and in particular, the increased share in international trade of developing economies, which have fewer FTAs with the advanced economies. Another contributing factor is rising commodity prices and a consequent shift in trade to resource-rich economies that also have fewer FTAs with the advanced economies, such as the oil-rich OPEC member nations.

Change in Share of Merchandise Trade Covered by FTAs between 2000 and 2008
CountryShare Change
Hong Kong7.7%
New Zealand7.6%
Norway2.6%
India1.6%
Iceland1.5%
Switzerland0.6%
Taiwan-0.1%
Korea-0.6%
Advanced EU-0.8%
Japan-0.9%
Singapore-1.7%
Chile-2.0%
Russia-2.3%
Brazil-2.8%
China-3.3%
US-3.5%
Australia-5.2%
Israel-8.4%
Canada-9.0%
Mexico-10.6%

The above analysis looks at how trade has evolved with present day FTA partners. The actual change in FTA coverage has been influenced by the negotiation of new agreements over the period. In Canada's case, trade agreements with NAFTA, Chile, and Israel accounted for 78.5 percent of Canadian trade in 2000. Three new FTAs came into force over the period (with Costa Rica, EFTA, and Peru). This increased the percentage of trade covered by FTAs by 1.8 percentage points. This was offset by a 9.8 percentage point reduction in FTA coverage due to the shift in trade away from FTA partners, more than fully accounted for by a 10.8 percentage point shift away from the United States. This points to a need for Canada to strike new FTAs to help offset the declining trend in trade with the U.S.

While Canada compares reasonably well with the other advanced countries in terms of FTA coverage for our total trade, Canada ranks near the bottom of the advanced economies in terms of FTA coverage of its trade with developing economies (including emerging economies). Only 18.8 percent of our trade with these countries is covered by FTAs, versus 27.9 percent for the U.S., and 35.0 percent for the EU. We do however have a higher FTA coverage for trade with developing economies than Australia, thanks to the significant share of Mexico in our merchandise trade with developing economies.

FTA-covered Merchandise Trade with Developing Economies as a Share of Total Merchandise Trade with Developing Economies in 2000 and 2008
Country20002008
Singapore79.8%77.1%
Hong Kong78.4%72.5%
New Zealand27.5%36.3%
Advanced EU34.9%35.0%
Iceland44.5%34.7%
Norway29.1%34.5%
United States37.9%27.9%
Switzerland27.4%26.7%
Japan36.8%24.8%
Canada25.4%18.8%
Korea22.0%13.0%
Australia11.7%11.8%
Israel9.5%10.5%
Taiwan0.8%0.3%

As with total trade, many of the advanced countries have seen FTA coverage with developing countries fall, as trade with non-FTA partner developing countries has outpaced that of trade with FTA partners in the developing world. In this regard, Canada's FTA coverage with developing economies slipped by 6.6 percentage points over the period, ahead of only Korea (which saw its developing economy coverage fall by 9.0 percentage points), Iceland (down 9.9 percentage points), the United States (down 10.0 percentage points), and Japan (down 12.0 percentage points) in this performance measure. Strong trade performance with Peru and Chile helped in the Canadian performance. Again, new FTAs, particularly with the fast-growing Asian nations, would help bolster Canada's performance on this measure.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The IMF classifies 33 economies as advanced: Canada, the United States, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, the EFTA countries of Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland, the four newly industrialized Asian economies of Hong Kong, Korea, Singapore, and Taiwan, and 20 economies found in the EU, specifically, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. To this list we have added Liechtenstein as an advanced economy.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Les accords de libre-échange du Canada dans une perspective internationale

Version PDF (293 ko)Note de bas de page *

Rick Cameron
25 janvier 2010

Résumé

Les accords commerciaux régionaux et bilatéraux occupent désormais une place prédominante dans le système commercial multilatéral, et le Canada met en œuvre son propre programme de négociations bilatérales et régionales. À l’heure actuelle, le Canada a six accords de libre-échange (ALE) en vigueur avec 10 pays, dont les pays de l’ALENA et, depuis plus récemment, les partenaires de l’AELE. Par rapport aux autres économies avancées, le Canada occupe une position médiane quant au nombre d’ALE conclus, mais il se situe dans le premier tiers pour ce qui est du pourcentage du commerce de marchandises effectué dans le cadre d’ALE, étant donné le poids important qu'occupent ses partenaires de l’ALENA dans ses échanges commerciaux. L’intégration des économies émergentes dans le commerce mondial a toutefois fait reculer la part du commerce effectué dans le cadre d’ALE pour la plupart des grandes économies. Le Canada fait partie des pays qui enregistrent les plus fortes baisses à cet égard; en effet, la proportion des échanges commerciaux qu'il effectue avec ses partenaires d'ALE est passée de 79,6 % en 2000 à 70,6 % en 2008. Ce déclin est imputable à la diminution de la part qu'occupaient les États-Unis dans le commerce de marchandises du Canada. Le Canada est également presque au bas du classement des économies avancées au titre du commerce de marchandises réalisé avec les économies en développement/émergentes dans le cadre d’ALE. Ce résultat montre la nécessité de passer de nouveaux ALE avec ces économies, ainsi qu’avec d'autres économies avancées, afin d'inverser le déclin des échanges commerciaux réalisés dans le cadre d'ALE.

Contexte

Le présent document donne un bref aperçu des ALE du Canada ainsi que de ceux des autres économies avancéesNote de bas de page * et de six économies en développement choisies : le Mexique, le Chili et le BRIC. L'analyse ne porte que sur les accords ratifiés et exclut les accords commerciaux préférentiels, qui prévoient des réductions tarifaires uniquement pour certains produits échangés entre les pays parties.

Nombre de pays partenaires visés par des accords de libre-échange
PartenairesAccords de libre-échangeÉconomies avancésÉconomiesen en développement
Les totaux incluent 26 pays partenaires internes de l'UE (dont 19 sont de pays avancés).
†† Les totaux incluent 27 pays partenaires de l'UE (dont 20 sont des pays avancés).
††† Les totaux incluent 27 pays partenaires de l'UE (dont 20 sont des pays avancés) et 3 partenaires internes de l'AELE.
†††† Les totaux incluent incluent celui avec la Yougoslavie.
UE avancés702446
Chili††523121
AELE†††512724
Mexique††442816
Israël362610
Singapour24915
Brézil19118
Étas-Unis17413
Corée1459
Japon12111
Russie11011
Canada1064
Indie††††918
Chine835
Australie633
Nouvelle-Zélande624
Taiwan505
Hong Kong101

Les pays membres de l’UE et ceux qui ont conclu un ALE avec l’UE sont en tête quant au nombre total d'ALE (tableau 1). Le Canada a mis en œuvre six ALE avec 10 pays, y compris les pays de l’ALENA et les pays de l’AELE, ce qui le place à un rang médian parmi les économies avancées sur ce plan.

Part du commerce de marchandises réalisé dans le cadre d'ALE dans 2000 et 2008
Pays20002008
Chili88,7 %86,7 %
Norvège82,1 %84,7 %
Mexique92,9 %82,3 %
Islande75,9 %77,4 %
Suisse74,1 %74,7 %
Pays avancés UE73,1 %72,3 %
Canada79,6 %70,6 %
Singapour67,9 %66,2 %
Israël71,6 %63,2 %
Hong Kong37,8 %45,5 %
Nouvelle-Zélande29,1 %36,8 %
États-Unis37,9 %34,3 %
Australie27,4 %22,2 %
Brésil23,0 %20,2 %
Japon16,2 %15,3 %
Chine16,1 %12,9 %
Russie13,3 %11,1 %
Corée11,6 %10,9 %
Indie5,1 %6,7 %
Taiwan0,2 %0,1 %

On peut également analyser les résultats de la libéralisation du commerce d’un pays en examinant la part du commerce libéralisé. À cette fin, le « commerce » a été restreint au commerce des marchandises et la totalité des échanges entre partenaires d’ALE a été considérée comme « réalisée » dans le cadre de tels accords, de sorte que l’analyse fournit un point de référence approximatif, puisque les ALE comportent généralement des exceptions sectorielles. Il est évident que les économies avancées et les économies en développement n’utilisent pas toutes dans la même mesure la libéralisation dans le cadre de leur politique commerciale; le chiffre va de presque 90 % du commerce effectué dans le cas du Chili à moins de un pour cent pour Taiwan.

Pour donner une idée de l'évolution du commerce avec des partenaires d'ALE, la part des échanges réalisés avec ces mêmes partenaires en 2000 est également indiquée. Le Canada a enregistré l'un des plus importants déclins sur ce plan, puisque la part qu'occupent ses partenaires d'ALE dans son commerce de total de marchandises est passée de 79,6 % en 2000 à 70,6 % en 2008. Cette baisse est imputable à la diminution de la part qu'occupaient les États-Unis dans ses échanges commerciaux. Le seul pays à avoir enregistré un recul plus important des échanges réalisés avec ses partenaires d'ALE est le Mexique. Toutefois, la plupart des autres pays étudiés ont également connu un déclin de la part des échanges réalisés avec leurs partenaires d'ALE. Ce recul n'autorise cependant pas à penser que les ALE ralentissent la croissance des échanges. Il s'agit plutôt d'une indication de l'évolution de la structure des échanges et, en particulier, de la participation accrue dans le commerce international des économies en développement, qui ont moins d'ALE avec les économies avancées. La hausse des cours des produits de base constitue un autre facteur, car elle a entraîné un déplacement des échanges vers les économies riches en ressources, qui ont également moins d'ALE en vigueur avec les économies avancées, comme les pays riches en pétrole membres de l'OPEP.

Variation de la part du commerce de marchandises réalisé dans le cadre d'ALE entre 2000 et 2008
PaysVariation
Hong Kong7,7 %
Nouvelle-Zélande7,6 %
Norvège2,6 %
Indie1,6 %
Islande1,5 %
Suisse0,6 %
Taiwan-0,1 %
Corée-0,6 %
Pays avancés UE-0,8 %
Japon-0,9 %
Singapour-1,7 %
Chili-2,0 %
Russie-2,3 %
Brésil-2,8 %
Chine-3,3 %
Étas-Unis-3,5 %
Australie-5,2 %
Israël-8,4 %
Canada-9,0 %
Mexique-10,6 %

L'analyse qui précède porte sur l'évolution des échanges commerciaux avec les partenaires d'ALE actuels. Le changement décelé dans la part des échanges effectués dans le cadre d'ALE a été influencé par la négociation de nouveaux accords pendant la période visée. Dans le cas du Canada, 78,5 % de ses échanges commerciaux ont été effectués sous le régime de ses accords commerciaux avec les pays signataires de l'ALENA, le Chili et Israël. Trois nouveaux ALE sont entrés en vigueur pendant la période visée (avec le Costa Rica, l'AELE et le Pérou). Ces accords ont entraîné une hausse de 1,8 points de pourcentage des échanges commerciaux réalisés dans le cadre d'ALE. Cette augmentation a toutefois été contrebalancée par une baisse de 9,8 points de pourcentage de la part des échanges réalisés dans le cadre d'ALE en raison de la diminution du commerce avec les partenaires d'ALE, principalement la baisse de 10,8 points de pourcentage des échanges avec les États-Unis. Ces résultats indiquent que le Canada doit conclure de nouveaux ALE pour compenser la tendance baissière de ses échanges commerciaux avec les États-Unis.

Le Canada se compare plutôt avantageusement aux autres pays avancés pour ce qui est de la part totale des échanges commerciaux réalisés dans le cadre d'ALE; mais il se classe toutefois en queue de peloton en ce qui concerne les échanges commerciaux réalisés avec les économies en développement dans le cadre d'ALE (économies émergentes comprises). Seuls 18,8 % de nos échanges commerciaux avec ces pays sont réalisés dans le cadre d'ALE, contre 27,9 % pour les États-Unis et 35,0 % pour l'UE. Nous nous classons cependant mieux à cet égard que l'Australie, grâce à la part importante qu'occupe le Mexique dans notre commerce de marchandises avec les économies en développement.

Commerce de marchandises réalise dans le cadre d'ALE avec des pays en développement du commerce total de marchandises avec des pays en développement dans 2000 et 2008
Pays20002008
Singapour79,8 %77,1 %
Hong Kong78,4 %72,5 %
Nouvelle-Zélande27,5 %36,3 %
Pays avancés UE34,9 %35,0 %
Islande44,5 %34,7 %
Norvève29,1 %34,5 %
États-Unis37,9 %27,9 %
Suisse27,4 %26,7 %
Japon36,8 %24,8 %
Canada25,4 %18,8 %
Corée22,0 %13,0 %
Australie11,7 %11,8 %
Israël9,5 %10,5 %
Taiwan0,8 %0,3 %

Comme pour le total des échanges, de nombreux pays avancés ont enregistré une baisse de leurs échanges commerciaux avec les pays en développement visés par des ALE, et les échanges avec des pays en développement avec lesquels ils n'ont pas d'ALE ont devancé le commerce avec leurs partenaires d'ALE du monde en développement. À cet égard, les échanges du Canada dans le cadre d'ALE avec des économies en développement ont baissé de 6,6 points de pourcentage durant la période visée, contre des reculs de 9,0 points de pourcentage pour la Corée, de 9,9 points de pourcentage pour l'Islande, de 10,0 points de pourcentage pour les États-Unis et de 12 points de pourcentage pour le Japon. Les solides résultats commerciaux enregistrés avec le Pérou et le Chili ont contribué à la performance commerciale du Canada à ce chapitre. Mais de nouveaux ALE, particulièrement avec les pays asiatiques en croissance rapide, permettraient de stimuler les résultats du Canada à ce chapitre.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Le FMI qualifie 33 économies d’économies avancées : le Canada, les États-Unis, le Japon, l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, Israël, les pays de l’AELE (Islande, Norvège et Suisse), les quatre économies asiatiques industrialisées depuis peu (Hong Kong, Corée, Singapour et Taiwan) et 20 économies de l’UE, à savoir l’Allemagne, l’Autriche, la Belgique, Chypre, la République tchèque, le Danemark, l’Espagne, la Finlande, la France, la Grèce, l’Irlande, l’Italie, le Luxembourg, Malte, les Pays-Bas, le Portugal, la République slovaque, la Slovénie, la Suède et le Royaume-Uni. Nous avons ajouté à cette liste le Liechtenstein.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *