3. Economic Conditions since the Implementation of the CCFTA

3.1 The Macroeconomic Environment

Canada is the tenth largest economy in the world measured in terms of gross domestic product (GDP) in US dollars, and is one of the wealthiest economies with a per capita GDP of C$49,907 (US$50,435) in 2011. From 1997 to 2011, the Canadian economy showed steady growth expanding at an annual rate of 3.5 percent Footnote 5

Canada is a trading nation receptive to foreign goods, services, and ideas. International trade accounted for 62.5 percent of GDP in 2011. Canada has relatively low barriers to cross-border flows of goods, services and capital. Natural-resource commodities, automobiles, and high-tech equipment represent the bulk of Canadian merchandise exports. Exports of resource-related products have been particularly strong in recent years benefiting from high demand from emerging markets and soaring commodity prices. The U.S. is Canada's major trading partner: 73.7 percent of Canadian merchandise exports were shipped to that country in 2011.

The Canadian dollar has appreciated steeply relative to the US dollar since 2003 and has remained near par with the US dollar since 2007 Footnote 6. This appreciation had a significant effect on the structure of Canada's economy and the performance of firms engaged in trade (Baldwin and Yan, 2010).

Table 1:  Key Economic Indicators for Canada, 1996 and 2011

19962011Annual Growth (%)
Population (Million)29.634.41.0
GDP (Current Price, Billion US$)613.81,736.97.2
GDP per Capita (Current Prices, US$)20,756.850,435.56.1
Inflation [CPI] (Annual % change)1.62.9N/A
Current Account Balance (Billion US$)3.4-48.8N/A
Current Account Balance (% of GDP)0.6-2.8N/A

Source: IMF World Economic Outlook Online Database April 2012

Figure 2: Canada and Chile Nominal GDP, 1990-2011, US$ Billion

See the following figure 2 text alternative for description.

Figure 2 Text Alternative
YearCanada GDPChile GDP
1990582.732.8
1991598.237.8
1992579.546.2
1993563.749.5
1994564.557.3
1995590.574.1
1996613.878.7
1997637.585.9
1998616.882.6
1999661.375.4
2000724.978.7
2001715.471.3
2002734.770.0
2003865.976.1
2004992.299.4
20051133.8123.1
20061278.6154.7
20071424.1172.9
20081502.7179.4
20091337.6172.7
20101577.0216.1
20111736.9248.4

Source: IMF World Economic Outlook Online Database April 2012

Chile is the sixth largest economy in Latin America with a GDP of US$248.4 billion in 2011, which was approximately 14 percent of Canada’s GDP for that year. Over the past decade, Chile experienced impressive economic growth as a result of pro-market economic policies and strong export growth benefiting from increased demand for natural resources and high commodity prices. Its real GDP grew by 3.9 percent annually from 1997 to 2011. Per capita GDP surged strongly from US$5,663 to US$14,403 over this 15-year period. In real growth, Chile outperformed other major Latin American economies including Brazil, Mexico and Argentina. Chile experienced an economic downturn in the late 1990s, brought on by the unfavourable global economic conditions spawned by the Asian financial crisis in 1997. The economy remained sluggish until 2003, and it shifted into high gear and started to grow at an annual rate of more than eight percent since then.

 Chile is widely recognized for its liberal and transparent trade and investment regime. Since 1999, it has unilaterally reduced its tariff by one percent annually. By January 1, 2003, the applied tariff was lowered to six percent. Chile's active promotion of free trade agreements during the last decade has boosted its trade performance significantly. Its merchandise trade with the world quadrupled from US$34.8 billion in 1996 to US$156.3 billion in 2011.  Consequently, the relative importance of trade in Chile's GDP increased from 44.2 percent in 1996 to 62.9 percent in 2011. Unlike Canada, Chile boasts a diverse range of trading partners across the western hemisphere, Europe, and Asia.

Chile’s currency depreciated steeply, along with other developing economy currencies in the post-Asian crisis period before stabilizing around 2002. Footnote 7

Table 2: Key Economic Indicators for Chile, 1996 and 2011

19962011Annual Growth (%)
Population (Million)14.417.41.3
GDP (Current Price, Billion US$)78.7248.48.0
GDP per Capita (Current Prices, US$)5,454.814,277.76.6
Inflation [CPI] (Annual % change)7.43.3N/A
Current Account Balance (Billion US$)-3.1-3.2N/A
Current Account Balance (% of GDP)-3.9-1.3N/A

Source: IMF World Economic Outlook Online Database April 2012

As a result of the divergent movements of their respective currencies in the 1997-2002 period, Canada experienced a steep appreciation against the Chilean peso in nominal terms. Subsequently, the two currencies have moved more or less in line with each other in nominal terms.

Figure 3: Canada/Chile Exchange Rate, 1990-2011

See the following figure 3 text alternative for description.

Figure 3 Text Alternative
YearExchange rate
19961.00
19971.00
19981.03
19991.13
20001.20
20011.36
20021.45
20031.63
20041.55
20051.53
20061.55
20071.61
20081.62
20091.62
20101.64
20111.62

3.2 Trade Policy Developments since the CCFTA

Since the signings of the NAFTA and CCFTA, Canada has been working to further improve its economic and commercial performance by securing competitive terms of access to foreign markets, and increasing foreign direct investment in Canada as well as Canadian direct investment around the world.  Since 1997, when both the FTAs with Chile and Israel came into force, Canada has implemented five new free trade agreements with:  Costa Rica, Peru, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), Colombia, and Jordan. With a total of eight preferential trade agreements currently in force, Canada's trade with its preferential trading partners covers 87.6 percent of its total merchandise trade. In addition, Canada continues to pursue an ambitious agenda of free-trade negotiations, both within and outside the hemisphere. In all, 12 negotiations are active including those with the European Union, India, Japan, Korea, as well as the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP).

Since signing its FTA with Canada in 1997, Chile has significantly expanded free trade negotiations with other countries. Bilateral and regional free trade agreements with the following countries and regions have been signed since 1997: Mexico, Central America (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua)Footnote 8, the European Community (an Economic Partnership Agreement), the Republic of Korea, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) (Iceland, Liechtenstein Norway and Switzerland), the U.S., China, India, Panama, Peru, Colombia, Australia, Japan and Turkey, as well as with New Zealand, Singapore and Brunei Darussalam (TPP) (Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement). Chile also has Economic Complementarity Agreements (ECAs) under the Latin American Integration Association (LAIA) with Bolivia, Ecuador Footnote 9, Venezuela and MERCOSUR (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay), as well as a partial-scope agreement with Cuba.

With a total of 22 current agreements in force, Chile has one of the largest numbers of agreements and preferential partners in the world. As a result, the proportion of Chile's trade with its preferential partners covers more than 90 percent of its total merchandise trade.  Owing to the wide coverage of Chile's trade agreements with its trading partners; Canadian exporters essentially do not have extra preferences in the Chilean market. The CCFTA might have provided the Canadian exporters temporary advantages in the earlier days of the implementation of the agreement, but such advantages were quickly offset by subsequent trade agreements signed by Chile with other trading partners.

Table 3:  List of Bilateral/Regional Trade Agreements in Force in Canada and Chile

CanadaYear
North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)1994
Canada-Chile (CCFTA)1997
Canada-Israel1997
Canada-Costa Rica2002
Canada-Peru2009
EFTA-Canada2009
Canada-Colombia2011
Jordan2012
ChileYear
Protocol on Trade Negotiation (PTN)1973
Latin American Integration Association (LAIA)1981
Global System of Trade Preferences among Developing Countries (GSTP)1989
Canada-Chile1997
Chile-Mexico1999
Chile-Costa Rica (Central America)2002
Chile-El Salvador (Central America)2002
EU-Chile2003
EFTA-Chile2004
Korea, Republic of-Chile2004
U.S.-Chile2004
Chile-China2006
Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership2006
Chile-India2007
Chile-Japan2007
Chile-Honduras (Central America)2008
Panama-Chile2008
Australia-Chile2009
Chile-Colombia2009
Peru-Chile2009
Chile-Guatemala (Central America)2010
Turkey-Chile2011

Source: World Trade Organization

Footnotes

Footnote 5

Statistics Canada, National Economic and Financial Accounts.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

International Monetary Fund, Data and Statistics,

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

International Monetary Fund, Data and Statistics.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Bilateral protocols signed by Chile with Costa Rica, El Salvador and Honduras were in force in June 2009, within the framework of the Chile Central America FTA. The bilateral protocol with Guatemala had been signed but was not yet in force; and the bilateral protocol with Nicaragua had not yet been signed.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Chile and Ecuador signed a new ECA (2008), which had not yet entered into force in mid 2009.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

3. Conditions économiques depuis la mise en oeuvre de l'ALECC

3.1 Le contexte macroéconomique

Fort d'un PIB par habitant de 49 907 $CAN (50 435 $US) en 2011, le Canada est la dixième économie en importance au monde sur le plan du produit intérieur brut (PIB) exprimé en dollars américains, et l'une des nations les plus riches du monde. De 1997 à 2011, l'économie canadienne s'est accrue à un rythme constant, suivant un taux de croissance annuel de 3,5 % et ce malgré la crise économique et financière mondiale de 2008-2009.note en bas de page 5

Le Canada est une nation commerçante ouverte aux services, aux idées et aux produits étrangers. Le commerce international a compté pour 62,5 % du PIB en 2011. De plus, le Canada ne pose pas d'obstacles importants à la circulation transfrontalière des marchandises, des services et des capitaux. Les produits à base de ressources naturelles, les automobiles et l'équipement de haute technologie constituent la majorité des exportations de marchandises canadiennes. Les exportations de produits liés aux ressources ont été particulièrement importantes dans les dernières années et ont profité d'une demande élevée des marchés émergents et de la montée en flèche du prix des matières premières. Les États-Unis sont le principal partenaire commercial du Canada : 73,7 % des exportations de marchandises canadiennes ont été expédiées vers ce pays en 2011.

Le dollar canadien a pris beaucoup de valeur par rapport au dollar américain depuis 2003 et se maintient près de la parité avec cette monnaie depuis 2007 Footnote 6. important sur la structure de l'économie canadienne et sur le rendement des entreprises exerçant des activités commerciales (Baldwin et Yan, 2010).

Tableau 1 : Principaux indicateurs économiques pour le Canada, 1996 et 2011

19962011Croissance annuelle (%)
Population (en millions)29.634.41.0
PIB (prix actuel, G$US)613.81,736.97.2
PIB par habitant (prix courants, en $US)20,756.850,435.56.1
Variation annuelle de l'inflation (IPC) en %1.62.9N/A
Balance des paiements courants, en milliards $US3.4-48.8N/A
Balance des paiements courants (en % du PIB)0.6-2.8N/A

Source : Base de données en ligne des Perspectives de l'économie mondiale du FMI, avril 2012

Figure 2 : PIB nominal du Canada et du Chili, 1990-2011, en milliards $US

Voir l'équivalent textuel ci-dessous pour la description de figure.

Équivalent textuel pour figure Figure 2
AnnéePIB du CanadaPIB du Chili
1990582.732.8
1991598.237.8
1992579.546.2
1993563.749.5
1994564.557.3
1995590.574.1
1996613.878.7
1997637.585.9
1998616.882.6
1999661.375.4
2000724.978.7
2001715.471.3
2002734.770.0
2003865.976.1
2004992.299.4
20051133.8123.1
20061278.6154.7
20071424.1172.9
20081502.7179.4
20091337.6172.7
20101577.0216.1
20111736.9248.4

Source : Base de données en ligne des Perspectives de l'économie mondiale du FMI, avril 2012

CLe Chili est la sixième plus grande économie de l'Amérique latine et il affichait un PIB de 248,4 milliards de dollars américains en 2011, ce qui correspond à environ 14 % du PIB du Canada pour cette année. Au cours des dix dernières années, le Chili a connu une croissance économique impressionnante grâce à l'adoption de politiques favorables à l'économie de marché, à une forte croissance des exportations liée à la demande accrue de ressources naturelles et aux prix élevé des matières premières. Son PIB réel s'est accru de 3,9 % annuellement de 1997 à 2011. Le PIB par habitant a connu une hausse impressionnante pendant cette période de 15 ans, passant de 5 663 dollars américains à 14 403 dollars américains. En termes de croissance réelle, le Chili a dépassé d'autres économies latino-américaines importantes comme le Brésil, le Mexique et l'Argentine. Le Chili a connu une récession économique à la fin des années 1990 liée aux conditions économiques mondiales défavorables résultant de la crise financière asiatique de 1997. Son économie est demeurée morose jusqu'en 2003, puis est passée à la vitesse supérieure et s'est mise à croître à un taux annuel de plus de huit pour cent, un taux de croissance qu'elle maintient encore aujourd'hui.

Le Chili est largement reconnu pour son régime libéralisé et transparent sur les plans du commerce et de l'investissement. Depuis 1999, il réduit unilatéralement ses droits de douane d'un pour cent annuellement. Le 1er janvier 2003, les droits de douane appliqués par le pays avaient été réduits de six pour cent. La promotion active par le Chili des accords de libre échange pendant les dix dernières années a considérablement accru son rendement commercial. Son commerce des marchandises à l'échelle internationale a quadruplé pour passer de 34,8 milliards de dollars américains à 156,3 milliards de dollars américains entre 1996 et 2011. En conséquence, l'importance relative du commerce dans le PIB du Chili s'est accrue de 44,2 % à 62,9 % entre 1996 et 2011. Contrairement au Canada, le Chili compte une vaste gamme de partenaires commerciaux dans l'ensemble de l'hémisphère occidental, en Europe et en Asie.

La valeur de la monnaie chilienne a chuté, tout comme celle d'autres économies en développement, pendant la période qui a suivi la crise asiatique, avant de se stabiliser vers 2002. note en bas de page 7

Tableau 2 : Principaux indicateurs économiques pour le Chili, 1996 et 2011

19962011Croissance annuelle (%)
Population (en millions)14.417.41.3
PIB (prix actuel, G$US)78.7248.48.0
PIB par habitant (prix courants, en $US)5,454.814,277.76.6
Variation annuelle de l'inflation (IPC) en %7.43.3N/A
Balance des paiements courants (en milliards $US)-3.1-3.2N/A
Balance des paiements courants (en % du PIB)-3.9-1.3N/A

Source : Base de données en ligne des Perspectives de l'économie mondiale du FMI, avril 2012

Ainsi, compte tenu de la hausse importante de sa monnaie entre 1997 et 2002, le Canada a vu son dollar prendre énormément de valeur par rapport au peso chilien, en termes nominaux. Depuis lors, les deux monnaies suivent plus ou moins la même tendance, toujours en termes nominaux.

Figure 3 : Taux de change Canada/Chili, 1990-2011

Voir l'équivalent textuel ci-dessous pour la description de figure 3

Équivalent textuel pour figure 3
AnnéeTaux de change
19961.00
19971.00
19981.03
19991.13
20001.20
20011.36
20021.45
20031.63
20041.55
20051.53
20061.55
20071.61
20081.62
20091.62
20101.64
20111.62

3.2 Évolution de la politique commerciale depuis l'ALECC

Depuis la signature de l'ALENA et de l'ALECC, le Canada s'emploie à améliorer davantage son rendement économique et commercial en obtenant un accès concurrentiel aux marchés étrangers et en augmentant l'investissement étranger direct au Canada ainsi que l'investissement canadien à l'étranger. Depuis 1997, lorsque les ALE avec le Chili et Israël sont entrés en vigueur, le Canada a conclu cinq nouveaux accords de libre-échange avec le Costa Rica, le Pérou, les États membres de l'Association européenne de libre-échange (Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège et Suisse), la Colombie et la Jordanie. Le Canada compte huit accords commerciaux préférentiels actuellement en vigueur, et les échanges qu'il effectue avec ses partenaires commerciaux préférentiels représentent 87,6 % de ses échanges totaux de marchandises. Le Canada poursuit en outre son ambitieux programme de négociations de libre-échange à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de l'hémisphère. Le Canada mène actuellement 12 négociations, notamment avec l'Union européenne, l'Inde, le Japon et la Corée et celles relatives à l'Accord de partenariat transpacifique (PTP).

Depuis la signature de l'ALE avec le Canada en 1997, le Chili a intensifié de façon considérable les efforts qu'il déployait à l'égard de la négociation d'ALE avec d'autres pays. En effet, depuis 1997, le Chili a signé des ALE bilatéraux et régionaux avec les régions et les pays suivants : Mexique; Amérique centrale (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras et Nicaragua)note en bas de page8, Communauté européenne (accord de partenariat économique); République de Corée; Association européenne de libre-échange (Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège et Suisse); États-Unis; Chine; Inde; Panama; Pérou; Colombie; Australie; Japon; Turquie; Nouvelle-Zélande; Singapour; Brunéi Darussalam (accord de partenariat économique stratégique transpacifique). Le Chili a également conclu des accords de complémentarité économique (ACE) au sein de l'Association latino-américaine d'intégration (ALADI), avec la Bolivie, l'Équateur note en bas de page9, le Venezuela et les pays du MERCOSUR (Argentine, Brésil, Paraguay et Uruguay), et un accord de portée partielle avec Cuba.

Le Chili, qui compte 22 accords commerciaux actuellement en vigueur, figure parmi les pays ayant le plus grand nombre d'accords commerciaux et de partenaires préférentiels dans le monde. Par conséquent, les échanges entre le Chili et ses partenaires préférentiels représentent plus de 90 % de ses échanges totaux de marchandises. Étant donné la vaste portée des accords commerciaux conclus par le Chili avec ses partenaires, les exportateurs canadiens n'ont pas un accès préférentiel au marché chilien. L'ALECC aurait pu avoir procuré des avantages temporaires aux exportateurs canadiens durant les premiers jours de la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord, mais ces avantages ont rapidement été annulés par les accords ultérieurs conclus entre le Chili et ses autres partenaires commerciaux

Tableau 3 : Liste des accords commerciaux bilatéraux/régionaux en vigueur au Canada et au Chili

CanadaAnnée
Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA)1994
Canada-Chili (ALECC)1997
Canada-Israël1997
Canada-Costa Rica2002
Canada-Pérou2009
AELE-Canada2009
Canada-Colombie2011
Canada-Jordanie2012
Chileans
Protocole sur les négociations commerciales1973
Association latino-américaine d'intégration (ALADI)1981
Système global de préférences commerciales (SGPC) entre pays en développement1989
Canada-Chili1997
Chili-Mexique1999
Chili-Costa Rica (Amérique centrale)2002
Chili-El Salvador (Amérique centrale)2002
UE-Chili2003
AELE-Chili2004
République de Corée-Chili2004
États-Unis-Chili2004
Chili-Chine2006
Partenariat économique stratégique transpacifique2006
Chili-Inde2007
Chili-Japon2007
Chili-Honduras (Amérique centrale)2008
Panama-Chili2008
Australie-Chili2009
Chili-Colombie2009
Pérou-Chili2009
Chili-Guatemala (Amérique centrale)2010
Turquie-Chili2011

Source : Organisation mondiale du commerce

Note en bas de page

Note en bas de page 5

Statistique Canada, Comptes économiques et financiers nationaux du Canada.

Retour à la 5 référence

Note en bas de page 6

IFonds monétaire international, Data and Statistics,

Retour à la 6référence

Note en bas de page 7

Fonds monétaire international, Data and Statistics.

Retour à la 7référence

Note en bas de page 8

Les protocoles bilatéraux conclus par le Chili avec le Costa Rica, le Salvador et le Honduras étaient en vigueur en juin 2009, dans le cadre de l'ALE Chili-Amérique centrale. Le protocole bilatéral avec le Guatemala avait été signé, mais n'était pas encore entré en vigueur, tandis que le protocole bilatéral avec le Nicaragua n'avait pas encore été signé.

Return to footnote 8 référence

Note en bas de page 9

Le Chili et l'Équateur avaient signé un nouvel ACE (2008) qui n'était pas encore entré en vigueur à la mi 2009.

Retour à la 9 referrer