Canada's State of Trade: Trade and Investment Update 2011

Executive Summary

In 2010, global economic activity continued to recover from the severe recession recorded in the wake of the global financial crisis. The economic upturn was sustained by monetary and fiscal policy stimulus measures. A prolonged inventory cycle supported the global economic recovery, as firms rebuilt their stocks in response to a more favourable global economic outlook. In addition, further normalization of global financing conditions and improvements in consumer and business confidence aided the recovery. Employment conditions gradually improved over the course of the year, following widespread job losses throughout the preceding two years. The overall improvement in the economic situation and the rebound in activity was accompanied by a strong recovery in world trade, particularly in the first half of the year.

In the second half of the year, the global recovery lost somemomentumin the light of waning support from the global inventory cycle along with the retrenchment of fiscal stimuli. Several countries also announced consolidation measures to address their precarious fiscal situations. As a result, global trade dynamics also slowed in the second half of 2010, with trade expanding at a slower pace than in the first six months.

However, the pace of the recovery was rather unbalanced across regions. In advanced economies, the pickup remained fairly modest. At the same time, the emerging economies experienced continued buoyant economic growth, particularly in Asia and South America, to lead the global recovery. This has accelerated the longer-term structural realignment in global economic activity in favour of Asia, notably toward the emerging economies of China and India.

For the year as a whole, world real GDP grew by 5.0 percent in 2010, up from a 0.5-percent contraction in 2009. The advanced economies posted economic growth of 3.0 percent in 2010, after having registered a decline of 3.4 percent the previous year. In contrast, the expansion was more robust in the developing economies, as growth accelerated to 7.3 percent last year, following a 2.7-percent increase in 2009.

Within the developed economies, the advanced economies of Asia fared the best as the Newly Industrialized Economies of Asia advanced by 8.4 percent, while Japan posted the fastest growth among the major advanced economies at 3.9 percent. The United States posted its strongest growth since 2005, up 2.9 percent in 2010 following a 2.6-percent decline in 2009. At the same time, the recovery across most advanced European nations was more subdued, with euro zone growth registered at 1.8 percent after a 4.1-percent decline in 2009. In the United Kingdom, growth in 2010 was even weaker, at 1.3 percent following a 4.9-percent contraction the previous year. However, Germany posted a stronger increase of 3.5 percent last year.

Growth in emerging Asia outpaced all other regions in 2010, led by China and India at 10.3 percent and 10.4 percent, respectively. The next fastest-growing region among the emerging economies was Latin America and the Caribbean. Growth in that region, which posted a 6.1-percent expansion in real output last year, was led by Brazil, which advanced by 7.5 percent. Sub- Saharan Africa avoided a contraction during the global recession of 2009 and grew rapidly last year, up 5.0 percent. The economic performance of the Commonwealth of Independent States region and that of emerging Europe were similar in 2010, with the former growing by 4.6 percent and the latter by 4.2 percent, while growth in the Middle East trailed all other regions, coming in at 3.8 percent for 2010.

In line with the recovering global economic situation, the pace of Canadian real economic activity rebounded in 2010, up by 3.1 percent after having suffered a 2.5-percent decline a year earlier. The economy began expanding in the second half of 2009 and posted growth in all four quarters of 2010. Output expanded in all provinces and territories in 2010. All major expenditure categories advanced, with the exception of net trade. Inflation remained subdued, at 1.8 percent for the year. Job growth resumed in 2010 after a setback in 2009. Job gains were widespread both regionally and sectorally, although not all regions or sectors posted gains. The national unemployment rate fell from 8.3 percent in January to 7.6 percent in December, averaging 8.0 percent for the entire year. Largely as a result of rising commodity prices, the Canadian dollar appreciated against all major currencies and ended the year above parity with the U.S. dollar.

After the sharpest recorded contraction in 2009, the volume of world trade rebounded in 2010 with the greatest recorded expansion, returning to its prerecessionary level. However, because of lower commodity prices in 2010 than in 2008 (e.g., crude oil), world merchandise exports remained 5.4 percent below their 2008 peak level, in U.S. dollar terms. Expressed in U.S. dollars, Canadianmerchandise exports to the world grew at the same pace as overall world exports, or by 22 percent in 2010. At the same time, Canadian exports of services grew at nearly double the pace of world services exports—15 percent versus 8 percent. However, these metrics are based on data converted into U.S. dollars and they include the effect of the appreciation of the Canadian dollar against its U.S. counterpart.

In Canadian dollar terms, Canadian exports of goods and services to the world rebounded by 8.7 percent in 2010, with goods exports ahead by 9.5 percent and services exports up by 4.4 percent. On the imports side, imports of goods and services rose by 9.2 percent, as goods imports advanced by 10.4 percent and services imports were up by 4.0 percent.

Overall, Canadian exports and imports of goods and services to and from all major markets increased in 2010. Gains in goods and services exports were led by Japan, the EU, and the United States, with advances of 10.5 percent, 10.4 percent and 8.8 percent, respectively. For imports of goods and services, the advances were led by the rest of the world and Japan, with imports up 12.8 percent and 9.4 percent, respectively.

By sector, most of the advances in goods exports were recorded for industrial goods and materials, automotive products, and energy, while exports ofmachinery and equipment, other consumer products, and agricultural and fishing products fell. In contrast, imports were up across the board. Services exports and imports were up in all major categories, except for exports of government services and imports of commercial services. Canada traditionally runs services trade deficits for travel, transportation, and commercial services and a surplus for government services; however, in 2010, the country posted its first trade surplus for commercial services.

The appreciation of the Canadian dollar against the othermajor currencies caused substantial downward revaluations of Canadian direct investment abroad in 2010, lowering the value of direct investment holdings abroad by $35.5 billion. Thus, despite the net acquisitions and the strong investment in existing affiliates during the year, there was an overall 0.7-percent decrease in the value of Canadian direct investment abroad last year. At the same time, foreign direct investment inflows into Canada picked up in 2010, and increased the stock of inward direct investment in Canada by 2.6 percent. Notwithstanding these movements, the stock of Canadian direct investment abroad still exceeded that of foreign direct investment in Canada.

Special Feature: The Evolution of Global Value Chains

A key structural change in the global economy in recent decades has been the rising importance of global value chains (GVCs). It is increasingly rare that a good or service is completely produced in one location and then the final good exported to the end consumer in another. Rather, value chains are fragmenting with different stages being performed in different jurisdictions based on cost competitiveness. For example, design and research could be conducted in one place, the assembly done in another with parts coming in fromaround the world, and the entire process managed from a third, all to serve a global market. This implies growing trade, particularly in parts, but also in services, as well as increased flows of people, ideas, and investment.

The factors driving the growth in GVCs are not completely understood, hence it remains unclear whether or not the impact of GVCs will continue to grow, or stagnate— or even decline. Claims that GVCs have arisen due to declining transportation costs and improving information and telecommunications technologies (ICTs) have not yet been substantiated. Indeed, recent research indicates that the current rise of the GVC may be less influenced by the costs of transportation in a traditional sense, andmore by the increased speed of transportation. This argument is supported by evidence showing that a growing share of trade, particularly in intermediate inputs, occurs by air—a fast, yet relatively expensivemode of transportation. Likewise, the role of enhanced ICTs in trade remains unconfirmed. Other key factors, which include declining tariff rates and the opening to trade of a large portion of the global economy, may be more significant and, more importantly, under the control of policymakers.

Three trends are increasingly associated with the rise of the GVC: outsourcing, offshoring, and inshoring involve the movement of production activities out of a firm, out of a country, and into a country, respectively. Despite the prominence that they receive in themedia, according to recent evidence, offshoring and inshoring are relatively rare occurrences. Furthermore, they tend to balance each other out when they are used. Offshoring of low-skill activities benefits Canadian companies and workers by increasing their productivity and competitiveness, which in turn translates intomore and better-paying jobs for Canadians. Evidence also suggests a corresponding net movement into Canada of a number of key high skill activities. The extent to which Canada can prosper within the rapidly changing global economic landscape will depend on Canada’s ability to create an economic environment that attracts and retains high value-added activities aimed at improving the standard of living for all Canadians.

Le commerce international du Canada: Le point sur le commerce et l'investissement – 2011

Sommaire

En 2010, l’activité économique a poursuivi sa remontée après la sévère récession qui a succédé à la crise financière mondiale. La reprise a été soutenue par les mesures de stimulationmonétaire et budgétaire. Un cycle des stocks prolongé a aussi aidé la reprise économique dans le monde, alors que les entreprises, encouragées par de meilleures perspectives économiques, ont reconstitué leurs stocks. La poursuite de la normalisation des conditions de financement et l’amélioration de la confiance des consommateurs et des entreprises ont eu un effet positif sur la reprise de l’économie mondiale. La situation de l’emploi s’est améliorée progressivement au fil de l’année, après les pertes généralisées subies au cours des deux années précédentes. Le redressement de la situation économique en général et le rebond de l’activité se sont accompagnés d’une solide reprise des échanges commerciaux, notamment dans la première moitié de l’année.

Durant la seconde moitié de l’année, la reprise a perdu de son impulsion en raison du soutien décroissant provenant de l’effort de reconstitution des stocks et des mesures de stimulation budgétaire. Plusieurs pays ont par ailleurs annoncé des mesures de consolidation face à la précarité des budgets publics. En conséquence, les flux commerciaux mondiaux ont quelque peu ralenti dans la deuxièmemoitié de 2010, et l’expansion des échanges s’est poursuivie à un rythme plus lent qu’au cours des six premiers mois.

Le rythme de la reprise a toutefois été inégal parmi les régions. Dans les économies avancées, le regain d’activité est demeuré plutôt modeste. Parallèlement, les économies émergentes ont poursuivi leur robuste expansion, notamment en Asie et en Amérique du Sud, dominant le mouvement de reprise mondiale. Cette dynamique a contribué à accentuer le réalignement de l’activité économique à plus long terme dans lemonde en faveur de l’Asie, et plus particulièrement vers les économies émergentes que sont la Chine et l’Inde.

Sur l’année, le PIB réel mondial a progressé de 5,0 p. 100, après une contraction de 0,5 p. 100 en 2009. Les économies avancées ont affiché un taux de croissance de 3,0 p. 100 en 2010, après un déclin de 3,4 p. 100 l’année précédente. En revanche, l’expansion a procédé plus rapidement dans les économies en développement, où le taux de croissance a monté pour atteindre 7,3 p. 100 l’an dernier, après un gain de 2,7 p. 100 en 2009.

Parmi les économies développées, celles d’Asie ont présenté lameilleure feuille de route : les nouvelles économies industrialisées d’Asie ont progressé de 8,4 p. 100, tandis que le Japon enregistrait le meilleur taux de croissance parmi les grandes économies avancées, soit 3,9 p. 100. En 2010, les États- Unis ont connu leur plus forte croissance depuis 2005, soit 2,9 p. 100, après un repli de 2,6 p. 100 en 2009. Par contre, la reprise dans la plupart des pays avancés d’Europe a été plusmodeste, la zone euro affichant un taux de croissance de 1,8 p. 100, après un recul de 4,1 p. 100 l’année précédente. Au Royaume-Uni, la croissance a été encore plus faible en 2010, à 1,3 p. 100, après une contraction de 4,9 p. 100 en 2009. Cependant, l’Allemagne a bénéficié d’une croissance plus vigoureuse l’an dernier, soit 3,5 p. 100.

La croissance dans les pays émergents d’Asie a été plus rapide que dans les autres régions en 2010 avec, en tête, la Chine et l’Inde, qui ont inscrit des taux de 10,3 p. 100 et 10,4 p. 100, respectivement. Parmi les économies émergentes, la seconde région qui a connu la croissance la plus rapide est celle de l’Amérique du Sud et des Caraïbes. L’expansion de la production réelle dans cette région s’est poursuivie à un rythme de 6,1 p. 100 l’an dernier, dominée par le Brésil, avec un taux de croissance de 7,5 p. 100. L’Afrique sub-saharienne, qui a évité la contraction durant la récessionmondiale de 2009, a bénéficié d’une croissance rapide l’an dernier, soit 5,0 p. 100. La performance économique des pays du Commonwealth des États indépendants et celle des pays émergents d’Europe ont été similaires en 2010, les premiers avançant de 4,6 p. 100 et les seconds, de 4,2 p. 100; enfin, la croissance dans la région duMoyen-Orient a tiré de l’arrière sur celle de toutes les autres régions, avec un taux de 3,8 p. 100 en 2010.

Dans le climat de reprise de l’économie mondiale, le rythme de l’activité économique réelle a rebondi au Canada en 2010, gagnant 3,1 p. 100, après un recul de 2,5 p. 100 un an plus tôt. L’économie a commencé à prendre de l’expansion dans la seconde moitié de 2009 et a crû durant les quatre trimestres de 2010. La production a augmenté dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. Les grandes catégories de dépenses ont toutes progressé, à l’exception du solde des échanges commerciaux. L’inflation est demeurée faible, à 1,8 p. 100 pour l’année. La croissance de l’emploi a repris en 2010 après avoir fléchi en 2009. La création d’emplois a eu une large assise régionale et sectorielle, mais certains secteurs et régions n’ont pas fait de gains. Le taux de chômage national est tombé de 8,3 p. 100 en janvier à 7,6 p. 100 en décembre, se situant à 8,0 p. 100 en moyenne pour l’ensemble de l’année. En bonne partie à cause de l’augmentation des prix des produits de base, le dollar s’est apprécié face à toutes les grandes monnaies et il a terminé l’année au-dessus de la parité avec le dollar américain.

Après la contraction la plus sévère jamais enregistrée en 2009, le volume du commerce mondial a rebondi en 2010, marquant l’expansion la plus forte de mémoire, pour retrouver son niveau d’avant la récession. Cependant, comme les prix des produits de base sont demeurés inférieurs à leur niveau de 2008 (p. ex. pour le pétrole brut), les exportations mondiales de marchandises, exprimées en dollars É.-U., étaient encore 5,4 p. 100 sous le sommet atteint cette annéelà. En 2010, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le monde, exprimées en dollars É.-U., ont progressé au même rythme que l’ensemble des exportations mondiales, soit 22 p. 100. Parallèlement, les exportations canadiennes de services ont augmenté à un rythme de près du double de celui des exportations mondiales de services – 15 p. 100 contre 8 p. 100. Ces mesures sont toutefois fondées sur des données converties en dollars américains et elles incluent l’effet de l’appréciation du dollar canadien par rapport à la devise américaine.

Exprimées en dollars canadiens, les exportations canadiennes de biens et services vers lemonde ont grimpé de 8,7 p. 100 en 2010, alors que les exportations de biens avançaient de 9,5 p. 100 et les exportations de services, de 4,4 p. 100. Pour leur part, les importations de biens et services ont progressé de 9,2 p. 100, les importations de biens gagnant 10,4 p. 100 et les importations de services, 4,0 p. 100.

Dans l’ensemble, les exportations et les importations canadiennes de biens et services vers et en provenance de tous les grands marchés étaient en progression en 2010. Les gains observés dans les exportations de bien et services ont été dominés par le Japon, l’UE et les États-Unis, avec des hausses de 10,5, 10,4 et 8,8 p. 100, respectivement. Du côté des importations de biens et services, les augmentations ont été les plus fortes dans la région du reste du monde et au Japon, avec des hausses de 12,8 et 9,4 p. 100, respectivement.

Par secteur, la plupart des gains dans les exportations de biens se retrouvent du côté des biens et matériaux industriels, des produits de l’automobile et de l’énergie, tandis que les exportations de machines et matériel, d’autres biens de consommation et de produits de l’agriculture et de la pêche ont fléchi. Par contre, les importations étaient en hausse de manière générale. Les exportations et les importations de services ont augmenté dans toutes les grandes catégories, sauf pour les exportations de services gouvernementaux et les importations de services commerciaux. Le Canada enregistre habituellement un déficit dans ses échanges de services de voyage, de services de transport et de services commerciaux, mais un excédent du côté des services gouvernementaux. Cependant, en 2010, le pays a enregistré son premier excédent commercial au poste des services commerciaux.

L’appréciation du dollar canadien par rapport aux autres grandes monnaies a entraîné une forte réévaluation à la baisse de l’investissement direct du Canada à l’étranger en 2010, retranchant quelque 35,5 milliards de dollars de la valeur du stock d’investissement direct détenu à l’étranger. Ainsi, malgré les acquisitions nettes et la vigueur des investissements dans les filiales existantes au cours de l’année, il y a eu recul de 0,7 p. 100 de la valeur de l’investissement direct du Canada à l’étranger l’an dernier. Simultanément, les entrées d’investissement étranger direct au Canada ont remonté en 2010 et contribué à accroître le stock d’investissement direct au Canada de 2,6 p. 100. En dépit de ces mouvements, le stock d’investissement direct du Canada à l’étranger dépasse toujours le stock d’investissement étranger direct au Canada.

Article spécial : l’évolution des chaînes de valeur mondiales

Un changement structurel fondamental survenu dans l’économie mondiale ces dernières décennies est la montée en importance des chaînes de valeurmondiales (CVM). Il est de plus en plus rare qu’un bien ou un service soit entièrement produit en un seul endroit et que le bien final qui en résulte soit exporté vers un consommateur final établi à un autre endroit. Ce que l’on observe plutôt, c’est que des chaînes de valeur fragmentent les différentes étapes de la production en les dispersant entre différents endroits selon les avantages qui en découlent sur le plan des coûts et de la compétitivité. Ainsi, la conception et la recherche peuvent se faire à un endroit, le montage à un autre, avec des pièces provenant d’un peu partout dans le monde, tandis que l’ensemble du processus peut être géré à partir d’un troisième lieu – toute cette activité étant destinée à servir un marché d’envergure mondiale. Cela suppose un commerce croissant, notamment de pièces,mais aussi de services, demême que desmouvements grandissants de personnes, d’idées et d’investissements.

Les facteurs qui soutiennent la croissance des CVMdemeurentmal compris, et il est impossible de prévoir si l’impact des CVM ira en augmentant, se stabilisera, ou même diminuera. La thèse selon laquelle les CVM sont apparues à la faveur de la baisse des coûts de transport et de l’amélioration des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) n’a pas encore été établie. À vrai dire, des travaux récents indiquent que l’essor actuel des CVM pourrait être moins influencé par les coûts de transport au sens traditionnel que par la rapidité accrue des moyens de transport. Cet argument s’appuie sur des données qui révèlent qu’une part croissante du commerce et notamment des intrants intermédiaires se faitmaintenant par voie aérienne – unmode de transport rapide mais tout de même relativement coûteux. En outre, le rôle des TIC dans le contexte du commerce n’a pas été confirmé. D’autres facteurs clés, dont la réduction des droits tarifaires et l’ouverture au commerce de larges pans de l’économie mondiale, pourraient jour un rôle plus déterminant et, ce qui est plus important, être sous le contrôle des décideurs publics.

Trois tendances sont de plus en plus associées à l’ascension des GVC : l’impartition, la délocalisation et le rapatriement d’activités au pays, lesquels correspondent, respectivement, au déplacement d’activités de production hors de l’entreprise, hors du pays et à leur retour au pays. Malgré l’attention que leur accordent lesmédias, des données récentes indiquent que la délocalisation et la relocalisation au pays ne sont pas fréquemment employées. De plus, elles ont tendance à s’annuler mutuellement lorsqu’on y recourt. La délocalisation des activités qui exigent de faibles compétences profite aux entreprises et aux travailleurs canadiens en augmentant leur productivité et leur compétitivité, ce qui se traduit par plus d’empois mieux rémunérés pour les Canadiens. Les données révèlent aussi un déplacement net vers le Canada de certaines activités stratégiques spécialisées. La mesure dans laquelle le Canada peut prospérer dans un contexte économiquemondial en évolution rapide dépendra de sa capacité de créer les conditions économiques permettant d’attirer et de conserver des activités à valeur ajoutéé élevée qui amélioreront le niveau de vie de tous les Canadiens.