Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Global Affairs Canada

international.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

About Us

International Education Promotion

The International Education Division seeks to enhance Canada’s profile abroad and attract international students to Canadian education institutions (universities, colleges, language schools, elementary and secondary schools) by:

  • promoting Canada as a study destination or education partner to international audiences;
  • facilitating relations and services between the federal government, provinces, NGOs and Canadian missions abroad in education promotion; and
  • coordinating education promotion efforts by Canadian missions abroad.

Education trade commissioners are located in most Canadian embassies and consulates abroad to assist Canadian public and private educational institutions, provinces or associations interested in recruiting international students. You can also access the Education section of The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service website for market intelligence and upcoming international education events.

International Scholarships

Global Affairs Canada is responsible for the Government of Canada's participation in major international scholarship opportunities for Canadians and non-Canadians. Through the International Scholarships Program, Global Affairs Canada provides support to international scholars in Canada, which is often reciprocated by foreign governments to support Canadian scholars in their countries.

The International Scholarship Program distributes approximately $8 million annually in scholarships to foreign students who wish to study in Canada. The Program offers a wide range of scholarships, programs and funding opportunities, totaling close to 800 annually.

As part of the Policy, Partnerships and Mobility Unit within the International Education Division of Global Affairs Canada, International Scholarships is involved in developing the agreements and memorandums of understanding which serve as the framework for the scholarships, fellowships and awards offered.

Many components of the International Scholarships Program are administered by the Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE). CBIE is a national bilingual not-for-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of Canada’s international relations through international education and the free movement of ideas and learners across national boundaries.

Bilateral and Multilateral Relations in International Education

The International Education Division works to enhance and promote the internationalization of higher education in Canada. It coordinates international Canadian activities relating to higher education in cooperation with the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC), other federal departments and non-governmental organizations.

It coordinates and conducts studies and analyses of issues connected to international cooperation in higher education, relating them to the department’s priorities. It also coordinates the process leading to the signing and ratification of agreements and international conventions on education-related issues and ensures that Canada complies with the obligations it has assumed through such agreements.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-05-04

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires mondiales Canada

international.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

À propos de nous

Promotion internationale de l’éducation

La Direction de l’éducation internationale vise à accroître la visibilité du Canada à l’étranger et à attirer des étudiants internationaux dans les établissements d’enseignement canadiens (universités, collèges, écoles de langue, écoles primaires et secondaires) des manières suivantes :

  • En promouvant le Canada comme destination d’études et partenaire en éducation auprès des populations étrangères;
  • En facilitant les relations et les services en matière de promotion de l’éducation entre le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces, les ONG et les missions canadiennes à l’étranger et
  • En coordonnant les efforts de promotion de l’éducation faits par les missions à l’étranger.

Des délégués commerciaux en matière d’éducation sont présents dans la plupart des ambassades et des consulats canadiens à l’étranger. Ceux-ci sont prêts à aider les établissements d’enseignement privés, le public canadien ainsi que les provinces ou les associations intéressés à recruter des étudiants étrangers. Vous pouvez aussi consulter la section « Éducation » du site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada pour obtenir des renseignements sur les marchés et sur les événements en éducation internationale à venir.

Bourses internationales

Affaires mondiales Canada assure la participation du gouvernement du Canada aux principales occasions de bourses internationales pour les Canadiens et les étrangers. Par le l’intermédiaire du Programme de bourses internationales, Affaires mondiales Canada fournit un appui aux chercheurs internationaux au Canada, lequel est souvent également offert par les gouvernements étrangers aux chercheurs canadiens dans leur pays.

Le Programme de bourses internationales octroie des bourses à hauteur de 8 millions de dollars annuellement à des étudiants internationaux qui souhaitent venir étudier au Canada. Le Programme offre un grand éventail de bourses, de programmes et de possibilités de financement, soit près de 800 par année.

Relevant de l’Unité des politiques, des partenariats et de la mobilité de la Direction de l’éducation internationale d'Affaires mondiales Canada, le Programme de bourses internationales participe à l’élaboration des accords et des protocoles d’entente qui forment le cadre des bourses et des bourses de recherche offertes.

De nombreux volets du Programme de bourses internationales sont administrés par le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI). Le BCEI est une organisation sans but lucratif, bilingue et nationale,  vouée à la promotion des relations internationales du Canada, par l’intermédiaire de l’éducation internationale, de la libre circulation des idées et des apprenants au-delà des frontières nationales.

Relations bilatérales et multilatérales en éducation internationale

La Direction de l’éducation internationale travaille à renforcer l’internationalisation de l’enseignement supérieur au Canada et à en faire la promotion. Elle assure la coordination des activités canadiennes internationales ayant trait à l’enseignement supérieur en collaboration avec le Conseil des ministres de l’éducation duCanada (CMEC), certains ministères et organismes fédéraux, ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales.

Elle coordonne et entreprend des études et des analyses sur des questions directement liées à la coopération internationale en enseignement supérieur, tout en les reliant aux priorités du Ministère. Ainsi, elle coordonne le processus menant à la signature et à la ratification de conventions internationales ou d’ententes sur des questions liées à l’éducation et s’assure que le Canada se conforme aux obligations contractées par le biais de telles ententes.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-05-04