Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

 


Economic Impact of International Education in Canada - An Update

4. Number of International Students in Canada

In this Section, we will analyse data we have collected on the number of international students in Canada, as well as growth trends in recent years.

4.1. By Level of Education

4.1.1. Long Term Students

Table 3 shows the total number of international students in Canada (as of December 1st of each year) in each of the five levels of study from 2000 to 2010.[4] For a description of the sources for this data-set, refer to Enrollment in the Methodology section.

Table 3 Number of International Students in Canada by Level of Study, 2000 to 2010
Level
of study
20002001200220032004200520062007200820092010
Secondary
or less  
27,99731,66932,59031,61430,76330,51732,54634,48034,39034,51035,140
Trade 16,50420,12722,85724,71725,17924,07922,58121,55318,92321,13020,240
University 53,16863,61372,97081,11788,64791,72792,86594,62195,404109,665116,890
Other post
-secondary 
9,09212,78514,48515,80113,91014,50615,82319,37522,72623,39036,900
Other 7,2188,4527,5886,4356,3246,3256,3406,0606,6727,3159,045
Total 114,093136,716150,552159,727164,855167,188170,194176,116178,227196,030218,245

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Over this period, the number of international students in Canada has increased at an average growth rate of 7% per year. Students classified under the “Other Post Secondary” category have grown the fastest, at a rate of 15% per year, followed by those students classified in the “University” category, with an annual growth rate of 8%. Students who pursue study in the K-12 system have grown at a rate of 2% per year during this period, the same as those in the “trade” and “other” levels of study.

It should also be noted that between 2000 and 2003, enrolment of international students at the university level experienced double-digit annual growth rates. However, in recent years since 2005, it has not grown as fast as the average for all students.

Enrolment of international students in vocational trade colleges also enjoyed strong double-digit annual growth up to 2003. However, enrolment of students at this level of study has been declining steadily since 2004 and continued into 2010.

Table 4 indicates the distribution of international students in Canada at different levels of study. The information in this Table has been derived based on the stock of international students as of December 1st of each year reported by CIC.

Table 4 Distribution of International Students in Canada by Level of Study, 2000 to 2010
Distribution20002001200220032004200520062007200820092010
Secondary
or less  
24.5%23.2%21.6%19.8%18.7%18.3%19.1%19.6%19.3%17.6%16.1%
Trade 14.5%14.7%15.2%15.5%15.3%14.4%13.3%12.2%10.6%10.8%9.3%
University 46.6%46.5%48.5%50.8%53.8%54.9%54.6%53.7%53.5%55.9%53.6%
Other post
-secondary 
8.0%9.4%9.6%9.9%8.4%8.7%9.3%11.0%12.8%11.9%16.9%
Other 6.3%6.2%5.0%4.0%3.8%3.8%3.7%3.4%3.7%3.7%4.1%
Total 100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Data in Table 4 also indicate that Canada’s universities are most attractive to international students when we compare students in different levels of study. Together with other colleges, students in the post secondary system account for almost four-fifths (79.7% in 2010) of all international students in Canada who pursue study for more than six months.

4.1.2. Languages Canada Short Term Students

As described in the Methodology section, for international students who generally study for shorter than six months in Canada, and therefore would not have required a Study Permit issued by CIC, we have relied upon information provided to us by Languages Canada.  In 2010, Languages Canada surveyed their membership and, of the 154 institutions that replied, responses indicated enrollment of 136,906 students (representing 1,639,793 study weeks).  Of this number at least 110,157 students (almost 81%) were on short term programs of under 6 months (not all programs were able to report the breakdown of their study weeks by length of study). These numbers are for a combination of private post-secondary and public post-secondary non-credit language programs.

Therefore, using information provided by Languages Canada, it is estimated that a total of 1,134,638 student weeks were spent in Canada by international students in short term language training programs in 2010.

We note that Languages Canada does not have all language training institutions in Canada in its membership.  We further note that since there is no reliable data indicating the number of short-term international students enrolling in vocational training or other types of training, we have not been able to estimate the number of short-term international students other than those covered by Languages Canada.

4.2. By Province / Territory

4.2.1. Long Term Students

CIC data also provide a breakdown of the number of international students by province / territory. 

Table 4 shows the number of international students in each of the provinces and territories in Canada between 2004 and 2010 (as measured by the stock of international students on December 1st each year). Of all the provinces and territories, international students to Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island have shown the strongest growth in enrollment in recent years, at a rate of 10.9% and 15.4% respectively, but starting from a small base number.  Nova Scotia is the third in line, with an annual growth rate of 6.4% per year over the period.

Table 5 Number of International Students in Canada by Province and Territory, 2004 to 2010 
 2004200520062007200820092010
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
9151,0491,2031,3821,5241,5251,700
Prince Edward Island 309345405476521655730
Nova Scotia 5,4645,4615,4755,4445,8026,6107,920
New Brunswick 3,1933,2423,1813,2283,2633,2853,515
Quebec 25,47225,20625,91427,09528,01030,57532,225
Ontario 62,26662,83463,81565,51765,83372,96085,280
Manitoba 4,7624,9725,1475,2564,8735,3855,710
Saskatchewan 3,6303,7343,4933,5363,6563,9654,340
Alberta 12,02312,43112,96513,84614,43315,56016,290
British Columbia 46,70747,77748,46350,19850,22155,45060,470
Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut971118593877560
Total164,838167,162170,146176,077178,227196,030218,245

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Because of its geographic size and the number of educational institutions, Ontario attracts the largest number of international students amongst all provinces and territories.  It takes almost 40% of all international students in Canada.  Although British Columbia only accounts for about 13% of the national population, it accounts for about 28% of the international students in the country, indicating the popularity of the province as an education destination.

Quebec, being the second most populous province in the country, accounts for almost 15% of the total number of international students in the country. Other provinces, especially the Maritime Provinces, have grown the number of international students in the region in recent years, although their share of the total number of international students remains relatively small.  Information describing the distribution of international students in Canada by province/territory can be found in Table 6. 

Table 6 Distribution of International Students in Canada by Province and Territory, 2004 to 2010
 2004200520062007200820092010
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
0.6%0.6%0.7%0.8%0.9%0.8%0.8%
Prince Edward Island 0.2%0.2%0.2%0.3%0.3%0.3%0.3%
Nova Scotia 3.3%3.3%3.2%3.1%3.3%3.4%3.6%
New Brunswick 1.9%1.9%1.9%1.8%1.8%1.7%1.6%
Quebec 15.5%15.1%15.2%15.4%15.7%15.6%14.8%
Ontario 37.8%37.6%37.5%37.2%36.9%37.2%39.1%
Manitoba 2.9%3.0%3.0%3.0%2.7%2.7%2.6%
Saskatchewan 2.2%2.2%2.1%2.0%2.1%2.0%2.0%
Alberta 7.3%7.4%7.6%7.9%8.1%7.9%7.5%
British Columbia 28.3%28.6%28.5%28.5%28.2%28.3%27.7%
Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut0.1%0.1%0.0%0.1%0.0%0.0%0.0%
Total100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

4.2.2. Languages Canada Short Term Students

In this subsection, we show the number of Languages Canada students pursuing language training, as well as the number of student weeks, in Canada, by region.

Table 7 Number of International Students in Canada in Language Training Programs, by Region, 2010
 StudentsWeeksStudents
<4 weeks
Students
4-12 weeks
Students
13-24 weeks
Students
25-36 weeks
Students
37-52 weeks
Students
>1year
Alberta9,573100,0496236,23482769041521
BC60,777669,0588,22727,11817,07411,4727,848188
SK and MB2,23826,2074544055434819436
ON50,269643,8966,50620,21210,7115,3651,891284
QC10,314107,4871,4305,9062,339546912
NS2,93765,210104767805471595195
Rest of
ATLANTIC
79827,886129743265552
Total136,9061,639,79317,06460,75132,34218,89811,589728

Source: Languages Canada

Data in Table 7 show the number of students in each province/region who pursued language training courses in 2010 by the length of their programs.  The total number of students (136,906) compared to the student weeks represented indicate that on average, these international students study for approximately 12 weeks in their programs.

It should be noted that, of 136,906 students, at least 110,157 students (almost 81%) were on short term programs of under 6 months (those in the columns "< 4 weeks", "4 to 12 weeks" and "13 to 24 weeks").  These represent 1,134,638 student weeks which is the number we will use in calculating expenditure for short term students later in Section 6.

As can be seen in Table 8, the percentage of international students in Languages Canada training programs is the largest in the province of BC, followed by in Ontario.  Data in Table 8 also indicates that the average length of study of these international students is the longest in the Atlantic Provinces.  In fact, their average length of study is 35 weeks, compared with the 11 to 12 weeks in other parts of the country.

Table 8 Distribution of International Students in Canada in Language Training Programs, by Region, 2010
 StudentsWeeksStudents
<4 weeks
Students
4-12 weeks
Students
13-24 weeks
Students
25-36weeks
Students
37-52 weeks
Students
>1year
Alberta7.0%6.1%3.7%10.3%2.6%3.7%3.6%2.9%
BC44.4%40.8%48.2%44.6%52.8%60.7%67.7%25.8%
SK and MB1.6%1.6%0.3%0.7%1.7%1.8%1.7%4.9%
ON36.7%39.3%38.1%33.3%33.1%28.4%16.3%39.0%
QC7.5%6.6%8.4%9.7%7.2%2.9%0.8%0.3%
NS2.1%4.0%0.6%1.3%2.5%2.5%5.1%26.8%
Rest of
ATLANTIC
0.6%1.7%0.8%0.1%0.1%0.0%4.8%0.3%
Total100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source: Languages Canada

4.3. By Province / Territory and by Level of Education

4.3.1. Long Term Students

We have also obtained information from Citizenship and Immigration Canada on international student enrollment by province and by level of study. For the year 2010, the information is shown in Table 9.  

Table 9 Number of International Students in Canada by Level of Study, by Province and Territory, 2010
 Secondary
or less
TradeUniversityOther Post-
Secondary
Other Level of Study
not Stated
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
100301,47090100
Prince Edward Island 801556065100
Nova Scotia 1,0452505,9105601550
New Brunswick 415652,6252501600
Quebec 1,79099525,4303,165850-
Ontario 12,6409,06539,13519,2955,13510
Manitoba 8451954,05053585-
Saskatchewan 765553,23523545-
Alberta 3,6051,8708,5451,9003750
British Columbia 13,8207,70025,93510,8002,220-
Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut2510101000
Total35,14020,240116,89036,9009,045-

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Numbers in this table represent our best estimates of international student enrollment in different levels of study (longer than six months of duration) in each of the provinces and territories and will be the basis for our calculation in Section 6.

Table 9 shows the distribution of international students by level of study in the provinces and territories.  In the Maritime Provinces as well as the provinces of Quebec, Manitoba and Saskatchewan, university students account for at least 70% of all international students studying in each of these provinces. In Ontario, Alberta, and BC, however, the shares of university students are lower than the national average.  This is because international students in other levels of programs account for a much higher share of their total. 

It should be noted that data shown for Territories may not correctly represent enrollment in the K-12 system.  We are unaware of any international education program in the three territories.  Therefore, we have not calculated any impact at this level of study.[5]

Table 10 Distribution of International Students in Canada by Level of Study, by Province and Territory, 2010
 Secondary
or less
TradeUniversityOther Post-
Secondary
Other Level of Study
not Stated
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
5.9%1.8%86.5%5.3%0.6%-
Prince Edward Island 11.0%2.1%76.7%8.9%1.4%-
Nova Scotia 13.2%3.2%74.6%7.1%2.0%-
New Brunswick 11.8%1.8%74.7%7.1%4.6%0.0%
Quebec 5.6%3.1%78.9%9.8%2.6%-
Ontario 14.8%10.6%45.9%22.6%6.0%-
Manitoba 14.8%3.4%70.9%9.4%1.5%-
Saskatchewan 17.6%1.3%74.6%5.4%1.0%-
Alberta 22.1%11.5%52.4%11.7%2.3%-
British Columbia 22.9%12.7%42.9%17.9%3.7%-
Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut45.5%18.2%18.2%18.2%0.0%-
Total19.3%10.6%53.5%12.8%3.7%-

Source: Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Previous page - Table of Contents - Next page


[4] For more information see Research and Statistics 

[5] For example, Yukon Government stated that there is no international student program in the public K-12 system. (See link: International Program)

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-30

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

 

Résumé|Table des matières |Section : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9|Références|Annexe : 1 2

Impact économique du secteur de l’éducation internationale pour le Canada – Mise à jour

Nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada

Dans cette section, nous analysons les données que nous avons recueillies sur le nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada, ainsi que les tendances de croissance observées depuis quelques années.

4.1 Selon les niveaux d'études

4.1.1.Étudiants en séjour prolongé

Le tableau 3 indique le nombre total d’étudiants internationaux présents au Canada (au 1er décembre de chaque année) pour chacun des cinq niveaux d’études, entre 2000 et 2010 [4]. Pour obtenir une description des sources de cet ensemble de données, veuillez consulter la partie portant sur l’inscription dans la section de la méthodologie.

Tableau 3 Nombre d'étudiants internationaux au Canada selon les divers niveaux d’études, 2000 à 2010
Niveaux
d’études 
20002001200220032004200520062007200820092010
Secondaire
ou moins
27 99731 66932 59031 61430 76330 51732 54634 48034 39034 51035 140
Métier16 50420 12722 85724 71725 17924 07922 58121 55318 92321 13020 240
Université53 16863 61372 97081 11788 64791 72792 86594 62195 404109 665116 890
Autre post-
secondaire
9 09212 78514 48515 80113 91014 50615 82319 37522 72623 39036 900
Autre7 2188 4527 5886 4356 3246 3256 3406 0606 6727 3159 045
Total 114 093136 716150 552159 727164 855167 188170 194176 116178 227196 030218 245

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Durant cette période, le nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada a crû en moyenne de 7 p. 100 par année. Les plus forts taux de croissance annuelle ont été enregistrés dans les catégories « Autre postsecondaire » (15 %), puis « Université » (8 %). Le nombre d’étudiants qui poursuivent des études dans le système de la maternelle à la douzième année s’est accru selon un taux de 2 p. 100 par année au cours de cette période, le même que celui enregistré pour les niveaux « Métier » et « Autre » de l’étude.

Soulignons qu’entre 2000 et 2003, le nombre d’étudiants internationaux inscrits au niveau universitaire a connu une croissance annuelle à deux chiffres. Depuis 2005 cependant, cette croissance n’a pas été aussi rapide que la moyenne observée pour l’ensemble des étudiants.

Le nombre d’étudiants internationaux inscrits dans les collèges de métiers a également fait l’objet d’une croissance annuelle à deux chiffres jusqu’en 2003. Or, ce nombre connaît une baisse régulière depuis 2004, qui s’est poursuivie jusqu’en 2010.

Le tableau 4 illustre la répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada selon les divers niveaux d’études. Ces données proviennent de l’effectif des étudiants internationaux au 1er décembre de chaque année déclaré par CIC.

Tableau 4 Répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada selon les divers niveaux d’études, 2000 à 2010
Distribution20002001200220032004200520062007200820092010
Secondaire ou moins24.5%23.2%21.6%19.8%18.7%18.3%19.1%19.6%19.3%17.6%16.1%
Métier14.5%14.7%15.2%15.5%15.3%14.4%13.3%12.2%10.6%10.8%9.3%
Université46.6%46.5%48.5%50.8%53.8%54.9%54.6%53.7%53.5%55.9%53.6%
Autre post-
secondaire
8.0%9.4%9.6%9.9%8.4%8.7%9.3%11.0%12.8%11.9%16.9%
Autre6.3%6.2%5.0%4.0%3.8%3.8%3.7%3.4%3.7%3.7%4.1%
Total 100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Les données présentées dans le Tableau 4 indiquent aussi que les universités canadiennes attirent beaucoup les étudiants internationaux lorsque nous comparons les étudiants des divers niveaux d’études. En combinant les universités aux divers collèges, on constate que le réseau postsecondaire regroupe près des quatre cinquièmes (79,7 % en 2010) de l’ensemble des étudiants internationaux qui effectuent un séjour d’études au Canada de plus de six mois.

4.1.2.Étudiants à courte durée de séjour (Langues Canada)

Tel que décrit dans la section sur la méthodologie, pour les étudiants internationaux qui étudient généralement pour moins de six mois au Canada et qui n’auraient donc pas eu besoin de se voir délivrer un permis d’études par CIC, nous nous sommes basés sur l’information qui nous a été fournie par Langues Canada. Cet organisme a mené en 2010 une enquête auprès de ses établissements membres; les 154 établissements qui y ont répondu accueillent au total 136 906 étudiants (représentant 1 639 793 semaines d’études). De ce nombre, au moins 110 157 (presque 81 %) des étudiants participaient à des programmes d’une durée inférieure à six mois (il nous a été impossible d’obtenir la ventilation du nombre de semaines d’études par durée de séjour, pour certains programmes). Ces données couvrent un amalgame de programmes linguistiques non crédités de niveau postsecondaire et relevant tant du réseau privé que du réseau public.

À la lumière de l’information communiquée par Langues Canada, on estime donc que le nombre d’étudiants internationaux inscrits à des programmes de formation linguistique de courte durée au Canada a totalisé 1 134 638 semaines d’études en 2010.

Il convient de noter que Langues Canada ne chapeaute pas tous les établissements canadiens de formation linguistique. Soulignons également qu’en l’absence de données fiables sur le nombre d’étudiants internationaux à courte durée de séjour inscrits à des programmes de formation professionnelle ou à d’autres types de formation, nous n’avons pu estimer que l’effectif des étudiants internationaux à courte durée de séjour dans les établissements couverts par Langues Canada. 

4.2 Selon les provinces/territoires

4.2.1.Étudiants en séjour prolongé

Les données de CIC permettent également de déterminer le nombre d’étudiants internationaux par province/territoire.

Le tableau 4 donne une ventilation des effectifs d’étudiants internationaux par province et territoire au Canada, entre 2004 et 2010 (selon l'effectif des étudiants internationaux présents au 1er décembre de chaque année). C’est à Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador et dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qu’on observe les plus forts taux de croissance des dernières années (10,9 % et 15,4 % respectivement), mais cette croissance s’effectue à partir d’un faible nombre de départ. La Nouvelle-Écosse arrive au troisième rang, affichant un taux de croissance annuel de 6,4 p. 100 par année au cours de cette période.

Tableau 5 Nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada par province et territoire, 2004 à 2010
 2004200520062007200820092010
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador9151 0491 2031 3821 5241 5251 700
Île-du-Prince-Édouard309345405476521655730
Nouvelle-Écosse5 4645 4615 4755 4445 8026 6107 920
Nouveau-Brunswick 3 1933 2423 1813 2283 2633 2853 515
Québec 25 47225 20625 91427 09528 01030 57532 225
Ontario 62 26662 83463 81565 51765 83372 96085 280
Manitoba 4 7624 9725 1475 2564 8735 3855 710
Saskatchewan 3 6303 7343 4933 5363 6563 9654 340
Alberta 12 02312 43112 96513 84614 43315 56016 290
Colombie-Britannique46 70747 77748 46350 19850 22155 45060 470
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut971118593877560
Total164 838167 162170 146176 077178 227196 030218 245

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

En raison de l’étendue de son territoire et de son grand nombre d’établissements d’enseignement, c’est l’Ontario qui attire le plus d’étudiants internationaux parmi l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires. Cette province attire près de 40 p. 100 des étudiants internationaux au Canada. Même si la Colombie-Britannique représente seulement environ 13 p. 100 de la population nationale, elle représente environ 28 p. 100 des effectifs d’étudiants internationaux au pays, ce qui indique la popularité de la province comme destination pour les études.

Le Québec, deuxième province la plus peuplée au pays, accueille près de 15 p. 100 des étudiants internationaux au pays. Les autres provinces, notamment les provinces Maritimes, ont augmenté le nombre d’étudiants internationaux dans la région au cours des dernières années, même si leur part du nombre total d’étudiants internationaux demeure relativement petite. Les informations décrivant la répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada par province/territoire se trouvent au tableau 6.

Tableau 6 Répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada par province et territoire, 2004 à 2010
 2004200520062007200820092010
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador0.6%0.6%0.7%0.8%0.9%0.8%0.8%
Île-du-Prince-Édouard0.2%0.2%0.2%0.3%0.3%0.3%0.3%
Nouvelle-Écosse3.3%3.3%3.2%3.1%3.3%3.4%3.6%
Nouveau-Brunswick1.9%1.9%1.9%1.8%1.8%1.7%1.6%
Québec 15.5%15.1%15.2%15.4%15.7%15.6%14.8%
Ontario 37.8%37.6%37.5%37.2%36.9%37.2%39.1%
Manitoba 2.9%3.0%3.0%3.0%2.7%2.7%2.6%
Saskatchewan 2.2%2.2%2.1%2.0%2.1%2.0%2.0%
Alberta 7.3%7.4%7.6%7.9%8.1%7.9%7.5%
Colombie-Britannique28.3%28.6%28.5%28.5%28.2%28.3%27.7%
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut0.1%0.1%0.0%0.1%0.0%0.0%0.0%
Total100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

4.2.2.Étudiants à courte durée de séjour (Langues Canada)

Cette sous-section examine le nombre d’étudiants de Langues Canada qui poursuivent une formation linguistique, ainsi que le nombre de semaines d’études, au Canada, par région.

Tableau 7 Nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada inscrits à des programmes de formation linguistique, par région, 2010
 ÉtudiantsSemainesÉtudiants
<4 sem.
Étudiants
4-12 sem.
Étudiants
13-24 sem.
Étudiants
25-36 sem.
Étudiants
37-52 sem.
Étudiants
>1 an
Alberta9 573100 0496236 23482769041521
Colombie-Britannique60777669 0588 22727 11817 07411 4727 848188
Saskatchewan et Manitoba2 23826 2074544055434819436
Ontario50 269643 8966 50620 21210 7115 3651 891284
Québec10 314107 4871 4305 9062 339546912
Nouvelle-Écosse2 93765 210104767805471595195
Reste de
l’ATLANTIQUE
79827 886129743265552
Total136 9061 639 79317 06460 75132 34218 89811 589728

Source : Langues Canada

Les données dans le tableau 7 illustrent le nombre d’étudiants dans chaque province/région qui ont suivi des cours de formation linguistique en 2010 selon la durée de leurs programmes. Le nombre total d’étudiants (136 906), en comparaison avec les semaines d’études représentées, indique qu’en moyenne ces étudiants internationaux étudient pendant une durée approximative de 12 semaines dans le cadre de leurs programmes.

Il convient de noter que, des 136 906 étudiants, au moins 110 157 (près de 81 %) suivaient des programmes de courte durée de moins de 6 mois (ceux dans les colonnes « < 4 semaines », « 4 à 12 semaines » et « 13 à 24 semaines »). Ces programmes représentent 1 134 638 semaines d’étudiants, qui est le nombre que nous utiliserons pour le calcul des dépenses effectuées par les étudiants à courte durée de séjour plus loin dans la section 6.

Comme le montre le tableau 8, c’est la province de la Colombie-Britannique qui affiche le plus grand pourcentage d’étudiants internationaux inscrits à des programmes linguistiques de Langues Canada, suivie de l’Ontario. Les données dans le tableau 8 indiquent également que c’est dans les provinces de l’Atlantique où la durée moyenne du séjour d’étude de ces étudiants internationaux est la plus longue. En fait, la durée de leur séjour d’étude est de 35 semaines en moyenne, comparativement aux 11 à 12 semaines dans les autres régions du pays.

Tableau 8 Répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada inscrits à des programmes de formation linguistique, par région, 2010
RépartitionÉtudiantsSemainesÉtudiants
<4 sem.
Étudiants
4-12 sem.
Étudiants
13-24 sem.
Étudiants
25-36 sem.
Étudiants
37-52 sem.
Étudiants
>1 an
Alberta7.0%6.1%3.7%10.3%2.6%3.7%3.6%2.9%
Colombie-Britannique44.4%40.8%48.2%44.6%52.8%60.7%67.7%25.8%
Saskatchewan
et Manitoba
1.6%1.6%0.3%0.7%1.7%1.8%1.7%4.9%
Ontario36.7%39.3%38.1%33.3%33.1%28.4%16.3%39.0%
Québec7.5%6.6%8.4%9.7%7.2%2.9%0.8%0.3%
Nouvelle-Écosse2.1%4.0%0.6%1.3%2.5%2.5%5.1%26.8%
Reste de
l’ATLANTIQUE
0.6%1.7%0.8%0.1%0.1%0.0%4.8%0.3%
Total100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%100.0%

Source : Langues Canada

4.3. Selon les provinces/territoires et par niveau d’études

4.3.1.Étudiants en séjour prolongé

Nous avons également obtenu de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada des données sur les inscriptions d’étudiants internationaux par province et par niveau d’études. Pour l’année 2010, cette information est présentée au tableau 9.

Tableau 9 Nombre d’étudiants internationaux au Canada selon les divers niveaux d’études, par province et territoire, 2010
 Secondaire ou
moins
MétierUniversitéAutre Post-
Secondaire
Autre Niveau d’études
non déclaré
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador100301 47090100
Île-du-Prince-Édouard801556065100
Nouvelle-Écosse1 0452505 9105601550
Nouveau-Brunswick 415652 6252501600
Québec 1 79099525 4303 165850-
Ontario 12 6409 06539 13519 2955 13510
Manitoba 8451954 05053585-
Saskatchewan 765553 23523545-
Alberta 3 6051 8708 5451 9003750
Colombie-Britannique13 8207 70025 93510 8002 220-
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut2510101000
Total35 14020 240116 89036 9009 045-

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Ce tableau présente notre meilleure estimation du nombre d’étudiants internationaux inscrits selon les divers niveaux d’études (pour une durée supérieure à six mois) dans chacune des provinces et chacun des territoires, et il sous-tend nos calculs de la section 6.

Le tableau 9 illustre la répartition des étudiants internationaux selon les divers niveaux d’études dans les provinces et les territoires. Dans les provinces Maritimes ainsi qu’au Québec, au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan, au moins 70 p. 100 des étudiants internationaux sont de niveau universitaire. En Ontario, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique cependant, la proportion d’étudiants universitaires est inférieure à la moyenne nationale. Cela s’explique par le fait que les étudiants internationaux dans les autres niveaux de programmes représentent une part beaucoup plus grande de leur total.

Il convient de noter que les données présentées pour les territoires pourraient ne pas représenter correctement les inscriptions dans le réseau de la maternelle à la douzième année. Nous ne connaissons aucun programme d’éducation internationale dans les trois territoires. Nous n’avons donc calculé aucun impact à ce niveau de l’étude [5].

Tableau 10 Répartition des étudiants internationaux au Canada selon les divers niveaux d’études, par province et territoire, 2010
 Secondary
or less
TradeUniversityOther Post-
Secondary
Other Level of Study
not Stated
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador5.9%1.8%86.5%5.3%0.6%-
Île-du-Prince-Édouard  11.0%2.1%76.7%8.9%1.4%-
Nouvelle-Écosse13.2%3.2%74.6%7.1%2.0%-
Nouveau-Brunswick11.8%1.8%74.7%7.1%4.6%0.0%
Québec 5.6%3.1%78.9%9.8%2.6%-
Ontario 14.8%10.6%45.9%22.6%6.0%-
Manitoba 14.8%3.4%70.9%9.4%1.5%-
Saskatchewan 17.6%1.3%74.6%5.4%1.0%-
Alberta 22.1%11.5%52.4%11.7%2.3%-
British Columbia 22.9%12.7%42.9%17.9%3.7%-
Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut45.5%18.2%18.2%18.2%0.0%-
Total19.3%10.6%53.5%12.8%3.7%-

Source : Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Page précédente - Table des matières - Page suivante


[4] Pour un complément d’information : Faits et chiffres

[5] Par exemple, le gouvernement du Yukon a déclaré qu’il n’existe, sur son territoire, aucun programme offert aux étudiants internationaux dans le réseau public de la maternelle à la douzième année. Anglais seulement (Voir lien : International Program - anglais seulement).

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-30