Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

 


Economic Impact of International Education in Canada - An Update

5. Student Expenditure

In this section, we detail the sources of information and data we relied on and the techniques we applied to derive estimates of basic educational expenses and living costs while international students stay in Canada.

5.1. Tuition and Other Fees

5.1.1. Long Term Students

The average tuition fees and other fees paid by international students in different levels of study in each province and the territories are shown in Table 11.

Table 11 Estimated Tuition Fees and Education Related Expenses per International Student in Canada by Level of Study, by Province and territory, 2010
   University Additional  
 Secondary
or less
TradeAverageFeesBooksOther Post-
Secondary
Other 
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
$9,000$10,980$10,310$500$1,200$10,980$10,980
Prince Edward Island$10,000$22,710$23,340$500$1,200$22,710$22,710
Nova Scotia$8,000$12,990$12,390$640$1,200$12,990$12,990
New Brunswick$11,160$12,140$11,700$410$1,200$12,140$12,140
Quebec$7,945$16,220$15,990$630$1,200$16,220$16,220
Ontario$13,250$19,160$19,060$810$1,200$19,160$19,160
Manitoba$10,000$12,200$11,740$430$1,200$12,200$12,200
Saskatchewan$10,795$14,080$13,820$440$1,200$14,080$14,080
Alberta$9,830$17,900$17,640$820$1,200$17,900$17,900
British Columbia$13,430$16,890$16,850$520$1,200$16,890$16,890
Yukon, Northwest
Territories and Nunavut
 $8,300$7,490$360$1,200$8,300$8,300
Total$10,341$14,870$16,770$700$1,200$14,870$14,870

Source: RKA Estimates based on Statistics Canada TLAC survey and Other Sources

For tuition and other fees at the K-12 level, we have relied upon information published by provincial government reports in each of the provinces. Note that these are based on tuition and fees in a school year (10 months) from public school sources only. Tuition and fees in private schools can be substantially higher.

Detailed tuition fees for full-time university level international students for each of the provinces are available from Statistics Canada’s annual Tuition and Living Accommodation Costs (TLAC) survey.  Note that no data is available from the TLAC for the Territories.

We have not calculated an average of full time undergraduate and graduate tuition fees as we do not have a breakdown of the number of international students in each category. We have applied the average of undergraduate student tuition fees for calculation purposes. In addition, we have included “Additional Fees” which represent compulsory fees universities impose on both domestic and international students, such as facility fees, society fees, health and dental (for international students only) fees, student pass fees in some cases, and others.  We have also made an allowance of $1,200 per academic year for books.

We note that tuition fees for undergraduate students are for an academic year of eight months, although in some cases, students do take courses in summer programs.  We have assumed that all undergraduate international students are paying for the equivalent of one academic year’s tuition in a given year.

Nationally, the average tuition fees for international undergraduate students was $16,768 in 2010/2011, an increase of 5.2% over the previous year.  This increase in tuition fees for international undergraduate students was smaller than that of the previous year (+7.1%), and changes in tuition fees ranged from a decrease of 0.3% in Nova Scotia to a rise of 9.5% in Saskatchewan.[6]

In estimating student expenditure in tuition and other fees directly related to educational purposes for students in the “Trade” and “Other Post-Secondary” levels, we have derived the values in the following manner:

  • For tuition fees, we have applied a factor of 90% to the average university tuition fees in each province. Based on the data available from the TLAC, tuition fees in colleges providing university level training average about 90% of all training institutions surveyed.[7]
  • We have also assumed that international students in “Trade” and “Other Post-Secondary” levels of study pay on average the same amount of “Additional Fees” as university level international students.[8]
  • The same allowance for annual expenditure on books has also been applied.
  • For college international students in the Territories, tuition fees information has been derived from a number of colleges’ websites.

For international students in the “Other” category, since we don’t have any detailed information on the nature of their study, we have assumed that they pay the same level of tuition fees and other education related expenses as those in the “Trade” level of study.

5.1.2. Languages Canada Short Term Students

Information from Languages Canada indicates that short term language students pay an average $305 per study week for tuition fees.

5.2. Living Expenses

5.2.1. Long Term Students

We have also relied upon a variety of data sources to arrive at average living expenses for different levels of study. Information related to home-stay, average room and meals and other basic living expenses for international students in different levels of study is shown in Table 12.

Table 12 Estimated Accommodation and Related Expenses per International Student in Canada by Level of Study, by Province and territory, 2010
   University  
 Secondary
or less
TradeRoom & Meal
  Average
TransportOther Post-
Secondary
Other 
Newfoundland
and Labrador 
$6,500$9,9309,330$600$9,930$9,930
Prince Edward Island$6,500$13,27512,855$420$13,275$13,275
Nova Scotia$6,500$12,60012,060$540$12,600$12,600
New Brunswick$6,500$11,99011,640$350$11,990$11,990
Quebec$7,000$12,30511,805$500$12,305$12,305
Ontario$8,350$13,25512,435$820$13,255$13,255
Manitoba$6,500$12,81012,090$720$12,810$12,810
Saskatchewan$6,600$11,87511,475$400$11,875$11,875
Alberta$7,020$11,55010,650$900$11,550$11,550
British Columbia$8,080$12,81511,835$980$12,815$12,815
Yukon, Northwest
Territories and Nunavut
 $9,7408,400$1,340$9,740$9,740
Total$6,955$12,013$11,325$688$12,013$12,013

Source: RKA Estimates based on Statistics Canada TLAC survey and Other Sources

For calculating living expenses at the K-12 level, we have relied upon information published by provincial government reports in each of the provinces on average home-stay costs for a 10-month period.[9]

At the university level, we have relied upon Statistics Canada’s annual Tuition and Living Accommodation Costs (TLAC) survey data to calculate the average costs of on-campus room and meal expenses for an eight months period. Values in the column “University – Room and Meal Average” have been scaled up to full year values.

We note that these are fairly conservative estimates as they apply to single students living on campus. Students with a family generally pay more than the amount shown here in Table 12. We assess in Appendix 2 how total expenditure is affected by changes in living expenses.

We have also made allowances for transportation costs for students staying in different provinces and territories.[10] We have relied upon data from Statistics Canada’s Survey of Household Spending (SHS), detailing household spending on public transportation, by province and territory, in 2009. The values we used refer to the median expenditure per household that reported using public transportation.  Values in 2010 have been adjusted for inflation between 2009 and 2010.

For students in other levels of study (trade, other post-secondary, and other), we have assumed that they spend the equivalent of what university students have to pay in an academic year (average room and meal and transportation costs).

Average costs of meals and accommodation for colleges in the Territories has been derived based on college websites. So has the estimate of transportation cost.

In addition to basic living costs as presented above, we have made an allowance of $2,500 per student per year ($1,500 for K-12 students) for discretionary expenses (such as eating out, recreational activities, and entertaining).

For each province and territory, in each level of study, the formula to calculate total expenditure is as follows:

Estimated number of students in that level of study x sum of (average tuition and additional fees, books, average room and meals, average transportation cost, average discretionary spending) per year = Total International Student Expenditure in one year in the level of study

5.2.2. Languages Canada Short Term Students

Information from Languages Canada shows that an average short term student spends $206 per study week for room cost. We have assumed $100 per study week for food, $35 for transportation, and $50 per week for discretionary spending, based on various institution websites which provide information on expense budgeting.

Previous page - Table of Contents - Next page


[6] See University tuition fees

[7] We have also been provided by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education detailed tuition data for public college and university international students. Similarly, the average full-year tuition fees in colleges and university colleges are about 90% of the average of all public universities and colleges.

[8] The TLAC data does cover colleges and institutes providing university level of training.

[9] By using a 10-month home stay value we have assumed that international students in secondary schools or lower levels in the K-12 system spend on average 10 months each year and may return to home countries for vacation.

[10] There may be double-counting of transportation cost in this Table and previous Table 7, as some universities have included bus passes in their reported “Additional Fees”.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

 

Résumé|Table des matières |Section : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9|Références|Annexe : 1 2

Impact économique du secteur de l’éducation internationale pour le Canada – Mise à jour

5. Dépenses des étudiants

Dans cette section, nous exposons en détail les sources d’information et les données utilisées, ainsi que les techniques que nous avons appliquées pour établir une estimation des dépenses de base engagées par les étudiants internationaux pour leur éducation et pour leurs besoins de subsistance durant leur séjour au Canada. 

5.1. Frais de scolarité et autres frais

5.1.1.Étudiants en séjour prolongé

Le tableau 11 indique la moyenne des dépenses en frais de scolarité et autres frais effectués par les étudiants internationaux à divers niveaux d'études, pour chaque province et territoire.

Tableau 11 Estimation des frais de scolarité et des dépenses liées à l’éducation par étudiant international au Canada, selon les divers niveaux d’études et par province et territoire, 2010
   Université  
 Secondaires ou
moins
MétierMoyenneFrais supp.Livres et
fournitures
Autre post-
secondaire
Autre
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador9 000 $10 980 $10 310 $500 $1 200 $10 980 $10 980 $
Île-du-Prince-Édouard10 000 $22 710 $23 340 $500 $1 200 $22 710 $22 710 $
Nouvelle-Écosse8 000 $12 990 $12 390 $640 $1 200 $12 990 $12 990 $
Nouveau-Brunswick11 160 $12 140 $11 700 $410 $1 200 $12 140 $12 140 $
Québec7 945 $16 220 $15 990 $630 $1 200 $16 220 $16 220 $
Ontario13 250 $19 160 $19 060 $810 $1 200 $19 160 $19 160 $
Manitoba10 000 $12 200 $11 740 $430 $1 200 $12 200 $12 200 $
Saskatchewan10 795 $14 080 $13 820 $440 $1 200 $14 080 $14 080 $
Alberta9 830 $17 900 $17 640 $820 $1 200 $17 900 $17 900 $
Colombie-Britannique13 430 $16 890 $16 850 $520 $1 200 $16 890 $16 890 $
Yukon, Territoires du
Nord-Ouest et Nunavut
-8 300 $7 490 $360 $1 200 $8 300 $8 300 $
Total10 341 $14 870 $16 770 $700 $1 200 $14 870 $14 870 $

Source : Estimations de RKA en fonction de l’enquête FSSUC de Statistique Canada et autres sources

Pour les frais de scolarité et les autres frais engagés au niveau maternelle‑secondaire, nous avons utilisé les données figurant dans les rapports publiés par les gouvernements provinciaux dans chacune des provinces. Veuillez prendre note que ces données sont fondées sur les droits de scolarité et autres frais engagés au cours d’une année scolaire (10 mois) pour les écoles publiques seulement. Les droits de scolarité et autres frais dans les écoles privées peuvent être considérablement plus élevés.

L’enquête annuelle de Statistique Canada intitulée « Frais de scolarité et de subsistance » (FSSUC) offre des données détaillées sur les frais de scolarité des étudiants internationaux inscrits à plein temps au niveau universitaire, pour chacune des provinces. À noter que cette enquête n’offre aucune donnée pour les territoires.

Nous n’avons pu calculer la moyenne des frais de scolarité universitaires selon les divers cycles (premier cycle et cycles supérieurs, à temps plein) car nous n’avons pas de données sur l’effectif des étudiants internationaux inscrits pour chaque catégorie. Aux fins de notre calcul, nous avons utilisé la moyenne des frais de scolarité s’appliquant au premier cycle. Nous avons également inclus la catégorie « Frais supplémentaires », qui représente les frais obligatoires qu’imposent les universités aussi bien aux étudiants du pays qu’aux étudiants internationaux, comme les frais d’utilisation des installations, les frais d’association, les frais de santé et les frais dentaires (pour les étudiants internationaux seulement), les frais de laissez-passer étudiants dans certains cas, etc. Nous avons également prévu une allocation de 1 200 $ par année d’études pour les livres.

Soulignons que les frais de scolarité pour les étudiants du premier cycle portent sur une année scolaire de huit mois, bien que certains étudiants suivent des cours de programmes d’été. Nous avons postulé que tous les étudiants internationaux de premier cycle déboursent pour une année donnée l’équivalent en frais de scolarité d’une année scolaire.

À l’échelle nationale, les frais de scolarité des étudiants internationaux de premier cycle se chiffraient en moyenne à 16 768 $ en 2010-2011, soit une augmentation de 5,2 p. 100 par rapport à l’année précédente. Cette augmentation des frais de scolarité des étudiants internationaux de premier cycle était moins élevée que celle de l’année précédente (+7,1 %), et les changements dans les frais de scolarité variaient d’une diminution de 0,3 % en Nouvelle-Écosse à une augmentation de 9,5 p. 100 en Saskatchewan [6].

En ce qui concerne les catégories « Métier » et « Autre postsecondaire », voici comment nous avons procédé pour estimer les frais de scolarité et autres dépenses directement liées à l’éducation :

  • Pour les frais de scolarité, nous avons appliqué un taux de 90 p. 100 des frais de scolarité universitaires moyens pratiqués dans chaque province. Selon les données de l’enquête FSSUC, les frais de scolarité exigés par les collèges qui offrent une formation de niveau universitaire équivalent en moyenne à environ 90 p. 100 des frais pratiqués par l'ensemble des établissements de formation recensés [7].
  • Nous avons également supposé que les étudiants internationaux des catégories « Métier » et « Autre postsecondaire » déboursaient en moyenne le même montant « Frais supplémentaires » que les étudiants internationaux de niveau universitaire [8].
  • Pour l’achat de livres, nous avons appliqué la même allocation annuelle.
  • Pour les étudiants internationaux inscrits à des collèges dans les territoires, l’information sur les frais de scolarité provient d’un certain nombre de sites Web de collèges.

Quant aux étudiants internationaux de la catégorie « Autre », nous avons postulé, faute d’informations détaillées sur la nature de leurs études, qu’ils déboursaient le même niveau de frais de scolarité et d’autres dépenses liées à l’éducation que les étudiants de la catégorie « Métier ».

5.1.2.Étudiants à courte durée de séjour (Langues Canada)

Selon les données de Langues Canada, les étudiants inscrits à des programmes linguistiques de courte durée payent en moyenne 305 $ par semaine d’études en frais de scolarité. 

5.2. Frais de subsistance

5.2.1.Étudiants en séjour prolongé

Nous avons également consulté diverses sources de données pour calculer la moyenne des frais de subsistance déboursés selon les différents niveaux d’études. Le tableau 12 illustre les données concernant les frais de séjour en famille d’accueil, les frais moyens de chambre et de repas et les autres frais de subsistance de base dépensés par les étudiants étrangers, selon divers niveaux d’études.

Tableau 12 Dépenses en services de logement et autres connexes par étudiant international au Canada par niveau d’études, selon les provinces et les territoires, 2010
   Université  
 Secondaire ou
moins
MétierChambre et repas
Moyenne
TransportAutre post-
secondaire
Autre
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador6 500 $9 930 $9 330 $600 $9 930 $9 930 $
Île-du-Prince-Édouard6 500 $13 275 $12 855 $420 $13 275 $13 275 $
Nouvelle-Écosse6 500 $12 600 $12 060 $540 $12 600 $12 600 $
Nouveau-Brunswick6 500 $11 990 $11 640 $350 $11 990 $11 990 $
Québec7 000 $12 305 $ 11 805 $500 $12 305 $12 305 $
Ontario8 350 $13 255 $12 435 $820 $ 13 255 $13 255 $
Manitoba6 500 $12 810 $12 090 $720 $12 810 $12 810 $
Saskatchewan6 600 $11 875 $11 475 $400 $11 875 $11 875 $
Alberta7 020 $11 550 $10 650 $900 $11 550 $11 550 $
Colombie-Britannique8 080 $12 815 $11 835 $980 $12 815 $12 815 $
Yukon, Territoires du
Nord-Ouest et Nunavut
 -9 740 $8 400 $1 340 $9 740 $9 740 $
Total6 955 $12 013 $11 325 $688 $12 013 $12 013 $

Source : Estimations de RKA en fonction de l’enquête FSSUC de Statistique Canada et autres sources

Pour calculer les frais de subsistance dépensés dans la catégorie maternelle‑secondaire, nous avons consulté les rapports gouvernementaux des provinces, concernant les frais moyens de séjour en famille d’accueil pour une période de dix mois. [9]

Au niveau universitaire, nous avons utilisé les données de l’enquête annuelle Frais de scolarité et de subsistance (FSSUC) de Statistique Canada pour calculer les frais moyens de chambre et de repas dépensés sur le campus pour une période de huit mois. Les valeurs inscrites dans la colonne « Université - Chambre et repas - Moyenne » ont été mises à l’échelle d'une année complète.

Soulignons qu’il s’agit là d’estimations relativement modérées, puisqu’elles s’appliquent à des étudiants célibataires vivant sur le campus. Les étudiants ayant une famille dépensent généralement davantage que le montant indiqué au tableau 12. Nous évaluons, à l’annexe 2, comment les dépenses totales sont affectées par les changements dans les frais de subsistance.

Nous avons également prévu des allocations pour les frais de transport des étudiants, selon la province et le territoire [10]. Nous avons utilisé à cette fin les données de l’Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages de Statistique Canada pour 2009, qui détaille les dépenses des ménages au chapitre des transports publics, par province et territoire. Les valeurs que nous avons utilisées ont trait aux dépenses médianes par foyer ayant déclaré utiliser les transports publics. Les valeurs de 2010 ont été ajustées en fonction de l’inflation entre 2009 et 2010.

Pour les étudiants des autres catégories d’études (métier, autre postsecondaire, autre), nous avons postulé qu’ils dépensaient l’équivalent de ce que doivent verser les étudiants universitaires durant une année scolaire (moyenne des frais de chambre et de repas et des frais de transport).

Les coûts moyens des repas et des services de logement pour les collèges dans les territoires ont été déterminés sur la base des données provenant des sites Web de collèges. Il en va de même des estimations du coût de transport.

En plus des frais de subsistance de base présentés ci-dessus, nous avons prévu 2 500 $ par étudiant/année (1 500 $ pour les élèves du réseau maternelle‑douzième année) en dépenses discrétionnaires (comme les repas à l’extérieur, les loisirs et les divertissements).

Pour chaque province et territoire, dans chaque niveau d’études, nous avons appliqué la formule suivante pour calculer les dépenses totales :

(Nombre estimatif d’étudiants dans ce niveau d’études) X (total des éléments suivants : moyenne des frais de scolarité et des frais supplémentaires, livres, moyenne des frais de chambre et de repas, moyenne des frais de transport, moyenne des dépenses discrétionnaires) par année = Dépenses totales par étudiant international durant une année à ce niveau d’études.

5.2.2.Étudiants à courte durée de séjour (Langues Canada)

Selon les données de Langues Canada, un étudiant à courte durée de séjour dépense en moyenne 206 $ par semaine d’études en frais de chambre. Nous avons prévu 100 $ par semaine d’études pour la nourriture, 35 $ pour le transport et 50 $ par semaine pour les dépenses discrétionnaires, en fonction des sites Web de divers établissements qui fournissent des informations sur la budgétisation des dépenses.

Page précédente - Table des matières - Page suivante


[6] Voir Frais de scolarité universitaires.

[7] Le ministère des Études supérieures de la Colombie-Britannique nous a également fourni des données détaillées sur les frais de scolarité s’appliquant aux étudiants internationaux des universités et collèges publics. Là aussi, la moyenne des frais de scolarité pratiqués pour une année scolaire passée dans un collège ou un collège universitaire équivaut à environ 90 p. 100 de la moyenne pour l’ensemble des universités et collèges publics.

[8] Les données de l’enquête FSSUC couvrent les collèges et instituts qui offrent une formation de niveau universitaire.

[9] En utilisant une valeur basée sur un séjour de dix mois en famille d’accueil, nous avons supposé que les élèves internationaux des écoles secondaires ou des niveaux inférieurs du réseau maternelle‑douzième année passaient en moyenne dix mois au Canada par année et pouvaient retourner dans leur pays d’origine pour les vacances.

[10] Il peut y avoir double comptage des frais de transport dans ce tableau et dans le tableau 7, du fait que certaines universités incluent le coût des laissez-passer d’autobus dans les « Frais supplémentaires ».

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-31