Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

 


Economic Impact of International Education in Canada - An Update

8. Canada’s Performance in the Global Market

To remain competitive in the global economy, Canada needs to attract the best and the brightest to contribute to our talent pool in many areas – scientific and research development, economic development opportunities, cultural diversification, just to name a few.  International students studying in Canada not only bring in substantial income to the local communities, but also may become a valuable source of highly skilled labour to our economy at a time when the western world is facing potential labour shortages especially among top talent.

In this section, we present statistics available from the UNESCO Institute for Statistics regarding international student mobility at the tertiary level by country.[18] In Table 24, we have shown the number of international students in selected host countries from 1999 to 2009 (the most recent year in which data for most countries is available).

Table 24 Number of Tertiary Level International Students in Selected Host Countries, 1999 to 2009
YEAR 19992000200120022003200420052006200720082009
Japan56,55259,69163,63774,89286,505117,903125,917130,124125,877126,568131,599
New Zealand6,9008,21011,06917,73226,35941,42240,774Data not avail.33,04731,56538,351
Canada32,46636,45042,71149,57259,06765,00169,12668,52092,881Data not avail.Data not avail.
France130,952137,085147,402165,437221,567237,587236,518247,510246,612243,436249,143
Germany178,195187,033199,132219,039240,619260,314259,797207,994206,875189,347197,895
Great Britain232,540222,936225,722227,273255,233300,056318,399330,078351,470341,791368,968
USA451,935475,169475,168582,996586,316572,509590,158584,719595,874624,474660,581
Australia 117,485105,764120,987179,619188,160166,954177,034184,710211,526230,635257,637
World Total1,602,1861,731,9131,804,9332,104,9352,360,2232,432,2562,475,9862,543,6592,745,0802,775,0122,799,408

Source: UNESCO Institute for Statistics

Table 25 shows the number of tertiary level international students in these selected countries as a percentage of total number of international students studying away from home country from 1999 to 2009 (i.e., each country’s share in the global market).

Table 25 Selected Host Countries of Tertiary Level International Students, Market Shares, 1999 to 2009, and Average Annual Growth Rate
YEAR19992000200120022003200420052006200720082009Ave. Ann. Grth Rt.
1999-2007
Japan3.50%3.40%3.50%3.60%3.70%4.80%5.10%5.10%4.60%4.60%4.70%11%
New Zealand0.40%0.50%0.60%0.80%1.10%1.70%1.60%Data not avail.1.20%1.10%1.40%22%
Canada2.00%2.10%2.40%2.40%2.50%2.70%2.80%2.70%3.40%Data not avail.Data not avail.14%
FranceData not avail.7.90%8.20%7.90%9.40%9.80%9.60%9.70%9.00%8.80%8.90%8%
GermanyData not avail.10.80%11.00%10.40%10.20%10.70%10.50%8.20%7.50%6.80%7.10%2%
Great Britain14.50%12.90%12.50%10.80%10.80%12.30%12.90%13.00%12.80%12.30%13.20%5%
USA28.20%27.40%26.30%27.70%24.80%23.50%23.80%23.00%21.70%22.50%23.60%4%
Australia7.30%6.10%6.70%8.50%8.00%6.90%7.20%7.30%7.70%8.30%9.20%8%
World Total100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%7%

Source: UNESCO Institute for Statistics

Data in this Table indicate that Canada took in about 3% of all international students in the global market, slightly more than New Zealand.  Canada’s market share at this level of education has also been growing from 1999 to 2007.  By comparison, Australia, a country similar in size and population to Canada, took up 9.2% of the global market in this area.  Of all these selected countries, US accounted for the largest market share, at 23.6% in 2009.

Table 25 further shows the average annual growth rate in the number of international students in these countries during the period from 1999 to 2007 (the most recent year data is available for Canada).

Of all these countries under comparison, New Zealand has experienced the strongest growth in the number of international students in the country for college and university education.  Canada ranked above average, presenting an average annual growth rate of 14% compared with the 7% growth rate for all countries.  Results from these two variables indicate that Canada has made inroads over recent years in attracting international students.  This is consistent with our findings in the literature review section shown earlier.

Previous page - Table of Contents - Next page


[18] The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the statistical office of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and is the UN depository for comparable statistics in the fields of education, science and technology, culture, and communications.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

 

Résumé|Table des matières |Section : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9|Références|Annexe : 1 2

Impact économique du secteur de l’éducation internationale pour le Canada – Mise à jour

8. La performance du Canada dans le marché mondial

Pour demeurer concurrentiel dans l’arène économique mondiale, le Canada doit enrichir son bassin de talents en attirant les meilleurs cerveaux dans des domaines très diversifiés : sciences et recherche-développement, développement économique, diversification culturelle, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. En plus de contribuer considérablement à l’économie des collectivités d’accueil locales, les étudiants internationaux en séjour d’études au Canada peuvent également s’avérer être pour notre économie une précieuse source de main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée, en cette période où l'hémisphère occidental risque de connaître des pénuries de main-d'œuvre, particulièrement parmi les meilleures compétences de pointe.

Cette section présente des statistiques de l’Institut de statistique de l’UNESCO concernant la mobilité des étudiants internationaux au niveau tertiaire, par pays [18]. Dans le tableau 24, nous montrons le nombre d’étudiants internationaux dans certains pays d’accueil, de 1999 à 2009 (l’année la plus récente pour laquelle des données sont disponibles en ce qui concerne la plupart des pays).

Tableau 24 Nombre d’étudiants internationaux de niveau tertiaire dans certains pays d’accueil, 1999 à 2009
ANNÉE 19992000200120022003200420052006200720082009
Japon56 55259 69163 63774 89286 505117 903125 917130 124125 877126 568131 599
Nouvelle-Zélande6 9008 21011 06917 73226 35941 42240 774Données
non disp.
33 04731 56538 351
Canada32 46636 45042 71149 57259 06765 00169 12668 52092 881Données
non disp.
Données
non disp.
France130 952137 085147 402165 437221 567237 587236 518247 510246 612243 436249 143
Allemagne178 195187 033199 132219 039240 619260 314259 797207 994206 875189 347197 895
Grande-Bretagne232 540222 936225 722227 273255 233300 056318 399330 078351 470341 791368 968
États-Unis451 935475 169475 168582 996586 316572 509590 158584 719595 874624 474660 581
Australie117 485105 764120 987179 619188 160166 954177 034184 710211 526230 635257 637
Total mondial1 602 1861 731 9131 804 9332 104 9352 360 2232 432 2562 475 9862 543 6592 745 0802 775 0122 799 408

Source : Institut de statistique de l'UNESCO

Le tableau 25 montre le nombre d’étudiants internationaux de niveau tertiaire dans ces pays sélectionnés comme pourcentage du nombre total d’étudiants internationaux en séjour d’études à l’étranger, de 1999 à 2009 (p. ex. la part de chaque pays sur le marché mondial).

Tableau 25 Certains pays hôtes d’étudiants internationaux de niveau tertiaire, parts de marché, 1999 à 2009, et taux de croissance annuel moyen
ANNÉE19992000200120022003200420052006200720082009Taux croiss. ann. moyen 1999-2007
Japon3.50%3.40%3.50%3.60%3.70%4.80%5.10%5.10%4.60%4.60%4.70%11%
Nouvelle-Zélande0.40%0.50%0.60%0.80%1.10%1.70%1.60%Données non disp.1.20%1.10%1.40%22%
Canada2.00%2.10%2.40%2.40%2.50%2.70%2.80%2.70%3.40%Données non disp.Données non disp.14%
FranceDonnées non disp.7.90%8.20%7.90%9.40%9.80%9.60%9.70%9.00%8.80%8.90%8%
AllemagneDonnées non disp.10.80%11.00%10.40%10.20%10.70%10.50%8.20%7.50%6.80%7.10%2%
Grande-Bretagne14.50%12.90%12.50%10.80%10.80%12.30%12.90%13.00%12.80%12.30%13.20%5%
États-Unis28.20%27.40%26.30%27.70%24.80%23.50%23.80%23.00%21.70%22.50%23.60%4%
Australie7.30%6.10%6.70%8.50%8.00%6.90%7.20%7.30%7.70%8.30%9.20%8%
Total mondial100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%100%7%

Source : Institut de statistique de l'UNESCO

Les données dans ce tableau indiquent que le Canada a accueilli environ 3 p. 100 des étudiants internationaux sur le marché mondial, soit un peu plus que la Nouvelle-Zélande. La part de marché du Canada à ce niveau d’éducation s’est également accrue de 1999 à 2007. Par comparaison, l’Australie, un pays comparable au Canada par sa taille et sa population, occupe 9,2 p. 100 du marché mondial dans ce secteur. De tous ces pays sélectionnés, les États-Unis occupent la plus grande part de marché, située à 23,6 p. 100 en 2009.

Le tableau 25 montre de plus le taux de croissance annuel moyen du nombre d’étudiants internationaux dans ces pays au cours de la période allant de 1999 à 2007 (l’année la plus récente pour laquelle des données sont disponibles en ce qui concerne le Canada).

Parmi tous les pays comparés, c’est en Nouvelle-Zélande que le nombre d’étudiants internationaux de niveau collégial et universitaire a le plus augmenté. Le Canada s’est positionné au-dessus de la moyenne, présentant un taux de croissance annuel moyen de 14 p. 100 comparativement au taux de croissance de 7 p. 100 pour l’ensemble des pays. Les résultats de ces deux variables indiquent que le Canada a réalisé des progrès au cours des dernières années en matière d’attraction des étudiants internationaux. Cette observation s’inscrit dans la logique de nos constatations dans la section de l’analyse documentaire présentée auparavant.

Page précédente - Table des matières - Page suivante


[18] L’Institut de statistique de l’UNESCO (ISU) est le bureau de statistique de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) et le dépositaire de l’ONU de statistiques comparables sur l’éducation, la science, la technologie, la culture et la communication.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-31