Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Global Affairs Canada

international.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

ARCHIVED - International Education: A Key Driver of Canada’s Future Prosperity

Executive Summary|Table of Contents|Chapter: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Annex E: Conceptualizing a Digital Strategy

In launching a sophisticated digital strategy, several elements should be considered to ensure appropriate tools and content are delivered for each of the key audiences outlined in Chapter 7. While many competitor countries are revising and updating digital strategies, those that are most successful clearly offer an authoritative source for international students. Noteworthy competitor sites to monitor include:

Many other country sites, consultants and agencies are generating substantial interest through competitive social media and Internet strategies. Often raised throughout the engagement process, the panel noted discussion regarding the critical development of social media in developing a sophisticated and nimble digital strategy. Social media monitoring companies report statistics on a daily basis, given the extensive growth of these communication channels. Out of the 6 billion people on the planet, 4.8 billion have a mobile phone, with many of them leaping through technological revolutions to the most current and efficient tools available. We also know that companies report their own user profiles.

  • Facebook hosts 850 million active users:
    • 425 million use mobile technology
    • An average Facebook user has 130 friends and “likes” 80 pages
    • 56 percent of consumers are more likely to refer a brand after becoming a fan
    • More than 3.5 billion pieces of content are shared each week
  • Twitter adds 1 million accounts each day and hosts 465 million users:
    • 55 percent use mobile technology
    • 34 percent of marketers have generated leads using Twitter
  • LinkedIn has become a professional networking giant:
    • Two new members join each second
    • 64 million members in north America
    • Europe hosts 34 million regional members
  • Youtube generates 2 billion views per day:
    • 44 percent of users are between 12 and 34 years old
  • India’s Orkut is the most visited social media site:
    • More than 12.8 million visitors, an increase of 81 percent from last year and three times the size of its nearest competitor in the category
    • Facebook ranks second with 4 million visitors, an increase of 150 percent over last year
  • China’s restrictions on social media have enabled local social media networks that compete heavily:
    • Renren hosts 160 million users
    • Pengyou models Facebook in style
    • Weibo (launched in 2009) currently has more than 100 million users and is growing by 10 million new users per month

Social media is the new media platform for planned media relations and viral communications. In modeling how a digital strategy might work, the following concept can illustrate how effectively digital platforms can operate through a coordinated strategy with many spokes to push key messages. This is a concept initiated by DFAIT but represents an example of how authoritative sources interact with other partner websites and with content generated on social media.

Previous page - Table of Contents - Next page

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-08-29

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

L’éducation internationale : un moteur-clé de la prospérité future du Canada

Annexe E : Conceptualiser une stratégie numérique

En vue du lancement d’une stratégie numérique évoluée, il convient de tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs afin d’assurer l’utilisation des bons outils et la diffusion du contenu approprié pour chacun des groupes clés définis au chapitre 7. Même si de nombreux pays concurrents sont à réviser et à mettre à jour leurs stratégies numériques, celles qui ont le plus de succès offrent clairement une source d’information digne de foi aux étudiants internationaux. Parmi les sites des pays concurrents à surveiller, figurent :

De nombreux autres sites, consultants et agences de différents pays suscitent un grand intérêt en recourant à des stratégies concurrentielles axées sur les médias sociaux et Internet. Comme des intervenants l’ont signalé à plusieurs reprises au cours du processus d’engagement, le comité tient à souligner l’importance primordiale d’inclure les médias sociaux dans l’élaboration d’une stratégie numérique évoluée et souple. Les entreprises de surveillance des médias sociaux communiquent des statistiques sur une base quotidienne, étant donné la forte croissance de ces moyens de communication. Sur les 6 milliards d’habitants que compte la planète, 4,8 milliards possèdent un téléphone cellulaire et un grand nombre d’entre eux brûlent les étapes des révolutions technologiques afin de se doter des outils de pointe les plus efficaces sur le marché. Les entreprises elles-mêmes diffusent des statistiques sur le profil de leurs utilisateurs, par exemple : 

  • Facebook compte 850 millions d’utilisateurs actifs.
    • 425 millions d’entre eux utilisent la technologie mobile.
    • L’utilisateur moyen de Facebook compte 130 amis et  « aime »  80 pages.
    • 56 p. 100 des consommateurs sont plus susceptibles de recommander une marque après avoir indiqué qu’ils aiment cette dernière.
    • Plus de 3,5 milliards d’éléments de contenu sont partagés chaque semaine.
  • Twitter compte 1 million de nouveaux comptes chaque jour et 465 millions d’utilisateurs.
    • 55 p. 100 d’entre eux utilisent la technologie mobile.
    • 34 p. 100 des spécialistes du marketing ont généré des clients potentiels au moyen de Twitter.
  • LinkedIn est devenu un géant des réseaux professionnels.
    • Deux nouveaux membres s’inscrivent chaque seconde.
    • Le réseau compte 64 millions de membres en Amérique du Nord.
    • Le réseau compte 34 millions de membres régionaux en Europe.
  • YouTube fait l’objet de 2 milliards de consultations par jour.
    • 44 p. 100 des utilisateurs sont âgés entre 12 et 34 ans.
  • Le site Orkut est le média social le plus visité en Inde.
    • Il reçoit plus de 12,8 millions de visiteurs — une hausse de 81 p. 100 par rapport à l’an dernier —, de sorte que le site est trois fois plus important que son plus proche concurrent dans cette catégorie.
    • Facebook arrive au second rang avec 4 millions de visiteurs — une augmentation de 150 p. 100 par rapport à l’an dernier.
  • En Chine, les restrictions imposées à l’égard des médias sociaux ont entraîné la création de réseaux locaux qui exercent une forte concurrence.
    • Renren compte 160 millions d’utilisateurs.
    • Pengyou reprend le mode de présentation de Facebook.
    • Weibo, lancé en 2009, compte actuellement plus de 100 millions d’utilisateurs, dont le nombre grossit à raison de 10 millions de nouveaux adhérents chaque mois.

Les médias sociaux forment la nouvelle plateforme de relations publiques et de communications virales. Dans la modélisation d’une stratégie numérique, le concept qui suit peut illustrer l’efficacité d’une telle plateforme dans une stratégie coordonnée, dotée d’un point central à partir duquel on fait rayonner les messages clés. Ce concept créé par le MAECI présente aussi un exemple de la façon dont les sources dignes de foi interagissent avec d’autres sites Web partenaires et avec le contenu généré dans les médias sociaux.

Page précédente - Table des matières - Page suivante

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-02-14