Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Expérience internationale Canada

international.gc.ca/experience

ACCORD ENTRE LE CANADA ET LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SLOVÉNIE CONCERNANT LA MOBILITÉ DES JEUNES

LE CANADA et LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SLOVÉNIE, ci-après désignés les « Parties »,

SOUCIEUX de promouvoir une étroite coopération et un partenariat entre les deux pays;

SOUHAITANT favoriser la mobilité des jeunes et les échanges jeunesse, l'accroissement de l'excellence des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et des organisations non gouvernementales et l'accroissement de la compétitivité des entreprises, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises des deux pays;

SOUHAITANT accroître les possibilités, pour leurs jeunes citoyens, d'ajouter un complément à leurs études postsecondaires ou à leur formation, d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle et de parfaire leur connaissance des langues, de la culture et de la société de l'autre pays et, ainsi, de promouvoir la compréhension mutuelle entre les deux pays;

CONVAINCUS de l'intérêt de faciliter la mobilité des jeunes;

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE PREMIER

Objet

Le présent accord vise à simplifier et à faciliter les procédures administratives applicables quand les jeunes citoyens d'une Partie admissibles en vertu du présent accord souhaitent entrer sur le territoire de l'autre Partie et y séjourner dans le but d'ajouter un complément à leurs études postsecondaires ou à leur formation, d'acquérir de l'expérience professionnelle et de parfaire leur connaissance des langues, de la culture et de la société de l'autre pays.

ARTICLE 2

Admissibilité

Les citoyens la République de Slovénie et du Canada suivants peuvent bénéficier de l'application du présent accord :

a)       les jeunes citoyens, y compris les diplômés d'un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire, qui ont l'intention de suivre une formation additionnelle rémunérée dans le pays d'accueil dans le cadre d'un contrat de travail convenu au préalable afin de contribuer à leur avancement professionnel;

b)       les étudiants inscrits dans un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire de leur pays d'origine qui ont l'intention de faire une partie de leur programme d'études dans le pays d'accueil au moyen d'un stage ou d'un placement professionnel convenu au préalable, obligatoire et rémunéré, y compris dans le cadre d'une entente entre établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire;

c)       les jeunes citoyens, y compris les étudiants inscrits dans leur pays d'origine, qui ont l'intention de voyager dans le pays d'accueil et qui désirent obtenir un emploi rémunéré pour augmenter leurs ressources financières.

ARTICLE 3

Exigences

1.       Les Parties considèrent que peuvent bénéficier de l’application du présent accord les jeunes citoyens de l’une ou l’autre Partie visés par l’une des catégories mentionnées à l’article 2 qui ont présenté une demande individuelle à la mission diplomatique ou, le cas échéant, au poste consulaire de l’autre Partie responsable du territoire du pays dont ils sont citoyens ou sur lequel ils ont été légalement admis, pour autant qu’ils remplissent les conditions suivantes :

a)       avoir entre 18 et 35 ans inclusivement à la date de réception de la demande à la mission diplomatique ou au poste consulaire;

b)       avoir la citoyenneté slovène et détenir un passeport slovène dont la période de validité excède la durée prévue du séjour aux termes du présent accord ou avoir la citoyenneté canadienne et détenir un passeport canadien dont la période de validité excède la durée prévue du séjour aux termes du présent accord;

c)       être en possession d'un billet de départ ou avoir suffisamment d'argent pour acheter ce billet et prouver qu'ils disposent des ressources financières nécessaires pour couvrir les dépenses engagées au début de leur séjour sur le territoire de l'autre Partie;

d)       ne pas être accompagnés de personnes à charge;

e)       accepter de souscrire une assurance appropriée couvrant les soins de santé, y compris l'hospitalisation et le rapatriement, pour la durée de leur séjour autorisé, avant d'entrer sur le territoire de l'autre partie;

f)       selon le cas :

i)       démontrer qu'ils ont obtenu un contrat de travail convenu au préalable,

ii)      fournir les documents prouvant qu'ils sont inscrits dans un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire dans leur pays d'origine et démontrer qu'ils ont obtenu un stage ou un placement professionnel convenu au préalable,

iii)     confirmer leur intention de voyager sur le territoire de l'autre Partie, avec la possibilité d'obtenir un emploi rémunéré afin d'augmenter leurs ressources financières;

g)       satisfaire à toutes les autres exigences s'appliquant en vertu des lois aux étrangers qui entrent dans le pays d'accueil, dans la mesure où ces exigences ne sont pas déjà énoncées ci-dessus aux alinéas a) à f);

h)       acquitter les droits afférents à la demande ou les frais de participation en vigueur ainsi que les droits de visa applicables.

2.       Les Parties considèrent que les citoyens admissibles peuvent bénéficier deux fois au maximum de l'application du présent accord, et ce, pour autant que ce ne soit pas deux fois au titre de la même catégorie énoncée à l'article 2, et que les deux séjours ne soient pas consécutifs. La durée de chaque séjour est d'au plus un an.

3.       Durant leur séjour au Canada, les citoyens slovènes participants souscrivent une assurance supplémentaire prévoyant une couverture spécifique pour les risques inhérents au travail effectué, s'il y a lieu.

ARTICLE 4

Entrée et séjour

1.       Chaque Partie facilite, en vertu des termes du présent accord, les procédures par lesquelles les citoyens admissibles de l'autre Partie peuvent entrer et séjourner sur son territoire.

2.       Sous réserve de considérations d'intérêt public, chaque Partie délivre aux citoyens admissibles de l'autre Partie, conformément à l'article 3, un document leur facilitant l'accès à son territoire. Le document est valide pour un maximum d'un an et précise le motif du séjour :

a)       dans le cas de la République de Slovénie, il s'agit d'un visa de type D;

b)       dans le cas du Canada, il s'agit d'une lettre d'introduction et, s'il y a lieu, d'un visa.

3.       Les documents visés au paragraphe précédent sont délivrés aux citoyens admissibles par la mission diplomatique ou le poste consulaire de l'autre Partie où la demande a été présentée conformément à l'article 3.

ARTICLE 5

Autorisation de travail

1.       La République de Slovénie délivre aux citoyens canadiens admissibles aux termes du présent accord et qui se sont vu délivrer un visa de type D conformément au paragraphe 2 de l'article 4 :

a)       dans les cas prévus à l'article 2, alinéas a) et b), après leur arrivée à la République de Slovénie et sans égard à la situation du marché du travail, un permis de travail personnel pour un employeur spécifié, valide pour la durée de la validité du visa susmentionné;

b)       dans les cas prévus à l'article 2, alinéa c), après leur arrivée à la République de Slovénie et sans égard à la situation du marché du travail, un permis de travail personnel pour de l'emploi occasionnel, valide sur tout le territoire de la République de Slovénie pour la durée de la validité du visa susmentionné.

2.       Le Canada délivre aux citoyens slovènes admissibles aux termes du présent accord et qui se sont vu délivrer une lettre d'introduction conformément au paragraphe 2 de l'article 4 :

a)       dans les cas prévus à l'article 2, alinéas a) et b), dès leur arrivée au Canada et sans égard à la situation du marché canadien du travail, un permis de travail pour un employeur spécifié, valide pour la durée de leur séjour autorisé;

b)       dans les cas prévus à l'article 2, alinéa c), dès leur arrivée au Canada et sans égard à la situation du marché canadien du travail, un permis de travail ouvert pour de l'emploi occasionnel, valide pour la durée de leur séjour autorisé.

ARTICLE 6

Dispositions générales

1.       Les citoyens de l'une ou l'autre Partie qui bénéficient de l'application du présent accord sont assujettis aux lois et règlements du pays d'accueil, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne la pratique de professions réglementées.

2.       Ni l'une ni l'autre Partie n'a l'intention de rejeter la demande présentée par un jeune citoyen en vertu du présent accord pour l'unique raison qu'il n'a pas une connaissance suffisante de la langue slovène, française ou anglaise.

3.       Les lois et règlements du pays d'accueil relatifs à la sécurité sociale et aux prestations d'assurance-emploi et d'aide sociale s'appliquent.

4.       Chaque Partie accorde aux citoyens de l'autre Partie qui bénéficient de l'application du présent accord le même traitement que celui qu'elle accorde à ses propres citoyens en ce qui concerne les conditions de travail et la rémunération, conformément à ses lois et règlements internes. Dans le cas du Canada, les Parties comprennent que les lois et règlements qui concernent les conditions de travail et la rémunération relèvent essentiellement de la compétence des provinces et des territoires.

5.       Le présent accord ne modifie en rien les obligations des Parties découlant d'autres traités internationaux.

ARTICLE 7

Mesures d'incitation

Les Parties encouragent les institutions gouvernementales, les organisations non gouvernementales, les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et le secteur privé à prêter leur concours à l'application du présent accord, particulièrement en donnant aux citoyens des conseils sur la façon d'obtenir de l'information et de trouver des placements professionnels ou de l'emploi.

ARTICLE 8

Mise en œuvre

1.       Les Parties fixent chaque année, par échange de notes diplomatiques, le nombre de citoyens, sur le fondement de la réciprocité, qui pourront bénéficier de l'application du présent accord.

2.       Les Parties déterminent sur consentement mutuel, par échange de notes diplomatiques, le montant minimal des ressources financières requises en vertu de l'alinéa 1c) de l'article 3.

3.       Les Parties établissent le nombre de citoyens bénéficiant de l'application du présent accord pour la période commençant à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord et se terminant à la fin de l'année courante, puis annuellement du 1er janvier au 31 décembre.

4.       Les Parties s'informent mutuellement, par la voie diplomatique, des procédures et modalités administratives applicables à la mise en œuvre du présent accord.

ARTICLE 9

Consultations

Les Parties peuvent, en tout temps, se consulter au sujet de l'interprétation et de la mise en œuvre du présent accord.

ARTICLE 10

Dispositions finales

1.       Chaque Partie notifie par écrit à l'autre Partie, par la voie diplomatique, l'accomplissement des procédures internes requises pour l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2.       Le présent accord entre en vigueur le premier jour du deuxième mois suivant la date de réception de la dernière notification mentionnée au paragraphe précédent.

3.       L'une ou l'autre Partie peut à tout moment suspendre temporairement l'application du présent accord, en partie ou en totalité, par notification écrite à l'autre Partie, énonçant notamment la date de prise d'effet de la suspension, communiquée par la voie diplomatique. La suspension n'affecte pas la validité des lettres d'introduction, des visas et des permis de travail déjà délivrés par la République de Slovénie ou le Canada aux termes du présent accord.

4.       L'une ou l'autre Partie peut à tout moment dénoncer le présent accord en donnant un préavis écrit de trois mois à l'autre Partie par la voie diplomatique. La dénonciation n'affecte pas la validité des lettres d'introduction, des visas et des permis de travail déjà délivrés par la République de Slovénie ou le Canada aux termes du présent accord.

5.       Les Parties peuvent modifier le présent accord par écrit sur consentement mutuel, et les modifications entrent en vigueur conformément aux modalités énoncées aux paragraphes 1 et 2 du présent article.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés aux fins des présentes par leur gouvernement respectif, ont signé le présent accord.

FAIT en double exemplaire, à Ljubljana ce 22e jour d'octobre 2009, en langues française, anglaise et slovène, chaque version faisant également foi.

Pierre Guimond

POUR LE CANADA

Peter Debeljak

POUR LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SLOVÉNIE

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-04-25

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Experience Canada

international.gc.ca/experience

AGREEMENT BETWEEN CANADA AND THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA CONCERNING YOUTH MOBILITY

CANADA and THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA, hereinafter referred to as the "Parties",

DESIRING to promote close co-operation and partnership between the two countries;

WISHING to encourage mobility and exchanges of youth; the enhancement of excellence of post-secondary institutions and non-governmental organizations; and the enhancement of competitiveness of businesses, including small and medium-sized businesses, in the two countries;

WISHING to develop opportunities for their young citizens to complement their post-secondary education or training; to acquire work experience; and to improve their knowledge of the other country's languages, culture and society, and thus to promote mutual understanding between the two countries;

CONVINCED of the value of facilitating youth mobility;

HAVE AGREED on the following provisions:

ARTICLE 1

Purpose

The purpose of this Agreement is to simplify and facilitate administrative procedures applicable when young citizens of one Party, eligible under this Agreement, wish to enter and stay in the territory of the other Party to complement their post-secondary education or training; to acquire work experience; and to improve their knowledge of the other country's languages, culture and society.

ARTICLE 2

Eligibility

The following citizens of the Republic of Slovenia and Canada shall be eligible to benefit from the application of this Agreement:

(a)       Young citizens, including post-secondary graduates, who intend to obtain further remunerated training in the host country under a pre-arranged contract of employment in support of their career development;

(b)       Registered students of a post-secondary institution in their home country who intend to complete part of their academic curriculum in the host country by undertaking a pre-arranged, mandatory and remunerated internship or work placement, including in the context of an arrangement between post-secondary institutions;

(c)       Young citizens, including registered students in their home country, who intend to travel in the host country and who wish to obtain remunerated employment in order to supplement their financial resources.

ARTICLE 3

Requirements

1.       The Parties shall consider young citizens of either Party who fall under one of the categories referred to in Article 2 and who have submitted an individual application to the other Party's diplomatic mission or, if applicable, consular post, responsible for the territory of the country of which they are citizens or in which they have been lawfully admitted, to be qualified to benefit from this Agreement, provided they meet the following requirements:

(a)       Be between the ages of 18 and 35 inclusively on the date the application is received by mission or consular office;

(b)       Be a Slovene citizen holding a Slovenian passport with a period of validity exceeding the expected duration of stay under this Agreement or a Canadian citizen holding a Canadian passport with a period of validity exceeding the expected duration of stay under this Agreement;

(c)       Be in possession of a departure ticket or sufficient financial resources to purchase such a ticket and have proof of the financial resources necessary to cover the expenses involved at the beginning of their stay in the territory of the other Party;

(d)       Not be accompanied by dependants;

(e)       Agree to take out appropriate insurance for health care, including hospitalization and repatriation, for the duration of their authorized stay, prior to their entry in the territory of the other Party;

(f)       As the case may be:

(i)       Demonstrate that they have obtained a pre-arranged contract of employment,

(ii)      Provide documentation proving registration at a post-secondary institution in their home country and demonstrate that they have obtained a pre-arranged internship or work placement,

(iii)     Confirm their intention to travel in the territory of the other Party with the possibility of obtaining remunerated employment to supplement their financial resources;

(g)       Meet any other conditions required for aliens to enter the host country resulting from its legislation, to the extent not already set out in sub-paragraphs (a) to (f) above;

(h)      Pay the current application or participation fees and any relevant visa fees.

2.       The Parties shall consider qualified citizens to benefit from the application of this Agreement up to a maximum of two times, provided that it is under two different categories as set out in Article 2 and that there is an interruption between each stay. The duration of each stay shall not exceed one year.

3.       While in Canada, participating Slovene citizens shall purchase additional occupation specific insurance when required.

ARTICLE 4

Entry and Stay

1.       Each Party shall facilitate, under the terms of this Agreement, the procedures whereby the qualified citizens of the other Party may enter and stay in its territory.

2.       Subject to public policy considerations, each Party shall issue to the other Party's qualified citizens, pursuant to Article 3, a document facilitating access to its territory. The document shall be valid for a maximum of one year and shall specify the reason for the stay:

(a)       In the case of the Republic of Slovenia, the document shall consist of a visa type D;

(b)       In the case of Canada, the document shall consist of a letter of introduction and, if applicable, a visa.

3.       The documents described in the preceding paragraph shall be issued to qualified citizens by the other Party's diplomatic mission or consular post where the application was submitted pursuant to Article 3.

ARTICLE 5

Authorization to Work

1.       The Republic of Slovenia shall issue to Canadian citizens qualified to benefit from the application of this Agreement and who have been issued a visa type D pursuant to Article 4, paragraph 2:

(a)       in cases specified in Article 2(a) and (b), after their arrival in the Republic of Slovenia and without reference to the labour market situation, a personal work permit for a specified employer valid for the duration of the validity of the above-mentioned visa; or

(b)       in cases specified in Article 2(c), after their arrival in the Republic of Slovenia and without reference to labour market situation, a personal work permit for employment valid throughout the territory of Slovenia for the duration of the validity of the above-mentioned visa.

2.       Canada shall issue to Slovene citizens qualified to benefit from the application of this Agreement and who have been issued a letter of introduction pursuant to Article 4, paragraph 2:

(a)       in cases specified in Article 2 (a) and (b), upon their arrival in Canada, irrespective of the status of the national employment market in Canada, a work permit for a specified employer valid for the entire authorized length of their stay; or

(b)       in cases specified in Article 2 (c), upon their arrival in Canada, irrespective of the status of the national employment market in Canada, a work permit valid for any employer for the entire authorized length of their stay.

ARTICLE 6

General Provisions

1.       Citizens of either Party who are benefiting from the application of this Agreement are subject to the laws and regulations in force in the host country, particularly with regard to the practice of regulated professions.

2.       Neither Party intends to refuse application from young citizens under this Agreement solely on the grounds of an applicant's lack of knowledge of the Slovene, English or French language.

3.       The laws and regulations of the host country relating to social welfare, unemployment benefits and social assistance shall apply.

4.       Each Party shall give citizens of the other Party who are benefiting from the application of this Agreement the same treatment as they give its own citizens with regard to working conditions and wages, in accordance with its domestic laws and regulations. In the case of Canada, the Parties understand that the laws and regulations relating to working conditions and wages primarily fall within the competence of the provinces and territories.

5.       This Agreement does not affect the obligations of the Parties that are arising from other international treaties.

ARTICLE 7

Incentives

The Parties shall encourage government institutions, non-governmental organizations, post-secondary institutions and the private sector to lend their support to the application of this Agreement, particularly by giving advice to citizens so that they can obtain information and look for work placements or employment.

ARTICLE 8

Implementation

1.       The Parties shall set on an annual basis, through an exchange of diplomatic notes, the number of citizens, based on reciprocity, who will be allowed to benefit from the application of this Agreement.

2.       The Parties shall determine by mutual consent and through an exchange of diplomatic notes the minimum amount of financial resources required under Article 3, paragraph 1(c).

3.       The Parties shall count the number of citizens benefiting from the application of this Agreement from the entry into force of this Agreement to the end of the current year, and then annually from January 1 to December 31.

4.       The Parties shall inform each other through diplomatic channels of all administrative procedures and conditions related to the implementation of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 9

Consultations

The Parties may, at any time, consult with each other concerning the interpretation and implementation of the provisions of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 10

Final Provisions

1.       Each Party shall provide written notification to the other Party, through diplomatic channels, of the completion of the internal procedures required for this Agreement to come into force.

2.       This Agreement shall come into force on the first day of the second month following the date of receipt of the last notification referred to in the preceding paragraph.

3.       Either Party may at any time temporarily suspend the application of this Agreement, in part or in whole, by providing written notification to the other Party, including the effective date of suspension, through diplomatic channels. Suspension shall not affect the validity of any letters of introduction, visas or work permits already issued by the Republic of Slovenia or Canada under the terms of this Agreement.

4.       Either Party may at any time terminate this Agreement with three months' written notice to the other party through diplomatic channels. Termination shall not affect the validity of any letters of introduction, visas or work permits already issued by the Republic of Slovenia or Canada under the terms of this Agreement.

5.       The Parties may amend this Agreement in writing upon their mutual consent and such amendments shall enter into force according to the procedures established in paragraphs 1 and 2 of this Article.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed this Agreement.

DONE in duplicate at Ljubljana, this 22nd day of October 2009, in the English, French and Slovene languages, each version being equally authentic.

Pierre Guimond

FOR CANADA

Peter Debeljak

FOR THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-04-25