Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Expérience internationale Canada

international.gc.ca/experience

PROTOCOLE D'ENTENTE ENTRE LE BUREAU COMMERCIAL DU CANADA À TAIPEI ET LE BUREAU ÉCONOMIQUE ET CULTUREL DE TAIPEI AU CANADA CONCERNANT LA MOBILITÉ DES JEUNES

LE BUREAU COMMERCIAL DU CANADA À TAIPEI ET LE BUREAU ÉCONOMIQUE ET CULTUREL DE TAIPEI AU CANADA ci-après désignés les« participants »,

DÉSIREUX de promouvoir des relations de coopération étroites entre Taïwan et le Canada (les« juridictions »);

AYANT L'INTENTION de faciliter l'accès aux échanges culturels qui permettent aux jeunes d'apprendre à mieux connaître la langue, la culture et la société de l'autre juridiction à l'occasion d'une expérience de voyage, de travail ou de vie à l'étranger;

AYANT L'INTENTION d'encourager la mobilité des jeunes afin de favoriser le développement personnel et professionnel des jeunes participants;

CONVAINCUS des effets bénéfiques de la facilitation de ces échanges;

SE SONT ENTENDUS sur ce qui suit:

1. OBJET

Les participants simplifieront et faciliteront les procédures administratives applicables lorsque des personnes provenant d'une juridiction qui sont éligibles selon le présent Protocole d'entente et ont l'intention d'entrer et de séjourner temporairement dans l'autre juridiction pour y améliorer leur connaissance de sa langue, de sa culture et de sa société au moyen d'une expérience de voyage, de travail et de vie.

2. QUALIFICATIONS

Les participants considéreront les personnes suivantes de leur juridiction comme éligibles à bénéficier de l'application du présent Protocole d'entente

  1. Les personnes, y compris les diplômés du niveau postsecondaire, qui ont l'intention d'obtenir une formation supplémentaire dans l'autre juridiction en vertu d'un contrat prévu à l'avance en vue d'une expérience en milieu de travail appuyant leur développement professionnel;
  2. Les étudiants inscrits à un établissement postsecondaire dans leur juridiction d'origine qui ont l'intention de compléter une partie de leur programme d'études dans la juridiction d'accueil en y effectuant un stage ou placement de travail prévu a l'avance, incluant dans le contexte d'un arrangement entre établissements postsecondaires;
  3. Les personnes qui ont l'intention de voyager dans l'autre juridiction et d'y travailler pour augmenter leurs ressources financières.

3. CONDITIONS DE QUALIFICATION

  1. Les participants considéreront comme qualifiées pour bénéficier de l'application du présent Protocole d'entente les personnes provenant de l'une ou l'autre juridiction qui entrent dans les catégories visées au paragraphe 2 et présentent une demande à titre individuel au bureau compétent de l'autre juridiction, pourvu qu'elles remplissent les conditions suivantes :
    1. se conformer à toutes les exigences des lois et règlements pertinents de l'autre juridiction en matière d'immigration, y compris quant à l'admissibilité, qui ne sont pas déjà énoncées aux alinéas ii) à x) ci-dessous;
    2. être âgées de 18 à 35 ans inclusivement à la date à laquelle le bureau compétent de la juridiction d'accueil reçoit leur demande;
    3. être titulaires d'un passeport canadien valide au-delà de la durée du séjour prévu aux termes du présent Protocole d'entente, ou titulaires d'un passeport délivré par l'autorité compétente de Taïwan, portant le numéro d'identification de la personne et dont la validité dépasse la durée du séjour prévu aux termes du présent Protocole d'entente;
    4. être en possession d'un billet de départ ou disposer de ressources financières suffisantes pour acheter un tel billet;
    5. ne pas déclarer de personnes à charge dans leur demande, afin de pouvoir bénéficier du présent Protocole d'entente;
    6. avoir la preuve qu'elles disposent des ressources financières nécessaires pour subvenir à leurs besoins au début de leur séjour;
    7. payer les frais applicables;
    8. accepter de souscrire, avant d'entrer dans l'autre juridiction, à une assurance médicale, y compris une protection pour les frais d'hospitalisation et de rapatriement, pour toute la durée de leur séjour autorisé;
    9. durant leur séjour au Canada, les participants originaires de Taïwan devront souscrire à une assurance professionnelle spécifique s'il y a lieu;
    10. selon le cas :
      1. montrer qu'elles ont obtenu un contrat prévu à l'avance soit pour une expérience en milieu de travail, un stage ou un placement de travail dans la juridiction d'accueil;
      2. fournir des documents attestant qu'elles sont inscrites à un établissement postsecondaire dans leur juridiction d'origine et qu'elles ont obtenu un stage ou un placement de travail dans leur juridiction d'accueil;
      3. confirmer leur intention de voyager dans la juridiction d'accueil et de travailler pour arrondir leurs ressources financières.
  2. Les participants permettront aux personnes qualifiées de bénéficier de l'application du présent Protocole d'entente une fois seulement, pour un séjour d'une durée maximale d'un an.

4. ENTRÉE ET SÉJOUR

  1. Sous réserve de considérations d'intérêt public, chaque participant délivrera aux personnes originaires de l'autre juridiction qui sont qualifiées aux termes du paragraphe 3 un document facilitant l'accès au territoire qu'il représente. Ce document sera valide pour un an et précisera le motif du séjour. Dans le cas de Taïwan, ce document consistera en un Visa de Visiteur pour la Mobilité des Jeunes. Dans le cas du Canada, ce document consistera en une lettre d'introduction et un visa de résident temporaire.
  2. Les documents définis au sous-paragraphe ci-dessus seront délivrés aux personnes qualifiées soit par un des bureaux économiques et culturels de Taipei au Canada où la demande aura été présentée conformément au paragraphe 3 ou par le Bureau commercial du Canada à Taipei, la mission diplomatique ou le bureau consulaire du Canada chargé du territoire du pays où les personnes qualifiées sont présentes et ont été légalement admises.

5. AUTORISATIONS DE TRAVAIL

  1. Un Visa de Visiteur pour la Mobilité des Jeunes délivré par un Bureau économique et culturel de Taipei au Canada à une personne qualifiée pour bénéficier de l'application du présent Protocole d'entente permettra automatiquement au titulaire de travailler et résider à Taïwan pour la durée de leur séjour autorisé.
  2. Les personnes originaires de Taïwan à qui aura été délivrée une lettre d'introduction recevront à leur arrivée au Canada, quel que soit l'état du marché local de l'emploi au Canada, un permis de travail valide pour toute la durée de leur séjour, pourvu qu'elles satisfassent à toutes les prescriptions des lois canadiennes sur l'immigration.

6. VALIDITÉ DE LA DOCUMENTATION

Les permis de travail délivrés par le gouvernement du Canada en vertu d'une lettre d'introduction seront valides partout au Canada sous réserve des exigences applicables selon les lois canadiennes sur l'immigration, incluant l'autorité des agents d'imposer des conditions sous réserve de considérations d'intérêt public; les Visas de Visiteurs pour la Mobilité des Jeunes délivrés par le Bureau économique et culturel de Taïpei au Canada seront valides partout à Taiwan.

7. LOIS APPLICABLES

  1. Les personnes originaires de Taïwan et du Canada séjournant dans l'autre juridiction en vertu du présent Protocole d'entente sont assujetties aux lois et règlements en vigueur dans leur juridiction d'accueil, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les normes d'emploi, incluant les conditions de travail et la rémunération.
  2. Les lois et règlements de la juridiction d'accueil relatifs aux normes d'emploi s'appliqueront; dans le cas du Canada, les lois et règlements relatifs aux normes d'emploi relèvent principalement de la compétence des provinces et des territoires.

8. FACILITATION DU PROGRAMME

Les participants encourageront les organismes concernés de leur juridiction à apporter leur soutien à l'application du présent Protocole d'entente, particulièrement en donnant les conseils appropriés aux personnes de l'autre juridiction de sorte qu'elles puissent obtenir les informations de nature à faciliter leurs déplacements, leur travail et leur expérience de vie.

9. MISE EN ŒUVRE

  1. Les participants détermineront annuellement et sur une base de réciprocité, par échange de lettres, le nombre de personnes qui pourront bénéficier de l'application du présent Protocole d'entente.
  2. Les participants détermineront d'un commun accord, par des échanges de communications écrites, le montant minimum des ressources financières exigées en vertu du paragraphe 3 a) vi).

10. DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES

  1. Le présent Protocole d'entente prendra effet dès sa signature par les participants.
  2. L'un ou l'autre des participants pourra en tout temps mettre fin au présent Protocole d'entente ou en suspendre temporairement l'application, en partie ou en totalité, en donnant un avis écrit à l'autre participant. La fin ou suspension du présent Protocole d'entente prendra effet au plus tôt 30 jours après la date de l'avis. La fin ou la suspension du present Protocole d'entente n'aura aucune incidence sur le droit de séjour des personnes déjà admises dans la juridiction d'accueil conformément au présent Protocole d'entente.
  3. Les participants pourront modifier le présent Protocole d'entente par consentement mutuel écrit.

SIGNÉ en deux exemplaires à Ottawa, le 15 jour de avril 2010, en languages française, chinoise et anglaise chaque version étant également valide.

POUR LE BUREAU COMMERCIAL DU CANADA À TAÏPEI
Signature box
POUR LE BUREAU ÉCONOMIQUE ET CULTUREL DE TAÏPEI AUCANADA
Signature box

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-11-06

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Experience Canada

international.gc.ca/experience

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING BETWEEN THE CANADIAN TRADE OFFICE IN TAIPEI AND THE TAIPEI ECONOMIC AND CULTURAL OFFICE IN CANADA CONCERNING YOUTH MOBILITY

THE CANADIAN TRADE OFFICE IN TAIPEI and THE TAIPEI ECONOMIC AND CULTURAL OFFICE IN CANADA, hereinafter referred to as "the Participants",

DESIRING to promote close co-operation between Taiwan and Canada (the "jurisdictions");

INTENDING to facilitate access to cultural exchanges that enable youth to gain a better understanding of the other jurisdiction's language(s), culture and society through a travel, work and life experience abroad;

INTENDING to encourage youth mobility for the purpose of enhancing the personal and professional development of participating youth;

CONVINCED of the value of facilitating such exchanges;

HAVE COME to the following understanding:

 

1. PURPOSE

The Participants will simplify and facilitate the administrative procedures applicable when individuals of one jurisdiction who are eligible under this Memorandum of Understanding intend to enter and stay temporarily in the other jurisdiction to improve their knowledge of the other jurisdiction's language(s), culture and society through a travel, work and life experience.

2. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

The Participants will consider the following individuals of their jurisdictions to be eligible to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding:

  1. Individuals, including post-secondary graduates, who intend to obtain further training in the other jurisdiction under a pre-arranged contract for a workplace experience in support of their career development;
  2. Registered students of a post-secondary institution in their home jurisdiction who intend to complete part of their academic curriculum in the host jurisdiction by undertaking a pre-arranged internship or work placement, including in the context of an inter-institutional arrangement between post-secondary institutions;
  3. Individuals who intend to travel in the other jurisdiction and work to supplement their financial resources.

3. QUALIFYING REQUIREMENTS

  1. The Participants will consider as qualified to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding, individuals of either jurisdiction who fall under one of the categories referred to in paragraph 2 and submit an individual application to the appropriate office of the other jurisdiction, provided they meet the following requirements:
    1. Meet all requirements of the immigration legislation and regulations, including admissibility, to the extent not already set out in sub-paragraphs (ii) to (x) below, of the host jurisdiction;
    2. Be between the ages of 18 and 35 inclusive on the date the application is received by the appropriate office of the host jurisdiction;
    3. Be a holder of a valid Canadian passport with a validity date exceeding the expected period stay under this Memorandum of Understanding or a holder of a passport issued by the competent authority in Taiwan that includes the personal identification number of the individual with a validity date exceeding the expected period of stay under this Memorandum of Understanding;
    4. Be in possession of a departure ticket or sufficient financial resources to purchase such transportation;
    5. Not to list a dependant or dependants on their application to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding;
    6. Have proof of the financial resources necessary to provide for their needs at the beginning of their stay;
    7. Pay the applicable fee(s);
    8. Accept to purchase insurance for health care, including hospitalization and repatriation, for the duration of their authorized stay prior to arriving in the host jurisdiction;
    9. While in Canada, participating individuals from Taiwan should purchase additional occupation specific insurance when required.
    10. As the case may be:
      1. Show that they have obtained either a pre-arranged contract for a workplace experience, internship or work placement in the host jurisdiction; or
      2. Provide documentation proving registration at a post-secondary institution in their home jurisdiction and that they have obtained either an internship or work placement in the host jurisdiction; or
      3. Confirm their intention is to travel in the host jurisdiction and work to supplement their financial resources.
  2. The Participants will permit qualified individuals of the other jurisdiction to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding on only one occasion for a stay not exceeding one year.

4.  ACCESS AND STAY

  1. Subject to public policy considerations, each Participant will issue to the other jurisdiction's qualified individuals pursuant to paragraph 3, a document facilitating access to the jurisdiction it represents. The document will be valid for a maximum of one year and will specify the reason for the stay. In the case of Taiwan, this document will consist of a Visitor Visa for Youth Mobility (hereinafter referred to as a "youth mobility visa"). In the case of Canada, this document will consist of a letter of introduction and a Temporary Resident Visa.
  2. The documents defined in the preceding sub-paragraph will be issued to qualified individuals by either one of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Offices in Canada where the application was submitted pursuant to paragraph 3 or the Canadian Trade Office in Taipei, the Canadian diplomatic mission or consular office responsible for the territory of the country in which the qualified individuals are present and have been lawfully admitted.

5. WORK AUTHORIZATIONS

  1. A youth mobility visa issued by a Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Canada to Canadian individuals qualified to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding will automatically allow the youth mobility visa holder to work and reside temporarily in Taiwan for the duration of their authorized stay.
  2. Individuals from Taiwan who are issued a letter of introduction will receive, upon their arrival in Canada and irrespective of the status of the local employment market in Canada, a work permit valid for the entire authorized length of their stay, provided that they meet all requirements of Canadian immigration legislation.

6. VALIDITY OF DOCUMENTATION

Work permits issued by the Government of Canada pursuant to a letter of introduction will be valid throughout Canada subject to any applicable requirements of the Canadian immigration legislation, including the officers' authority to impose conditions and subject to considerations of public interest; youth mobility visa issued by a Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Canada will be valid throughout Taiwan.

7. APPLICABLE LEGISLATION

  1. Individuals of Taiwan and Canada staying in the other jurisdiction under this Memorandum of Understanding are subject to the laws and regulations in force in the host jurisdiction, particularly with regard to employment standards, including working conditions and wages.
  2. The laws and regulations of the host jurisdiction relating to employment standards will apply; in the case of Canada, the laws and regulations relating to employment standards primarily fall within the competence of the provinces and territories.

8. FACILITATION OF THE PROGRAM

The Participants will encourage the organizations concerned in the jurisdiction they represent to lend their support to the application of this Memorandum of Understanding, particularly by giving appropriate advice to individuals of the other jurisdiction so that they can obtain information to facilitate their travel, work and life experience.

9. IMPLEMENTATION

  1. The Participants will determine annually and on the basis of reciprocity, through an exchange of letters, the number of individuals that will be allowed to benefit from the application of this Memorandum of Understanding.
  2. The Participants will determine, by mutual consent and through written exchanges, the minimum amount of financial resources required under paragraph 3 (a) (vi).

10. GENERAL PROVISIONS

  1. This Memorandum of Understanding will take effect upon its signature by the Participants.
  2. Each of the Participants may at any time terminate this Memorandum of Understanding or temporarily suspend its application in part or in whole by giving to the other Participant a written notice to that effect. Termination or suspension of this Memorandum of Understanding will take effect no earlier than 30 days following the date of the notice. Termination or suspension of this Memorandum of Understanding will not affect the right to stay of persons already admitted in the jurisdiction under the terms of this Memorandum of Understanding.
  3. The Participants may amend this Memorandum of Understanding, in writing, upon their mutual consent.

 

SIGNED in duplicate at Ottawa, this 15th day of April 2010, in the English, Chinese and French languages, each version being equally valid.

FOR THE CANADIAN TRADE OFFICE IN TAIPEI
Signature box
FOR THE TAIPEI ECONOMIC AND CULTURAL OFFICE IN CANADA
Signature box

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-05-28