Quarterly Financial Report

For the quarter ended September 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act in the form and manner prescribed by Treasury Board. The report has not been subject to an external audit or review, and should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and the DFAIT Quarterly Financial Report of the first quarter of Fiscal Year 2011-12.

A summary description of the Department's program activities can be found within the 2011-12 Estimates, Part II - The Main Estimates. (PDF Version, 1.9 MB)Footnote *

A. Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before monies can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purpose of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual consolidated departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis and this report has been prepared on that basis.

B. Financial Structure

The Department has one revolving fund, Passport Canada, which is included in the statutory authorities in the accompanying Statement of Authorities. Passport Canada (PPT) is expected to be financially viable, meaning that the full cost of its operations should be equal to its revenue. To support any deficit, PPT has a drawdown authority by which the aggregate of expenditures incurred within the fund may exceed the revenues. This authority was increased, effective April 1, 2011, from $4 million to $131 million. This increase is mainly attributable to the ePassport initiative.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Department's net budgetary expenditures for Quarter 2 are $575 million compared to $650 million during the same quarter of the previous fiscal year. As of September 30, 2011, the actual net budgetary expenditures were $947 million compared to $1,051 million as of September 30, 2010, representing 36% of the total budgetary authorities available for use for year ending March 31, 2012; 37% was used at the same date last year. The Department has therefore been consistent in its spending in the first two quarters versus its authorities provided, compared to the same period of the previous fiscal year.

Operating expenditures (Vote 1) are at 45% of the annual budget, while Capital expenditures (Vote 5) and Grants and Contributions (Vote 10) are significantly lower, at 17% and 26% respectively. Capital expenditures are normally quite low in the first two quarters because of the timing of projects. A significant portion of Grants and Contributions payments are for assessed contributions to international organizations which are not paid until the fourth quarter of each year.

A. Significant changes to Authorities

As at September 30, 2011, total authorities available for use by the Department have decreased by $122 million compared to the same period in the prior year. This net decrease is attributable to a decrease in Vote 1 of $115 million, and a decrease in Vote 10 of $77 million, partly offset by an increase in statutory authorities of $53 million, and increase in vote 5 of $31 million. Non-budgetary authorities decreased by $14 million. Budgetary variances are shown in the table below and explained in the next section.

As approved by Parliament, the Export Development Canada (EDC) Canada Account is no longer included within the Main Estimates of the Department. The removal of this entity accounts for the remaining $167 million decrease in available authorities.

Table 1: Significant changes to Authorities
Authorities2011-122010-11Variances
Vote 1 - Operating Expenditures1,450,6781,565,829(115,151)
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures253,713223,06530,648
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions879,830956,586(76,756)
Budgetary statutory authorities140,70988,16252,547
Non Budgetary authorities27,89241,605(13,713)
Total authorities (excluding EDC)2,752,8222,875,247(122,425)
EDC authorities-167,000(167,000)
Total authorities2,752,8223,042,247(289,425)

The total budgetary authority for 2010-11 included $266 million in mostly one-time funding received under the Supplementary Estimates (A) process. However, because of Parliament's dissolution related to the general election, the Department did not request any funding in the Supplementary Estimates (A) process in 2011-12.

i. Budgetary Authorities

Vote 1 - Operating expenditure authorities decreased by $115 million mainly due to the discontinuation of funding that occurred in 2010-11 for 4 different items, which represent $212 million of the decrease:

  • hosting of the G8 and G20 Summits,
  • settling the AbitibiBowater claim,
  • responding to the Haiti earthquake, and
  • programming in Afghanistan.

This was offset by increased funding of $43 million to strengthen security at missions abroad and to strengthen Canada's network of missions abroad and an operating budget carry forward of $49 million. The Operating budget carry forward was received in Q2 this year as opposed to Q3 last year.

Vote 5 - Capital expenditure authorities increased by $31 million. In 2011-12, the department received $44 million in new funding, including $34 million for strengthening security at missions abroad. Additionally, a $42 million carry forward was received in Q2 this year as opposed to Q3 last year. This new funding is primarily offset by the cessation of one time funding received in 2010-11 relating to:

  • transfers from partner departments,
  • reinvestment of revenues from the sale of real property abroad,
  • response to the Haiti earthquake, and
  • construction of an Emergency Watch and Response Centre in the National Capital Region.

Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions authorities decreased by $77 million mainly due to the strong Canadian dollar, which has reduced the need for authorities relating to assessed contributions to international organizations, as they are paid in foreign currencies. There was also the removal of the requirement for funding relating to Canada's initial response to the Haiti earthquake and programming in Afghanistan.

ii. Budgetary Statutory Authorities

The total available for use as at September 30, 2011 increased by $53 million, mainly due to a $45 million increase for Passport Canada. This amount represents the projected deficit for the Passport Canada Revolving Fund, and will first be funded by unused Accumulated Net Charge against the Fund's Authority (ANCAFA) of $27 million, with the remaining deficit of $18 million to be funded through access to their continuing non-lapsing authority.

iii. Non Budgetary Authorities

The Department's non budgetary authorities decreased by $14 million as at September 30, 2011 compared to the same quarter in the previous year. This decrease was attributable to a decrease of $1 million in the Working Capital Advances for loans and advances to personnel working or engaged abroad and a decrease of $13 million in Working Capital Advances for advances made to posts abroad.

B. Significant changes to budgetary expenditures by standard object

i. Expenditures

For all Standard Objects except Salaries and employee benefits, Other and Repair and maintenance, the expenditures incurred for the second quarter were at, or below, 25% of the related planned expenditures. Salary and employee benefit expenditures were slightly over the expected 25% level in Q2 of this year (27%) compared to a 25% for the same period last year. The difference is mainly due to the cash-out of severance benefits this year. Repair and maintenance and other expenditures are incurred on a need basis and are not expected to be in line with the passage of time. Transfer payment expenditures are at 20% compared to a ratio of 26% for the same quarter last year.

Total gross budgetary expenditures year to date are at 36% compared to 38% last year. The difference in the ratio is partly attributed to the G8-G20 Summits spending in the previous year. On a standard object basis, salary expenditures are presently at 52% compared to 50% last year. The remaining standard objects show an overall ratio of actual to planned expenditures of 28% as of September 30, 2011, compared to a ratio of 32% in the same period last year. Delays in specific projects and programs implementation have resulted in less expenditure for this year when compared to last year. In addition, due to GG warrants, only the funding urgently required for the public good was requested in the first quarter of this year, which resulted in some projects being postponed to later in the fiscal year. Transfer payment expenditures represent 26% of the budget as of September 30, 2011, compared to 33% for the same period last year. The difference is mainly explained by some delays in the implementation of the DFAIT Inc. program. This program is to encourage private sector investment in developing countries. The majority of G&C payments, especially for assessed contributions, are reflected in the financial system in the last quarter.

Year to Date Expenditures by Standard Objects, decription above
ii. Revenues

Although there was only a slight increase in the planned revenue this year ($334 million) compared to last year ($333 million), there was a larger increase in the actual revenue collected in the first two quarters of this year, of $14 million. This was mainly due to the change in the business process for co-locators abroad. Monies were collected earlier than in the previous year resulting in a $13 million increase in co-locator revenue in the first quarter as compared to the previous year's first quarter. Overall, 50% of the 2011-12 planned revenues were collected as of September 30, 2011.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This quarterly report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 27, 2011.

As a result of the announcement by the Minister of Finance in the Budget 2010 that the operating budgets of departments, as appropriated by Parliament, would be frozen at their 2010-11 levels for 2011-12 and 2012-13, the Department has taken several concrete actions to manage the financial resources within these levels. The Resource Management Committee is chaired by the Deputy Minister of Trade and is responsible for:

  • addressing strategic financial management and resource allocation matters,
  • overseeing capacity building on financial management and implementation of the Chief Financial Officer Model, and
  • providing advice and guidance on initial resource allocations each financial year, meeting in-year resource pressures and re-allocations among resources centres.

In addition, the Committee on Headquarters Operation's mandate is to ensure that financial, human and accommodation resources at headquarters are aligned and stay within the Department's reference levels.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

i. Key Senior Personnel Change

Effective July 4, 2011, Nadir Patel became the Assistant Deputy Minister of Corporate Finance and Operations and Chief Financial Officer of the Department.

ii. Governor General Warrants

As a result of the election period, the Department received funding through the Governor General Special Warrants for the period April 1 to June 29, 2011. During this period, only the funding urgently required for the public good was requested which resulted in some projects being postponed to later in the fiscal year. This may have an impact on the final results of the Department at year-end.

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved, as required by the Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting :

Originally signed by:

Louis Lévesque
Deputy Minister of International Trade

Morris Rosenberg
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Nadir Patel
Chief Financial Officers and Assistant Deputy Minister

Ottawa, Ontario
Date: November 29, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Table 2: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal year 2011-2012Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 20121Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011Year to date used at quarter endTotal available for use for the year ending March 31, 20111Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2010Year to date used at quarter end
1 Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.
Vote 1 - Operating Expenditures1,450,678335,300618,3401,565,829347,251639,166
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures253,71323,41234,964223,06528,31543,210
Vote 10 - Grants and Contributions879,830178,271227,549956,586247,529318,305
Budgetary statutory authorities140,70938,35066,06288,16225,97948,403
Budgetary authorities (excluding Export Development Canada)2,724,930575,333946,9152,833,642649,0741,049,084
Export Development Canada---5001,0671,630
Total budgetary authorities2,724,930575,333946,9152,834,142650,1411,050,714
Non Budgetary authorities27,892(2,590)10,15141,605(1,822)22,246
Export Development Canada---166,500(159,771)(959,826)
Total authorities2,752,822572,743957,0663,042,247488,548113,134

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Table 3: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal year 2011-2012Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 20122Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011Year to date used at quarter endPlanned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 20112Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2010Year to date used at quarter end
2 Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.
Expenditures
Salaries and employee benefits1,039,555280,338543,3211,016,292256,855506,217
Transportation and communications195,57144,00879,277186,85845,01180,158
Information23,2572,9614,83841,8929,20311,352
Professional and special services275,75648,56377,622351,28554,45289,274
Rentals240,03350,996107,175234,19564,941116,567
Repair and maintenance35,25213,02018,40442,75910,22314,922
Utilities, materials and supplies88,62614,70026,06595,11915,57629,365
Acquisition of land, buildings and works128,3795,5619,199136,0109,21015,113
Acquisition of machinery and equipment147,05811,49816,387100,60412,96518,362
Transfer payments880,080178,302227,593956,836247,553318,344
Other5,5502,8784,8524,4841,7813,324
Export Development Canada
Professional and special services----112130
Transfer payments----194(4,833)
Other---5007616,333
Total gross budgetary expenditures3,059,117652,8251,114,7333,166,834728,8371,204,628
Less revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues334,18777,492167,818332,69278,696153,914
Total revenues netted against expenditures334,18777,492167,818332,69278,696153,914
Total net budgetary expenditures2,724,930575,333946,9152,834,142650,1411,050,714

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Rapport financier trimestriel

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le premier rapport financier trimestriel du MAECI.

On peut consulter une description sommaire des activités de programme du Ministère dans le Budget des dépenses 2011-2012, Partie II - Budget principal des dépenses. (Format PDF, 2.3 Ko)Notes de bas de page *

A. Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissout pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels consolidés qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement reposent encore sur une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses et le rapport a été préparé en fonction de ce type de comptabilité.

B. Structure financière

Le Ministère possède un fonds renouvelable, à savoir Passeport Canada, qui est inclus dans les autorisations législatives qui figurent dans l'état des autorisations joint. Passeport Canada (PPT) est censé être financièrement viable, ce qui signifie que le coût total de ses opérations devrait être égal à ses revenus. Pour faire face à tout déficit éventuel, PPT dispose d'une autorisation de prélèvement en vertu de laquelle le total des dépenses engagées dans le fonds peut dépasser les revenus. Cette autorisation, qui était de 4 millions $, a été portée à 131 millions $, et ce, à partir du 1er avril 2011. L'augmentation est principalement attribuable à l'initiative de passeport électronique.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Les dépenses budgétaires nettes du Ministères pour le deuxième trimestre étaient de 575 millions $ comparativement à 650 millions $ pour le même trimestre de l'année fiscale précédente. Au 30 septembre 2011, les dépenses budgétaires nettes actuelles étaient de 947 millions $ comparativement à 1 051 millions $, ce qui représente 36 % des autorisations budgétaires totales disponibles pour utilisation pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012. Un pourcentage de 37% avait été utilisé à la fin du même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Le Ministère a donc été constant dans ses dépenses des deux premiers trimestres par rapport aux autorisations qui lui ont été données, comparativement aux deux premiers trimestres de l'exercice précédent.

Les dépenses de fonctionnement (Crédit 1) représentent 45 % du budget annuel, tandis que les dépenses en capital (Crédit 5) et les Subventions et contributions (Crédit 10) sont considérablement plus basses, à savoir 17 % et 26 % respectivement. Les dépenses en capital sont habituellement plutôt basses dans les deux premiers trimestres en raison du calendrier de projets. Une portion importante des paiements relatifs aux Subventions et contributions vise des quotes-parts pour des organismes internationaux qui ne sont pas versées avant le quatrième trimestre de chaque année.

A. Changements importants aux autorisations

Au 30 septembre 2011, les autorisations totales utilisables par le Ministère ont diminué de 122 millions $ comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette diminution nette est attribuable à une diminution du crédit 1 de 115 millions $ et une diminution du Crédit 10 de 77 millions $, compensée par une augmentation des autorisations législatives de 53 millions $ et une augmentation du crédit 5 de 31 millions $. Les autorisations non budgétaires ont diminué de 14 millions $. Les variances budgétaires sont démontrées dans le tableau ci-bas et expliquées dans la section suivante.

Tel que le Parlement l'a approuvé, le Compte du Canada d'Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) n'est plus inclus dans le Budget principal des dépenses du Ministère. Le retrait de cette entité est à l'origine de la diminution restante de 167 millions $ dans les autorisations disponibles.

Tableau 1 : Changements importants aux autorisations
Autorisations2011-122010-11Variances
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 450 6781 565 829(115 151)
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital253 713223 06530 648
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions879 830956 586(76 756)
Autorisations législatives budgétaires140 70988 16252 547
Autorisations non-budgétaires27 89241 605(13 713)
Autorisations budgétaires (excluant EDC)2 752 8222 875 247(122 425)
Autorisations EDC-167 000(167 000)
Autorisations budgétaires totales2 752 8223 042 247(289 425)

L'autorisation budgétaire totale pour 2010-2011 comprenait 266 millions $, principalement sous la forme de financements uniques dans le cadre du processus du Budget supplémentaires des dépenses (A). Toutefois, en raison de la dissolution du Parlement liée aux élections générales, le Ministère n'a pas demandé de financement dans le cadre du processus du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) en 2011-2012.

i. Autorisations budgétaires

Les autorisations du Crédit 1 - Dépenses de fonctionnement ont diminué de 115 millions $, principalement en raison de l'interruption du financement qui est survenue en 2010-2011 pour quatre postes différents, lesquels représentent 212 millions $ de la diminution :

  • Organisation des sommets du G8 et du G20,
  • Règlement de la revendication d'AbitibiBowater ,
  • Intervention à la suite du tremblement de terre en Haïti,
  • Programmes en Afghanistan.

La diminution a été compensée par un financement accru de 43 millions $ pour renforcer la sécurité dans les missions à l'étranger et pour renforcer le réseau de missions du Canada à l'étranger et du report à un exercice ultérieur de 49 millions $. Le report à un exercice ultérieur du budget opérationnel a été reçu dans le 2ième trimestre cette année plutôt qu'au 3ième trimestre l'année passée.

Les autorisations du Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital ont augmenté de 31 millions $. En 2011-2012, le Ministère a reçu 44 millions $ en nouveaux fonds, dont 34 millions $ pour le renforcement de la sécurité dans les missions à l'étranger. De plus, 42 millions $ en report à un exercice ultérieur a été reçue au 2ième trimestre cette année plutôt qu'au 3ième trimestre l'année passée. Ce nouveau financement est compensé principalement par la cessation du financement unique reçu en 2010-2011 en lien avec :

  • des transferts de ministères partenaires,
  • le réinvestissement de recettes de la vente de biens immobiliers à l'étranger,
  • l'intervention à la suite du tremblement de terre en Haïti,
  • la construction du Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence dans la région de la capitale nationale.

Les autorisations du Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions ont diminué de 77 millions $ principalement en raison de la force du dollar canadien, qui a réduit le besoin d'autorisations liées aux quotes-parts versées aux organisations internationales, étant donné qu'elles sont payées en devises étrangères. Mentionnons également l'élimination du besoin de financement lié à l'intervention initiale du Canada à la suite du séisme en Haïti et les programmes en Afghanistan.

ii. Autorisations législatives budgétaires

Le total disponible pour utilisation au 30 septembre 2011 a augmenté de 53 millions $, principalement en raison d'une augmentation de 45 millions $ pour Passeport Canada. Ce montant représente le déficit prévu pour le Fonds renouvelable de Passeport Canada, et sera financé par une imputation nette accumulée sur l'autorisation du fonds (INASAF) inutilisée de 27 millions $ et par un accès à 18 millions $ de son autorisation permanente continue.

iii. Autorisations non budgétaires

Les autorisations non budgétaires du Ministère ont diminué de 14 millions $ en date du 30 septembre 2011 comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette baisse était attribuable à une diminution de 1 million $ de l'avance de fonds de roulement relativement aux prêts et avances consentis aux employés en mission à l'étranger et à une diminution de 13 millions $ dans les avances de fonds de roulement pour les avances faites aux missions à l'étranger.

B. Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant

i. Dépenses

Pour tous les articles courants à l'exception des Salaires et avantages sociaux, Autres, et Réparation et entretien, les dépenses engagées pour le 2ième trimestre se situaient à 25 % ou moins du budget. Les Salaires et avantages sociaux étaient un peu au-dessus du niveau prévu de 25% pour le 2ième trimestre (27%) en comparaison au 25% pour la même période l'année passée. La différence est principalement due aux paiements forfaitaires des prestations de départ qui ont eu lieu cette année. Les Réparations et entretiens et Autres dépenses sont encourus au besoin et ne sont pas nécessairement en ligne avec le temps écoulé. Les Paiements de transferts sont à 20% comparativement à 26% pour le même trimestre de l'exercice précédent.

Le total des dépenses budgétaires brut depuis le début de l'exercice est à 36% comparativement à 38% l'année passée. La différence dans le ratio est partiellement attribuée aux dépenses des Sommets du G8 et du G20 de l'année précédente. Par article courant, les dépenses de salaires sont présentement à 52% comparativement à 50% l'année passée. Les articles courants restant démontrent un ratio d'utilisation des dépenses prévues de 28% au 30 septembre 2011 comparativement à un ratio de 32% pour la même période l'année passée. Des délais dans des projets spécifiques et dans l'implémentation de programmes ont causé une diminution des dépenses cette année en comparaison à l'année passée. De plus, dû au mandat spécial, seulement les fonds urgents requis pour les biens publics ont été demandés dans le 1er trimestre cette année, ce qui a résulté au report de certains projets à plus tard cette année. Les dépenses de Paiements de transfert représentent 26% du budget au 30 septembre 2011 en comparaison à 33% pour la même période l'année passée. La différence est principalement expliquée par le délai dans l'implémentation du programme DFAIT Inc. Ce programme a comme objectif d'encourager le secteur privé à investir dans les pays en développement. La majorité des paiements de subventions et contributions, spécialement pour les quotes-parts versées aux organisations internationales, sont enregistrées dans le système financier au dernier trimestre.

Dépenses cumulatives à ce jour par article courant, déscription en haut
ii. Revenus

Même s'il y a eu une légère augmentation dans les revenus prévus cette année (334 millions $) en comparaison à l'année dernière (333 millions $), il y a eu une plus grande augmentation dans les revenus perçus réels dans les deux premiers trimestres de cette année, soit 14 millions $. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable au changement dans le processus opérationnel pour les cooccupants à l'étranger. Des sommes ont été récoltées plus tôt que lors de l'exercice précédent, ce qui a entraîné une augmentation de 13 millions $ dans les revenus provenant des cooccupants dans le premier trimestre comparativement au premier trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Dans l'ensemble, 50% des revenus prévus de 2011-12 ont été perçus au 30 septembre 2011.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport trimestriel rend compte des résultats de l'exercice en cours en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses dont les crédits ont été attribués en entier le 27 juin 2011.

À la suite de l'annonce faite par le ministre des Finances dans le Budget 2010 que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères, tel qu'approuvés par le Parlement, seraient bloqués aux niveaux de 2010-2011 pour 2011-2012 et 2012-2013, le Ministère a pris plusieurs mesures concrètes pour gérer les ressources financières à l'intérieur de ces niveaux. Le Comité de gestion des ressources est présidé par le sous-ministre du Commerce et est chargé de :

  • traiter des questions de gestion stratégique des finances et d'affectation des ressources;
  • surveiller le développement des capacités en gestion financière et l'application du modèle de dirigeant principal des finances;
  • fournir des conseils et des orientations sur les allocations initiales de ressources à chaque exercice, corriger les pénuries de ressources en cours d'exercice et les réallocations entre centres de ressources.

En outre, le mandat du Comité des opérations à la centrale est de veiller à ce que les ressources financières et humaines et les ressources relatives aux locaux à l'Administration centrale soient alignées et qu'elles demeurent dans les niveaux de référence du Ministère.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

i. Principaux changements dans le personnel de niveau supérieur

Le 4 juillet 2011, Nadir Patel est devenu sous-ministre adjoint des Finances et des opérations ministérielles et dirigeant principal des finances.

ii. Mandats du gouverneur général

À la suite de la période électorale, le Ministère a reçu des fonds par l'intermédiaire des mandats du gouverneur général pour la période du 1er avril au 29 juin 2011. Durant cette période, seul le financement requis de manière urgente pour le bien collectif a été demandé, ce qui a eu pour conséquence que certains projets ont été reportés à plus tard dans l'exercice. Cela pourrait avoir une incidence sur les résultats définitifs du Ministère à la fin de l'exercice.

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé, tel que requis par la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l'information et les rapports financiers:

Original signé par :

Louis Lévesque,
Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Morris Rosenberg,
Sous-ministre des affaires étrangères

Nadir Patel,
Dirigeant principal des Finances et Sous-ministre adjoint

Ottawa, Ontario
Date : 29 novembre 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Tableau 2 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercise 2011-2012Exercise 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 20121Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreCrédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 20111Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
1 N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 450 678335 300618 3401 565 829347 251639 166
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital253 71323 41234 964223 06528 31543 210
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions879 830178 271227 549956 586247 529318 305
Autorisations législatives budgétaires140 70938 35066 06288 16225 97948 403
Autorisations budgétaires (excluant Exportation et développement Canada)2 724 930575 333946 9152 833 642649 0741 049 084
Exportation et développement Canada---5001 0671 630
Autorisations budgétaires totales2 724 930575 333946 9152 834 142650 1411 050 714
Autorisations non-budgétaires27 892(2 590)10 15141 605(1 822)22 246
Exportation et développement Canada---166 500(159 771)(959 826)
Autorisations totales2 752 822572 743957 0663 042 247488 548113 134

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Tableau 3 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercise 2011-2012Exercise 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 20122Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreDépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 20112Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
2 N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.
Dépenses
Salaires et avantages sociaux1 039 555280 338543 3211 016 292256 855506 217
Transports et communications195 57144 00879 277186 85845 01180 158
Information23 2572 9614 83841 8929 20311 352
Services professionnels et spéciaux275 75648 56377 622351 28554 45289 274
Locations240 03350 996107 175234 19564 941116 567
Réparation et entretien35 25213 02018 40442 75910 22314 922
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements88 62614 70026 06595 11915 57629 365
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages128 3795 5619 199136 0109 21015 113
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage147 05811 49816 387100 60412 96518 362
Paiements de transfert880 080178 302227 593956 836247 553318 344
Autres5 5502 8784 8524 4841 7813 324
Exportation et développement Canada
Services professionnels et spéciaux----112130
Paiements de transfert----194(4 833)
Autres subventions et paiements---5007616 333
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales3 059 117652 8251 114 7333 166 834728 8371 204 628
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus334 18777 492167 818332 69278 696153 914
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses334 18777 492167 818332 69278 696153 914
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales2 724 930575 333946 9152 834 142650 1411 050 714

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *