Summits of La Francophonie

The idea of holding a Summit meeting of La Francophonie Heads of State and Government took shape long before the first meeting was held in Paris in 1986 under the auspices of France. President Léopold Senghor of Senegal was among the first Summit promoters in the early 1960s. The idea was then taken up by presidents Habib Bourguiba of Tunisia, Ould Daddah of Mauritania and Hamani Diori of Niger, as well as Prince Norodom Sihanouk of Cambodia.

Montreux XIII Summit 2010 Logo

The Summit, the highest authority in La Francophonie, is held every two years. It is chaired by the Head of State or Government of the host country, who assumes that responsibility until the next Summit.

By enabling the Heads of State and Government to hold a dialogue on all of the international issues of the day, the Summit serves to define the policies and goals of La Francophonie so as to ensure the organization's influence on the world scene.


Symbol of the Summits

Symbol of the Summits

The symbol of the Summits of La Francophonie was developed for the second Summit, which took place in Quebec City, September 2-4, 1987. It became the distinctive logo of the Summits of Heads of State and Government Using French as a Common Language.

This symbol is a synergy of lines and colours creating a veritable surge of modern, uplifting movement.

The visual progression of its components gives dynamic expression to the concepts of Association and Universality represented through the circular shape.

The visual structure of the five bands overlapping one another in an orderly fashion conveys in spectacular fashion the concepts of Mutual Aid and Harmonious Collaboration.

The five distinct colours, representing the different colours of the flags of the states and governments participating in the Quebec City Summit, add an international dimension to the symbol and suggest the five continents that are home to the various partners of La Francophonie.

Use of the logo is reserved for the Summits themselves and their official events, or for one-time activities or events that are directly linked to the Summits.


History of the Summits

Paris Summit - February 17-19, 1986

Forty-one countries and governments were represented at the first summit, which took place at the Palace of Versailles. The conference marked a new departure for the organization, an effort to establish ongoing consultations on major issues of the day. It also provided an opportunity to affirm the role of the French language as a modern tool for progress and intercultural dialogue. Finally, it sought to convey Francophone solidarity through concrete programs with broad appeal.

Quebec City Summit - September 2-4, 1987

During the Quebec City Summit, more progress was made in the areas of cooperation and the strengthening of solidarity among the countries and governments that participated in the Paris Summit. La Francophonie's priority areas were confirmed as agriculture, energy, scientific and technological development, language, communication and culture. The Institute of Energy and Environment of La Francophonie, which is based in Quebec City, and the Francophone Business Forum, a non-governmental organization of French-speaking business people, were created at the Quebec City Summit.

Dakar Summit - May 24-26, 1989

The Dakar Summit strengthened the organization by reaching into new areas of activity, including education and training, the environment, and legal and judicial cooperation. It confirmed the role of the Agency for Cultural and Technical Cooperation (ACCT) as the principal operating agency and key instrument of La Francophonie as a multilateral organization. It was at Dakar that Senghor University in Alexandria, Egypt was created.

Chaillot Summit - November 19-21, 1991

According to François Mitterrand, then president of France and the host of the Chaillot Summit, this conference marked both the coming of age and an expansion of La Francophonie. Nearly 50 countries and governments from five continents were represented. At this summit, the Ministerial Conference of La Francophonie and the Permanent Council of La Francophonie were created, and the role of the ACCT as the secretariat of all of the organization's institutions was confirmed.

Mauritius Summit - October 16-18, 1993

At Mauritius, the participants decided that the each summit would be known as a conference of Heads of State and Government of countries using French as a common language-a gesture meant to reaffirm their membership in the Francophone family while respecting each country's diversity. The summit participants also recognized the importance of economic issues, calling for increased cooperation among Francophone business communities.

Cotonou Summit - December 2-4, 1995

The Cotonou Summit led to a profound change in the institutions of La Francophonie. It was decided to appoint a Secretary General and to transform the Agency for Cultural and Technical Cooperation (ACCT) into the Intergovernmental Agency of La Francophonie (AIF), establishing the position of chief executive to manage it. It was also at Cotonou that the Heads of State and Government decided to concentrate the operating agencies' activities on the five major cooperation programs of La Francophonie: freedom, democracy and development; culture and communications; knowledge and progress; economics and development; and La Francophonie in the world. This summit also underscored the promotion of cultural diversity as more legitimate and necessary than ever, ascribing it a role in peacebuilding.

Hanoi Summit - November 14-17, 1997

The Hanoi Summit represented another important step in the development of La Francophonie institutions: the revised charter was implemented and the first secretary general, Boutros Boutros-Ghali, was appointed to make La Francophonie a more dynamic and active force in the international arena. Although the summit's main theme was economic cooperation, the Heads of State and Government also agreed to focus their efforts on peace and the prevention of conflict in member countries. In addition, they resolved to cooperate with the international community in protecting human rights.

Moncton Summit - September 3-5, 1999

New Brunswick, the only officially bilingual province of Canada, was the host of the Eighth Francophone summit. To highlight the key contribution of young people to the future of La Francophonie and of the world in general, the summit's main theme was youth. Two secondary themes, the economy and new technology, were also discussed.

In Moncton, the Heads of State and Government also decided to hold three sectoral conferences in preparation for the next summit: a symposium assessing democratic practices, rights and freedoms in the French-speaking world, to be held in Bamako, Mali; a ministerial conference on culture, in Cotonou, Benin; and the first Women of La Francophonie conference, in Luxembourg.

Beirut Summit - October 18-20, 2002

The Beirut Summit, the first held in an Arab country, had as its theme the dialogue of cultures. Here La Francophonie made a policy shift by addressing issues related to the Middle East. The Heads of State and Government made a firm commitment to implementing the Bamako Declaration on democracy, good governance and human rights. The summit also indicated support for the principle of the adoption by UNESCO of an instrument on cultural diversity that entrenches the right of states and governments to maintain, establish and develop policies in support of culture and cultural diversity. Senegal's former President Abdou Diouf was elected Secretary General of La Francophonie and undertook to pursue the political and cooperative action started by his predecessor, Boutros Boutros-Ghali.

Ouagadougou Summit - November 26-27, 2004

The theme of the Ouagadougou Summit was "La Francophonie: a community that supports sustainable development." Here La Francophonie broadened its political role, notably by deciding to hold a ministerial conference on conflict prevention and human security in St. Boniface, Manitoba. At the initiative of Canada, this summit adopted the very first ten-year strategic framework for La Francophonie, which henceforth defines its four main missions: (i) promoting the French language and cultural and linguistic diversity, (ii) promoting peace, democracy and human rights, (iii) supporting education, training, higher education and research, and (iv) developing cooperation to ensure sustainable development and solidarity.

Of special note, the Ouagadougou Summit confirmed Canada as the choice to host the XIIth Summit in 2008, which will take place in Quebec City. In making this decision, La Francophonie wanted to be associated with the many events that will commemorate the 400th anniversary of the founding of the city.

Bucharest Summit - September 28 to 29, 2006

The 11th Francophonie Summit produced the Bucharest Declaration, dealing with the theme of the Summit (information technologies in education) and international political questions. The Conference also passed five resolutions on: the global digital solidarity fund; dumping of toxic waste in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire; international migration and development; the positioning of a UN force in the Central African Republic; and climate change. With four new full-fledged members (Albania, Andorra, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Greece), two associate members (Cyprus and Ghana) and three observers (Mozambique, Serbia and Ukraine), membership in the International Organization of La Francophonie increased to 68 States and governments. On September 26 the Ministerial Conference of La Francophonie approved a guide on the use of the French language in international organizations. The Secretary General of La Francophonie, Abdou Diouf, was re-elected by the heads of State and government to head up La Francophonie for a four-year term.

Quebec Summit - October 17 to 19, 2008

The 12th Francophonie Summit was chaired by the Prime Minister of Canada; Canada and Quebec served as co-hosts, in partnership with New Brunswick. The conference took place against a backdrop of financial crisis, food crisis, and conflicts in La Francophonie. The Summit formula was renewed with the designation of four issues instead of just one (democracy and the rule of law, the environment, economic governance, the French language) and round table discussions.

The heads of state and government adopted an ambitious declaration with concrete commitments with regard to the four Summit issues and the financial and food crises:

  • they recalled their responsibility to the French language and committed themselves to promoting its use in international organizations;

  • they agreed to work more vigorously to promote peace, democracy and human rights (i.e. to strive for a more vigorous implementation of the Bamako and St. Boniface declarations);K

  • they agreed to promote transparency, responsibility and good governance. Among other things, they encouraged broader support for the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) and the promotion of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR);

  • they noted that climate change was a serious challenge and agreed to develop their cooperation.

The discussions also made it possible to make progress on a number of priorities, notably in security, through a commitment by La Francophonie to increase its efforts to stabilize certain African countries and to strengthen the peacekeeping capacities of Francophone states. In terms of democratic governance, La Francophonie undertook to provide better protection for journalists. As for economic governance, the heads of state and government of La Francophonie agreed to support the holding of a world summit on the financial crisis and the reform of the international economic system.

The 55 states and governments and the 13 observer states of La Francophonie were represented at this Summit, which endorsed Armenia’s change of status (from observer state to associate member) and the membership of Latvia and Thailand as observer states. This brings the number of members of the OIF to 70. The Quebec City Summit was held in the absence of Mauritania, which was suspended from the OIF following the August 2008 coup d’état.

Les sommets de la Francophonie

L'idée d'une conférence au sommet des chefs d'État et de gouvernement de la Francophonie a précédé de loin le premier sommet, organisé sous les auspices de la France, à Paris, en 1986. Le président Léopold Senghor du Sénégal s'en était fait un des premiers promoteurs au début des années 1960. Cette proposition fut ensuite reprise par les présidents Habib Bourguiba de Tunisie, Ould Daddah de Mauritanie et Hamani Diori du Niger, ainsi que par le prince Norodom Sihanouk du Cambodge.

Le Sommet, instance suprême de la Francophonie, se réunit tous les deux ans. Il est présidé par le chef d'État ou de gouvernement du pays hôte du Sommet, qui exerce cette responsabilité jusqu'au Sommet suivant.

En permettant aux chefs d'État et de gouvernement d'entretenir un dialogue sur toutes les grandes questions internationales de l'heure, le Sommet définit les orientations et les objectifs de la Francophonie de manière à assurer son rayonnement dans le monde.


Symbole des Sommets

L'emblème des Sommets de la Francophonie fût créé pour le Deuxième Sommet de la Francophonie qui a eu lieu à Québec, du 2 au 4 septembre 1987. Il est devenu le signe distinctif des Sommets des chefs d'État et de gouvernement des pays ayant le français en partage.

Véritable mouvement moderne et enlevant, ce symbole est une synergie de lignes et de couleurs.

L'évocation du REGROUPEMENT et du CARACTÈRE UNIVERSEL par la forme sphérique de l'ensemble est dynamisée par la progression graphique des masses.

La structure visuelle des cinq bandes, s'appuyant les unes les autres dans une démarche cohérente, véhicule de façon spectaculaire la notion d'ENTRAIDE et de COLLABORATION HARMONIEUSE.

Les cinq couleurs franches, rappelant les diverses couleurs des drapeaux des États et gouvernements participant au Sommet (de Québec), apportent une dimension internationale au symbole et suggèrent les cinq continents auxquels appartiennent les partenaires de la Francophonie.

L'utilisation du logo est réservée aux sommets eux-mêmes et à leurs manifestations officielles ou pour des actions ou manifestations à caractère ponctuel qui aient un lien direct avec les sommets.


Historique des Sommets

Sommet de Paris - du 17 au 19 février 1986

Quarante et un pays et gouvernements étaient représentés au premier sommet, qui s'est déroulé au château de Versailles. Marquant un nouveau départ pour la Francophonie, ce sommet a été l'amorce d'un effort de concertation permanent sur les grandes questions de l'heure. Il a également été l'occasion d'affirmer le rôle de la langue française comme vecteur de progrès et de modernité ainsi que de dialogue entre les cultures. Enfin, il s'est employé à traduire la solidarité francophone dans des programmes concrets et mobilisateurs.

Sommet de Québec - du 2 au 4 septembre 1987

Le Sommet de Québec a permis de poursuivre dans la voie de la concertation et du raffermissement de la solidarité des pays et gouvernements qui avaient participé au Sommet de Paris. Il a confirmé les secteurs prioritaires de la Francophonie, à savoir l'agriculture, l'énergie, les sciences et le développement technologique, la langue ainsi que la communication et la culture. L'Institut de l'énergie et de l'environnement de la Francophonie, dont le siège est à Québec, et le Forum francophone des Affaires, une organisation non-gouvernementale qui regroupe les gens d'affaires francophones, ont vu le jour lors de ce sommet.

Sommet de Dakar - du 24 au 26 mai 1989

Le Sommet de Dakar fut celui de la consolidation. Il a ouvert la Francophonie à de nouveaux secteurs d'intervention : éducation et formation, environnement, coopération juridique et judiciaire. Il a confirmé la vocation de l'Agence de coopération culturelle et technique (ACCT), à titre d'opérateur principal de la Francophonie multilatérale. C'est à Dakar que l'Université Senghor d'Alexandrie (Égypte) a été créée.

Sommet de Chaillot - du 19 au 21 novembre 1991

Le Sommet de Chaillot aura été celui de la maturité et de l'élargissement, selon le président de la France, François Mitterrand, qui en était l'hôte. Près de 50 pays et gouvernements y étaient représentés et l'espace francophone couvrait désormais tous les continents. Le Sommet a instauré la Conférence ministérielle et le Conseil permanent de la Francophonie, confirmant l'ACCT dans son rôle de Secrétariat de toutes les instances de la Francophonie.

Sommet de Maurice - du 16 au 18 octobre 1993

C'est à Maurice que les participants ont décidé que les sommets porteraient désormais le nom de conférences des chefs d'État et de gouvernement des pays ayant le français en partage. Ils voulaient réaffirmer ainsi leur appartenance à la famille francophone dans le respect de leur diversité. Ce sommet a par ailleurs reconnu l'importance de l'économie, appelant à une plus grande coopération entre milieux d'affaires francophones.

Sommet de Cotonou - du 2 au 4 décembre 1995

Le Sommet de Cotonou a entraîné une profonde mutation des institutions francophones. C'est à Cotonou, en effet, qu'il fut décidé de nommer un Secrétaire général, de transformer l'Agence de coopération culturelle et technique (ACCT) en Agence intergouvernementale de la Francophonie (AIF), le poste d'administrateur général étant alors créé pour en assurer la direction, et de concentrer l'action des opérateurs sur les cinq grands programmes mobilisateurs de la coopération francophone, soit l'espace de liberté, démocratie et développement, l'espace de culture et communications, l'espace de savoir et progrès, l'espace d'économie et développement et la Francophonie dans le monde. C'est aussi à Cotonou qu'on souligne que la promotion de la diversité culturelle est plus que jamais légitime et nécessaire et qu'elle joue un rôle dans la promotion de la paix.

Sommet de Hanoï - du 14 au 17 novembre 1997

Le Sommet de Hanoï est une autre étape importante dans l'évolution des institutions de la Francophonie, par la mise en œuvre de la Charte révisée et l'élection du premier secrétaire général de la Francophonie, Boutros-Boutros Ghali. Le secrétaire général y a reçu le mandat de faire de la Francophonie une force plus dynamique et plus active sur la scène internationale. Bien que le thème principal du Sommet fût la coopération économique, les chefs d'État et de gouvernement ont convenu, notamment, de faire porter leurs efforts sur la paix et la prévention des conflits dans les pays membres. Ils se sont également engagés à coopérer avec la communauté internationale pour garantir le respect des droits de la personne.

Sommet de Moncton - du 3 au 5 septembre 1999

Le Nouveau-Brunswick, seule province officiellement bilingue du Canada, a accueilli le VIIIe Sommet de la Francophonie. Placé sous le thème de la jeunesse, il a permis de souligner l'apport essentiel des jeunes à l'avenir de la Francophonie et du monde en général. Deux thèmes subsidiaires, l'économie et les nouvelles technologies, y ont également fait l'objet de discussions.

À Moncton, les chefs d'État et de gouvernement ont également décidé de tenir trois conférences sectorielles en préparation du prochain Sommet: un symposium sur le bilan des pratiques de la démocratie, des droits et des libertés dans l'espace francophone, à Bamako, au Mali; une conférence ministérielle sur la Culture, à Cotonou, au Bénin, et la première Conférence des femmes de la Francophonie, à Luxembourg.

Sommet de Beyrouth - du 18 au 20 octobre 2002

Tenu pour la première fois en terre arabe, le Sommet de Beyrouth avait pour thème «le dialogue des cultures». C'est lors de ce sommet que la Francophonie a véritablement pris le virage politique en abordant les questions liées au Moyen-Orient. Les chefs d'État et de gouvernement ont pris un engagement sans équivoque en faveur de la mise en application de la « Déclaration de Bamako » sur la démocratie, la bonne gouvernance et les droits de la personne. Le Sommet s'est aussi prononcé en faveur du principe de l'adoption, par l'UNESCO, d'un instrument sur la diversité culturelle consacrant le droit des États et des gouvernements à maintenir, établir et développer des politiques de soutien à la culture et à la diversité culturelle. L'ex-président du Sénégal, Abdou Diouf, a été élu Secrétaire général de la Francophonie et il s'est engagé à agir dans la continuité des actions politiques et de la coopération entreprises par son prédécesseur, Boutros Boutros-Ghali.

Sommet de Ouagadougou - du 26 au 27 novembre 2004

Le Sommet de Ouagadougou avait pour thème: « Francophonie, espace de solidarité pour un développement durable ». La Francophonie y a approfondi son rôle politique notamment en décidant de tenir, à Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba, une conférence ministérielle sur la prévention des conflits et la sécurité humaine. Il a adopté, à l'initiative du Canada, le tout premier cadre stratégique décennal de la Francophonie, qui définit dorénavant les quatre grandes missions de la Francophonie: i) promouvoir la langue française et la diversité culturelle et linguistique; ii) promouvoir la paix, la démocratie et les droits de l'Homme; iii) appuyer l'éducation, la formation, l'enseignement supérieur et la recherche; iv) développer la coopération au service du développement durable et de la solidarité.

Fait exceptionnel, le Sommet de Ouagadougou a confirmé le choix du Canada comme pays hôte du XIIème Sommet en 2008, lequel aura lieu à Québec. La Francophonie a voulu ainsi s'associer aux très nombreuses manifestations qui marqueront le 400ème anniversaire de la fondation de la ville.

Sommet de Bucarest - du 28 au 29 septembre 2006

Le XIe Sommet de la Francophonie a adopté la Déclaration de Bucarest, axée sur le thème du Sommet « Les technologies de l'information dans l'éducation » et sur les questions de politique internationale. La Conférence a également adopté 5 résolutions sur : le Fonds mondial de solidarité numérique ; le déversement des déchets toxiques à Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire) ; les migrations internationales et le développement ; le positionnement d'une force onusienne en République centrafricaine ; le changement climatique. Avec quatre nouveaux membres de plein droit (Albanie, Andorre, Ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine et Grèce), deux membres associés (Chypre et Ghana), ainsi que trois observateurs (Mozambique, Serbie et Ukraine), l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie rassemble désormais 68 États et gouvernements. La Conférence ministérielle de la Francophonie avait adopté, le 26 septembre, un vade-mecum relatif à l'usage de la langue française dans les organisations internationales. Le Secrétaire général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf, a été reconduit par les chefs d'État et de gouvernement pour un mandat de 4 ans à la tête de la Francophonie.

Sommet de Québec - du 17 au 19 octobre 2008

Le XIIe Sommet de la Francophonie a été présidé par le Premier ministre du Canada; le Canada et le Québec en ont été les co-hôtes, en partenariat avec le Nouveau-Brunswick. La conférence s’est déroulée sur fond de crise financière, de crise alimentaire et de conflits dans l’espace francophone. La formule du Sommet a été renouvelée avec la désignation de quatre enjeux au lieu d’un seul (démocratie et État de droit, environnement, gouvernance économique, langue française) et la tenue de tables rondes.

Les chefs d’État et de gouvernement ont adopté une déclaration ambitieuse qui contient des engagements concrets relatifs aux quatre enjeux du Sommet ainsi qu’à la crise financière et alimentaire:

  • ils ont rappelé leur attachement à la langue française et se sont engagés àpromouvoir l’utilisation de la langue française dans les organisations internationales;

  • ils se sont engagés à œuvrer de façon plus vigoureuse en faveur de la paix, de la démocratie et des droits de l’Homme (ie à mettre en œuvre de façon plus vigoureuse les Déclarations de Bamako et de Saint-Boniface); 

  • ils se sont engagés à promouvoir la transparence, la responsabilité et la bonne gouvernance. Ils ont, entre autres, encouragé une adhésion plus large à l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE) et à promouvoir la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE); 

  • ils ont constaté que les changements climatiques constituaient un défi important et ont convenu de développer leur coopération.

Les échanges ont aussi permis de faire progresser plusieurs priorités, notamment en matière de sécurité, par l’engagement de la Francophonie à redoubler d’effort pour la stabilisation dans certains pays d’Afrique et à renforcer les capacités des États francophones en matière de maintien de la paix. Sur le plan de la gouvernance démocratique, la Francophonie s’est engagée à assurer une meilleure protection des journalistes. Quant à la gouvernance économique, les chefs d’État et de gouvernement de la Francophonie ont consenti à soutenir la tenue d’un sommet mondial sur la crise financière et la réforme du système économique international.

Les 55 États et gouvernements ainsi que les 13 États observateurs de la Francophonie étaient représentés à ce Sommet qui a avalisé le changement de statut de l’Arménie (d’État observateur à celui de membre associé) et l’adhésion de la Lettonie et de la Thaïlande à titre d’États observateurs. Ce qui fait passer à 70 le nombre d’adhérents à l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie. Le Sommet de Québec s’est tenu en l’absence de la Mauritanie suspendue de l’OIF suite au coup d’État d’août 2008.

Sommet de Montreux – du 22 au 24 octobre 2010

Le XIIIe Sommet de la Francophonie se tenait alors que la Francophonie fêtait ses 40 ans. Néanmoins, les débats étaient résolument tournés vers l’avenir : comment la Francophonie peut-elle jouer de l’influence de ses 75 membres pour faire entendre sa voix au niveau international, et pour encourager la paix, la démocratie et le respect des droits de la personne au sein des pays membres ? Que peut-elle faire face aux grands enjeux planétaires que sont les changements climatiques, la crise alimentaire, la crise économique, les problèmes de la biodiversité, de l’eau et des forêts ? Enfin, que doit-elle faire pour continuer à promouvoir la langue française, qui demeure le fil conducteur de ce groupe de pays de plus en plus diversifié ? En plus de la Déclaration de Montreux, le Sommet a vu l’adoption de huit résolutions qui touchent à des thèmes comme la piraterie; les médicaments contrefaits ou périmés; la criminalité transfrontalière en Afrique; le terrorisme; les pays victimes d’inondations; la reconstruction d’Haïti; les pays en crise, sortie de crise ou consolidation de la paix; et enfin le dixième anniversaire de la Déclaration de Bamako, qui consacrait le rôle politique de la Francophonie

Le Sommet a confirmé la réélection du Secrétaire-général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf, pour un troisième mandat de quatre ans, et réaffirmé la décision prise à Québec d’accorder l’organisation du Sommet de 2012 à la République Démocratique du Congo. De plus, à Montreux, la Francophonie a accueilli cinq nouveaux membres en qualité de pays observateur : la Bosnie-Herzégovine, les Émirats arabes unis, l’Estonie, le Monténégro et la République dominicaine.