History and Membership of the G20 

How the G20 Works

Founded in 1999, the G20 began as a forum for finance ministers and central bank governors who met once a year, usually in late autumn, to discuss international economic issues.

With the onset of the global economic crisis in 2008, the G20 evolved into the premier leaders’ forum for our international economic cooperation. Annual meetings of finance ministers and central bank governors continue to take place, advancing the work of the G20 and contributing to the discussions at leaders’ summits. G20 leaders met three times from 2008 to 2010 and are meeting twice in 2010. From 2011 onward, it is expected that G20 leaders’ summits will be held annually.

Summit hosts are responsible for preparing leaders summits and for organizing the series of preparatory meetings that advance G20 work throughout the year. The G20 has no permanent secretariat, and much of the preparation for the summit is completed by G20 leader’s personal representatives, known as “Sherpas”. Sherpas maintain contact with each other over the course of the year to discuss agenda items for the summit and coordinate the work of the G20. In 2015, Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s G20 Sherpa for the Antayla Summit is Vincent Rigby, Assistant Deputy Minister for Strategic Policy.

Working Groups

Working groups and experts groups are established when needed to support the work of leaders, finance ministers, central bank governors and Sherpas. 

Working groups and experts groups are generally co-chaired by one advanced and one emerging economy. For example, along with India, Canada chaired the Working Group on Enhancing Sound Regulation and Strengthening Transparency in preparation for the London Summit. In 2010, Canada and India are co-chairing the Working Group on the G20 Framework for Strong, Sustainable, and Balanced Growth.

Working groups and experts groups currently exist in the following areas:

Working groups

  • Framework for Strong, Sustainable, and Balanced Growth
  • Anti-Corruption (established at the G20 Toronto Summit)
  • Development (established at the G20 Toronto Summit)
  • International Monetary Fund Quota and Governance Reform

Experts groups

  • Financial Safety Nets
  • Financial Inclusion
  • Energy

Involvement of Other Organizations

The G20’s work is supported by international organizations such as the World Bank, the IMF, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the International Labour Organization, the World Trade Organization and the United Nations. The G20 calls upon experts from these institutions for technical advice and input from their respective areas of responsibility. The G20 also works with the Financial Stability Board to address vulnerabilities, to develop and implement strong regulatory, supervisory and other policies in the interest of financial stability, and to monitor and report on progress in strengthening financial regulation.

You can find out more about the G20 by reading about its member states and past G20 summits.


One can access information about Canada's relations with G20 partners by selecting country from the list below:

Other Organizations

Histroire et adhésion du G20

Fonctionnement du G20

Créé en 1999, le G20 avait comme objectif de réunir les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales une fois par année, habituellement à la fin de l’automne, afin de discuter de questions économiques internationales.

Depuis le début de la crise économique mondiale en 2008, le G20 est devenu le principal forum de dirigeants pour notre coopération économique internationale. Les réunions annuelles des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs de banques centrales se poursuivent toujours, permettant l’avancement des initiatives du G20 et contribuant aux discussions lors des Sommets des dirigeants. Les dirigeants du G20 se sont réunis trois fois depuis 2008 et se réuniront à deux reprises en 2010. À partir de 2011, les Sommets des dirigeants du G20 devraient pouvoir se tenir une fois l’an.

Les pays hôtes sont responsables de l’organisation des Sommets des dirigeants ainsi que des séries de réunions préparatoires qui font progresser les initiatives du G20 au cours de l’année. Le G20 n’a pas de secrétariat permanent et ce sont les représentants personnels des dirigeants du G20, les « sherpas », qui sont chargés d’une grande partie de la préparation du Sommet. Les sherpas demeurent en contact tout au long de l’année afin de discuter des questions à l’ordre du jour du Sommet et de coordonner les travaux du G20. M. Vincent Rigby, sous-ministre adjoint, Politique stratégique, est le sherpa du Premier ministre Stephen Harper au Sommet du G20 à Antayla en 2015.

Groupes de travail

Les groupes de travail et les groupes d’experts sont mis sur pied lorsque le besoin se fait sentir afin d’appuyer les travaux des dirigeants, des ministres des Finances, des gouverneurs des banques centrales ainsi que des sherpas.

Habituellement, les groupes de travail et les groupes d’experts sont coprésidés par une économie avancée et une économie émergente. Par exemple, le Canada et l’Inde ont coprésidé le Groupe de travail sur le renforcement d’une saine réglementation et de la transparence en prévision du Sommet de Londres. En 2010, le Canada et l’Inde assureront la coprésidence du groupe de travail sur le Cadre du G20 pour une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée.

Il existe actuellement des groupes de travail et des groupes d’experts dans les domaines suivants :

Groupes de travail

  • Cadre pour une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée
  • Lutte contre la corruption (mis sur pied lors du Sommet du G20 de Toronto)
  • Développement (mis sur pied lors du Sommet du G20 de Toronto)
  • Réforme des quotes-parts et de la gouvernance du Fonds monétaire international

Groupes d’experts

  • Filets de sécurité financière
  • Inclusion financière
  • Énergie

Participation d’autres organisations

Les travaux du G20 sont soutenus par des organisations internationales telles que la Banque mondiale, le Fonds monétaire international, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, l’Organisation internationale du travail, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et l’Organisation des Nations Unies. Le G20 fait appel aux experts de ces institutions afin de bénéficier de conseils techniques et de suggestions dans leurs domaines de responsabilité respectifs. Le G20 travaille aussi avec le Conseil de stabilité financière pour réduire les vulnérabilités, pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des politiques solides de réglementation et de surveillance ou d’autre nature, ainsi que pour assurer le suivi des progrès en ce qui concerne le renforcement de la réglementation financière et en faire rapport.

Pour plus de détails sur le G20, veuillez consulter les pages sur les États membres du G20 et sur les Sommets passés.

Adhésion

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les relations entre le Canada et les  de G8, veuillez sélectionner l'une des payes à partir de la liste ci-dessous :

Autres Organisations