Omar Alghabra

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs (Consular Affairs)

(Mississauga Centre)

Omar Alghabra is a mechanical engineer by trade and an MBA graduate from York University. He has served in a variety of positions with General Electric Canada, Enbala Power, and the Ontario Energy Board. He was recently a Distinguished Visiting Fellow within the Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science at Ryerson University.

A longtime community activist, Omar is passionate about his involvement with local organizations like the Mississauga Summit and Youth Troopers for Global Awareness (YTGA). He was also a member of the community editorial board of the Toronto Star where he authored columns on a wide range of provincial and federal issues. His work was also published in the Huffington Post. Among his many activities, Omar has worked tirelessly to support initiatives that empower new Canadians through social and economic integration.

As the Member of Parliament for Mississauga—Erindale from 2006 to 2008, Omar provided a strong voice on both local and national issues as the Critic for Natural Resources, as well as for Citizenship and Immigration.

Date Modified:

Omar Alghabra

Secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre des Affaires étrangères (Affaires consulaires)

(Mississauga Centre)

Omar Alghabra est ingénieur mécanique de formation et est détenteur d’un MBA de York University. Il a occupé diverses fonctions auprès de la compagnie General Electric Canada, Embala Power et la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario. Il a récemment occupé les fonctions de professeur invité à la Faculté d’ingénierie et des sciences de l’architecture de Ryerson University.

Activiste communautaire de longue date, Omar est passionné par son implication dans les organismes locaux comme le Mississauga Summit et les Youth Troopers for Global Awareness (YTGA). Il a également été membre du comité de rédaction communautaire du Toronto Star, où il a écrit des articles sur un large éventail d’enjeux provinciaux et fédéraux. Il a également été publié dans le Huffington Post. Mentionnons qu’Omar a travaillé sans relâche, à travers plusieurs activités, afin de soutenir des initiatives d’intégration sociale et économique visant à donner des outils essentiels aux nouveaux Canadiens.

À titre de député de Mississauga—Erindale de 2006 à 2008, Omar a offert une voix forte tant sur les questions de portée locale que nationale, notamment dans ses fonctions de porte-parole en matière de ressources naturelles et de citoyenneté et d’immigration.

Date de modification: