Global Affairs - Minister of International Trade Governor in Council Appointments

The Minister of International Trade is responsible for recommending Governor in Council appointments to different entities. These entities perform a variety of different functions.

Canadian Commercial Corporation

The Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC) helps foreign government buyers benefit from Canada’s export capabilities through the negotiation and execution of government-to-government contracts. CCC accomplishes this by building unique relationships and maintaining international contracting and procurement expertise. The Corporation focuses on sectors where there is a clear role for government, operating in sectors that are sensitive or are outside of the World Trade Organizations’ (WTO) disciplines and where foreign governments require additional capacity to undertake complex and timely procurements, namely in emerging and developing country markets.

EDC Board of Directors is composed of a Chairperson, a President and no more than nine directors appointed by the Governor in Council.

For more information on the Corporation, visit the Canadian Commercial Corporation website.

Canadian Commercial Corporation opportunities

There are no current opportunities available.

Export Development Canada

Export Development Canada's (EDC) mandate is to support and develop, directly or indirectly, Canada’s export trade and Canadian capacity to engage in that trade and to respond to international business opportunities. EDC is financially self-sufficient and works alongside the financial private sector to provide a wide range of financing and risk management services to support Canadian exporters and investors of all sizes.  At the core of EDC’s mission is its unique ability to harness its knowledge of international financial services, markets as well as global trade and international buyers to enable it to take on and manage significant levels of capital and risk for Canadian export minded firms. EDC is viewed as a vibrant organization that maximizes its contribution to Canadian International trade while returning significant financial returns to Canadians each year.

EDC Board of Directors is composed of thirteen directors, including a Chairperson and a President appointed by the Governor in Council.

For more information on the Corporation, visit the Export Development Canada website.

Export Development Canada opportunities

There are no current opportunities available.

Investment in Canada Hub

Under the leadership of a new Chief Executive Officer, the Government of Canada is establishing the Invest in Canada Hub to develop a cohesive foreign direct investment strategy to align with the country’s overall economic growth strategy, promote Canada as a premier investment destination, establish a single-window investor support framework and deliver world-class investment aftercare, retention and reinvestment services.

For more information on investing in Canada, visit the Invest in Canada website.

Investment in Canada Hub opportunities

There are no current opportunities available.

The Office of the Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility Counsellor

The mandate of the Counsellor shall be to review the corporate social responsibility (CSR) practices of Canadian extractive sector companies operating outside Canada; and to advise stakeholders on the implementation of the performance guidelines.

The Counsellor shall be appointed by the Governor in Council.

For more information on the Office of the Counsellor, visit the Office of the Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor website.

The Office of Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor opportunity

There are no current opportunities available.

Various International Trade and International Investment Dispute Settlement Bodies

A number of international trade and investment agreements to which Canada is a party provide for the establishment of rosters of persons available to serve on dispute settlement bodies. Should a dispute arise under the agreement, individuals from the roster are named to the dispute settlement body through a process specified in the relevant agreement to determine the dispute in accordance with the provisions of the agreement. Please see similar opportunities under Ministerial Appointments.

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) – Chapter 20 (State to State) Roster

Chapter 20 dispute settlement procedures apply to disputes regarding the interpretation or application of the Agreement, the consistency of measures with the Agreement and the nullification or impairment of benefits in the sense of Annex 2004. Chapter 20 dispute settlement does not apply to matters covered by Chapter 19 (Review and Dispute Settlement in Antidumping or Countervailing Duty Matters) or as otherwise provided in the Agreement.

The Chapter provides for the establishment of a roster of up to 30 nominees (10 from each Party to NAFTA). A nominee is appointed by consensus of NAFTA Parties for a term of three years and may be reappointed. An arbitral panel composed under Chapter 20 consists of five members.

For more information on the NAFTA Chapter 20 dispute settlement process visit the website of the NAFTA Secretariat.

North American Free Trade Agreement – Chapter 20 (State to State) Roster opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking 10 appointees to this roster.

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) – Chapter 19 (Trade Remedies) Roster

The Minister of International Trade and the Minister of Finance are jointly responsible for recommending appointments to this roster.

Chapter 19 establishes a mechanism for a binational panel review of determinations made by a domestic investigating authority in antidumping and countervailing duty cases.

The Chapter provides for the establishment of a roster of at least 75 nominees (at least 25 from each NAFTA Party). The Parties are to consult in the development of the roster and are to maintain the list and amend it as necessary after consultations. Panels composed under Chapter 19 consist of five members.

For more information on the NAFTA Chapter 19 dispute settlement process visit the website of the NAFTA Secretariat.

North American Free Trade Agreement – Chapter 19 (Trade Remedies) Roster opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking at least 25 appointees to this roster.

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) – Chapter 19 Extraordinary Challenge Committee (ECC) Roster

The Minister of International Trade and the Minister of Finance are jointly responsible for recommending appointments to this roster.

This roster is used to establish a Committee that reviews decisions made by panels under NAFTA Chapter 19.

The Chapter provides for a roster of 15 individuals (five from each NAFTA Party).

For more information on the NAFTA Chapter 19 dispute settlement process visit the website of the NAFTA Secretariat.

North American Free Trade Agreement – Chapter 19 Extraordinary Challenge Committee (ECC) Roster opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking 5 appointees to this roster.

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) – Chapter 14 (Financial Services) Roster

The Minister of Finance and the Minister of International Trade are jointly responsible for recommending appointments to this roster.

This roster applies to disputes arising under Chapter 14 (Financial Services).

The Chapter provides for a roster of up to 15 individuals (five from each NAFTA Party). A nominee is appointed by consensus of NAFTA parties for a term of three years and may be reappointed. A panel established under Chapter 14 consists of five members.

For more information about the NAFTA Chapter 14 dispute settlement process see the text of the NAFTA.

North American Free Trade Agreement – Chapter 14 (Financial Services) Roster opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking 5 appointees to this roster.

International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) – Panel of Arbitrators / Panel of Conciliators

The World Bank created ICSID in 1966 to facilitate the settlement of investment disputes between governments and foreign investors. Provisions on ICSID arbitration are commonly found in investment contracts between governments of member countries and investors from other member countries as well as in bilateral investment treaties and free trade agreements, including Canada’s Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements, NAFTA and the Canada – Chile Free Trade Agreement.

Under Article 13(1) of the ICSID Convention, Canada may designate up to four individuals to a panel of arbitrators. Designated individuals may be selected by the Secretary-General of ICSID to serve on a tribunal in a dispute that does not involve Canada or Canadian investors. Canada may also designate up to four individuals to a panel of conciliators. Designates to both panels serve a term of six years, may be reappointed and need not be nationals of the state designating them.

For more information about ICSID visit their web page.

International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes – Panel of Arbitrators opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking 4 appointees to this roster.

International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes – Panel of Conciliators opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking 4 appointees to this roster.

Canada – Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) – Article XIII.9 (General State to State) Roster

CCRFTA Article XIII.9 dispute settlement procedures apply to disputes regarding the interpretation or application of the Agreement, the consistency of measures with the Agreement and the nullification or impairment of benefits in the sense of Annex XIII.5.

The Agreement provides for the establishment by the Parties of a roster of up to 20 individuals, at least five of whom are not citizens of Canada or Costa Rica. Individuals are named to the roster on the agreement of the Parties for a term of three years and reappointed to a second term unless a Party disagrees.

For more information on the Canada – Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement visit the web site of Global Affairs Canada.

Canada – Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement – Article XIII.9 (General State to State) Roster opportunities

The Government of Canada is seeking approximately 10-15 appointees to this roster, including appointees who are not citizens of Canada or Costa Rica.

Applying for a position

The Government of Canada is moving quickly to apply a more rigorous approach to Governor in Council appointments. More information about the new approach and Governor in Council Appointments is available online.

Date Modified:

Nominations effectuées par le gouverneur en conseil pour Affaires mondiales (Commerce international)

Le ministre du Commerce international a la responsabilité de recommander les nominations faites par le gouverneur en conseil au sein des entités suivantes.  Ces entités exercent diverses fonctions.

Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises de l'industrie extractive

Le conseiller a pour mandat d’examiner les pratiques de responsabilité sociale des entreprises canadiennes de l’industrie extractive qui oeuvrent à l’étranger et de donner aux parties intéressées des conseils sur le respect des lignes directrices.

Le conseiller est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet du bureau du conseiller, consultez le site Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises de l’industrie extractive.   

Possibilités de nomination – Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises de l’industrie extractive

Il n’y a aucun poste de disponible en ce moment.

Corporation commerciale canadienne

La Corporation commerciale canadienne (CCC) aide les acheteurs gouvernementaux étrangers à tirer parti des capacités d'exportation du Canada en négociant et en exécutant pour eux des accords et des contrats de gouvernement à gouvernement. Pour y parvenir, la CCC utilise ses relations uniques et son expertise en passation de contrats et d’approvisionnements internationaux. En pratique, ceci se traduit par une action concertée dans les secteurs où le gouvernement a clairement un rôle à jouer; en opérant dans les secteurs névralgiques, non visés par les disciplines de l'OMC, et auprès des gouvernements étrangers qui n'ont pas la capacité de négocier directement des approvisionnements complexes, tel que les marchés des pays émergents et en développement.

Le conseil d’administration de société CCC est composé du président du conseil d’administration, du président et d’un maximum de neuf administrateurs tous nommés par le gouverneur en conseil.   

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la société, consultez le site Corporation commerciale canadienne.

Possibilités de nomination – Corporation commerciale canadienne

Il n’y a aucun poste de disponible en ce moment.

Exportation et développement Canada

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) est une société d’État qui a pour mandat de soutenir et de développer, directement ou indirectement, le commerce extérieur du Canada ainsi que la capacité du pays d’y participer et de profiter des débouchés offerts sur le marché international. EDC est financièrement autonome et collabore avec le secteur financier privé afin d’offrir un vaste éventail de services de financement et de gestion des risques aux exportateurs et aux investisseurs canadiens de toutes tailles. La mission d’EDC repose sur son aptitude unique à mettre à profit ses connaissances des services financiers internationaux, des marchés, du commerce mondial et des acheteurs étrangers en vue d’assumer et de gérer des niveaux élevés de capital et de risques pour les entreprises canadiennes désirant exporter. EDC est une organisation dynamique qui maximise sa contribution au commerce extérieur du Canada tout en générant chaque année un rendement financier appréciable pour la population canadienne.

Le conseil d’administration de société EDC est composé de treize administrateurs, dont le président du conseil d’administration et le président, tous nommés par le gouverneur en conseil.   

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la société, consultez le site Exportation et développement Canada.

Possibilités de nomination – Exportation et développement Canada

Il n’y a aucun poste de disponible en ce moment.

Différents organes de règlement des différends en matière de commerce international et d’investissement international

Un certain nombre d’accords en matière de commerce et d’investissement internationaux auxquels le Canada est partie permettent l’établissement d’une liste de personnes disponibles pour siéger à ces organes de règlement des différends. Si un différend survient dans le cadre de l’accord, des personnes figurant sur cette liste sont nommées à l’organe de règlement des différends approprié au moyen du processus indiqué dans l’accord pertinent en vue de régler le différend conformément aux modalités de l’accord. Vous trouverez des possibilités semblables dans Nominations ministérielles.

Liste du chapitre 20 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) (recours général d’un État contre un État)

Les procédures de règlement des différends du chapitre 20 s’appliquent aux différends relatifs à l’interprétation ou à l’application de l’accord, à la cohérence des mesures avec l’accord et à l’annulation ou à la réduction des avantages conformément à l’annexe 2004. Le règlement des différends en vertu du chapitre 20 ne s’applique pas aux questions couvertes par le chapitre 19 (examen et règlement des différends en matière de droits antidumping ou compensateurs) ou de la façon indiquée dans l’accord.

Ce chapitre permet l’établissement d’une liste comptant jusqu’à 30 personnes (10 de chaque Partie à l’ALÉNA). Une personne est nommée par consensus des Parties à L’ALÉNA pour un mandat renouvelable de trois ans. Un groupe spécial arbitral composé en vertu du chapitre 20 compte cinq membres.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus de règlement des différends en vertu du chapitre 20 de l’ALÉNA, consultez le site Web du Secrétariat de l’ALÉNA.

Liste du chapitre 20 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (recours général d’un État contre un État) – Possibilités de nomination à la liste

Liste du chapitre 19 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) (recours commerciaux)

Le ministre du Commerce international et le ministre des Finances sont conjointement responsables de recommander la nomination à cette liste.

Le chapitre 19 établit un mécanisme d’examen par un groupe spécial binational des décisions définitives prises par un organisme d’enquête national sur les cas de droits d'antidumping et de droits compensateurs.

Ce chapitre prévoit l’établissement d’une liste comptant au moins 75 personnes nommées (au moins 25 de chaque Partie de l’ALÉNA).

Les Parties se consulteront relativement à l’établissement de la liste et devront l’entretenir et la modifier au besoin à la suite des consultations. Les groupes spéciaux créés en vertu du chapitre 19 comptent cinq membres.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus de règlement des différends décrit dans le chapitre 19 de l’ALÉNA, consultez le site Web du Secrétariat de l’ALÉNA.

Liste du chapitre 19 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (recours commerciaux) – Possibilités de nomination à la liste

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer au moins 25 personnes à cette liste.

Liste du chapitre 19 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) (comité pour contestation extraordinaire (CCE))

Le ministre du Commerce international et le ministre des Finances sont conjointement responsables de recommander la nomination à cette liste.

Cette liste sert à constituer un comité chargé d’examiner les décisions prises par les groupes spéciaux en vertu du chapitre 19 de l’ALÉNA.

Ce chapitre prévoit l’établissement d’une liste de 15 personnes (cinq de chaque Partie de l’ALÉNA).

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus de règlement des différends décrit dans le chapitre 19 de l’ALÉNA, consultez le site Web du Secrétariat de l’ALÉNA.

Liste du chapitre 19 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (comité pour contestation extraordinaire (CCE)) –  Possibilités de nomination à la liste

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer au moins cinq personnes à cette liste.

Liste du chapitre 14 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) (services financiers)

Le ministre du Commerce international et le ministre des Finances sont conjointement responsables de recommander la nomination à cette liste.

Cette liste s’applique aux différends en vertu du chapitre 14 (services financiers).

Ce chapitre prévoit l’établissement d’une liste de 15 personnes (cinq de chaque Partie de l’ALÉNA). Les membres sont désignés par consensus entre les Parties de l’ALÉNA pour un mandat renouvelable de trois ans. Un groupe spécial établi en vertu du chapitre 14 comprend cinq membres.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus de règlement des différends décrit dans le chapitre 14, consultez le texte de l’ALÉNA.

Liste du chapitre 14 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (services financiers) – Possibilités de nomination à la liste

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer cinq personnes à cette liste.

Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI) – Liste d’arbitres / Liste de conciliateurs

La Banque mondiale a créé la CIRDI en 1996 en vue de faciliter la résolution de différends en matière d’investissement entre les gouvernements et les investisseurs étrangers. Les modalités de l’arbitrage du CIRDI figurent habituellement dans les contrats d’investissement conclus entre les gouvernements des pays membres et les investisseurs d’autres pays membres, et dans les traités d’investissement bilatéraux et accords de libre-échange, y compris  les accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers du Canada, de l’ALÉNA et de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili.

En vertu de l’article 13(1) de la Convention du CIRDI, le Canada peut nommer jusqu’à quatre personnes à une liste d’arbitres. Les personnes nommées pourraient être sélectionnées par le secrétaire général du CIRDI pour siéger au tribunal dans le cadre d’un différend ne concernant pas le Canada ou ni les investisseurs canadiens. Le Canada pourrait également désigner jusqu’à quatre personnes pour figurer sur la liste des conciliateurs. Les personnes désignées pour figurer dans les deux listes siègent pendant un mandat de six ans, pourraient être désignées une seconde fois et ne doivent pas nécessairement être des ressortissants de l’État qui les désigne.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le CIRDI, consultez leur site Web.

Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements – Possibilités de nomination à la liste des arbitres

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer quatre personnes à cette liste.

Centre internationale pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements – Possibilités de nomination à la liste des conciliateurs

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer quatre personnes à cette liste.

Liste de l’article XIII.9 de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALÉCCR) (recours général d’un État contre un État)

Les procédures de règlement des différends de l’article XIII.9 de l’ALÉCCR concernent les différends liés à l’interprétation ou à l’application de l’accord, à la cohérence avec l’accord et à l’annulation ou à la réduction des avantages conformément à l’annexe XIII.5.

L’accord prévoit l’établissement par les Parties d’une liste comptant jusqu’à 20 personnes, dont au moins cinq ne sont pas citoyens du Canada ou du Costa Rica. Les personnes sont nommées à la liste pour un mandat de trois ans suivant l’entente des Parties et peuvent par la suite être nommées de nouveau pour un deuxième mandat, à moins du refus de l’une des Parties.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica, consultez le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Liste de l’article XIII.9 de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (recours général d’un État contre un État) – Possibilités de nomination à la liste

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à nommer environ 10 à 15 personnes à cette liste, y compris des personnes qui ne sont pas citoyens du Canada ou du Costa Rica.

Investir au Canada

Sous la direction d’un nouveau président et chef de la direction, le gouvernement du Canada a décidé de créer l’organisation, Investir au Canada, dans le but d’élaborera une stratégie détaillée d’investissements étrangers directs afin de l’harmoniser avec la stratégie de croissance économique globale du pays, de promouvoir le Canada comme destination de premier choix pour les investissements, d’établir un cadre de soutien à travers un point d’accès central pour les investisseurs et de fournir des services de calibre mondial en matière de suivi des investissements, de maintien et de réinvestissement.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de l’investissement au Canada, consultez le site Investir Au Canada.

Possibilités de nomination – Investir au Canada

Il n’y a aucun poste de disponible en ce moment.

Soumettre votre candidature

Le gouvernement du Canada agit rapidement en vue de mettre en œuvre une approche plus rigoureuse à l'égard des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Obtenez de plus amples renseignements sur la nouvelle approche et les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Date de modification: