The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau MP

Minister of International Development

Minister of La Francophonie

Represents the riding of Compton—Stanstead (Quebec)

Statements in the House of Commons

Mandate letter | High resolution photo

Contact information

marie-claude.bibeau@parl.gc.ca
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6
Telephone: 613-995-2024
Fax: 613-992-1696

The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau was elected as the Member of Parliament for Compton–Stanstead in October 2015, and a few weeks later, she was appointed Minister of International Development and La Francophonie by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Before entering politics, Minister Bibeau began her career at the former Canadian International Development Agency. She went on postings to Morocco and Benin. After settling down with her family in Quebec’s Eastern Townships, she became a successful businesswoman and was actively involved in her community. 

In her capacity as Minister of International Development and La Francophonie, Minister Bibeau has a mandate to refocus Canada’s international assistance to help the poorest and most vulnerable people, and support fragile states. In May 2016 she launched the International Assistance Review to determine how best to fulfill her mandate. This review calls for consultations with Canadian and international partners, as well as civil society and interested individuals, particularly women and youth, both in Canada and in developing countries. Later this year, Minister Bibeau will deliver a new five-year plan to Cabinet.

Minister Bibeau is calling for actions and programs geared to the education and empowerment of women and girls, whose rights she defends unfailingly. She places women and girls among the top of her political action priorities. The Minister currently has a seat in the High-Level Advisory Group for Every Woman Every Child, an initiative put in place by the UN Secretary-General. She also heads up Canada’s strategy for implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development objectives both here at home and around the world.

Helping Canada exercise its leadership on global health issues, she played a key role in ensuring that our country will host the Fifth Replenishment Conference of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria in Montréal, Quebec, in September 2016.

Minister Bibeau ardently defends the idea of linking economic growth with the fight against climate change. With this in mind, she plans to help the most vulnerable communities become more resilient through a green and sustainable economy. She is placing considerable attention on providing access to drinking water and the responsible management of this precious resource.

Finally, in light of the conflicts gripping the planet, Minister Bibeau intends to fight for the protection of civilians and humanitarian workers. In the House of Commons she strongly underscores the importance of respecting such humanitarian principles as humanism, neutrality, impartiality and independence.

Minister Bibeau’s partner is Bernard Sévigny, Mayor of Sherbrooke. She has a 17-year-old son, Mathieu.

News releases | Media advisories | Statements | Speeches

Date Modified:

L’honorable Marie-Claude Bibeau, députée

Ministre du Développement international

Ministre de la La Francophonie

Représente la circonscription de Compton—Stanstead (Québec)

Déclarations à la Chambre des communes

Lettre de mandat | Photo haute résolution

Coordonnées

marie-claude.bibeau@parl.gc.ca
Chambre des communes
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6
Téléphone : 613-995-2024
Télécopieur : 613-992-1696

L’honorable Marie-Claude Bibeau a été élue députée de Compton–Stanstead en octobre 2015, puis quelques semaines plus tard, nommée ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie par le premier ministre Justin Trudeau.

Avant d’entrer en politique, la ministre Bibeau a débuté sa carrière à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI). Elle a été en affectation au Maroc et au Bénin. Après s’être établie avec sa famille dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, au Québec, elle est devenue une femme d’affaires accomplie et s’est impliquée activement dans sa collectivité. 

En sa qualité de ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie, Mme Bibeau a pour mandat de recentrer l’aide internationale du Canada en faveur des personnes les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, ainsi que de soutenir les États fragiles. En mai 2016, elle a lancé l’Examen de l’aide internationale du Canada pour déterminer les meilleurs moyens de réaliser son mandat. Cet examen prévoit des consultations auprès de partenaires canadiens et internationaux ainsi que de la société civile et de la population intéressée, notamment les femmes et les jeunes, tant au Canada que dans les pays en développement. Plus tard au cours de l’année, la ministre Bibeau présentera un nouveau plan quinquennal au Cabinet des ministres. 

La ministre Bibeau plaide en faveur d’actions et de programmes axés sur l’éducation et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles et se porte invariablement à la défense de leurs droits. Elle place les femmes et les filles au sommet des priorités de son action politique. À ce titre, la ministre siège actuellement au groupe consultatif de haut niveau de l’initiative « Chaque femme, chaque enfant », mise sur pied par le secrétaire général des Nations Unies. De plus, elle est à la tête de la stratégie du Canada pour mettre en œuvre les objectifs du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030, tant au pays qu’ailleurs dans le monde.

Contribuant à l’expression du leadership du Canada sur les questions de santé mondiale, elle a joué un rôle essentiel pour que le Canada soit l’hôte de la cinquième Conférence de reconstitution volontaire des ressources du Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme à Montréal, au Québec, en septembre 2016.

La ministre Bibeau défend ardemment l’idée d’associer la croissance économique et la lutte contre les changements climatiques. Dans ce contexte, elle entend donner aux communautés les plus vulnérables de meilleures capacités de résilience reposant sur une économie verte et durable. Elle porte aussi une grande attention à l’accès à l’eau potable et à la gestion responsable de cette précieuse ressource.

Enfin, face aux conflits qui secouent la planète, la ministre Bibeau entend porter son action en faveur de la protection de la population civile et des travailleurs humanitaires. À la Chambre des communes, elle défend ardemment l’importance du respect des principes humanitaires que sont l’humanisme, la neutralité, l’impartialité et l’indépendance.

Le conjoint de la ministre Bibeau est le maire de Sherbrooke, Bernard Sévigny. Elle a un fils de 17 ans, Mathieu.

Communiqués de presse | Avis aux médias | Déclarations | Discours

Date de modification: